Letters from NowhereLetters from Nowhere
Number of reviews to show on each page:
20 reviews
 
Reviews of Letters from Nowhere
jaim | Added on: November 8, 2010
 
liked the premise, ignored most of the storyline -- that played a little slow. Good graphics but reused from another of the company's games.
dtracy9999 | Added on: December 13, 2010
 
Story line kind of lost me a couple of places. then there's the fact that there's no ending. You never find out where the husband is and if she rescues him. I was really disppointed in it.
angelanniejo2 | Added on: November 3, 2010
 
Loved the game, I've played it twice and still have to use my brain. Can't wait for the sequel
Perseus | Added on: November 9, 2010
 
I wish I could give this 3.5 stars. Four for the game and minus .5 for the story that just leaves you hanging with no promise of a sequel. Oh well, aside from the story the HOG was probably average to slightly above average. Nothing really super challenging. If you are looking for a quick game with a decent story, good graphics, and good pace this is a game for you. If you enjoy the Mystery PI games then this is much like those with a story. However frustrating it might be at the end. :)
sportygal2009 | Added on: November 1, 2010
 
This is a pretty good game as it's pretty much a straight HOG with a few puzzles thrown in where you go from location to location finding things. Kinda reminds me of the Mystery PI games however this one has a "story" to it which the Mystery PI games don't about a lady's husband who mysteriously disappears and you also have to find "letters" in the scene to find him however the ending well has to either be a sequel or a huge disappointment. The items themself I found most pretty easy to locate however some pretty well hidden but you do have a hint button to help which charges up quick however will deduct points from your score as you also find stamps in the scenes and you get points which can be used for extra bonuses to help in finding items but you do have to find them in the scene to activate them: such as a thermometer , camera, clown, a palette. The clown however I didn't understand the pupose because you spend I believe it was 45,000 of your points but when you locate it in the scene it gives you 10,000 points - okay?? Just odd to me. There's also trophies you can get for example: If you don't use any hints for a scene of the game. So the hidden object part of the game I found to be pretty good and I did try and follow the story but kinda odd in parts and didn't make sense and then the ending just leaves you hanging.
TurtleGirl | Added on: September 20, 2012
 
I like the storyline so far. Had a bit of trouble finding some objects so I relied on the hint button a lot. :D Stamps were a bit hard to find too, but I was relieved that you can go back to previous maps and find the stamps you missed. All in all, great game! Wish I could've played a bit longer.
lre7 | Added on: November 18, 2010
 
I really liked the HO part of the game. Seemed pretty challenging, yet fun. Got sucked into the story on this one and was very disappointed in the sudden non-ending. So much so that I haven't tried replaying it yet, so I can't speak to that.
bella24 | Added on: October 28, 2010
 
This is a good solid HOG. Not original but challenging with a few puzzles thrown in. If you are a Hidden Object purist, you will enjoy this game. It's all hidden objects AND the objects can be challenging to find.The story line is there but, it's kind of odd and isn't imperative to game play. I liked collecting the stamps to buy different types of gadgets to help you find items: a camera to show locations, thermometer that flames when you are close, the palette that turns the hidden object words into actual pictures and a clown that I can't figure out a use for. I only played the demo hour and probably won't buy it as I like a more puzzle, mystery solving type of HOG. All in all a decent game though.
Blondy65 | Added on: April 21, 2011
 
Myy 8 year old Grand daughter is absolutley mesmerized by this game. If she is at my house, she's playing the Letters From Nowhere !!
TAR671 | Added on: October 28, 2010
 
This is absolutely the hardest HO game I have ever played. The lighting is such, that it is extreamly hard to distinguish the objects from the back ground. In addition every scene is is right out of a"land fill". No one could live in a house or area this cluttered. The graphics are matted to make almost every scene blurry, making the objects even harder to distinguish. I do not remember the last time I needed the hint function so often. I can only play for about an hour before the strain on my eyes causes a headache. I am going to finish this game, because I am curious about what is going on, and how the story will end. I recommend this game for the story, and the challanges the developers built into the game. Have Fun!
mavethrave | Added on: October 29, 2010
 
Some of the objects are very difficult to see however there are adequate hints available. I got into the story line and was HUGELY disappointed in the ending or should I say total lack of ending. The game isn't that long, they could have given it a real ending.
Harlowe1962 | Added on: May 4, 2011
 
I really liked this game. I didn't like the fact that is was a trailer for a sequel that's why I only gave it 4 stars. To go through that whole game without any closure was not fair to the game player. I read the reviews before downloading the game so I knew it ended this way. It isn't fair to leave it hanging like this. This game should completely end and begin with a new storyline for a sequel. This way I feel like I am paying twice for the same game. Not fair Gamehouse! Not fair at all to the consumer in this bad economy!
jmg1234 | Added on: March 20, 2012
 
Over all I enjoyed this game. It was interesting to buy these power ups if you had enough points between levels like a thermometer or camera to help you in your search or to score more points. The downside though is that you didn't get to keep these power ups into the next episode, you had to buy them again. If you collect 50 stamps you unlock bonus games. Just remember to look for them. When you get old like me you forget these things. Good to have though as it adds to the number of items to find, therefor the entertainment, and gameplay value. The biggest complaint I have with this game is there's an item in each scene that you have to connect it with another item. Well the item that is basically like the plug outlite so to speak is very easy and obviuos to find, but the plug part like say the other heart in this one scene are very difficult to find. When I clicked on my hint and power up they both pointed to the obvious outlet item and even after the hint recharged and I tried again it still pointed to the outlet and not the very hard to find plug item witch in this case was the other heart. This makes no sence that they'de design the hint that way, so I'de have to click and click just to find that other heart. Over all a good quality game, interesting scenes, good music. If you like hidden object games then definitely give this a try.
debofme | Added on: November 1, 2010
 
This game is almost impossible to play. Objects are so vague that I needed hints way too often for my experience in hidden object games. I found myself frustrated and I will not work on this game further, as I will not allow myself to feel this aggravated to play a simple game.
DarkChylde | Added on: November 1, 2010
 
I wasn't sure at first if I wanted to try the game, but I'm glad I did. It's not the best HOG out there, but it is good and kept me going until the very end. Intriguing story about how her boyfriend, Patrick, goes missing. She has gone to the police, but they apparently lost the case file. She receives cryptic letters with short messages that scares and helps her, from some mysterious stranger who says he's no longer human (hmmm). The story does continue into the next game, and I do look forward to playing it. Some of the objects can be quite a challenge, especially if you can't brighten your monitor enough. Luckily, I recently bought a new monitor, so I don't have those dark spots anymore, which has helped me a LOT for these types of games. You collect stamps (3 per scene) for a total of 75, to help buy additional "help" items, and by collecting so many, it unlocks the "unlimited" bonus. Also, as you play, you receive special stamps for accomplishing various stuff throughout the game and these can be seen in your trophy room. Graphics were not too bad. Sometimes a bit muddled together. Some objects were almost completely hidden behind other objects. The storyline was just suspenseful enough to peak my interest. Dialogue is short and as far as I can tell, non-skippable. Spelling is better than most, but I did notice they spelled Halloween as "Helloween" (snicker). You find out who the letter writer is, and they explain that something is going to happen to Patrick on All Hallows Eve, and that you must save him. Overall, the game is pretty good.
Lisa522 | Added on: November 1, 2010
 
I would rate this game 4.5 stars. This is a really nice interactive HOG. It is about a woman who is searching for her boyfriend, who has gone missing. Graphics are well done, game quality is great, and the game has a unique hint system where you buy special hint items with the points you earn finding objects and bonuses (there are three stamps hidden in each level). The hints system contains 1. a thermometer that you can quickly use to find multiple items (if you're fast enough) with the old hot & cold method. 2. an evil looking jack in the box which awards you 10,000 points (you can use to buy bigger & better hint bonuses) 3. a camera which will flash and momentarily white out the whole screen, leaving polaroids of the remaining items you are looking for - if you're quick, you can clear 5-6 items this way and finally 4. an easel, that when you find it shows you a color picture of your remaining items. Needless to say, all of these items are very useful. You can also purchase hints the old fashioned way (and the reset timer is pretty quick) but it will cost you a pretty penny in points each time you use it. There is a very generous click penalty - didn't count but you can click a LOT before it kicks in. Each scene's item list contains at least one item that must interact with another. Many times the names on the list are descriptions rather than just names - which is good, it adds an extra bit of challenge. Very enjoyable game - highly recommend
faye1 | Added on: November 19, 2010
 
Loved the game. It's a good game to play . I liked the HO games. Good graphics. Can't wait for the sequel.
MJ1234 | Added on: September 27, 2012
 
I really liked this game. Challenging hidden object scenes, a few mini-puzzles...you also have to look for 3 stamps in each scene to unlock the unlimited game play mode. Those weren't too hard to find. Graphics are great. Story was interesting but I didn't really get what was going on until the very end. Good game!
Qikese | Added on: October 20, 2012
 
I, personally, love this game; both this version and Letters From Nowhere 2. However, I love it because it's full of hidden object scenes, light on story, and light on extra puzzles, and I happen to love hidden object, am fairly indifferent to story lines, and don't care much for the puzzles I see in many of the games, so this may just be personal preference. The other thing that I like about this game is the fact that there's not a whole lot of backtracking. There's no going into one room, completing most of it, going on to two more rooms, and then having to backtrack back to that first room to find something or complete something like you see in other HO games. In this, you're just presented with the scenes (in the form of letters/pictures), you just click on them and you're off to the hunt. Unlimited mode is unlocked after you go so far into the regular mode and I found myself wanting to complete unlimited mode and fill up my trophy room, which is rare for me on these games. Usually, I just complete the regular play mode and move on. The fact that I wanted to complete the unlimited mode definitely says something about how much I enjoyed the game.
Margo352 | Added on: October 28, 2010
 
Well, I was enjoying this game. Until I got to a two-part item. I found the first, but cannot find the second (and I've clicked everywhere). The Hint just keeps showing me the part I've already found. I've looked repeatedly over the last two days. So I'm giving up. Disappointed. And frustrated.
Kath123 | Added on: November 8, 2010
 
Good game! I don't think it is as hard as some other people are saying. Definitely recommend!
roxy8279 | Added on: May 2, 2011
 
I bought both Letters from Nowhere first and second. Okay story. Good games to play both. First and second
pgillenw | Added on: November 1, 2010
 
A truly fantastic, challenging hidden object game. I enjoyed and highly recommend for the purist. Tip: Take nothing for granted on your hunt for objects for they are well blended and the development team have put extra effort in to their selection and placement of objects in the scenes. Graphics are excellent. Additional touches added to amuse. There must be a sequel because the husband is still missing by games end. Parents should make the decision if for their kid the game to be kid friendly. Personally I think kids would enjoy the game however it is challenging.
devi | Added on: November 1, 2010
 
I enjoyed playing this game. I read some of the other reviews and I have to disagree with the difficulty factor some said it had. The two-parters really made you think. Some were tricky. I thought the graphics were good. Storyline ... don't really care. Many of the mini games were difficult. If you enjoy playing a shorter game, I would recommend this.
Eriklover555 | Added on: January 31, 2012
 
I've played straight HOGs before, and liked them - HOWEVER this game bored me to death. It wasn't scary, it bordered on offensive to the pagan community, and the main character's annoying voice drove me up the wall. To the game developers out there: if all you're going to give us is HOG scenes, please fill it out with a more developed story, or even a few more cut-scenes. It's not every day I fall asleep gaming...
TnTexas | Added on: May 19, 2011
 
Media Description: The hand-drawn graphics were clear for the most part. The voiceover for girl was pretty well done and seemed to fit her. I don't remember much about the music so it must not have seemed too out of place. Storyline: A dark, somewhat disjointed storyline was developed through cut scenes and letters that (I don't think) could be skipped. The ending's content was a bit of a surprise and unexpected, but not totally out of left field. Gameplay: This was pretty much a straight HOG - no wandering from place to place trying to find uses for items in an inventory. Sometimes the girl shared her thoughts (and storyline) with you after a scene; sometimes she didn't. If you earned enough points in a scene, you had the option of choosing from four different helps/surprises to add to the scene. Sometimes the helps you chose could be found; sometimes they couldn't. HOG Scenes:The HOG scenes were nightmarish junkpiles. Some of the items were half-hidden by other objects. Others were funny sizes or barely distinguishable from the backgrounds they were hiding on. You lost points if you misclicked too many times in a row. Minigames/puzzles: There weren't very many minigames. What there was was fairly easy and could be skipped if you wanted. Hints: The hints appeared to be unlimited and refilled fairly quickly, but using them did reduce the number of points you finished the scene with. Will Probably Appeal to: people who enjoy straight HOGS or dark-and-eerie games Will Probably Not Appeal to: people who enjoy a little adventure mixed in with their search scenes or people who prefer to stay away from occult-themed games
sweetpea53 | Added on: November 10, 2010
 
this game was a very good one to play. I like hidden objects games and this is one of the best ones that I have played. you have to be fast on your feet; so to speak. and sometimes the objects are right in front of you and you can't see them. this game is a thumbs up in my book
PipCat | Added on: October 28, 2010
 
This game draws you in deeper and deeper and then - BANG! - leaves you hanging. (I'm assuming there's a sequel because if there isn't then I'm going to be VERY disappointed.) You're trying to find your husband who has disappeared without a trace and without explanation. I found that sometimes the storyline was disjointed but nevertheless it compels you to keep going. Dialogue is spoken but you must read the letters in order to follow the plot. There are 13 episodes with a letter in each episode and the letters are very brief. The game is untimed so you can take your time finding the objects and the 75 stamps (3 in each scene) if you choose to collect all of them. You do visit scenes more than once but you need to find different objects each time and it will allow you to look for any stamps you may have missed the first time around. There are no penalties for wrong clicks. Hints recharge quickly but you lose major points each time you use one (the further into the game you get the more the hints cost you). There are bonus items that you can purchase to help you in each episode but be advised that you need to find these bonus items in each room in order to activate them. It is a clicky game but it's also a thinking game since there are interactive portions in each room that you need to solve so I was on the fence about whether the categorize it as Clicky or Thinky - you choose for yourself . There were 2 things in this game that annoyed me. One: you must find ALL of the objects in an episode before it ends. I think it would have been better if you were allowed to find a minimum number of objects and then be given the choice to find all of them if you so desired. Two: there are certain items that trigger puzzles and once you enter that puzzle you MUST solve it. You are not given a choice of coming back to it later and you cannot return to the menu to leave the game. There is a solve button you can use after a few seconds but I hate when games trap you like that. I do believe it has good replay possibilities since there's a trophy room you can fill by achieving certain goals within the game. All in all I enjoyed playing it and will be going back for a second round to see if I can't get more trophies.
Smiley90 | Added on: June 30, 2012
 
Letters from Nowhere is not your everyday CLICK and FIND game. It gives you clues that you have to figure out what the object is your looking for and sometimes you have to put two objcts together to make one hidden object. I love this game cause it makes you think. The graphics is great and not too dark like most hidden object games.