Journalist Journey - The Eye of OdinJournalist Journey - The Eye of Odin
Number of reviews to show on each page:
20 reviews
 
Reviews of Journalist Journey - The Eye of Odin
Christine277 | Added on: July 7, 2011
 
I really enjoyed playing this game, although it was apparent rather early that Peter was involved. There definitely were parts where I had to figure out what I was supposed to do. It took some deductive reasoning to determine some of the next moves.
faye1 | Added on: November 22, 2010
 
I liked the game. The graphics are good. The Hidden Objects are balanced out that it's not frustrating.
Minxski | Added on: July 19, 2010
 
I have to say, for me, this was a pretty average HOG (which isn't all that bad ~ it’s a good way to waste a few hours). I liked the graphics and I thought it was slightly challenging without being frustrating. Waiting for the storyline to get going, was frustrating I have to admit. I'm not that fast a reader, but even I found the dialog to be very slow and with no "continue" button it made you want to skip ~ which I think detracts from the enjoyment of a good HOG. But, hey, this is my view and as I said it’s a pretty average HOG, so nothing to sniff at.
MirabileDictu | Added on: May 28, 2010
 
The story is interesting but the pacing was way too slow for me. You did not have the option of clicking through the dialogue to speed it up, if you happen to be a fast reader. You skip or sit through it. Ugh! The puzzles were not particularly difficult and they became repetitive. The hidden object scenes are where this game earns some good points. The graphics were very nice and many objects are cleverly hidden. That hint button was used more often than I usually would in an HOG. 4 stars for the HOG and 2 stars for the rest.
jmg1234 | Added on: February 27, 2012
 
I liked this game other than the frustrating parts. It was hard to know what to do in some parts especially towards the end. Like I was supposed to light the fire to boil water. I had the torch and I knew exactly where to put the torch, but it kept saying that won't do. I clicked around until I finally figured that out. After I put all the ingredients into the mixer it was extremely confusing what to do then. The game instructions said if items have gears when moused over you need to add a part to it. The mixer had the gears, but instead of adding an item you were supposed to just click on it a couple times, so this contradicts what the instructions at the beginning of the game said. NO WONDER I WAS CONFUSED. I almost didn't make it to the end because of the confusion. If your going to make a game please make it so it doesn't confuse you. This so takes the fun out of it. This was a really good game, but I almost gave it 3 or even 2 stars instead of the 4, because of the confusion and frustration. WHAT FUN IS A GAME IF YOU CAN'T EVEN PASS A LEVEL BECAUSE ITS TOO CONFUSING OR IMPOSSIBLE. I sure went into detail on my confusion!!!!!!! The good side to this game is there's lots of interesting scenes. Having good scenes adds to the enjoyment of the game. Number of entertainment hours are better than a lot of games too. A lot of the objects were hard to find luckily the hints recharge over time if you need them. Over all a game of good quality, just cut out the confusion. If you like hidden object games and to be challenged, then this game's definitely worth a try.
Jocasa | Added on: June 1, 2010
 
The premise was good and the graphics were outstanding. But, I think the only reason I played this as long as I did is because I"m a fun pass member. The time between hints was entirely too long. Some of the mini games were a bit silly. Also, there was no way to click to speed up the dialog. Either sit through it or miss the story line. All in all I know I wouldn't have purchased this game.
JetM | Added on: June 10, 2010
 
This game was a fun play. It required you to go back and forth to different locations and was relaxing to play. It did not require a lot of "figuring out" things and most actions made sense. Lots of fun.
Viper3 | Added on: May 25, 2010
 
This has a well done story line and the mini games are a pain sometimes but easily done with some thought. The objects are not hard to find but challenging. Its the only one I have actually played through since Marooned you will need the unlimited play to get though it though but its worth it
sportygal2009 | Added on: June 14, 2010
 
Overall this was a pretty good game and was definitely long enough as it took me a few hours to get through. The hidden object part of the game was a pretty nice balance ranging from easy to find to challenging but not frustrating, having to use hints which I had to use a few. Some parts of the game were a little "thinky" on what to do or go next but again not frustrating. Why I only gave this 3 stars instead of 5 was as other reviews mentioned, the story while interesting did drag a bit if you are a fast reader. I also didn't understand the tracing of the symbols. The going for one item to a location was quite silly in my opinion. For example: You need to make a cup of coffee. You have to go to one location to get coffee, and then another location just to get a spoon and then bring those two items to the location with the cup of water. I also thought the mini games got repetative after a while like repeat the cell phone pattern. Pretty good game to play it through once but not a game I'd play again. Glad I have Fun Pass. It is worth a free trial hour or Fun Pass to decide for yourself cause it's definitely far from being one of the worse games I've played but like I said I've played better.
Smedley | Added on: June 2, 2010
 
I love HOG games and i really enjoyed Eye of Odin! The graphics are great! It's a classic HOG, with good puzzles, too! I only wish there was a way to gain bonus clues - but the hints recharge ok. The game tends to be a little slow paced, but the graphics make up for it. Good game for family fun. Try the demo; you might get hooked - I did!
Dorte | Added on: May 20, 2010
 
I must admit I was disappointed in this game. The HO parts are good but the mini games are either "remember a digit sequence and redo it" or "follow this pattern with your mouse". Only reason I'm giving it 3 stars instead of 2 is the beautiful graphics. Storyline was promising to begin with but the game was very short.
Tayotae | Added on: February 10, 2011
 
This game is one that you will find very addicting. You have alot to do, people to see, things to find, and excitment to have with this one. It is one of those stories that you just have to know what is going to happen next. Lots of twists and turns and plenty to keep you enjoying this one. The graphics are great sounds as well. This is a great re-play. I had so much fun and got so involed with this story, I found myself playing for hours. I just couldn't stop. This in my opinion is a great purchase.
vikesfan1 | Added on: May 24, 2010
 
I really wanted to like this one, as I love Norse mythology, but I found it rather boring. And for the life of me I can't figure out where this was supposed to take place as we had urban areas right next to villages (with huts) next to castles next to.....well you get the gist. I know....it's just a game, but it bugged me. I think the thing that really dropped the rating to 3 stars was having to go across town to pick up a can of coffee then to an outdoor cafe for a spoon to make a cup of coffee for some guy I just picked up in the airport~ :) There were several times you'd leave one location to go pick up one item (at another location) to complete a 'scene'. It's enjoyable enough I guess, but it left me feeling flat.
elaineorni | Added on: June 3, 2010
 
I took a chance on this game from the trial, and enjoyed it more than I imagined I would! I couldn't stop playing it and got through it all in two days. I'm looking forward to doing it again. Some games try to "cheat" by hiding objects too much, or that are unclear, but this this was an honest and challenging game. Not "tricky," but made me think and was enjoyable throughout. Bravo to the authors! More, more!
kevinsgram | Added on: May 26, 2010
 
I liked playing this game. Not to hard just hard enough to keep you coming back to finish the game.
Margo352 | Added on: November 23, 2010
 
I am still playing this game, but thought I'd take a break and offer my opinion so far. What I like is that the boards are well lit. The HO's are not impossible to find. I did have to look hard for some items and occasionally had to resort to using a hint. I also liked that this game has no time limits - I just do not like HO games with time constraints - too much pressure for me ! The mini games were original (compared to other HO games) and a bit challenging, but doable. What I do not like is : The mini games are repeated too often and become iritating after a while. As other reviewers have said, there's no way to "speed up" the dialogue -your only options are to wait for the s-l-o-w progression of speeches or else skip the whole conversation (thus losing the story line). The most surprising difficulty for me is that on some of the boards there is a very slight rocking/swaying motion while you search (e.g., the plane is teetering on a cliff or the boat is rocking in the water) - and I find myself getting a little nauseous. That's a first for me in playing a HO game ! It's not unbearable, but it is a bit uncomfortable. All said, I'm enjoying this game and looking forward to finishing it.
jakerdoo | Added on: June 3, 2010
 
It is relaxing to play since you are not on a time crunch. The puzzles are easy to solve and require some thinking.
tangeriris | Added on: June 3, 2010
 
I liked this game. The graphics were really nice. None of the items was so hard to find that I felt like giving up.
space207 | Added on: May 27, 2010
 
I loved this game. In fact I am playing it again.The graphics are good. While it's difficult in some places, it isn't so hard that you get frustrated. good hint timing.
SUZsaysHi | Added on: May 20, 2010
 
I just played the 60 minute demo and I am purchasing this game. The HOs are sometimes difficult to find, which I like, You sometimes have to put things together to get to them. The mini games are fun and challenging. Graphics are good. Storyline is interesting. Only neg I can think of is it takes the hint a long time to recharge, and I did need it.
erinsinger | Added on: June 1, 2010
 
Pretty good game. A little short tho. I finished this one in three hours. No overthinking here. Good distraction if you're bored.
lucyclaire | Added on: July 8, 2010
 
I found this game to be challenging the first time around. I have not finished it yet so I cannot address replay. I think I would enjoy replaying it. I find that I have to skip the cell phone part and the puzzle part. I have no patience for it, I guess. All in all, I am enjoying playing it. Good game.
jaybird3939 | Added on: May 24, 2010
 
I did like this game, but it really was only an evening's worth of entertainment. I didn't understand the purpose of the "trace this figure" mini-games, but the HO part was good and the graphics were excellent. My one recurring sticky point was that there was a lot of "conversation" to follow (It could be skipped, but was an interesting part of the story), and you couldn't "click to continue" to speed it up, the player had to wait for it. Enjoy for an evening.
hankysis3 | Added on: June 4, 2010
 
This was a delight to play. Objects were placed so that you could find them without a magnifying glass, and not having time constraints were pluses. The mini games were fun, and nothing was impossible to figure out. The only irritation was that you could not "click" to progress if you read the story line faster than when they moved you to the next scene. This was an enjoyable game.
Coni | Added on: May 24, 2010
 
This one held my interest the whole way through. Some repetitiveness, but most of them are. Wish it had vocals. Story was predictable. Definitely some challenging hidden objects. I would; however, recommend this one. Enjoyed it even with a few minor things, as listed above.