Joan Jade and the Gates of XibalbaJoan Jade and the Gates of Xibalba
Number of reviews to show on each page:
20 reviews
 
Reviews of Joan Jade and the Gates of Xibalba
babycakes0001967 | Added on: June 23, 2011
 
I liked this game keep me interested and couldn't wait to play it! Wanted more.
TAR671 | Added on: January 31, 2011
 
Unlike many reviewers, I found this game a good way to spend a snowy afternoon. I enjoyed this game ! In my opinion, this is a good game to play with your children or grandchildren. Try this game !
Yvonne66 | Added on: January 25, 2011
 
Must be a really nice game for kids, but if you are a little bit of an experienced h.o.g. player, this is not for you. Love the look of the game and the sounds and music, but even the mini games are just to simple..
Cybrcruzrr2 | Added on: May 9, 2013
 
If you like adventure and mythology you'll probably like this game. I played it last time Gamehouse offered the ad-supported full-length freebie - so the details are vague. But I do remember that the graphics were great and there's plenty of places to find HO and use them in different locations to accomplish your goals. I love the Indiana Jones type atmosphere, especially archeological settings underground. I never play games with the speakers on so I can't comment on the FXs or the music. The hints were sufficient. You need to recall and think ahead to wind your way through. Although kid-friendly, youngsters would have problems understanding what some items are. Overall, I recommend this game for casual HOG gamers.
NanaMack | Added on: March 4, 2011
 
I love adventure/puzzle games and this one was fun. I don't usually play them more than once, and sorry to say that's the case with this one. Some of the rooms where choosing options was necessary were too hard for me to figure out, and I had to use all the hints to understand what was supposed to be done. But it was fun for a while.
emi1 | Added on: January 31, 2011
 
this HOG is very easy-the items are pretty easy to find-the hint button recharges very quickly-u can skip the mini games right away. the graphics are ok. but, for kids and those who've not played HOG's i think this is a great place to start. you find items, perform tasks with some items, go to different locations-all to reach the goal of finding your lost kids. i think this game would be fun to play with my neice and nephews. hum.....there's a thot.
devi | Added on: January 31, 2011
 
I don't think this game was as bad as other reviews, but it certainly had its downfalls. Let's talk about that annoying 'Hmmm' that comes up now and then. The first time I heard it I thought I clicked on something I shouldn't have only to find out it was supposed to mean a thought process of the character so you could look into the journal and read something that was totally worthless. Hmmm. I hated the Key Maze mini game. Rest of it was OK. Nothing dramatic or exciting. Just OK. I think this would be a great beginner game. Only took me 2 hours to complete. Hmmm.
nvyank | Added on: January 26, 2011
 
Maybe I'm way too experienced in playing HO games, but this was kind of boring. I finished in less than a day. There wasn't even anything exciting about it. Probably good for kids.
PipCat | Added on: July 5, 2011
 
While I did enjoy this one it didn't rock my world like some of the other offerings on Gamehouse. The puzzles were just tough enough to keep my interest but not mind boggling to cause frustration. It's a good one to while away an afternoon so give it a try.
Tayotae | Added on: December 12, 2011
 
This game was ok. It has more mini games than it does screen to found hidden objects. The children are lost and thanks to mom they are found. The graphics were alright, but nothing fancy. Still wonder why the kids were taken, oh well, its just a game. Might be an ok replay, still thinking on that one.
xenutia | Added on: January 26, 2011
 
This isn't a bad game, and would probably be quite good for those new to HOGs or for kids, but as another reviewer said, if you're a hardened HOGger, then you will find it a bit of a walk-through and not very challenging. The graphics as lovely, and nice to see something a bit different in style, with the HO scenes being almost entirely Mayan drawings and carvings, so an extra star for that. The puzzles and mini-games started off very easy, and did get harder as the game went on, but as Sporty Gal said, they are all the same old, same olds - sliding blocks, pipes, matching pairs etc., I did quite enjoy the riddle games, but they were very easy and didn't require more than a token head-scratch here and there. A couple of the maze type puzzles were a bit different. There wasn't too much dialogue, which was a plus. The hints recharged very quickly and there were skip buttons. There was no penalty for wrong clicking either, which was very welcome. It certainly isn't a bad game for newcomers to HOGs or kids, but not really for serious gamers.
sportygal2009 | Added on: January 25, 2011
 
Yes I'm sorry to say but this is yet another boring and snoozer type of game in my opinion that needs cut off and the plug pulled. The story seemed interesting enough about a lady, Joan Jade, an archeologist, whose 2 children go missing during a storm in the jungle and the local police aren't cooperative in helping find them. Well... the interest in this game ends here with the game description story in my opinion as HO hunts are boring and way to easy and entry into new areas only gained by solving boring, repetitive memory, pipe and slider puzzles, which quickly gets tedious. Pretty much every scene in the hunt for the presumably missing children for reasons unexplained begins with "I'm really close to finding them now!" (insert an eye roll here) which after awhile becomes comical. Sorry but I could only cope with this one for maybe 20 minutes. The graphics were pretty good so a 1 star for that. This game would cure insomnia in my opinion. This gets my stop madness, cut off, and pull the plug already 1 star rating. This is just my opinion of the game. Give it a whirl and decide for yourself. I hope you enjoy it.
savtakate | Added on: May 19, 2011
 
This game is fun and interesting. I liked the history bits added in. Makes it more of a draw.
mek509 | Added on: January 31, 2011
 
Not overly challenging, although I did use the hints button a few times. HO's and useful items are way too small.
barblchcc | Added on: June 23, 2011
 
i love this game. it has enough challenges to keep you interested. the challenges are not so difficutl that you want to quit the game. hard ot close game.
Skippet | Added on: July 25, 2011
 
Very quick play game - takes about 2 - 3 hours. Once I completed the game, I couldn't help but ask: " Is that it?". Animation and graphics are nothing to write home about. This would be a good game for young or beginning hidden object/puzzlers.
DarkChylde | Added on: January 26, 2011
 
I tried. I really tried to play more than 30 minutes of this game. Really. Unfortunately, my head keeps dipping towards the keyboard. My fear? My fear is that I'd fall asleep and wake up with keyboard key impressions on my face ..... This game has that much excitement. The artwork is nice, but that alone can not redeem the game. Boring? YES Too easy? YES Well thought out? NO That about says it all.
Harlowe1962 | Added on: December 12, 2012
 
What a boring game. I am surprised that Alawar made a game this boring. Oh well they can't all be great games or there wouldn't be free downloads of the day!
SUZsaysHi | Added on: January 27, 2011
 
This game has a fairly good storyline. Graphics and music are good. A lot of repitition in the mini games. Hints charge fast. A lot of running from room to room. For me it is just ok.