Jane Austen's Estate of AffairsJane Austen's Estate of Affairs
Number of reviews to show on each page:
20 reviews
 
Reviews of Jane Austen's Estate of Affairs
shellzncheez85 | Added on: September 23, 2013
 
Pretty good game here. I liked the story line and plot, definitely didn't expect that ending from the beginning of the game. Graphics were good and HO were not too small to find like some other games. Would love to see a sequel as the characters were quite intriguing and left room for another chapter.
jkjennings | Added on: October 6, 2013
 
One reviewer said he liked the graphics, but the characters freaked me out. They were too one dimensional. Moving around was easy enough, in fact that's all the hint button helped you with, moving to next scene. Some of the HO scenes were dark and some had you just find bits of pieces of paper, etc., and I've never liked that. I played it through but glad I had Fun Pass because I would have been disappointed to have paid for this.
31911033 | Added on: September 24, 2013
 
Hidden object quite easy to find, mini games easy to moderate easy. A nice game for beginners. There is a bit of moving back and forth between scenes, but it is not too hard to figure out where you need to be. If in doubt the hints will show you where you need to go next. I liked the game, the graphics were very good, but I found it to be a bit short. Hope there is a sequel.
31333148 | Added on: September 23, 2013
 
I like finding objects and not too crazy about puzzles, but this game's puzzles were doable
sok30 | Added on: September 20, 2013
 
This was a nice change from the harder H.O. games I like. It had nice music appropiate to the time period, kind of hokey yet charming storyline, nice graphics. It's on the short side but is totally kid & senior friendly, good for any age group. There's enough of a mix on the puzzles to make it interesting. There's no map and a bit of running around is required but the hint button is very generous and there's usually no need for a map as everything is laid out logically. Good game for the money.
redaf | Added on: September 20, 2013
 
Having read Jane Austen's novels and enjoyed most of them I decided to give this game a try. It is fairly simple and not too long. The h/o scenes are not difficult with most items easily found some are silhouettes, others just lists of items with one item you find needed to complete a task to advance your game. Mini games are for the most part uncomplicated with only a few hard ones which can be skipped if you choose. The hint system is helpful and as the game is played in "parts" no map is really needed to navigate the playing area. The music is nice and not overpowering. Voice acting is good and graphics nice as well. A pleasant few hours can be spent playing this game.
mimi2010 | Added on: November 20, 2013
 
Apart from being very short, there doesn't really seem to be a point to this. You've got t his drippy bloke loitering around with a *secret smile*. an extremely rude housekeeper (I mean, who's the lady around here???!), and.... And? The graphics are very nice but the music is irritating to the max, and the characters are not in keeping with the period; a young lady of this ilk would never keep her bonnet on while in the house, and she certainly wouldn't be climbing ladders - it simply would never do! Neither would she tolerate the bad manners shown... tch tch. As for the puzzles - even when I got them right they didn't register, so I was clicking on Skip the whole time. The portrait gallery puzzle made no sense at all, the jewel match didn't work (what jewels anyway - the ones she's seen somewhere before? That's all I got when I clicked them...). No I'm sorry but I didnt like this at all. Great for FunPass, which I have, but do not waste your money on it.
cat_in_rv | Added on: September 23, 2013
 
There was a lot to like about this game, and a couple of things not to like. The graphics are excellent, and the scenes are well drawn, creating a lot of interest. The music is very nice, and the voice overs are very well done. It's nice to have a character with some attitude for a change. The HO scenes are pretty easy. The mini games have a lot of variety and ranged from easy to moderate in difficulty. If you don't know where to go next, the hint button will point you in the right direction or even to exactly what item you need to interact with next. There is some back and forth, but it's not enough to be annoying. The one real aggravation for me was having to click on everything two or three times. In the HO scenes I had to wait a beat in between each object or I would have to click on it again. It felt like the program had to keep catching up. Also, the game is a little short. This is a great game for beginners or players of all ages. It's not taxing, just enjoyable.
devi | Added on: September 22, 2013
 
Graphics were beautiful except for characters. They looked a little bizarre. HO scenes were relatively easy but many minigames were difficult (at least for me). Hints recharged quickly. Hope you enjoy as much as I did.
charl | Added on: September 23, 2013
 
loved the beautiful scenery. the HOs were a little too easy, but the story was great.
tamryn | Added on: September 22, 2013
 
I very much enjoyed the experience and the sweet ending. Pretty sure I've read all the Jane Austin books back in the day so was pleased to see it offered in the HO slot which is my most favorite game play. All the books that were collected through out the game would have been a great way to add additional stories & playtime. I'm tempted to take a star away only because I wanted it to last longer <smile> Would love more installments.
roxy8279 | Added on: October 7, 2013
 
Some of the puzzles are tricky only because it's as though it's mirrored. So try the code opposite as to what the solution shows.
Desertsong | Added on: October 7, 2013
 
Nice game, great for HOG beginners and kid friendly. Objects were easy to find, lots of back and forth but each chapter limits the locations so its not too bad. Kind of short, but a nice story.
32244895 | Added on: October 2, 2013
 
I loved the game but it was to short. The story line was to short.