Jane Angel - Templar MysteryJane Angel - Templar Mystery
Number of reviews to show on each page:
20 reviews
 
Reviews of Jane Angel - Templar Mystery
dootsmom | Added on: March 8, 2010
 
Game was over before I knew what was happening!! Finished it in a few hours. No bonus rounds, just over. Wasn't even shown what I had supposedly found. A disappointment and a waste of money.
kylakitty | Added on: March 15, 2010
 
Liked being able to pan left and right rather than just static scenes. Enjoyed the puzzles. Didn't really follow the storyline since you're able to click thru the dialogue rather than having to listen to it before you can proceed. Overall, a great game.
Ioan | Added on: March 5, 2010
 
Overall, I have enjoyed it, though I had to stop reading the dialogue. It is painfully obvious that the person who wrote the dialogue is not a native English speaker. Many sentences do not make sense. Still you can enjoy the game without the dialogue/storyline.
Minxski | Added on: March 3, 2010
 
I thought this was a good little game, not too challenging, but fun all the same. One of the mini games is quite original, and the spot the difference game is a little different too. I think they tried quite hard with this game. Great bonus section too, where you can play all the scenes again but try and get the time down to 2 mins - each location is different in this game too, no repeats. Ending sounds like there is more fun to come!
Smedley | Added on: June 7, 2010
 
What a letdown! As HOGs go, this is weak, slow, and boring. The graphics are its only saving grace - a scrolling screen permits a larger search screen. The transiton between screens is exaggerated by the repetivitve playing of Beethovens Sonata 14 in C minor (The Moonlight Sonata), and only made worse by the silence while you search for your items. Absence of audio dialogue between Jane and her colleagues adds to the slowness. The Templar theme could have been played a lot more dramatically. On the plus side, the clue screen does re-energize quickly and has a timer to let you know how long before you can have another hint (Hint: some clues don't appear on the screen at the outset of your search - don't look too hard for all of them at first, cuz they may not be there yet!). There are often over 30 search items per screen to find in silence - that also draws the game out. I needed to take breaks during some screens as well as in between screens! Bottom line: when an adventure search game uses a sonata as a backdrop, you might want to look elsewhere! (Thanks anyway, Gamehouse! Most of your offerings are keepers.)
DarkChylde | Added on: March 17, 2010
 
I think it's an okay game. The background graphics are great, but the HO's are haphazard and all over the place. About 98% of the items don't have anything to do with what you're looking for, which is a shame, because that would make the game much more interesting. I'm still dragging through the chapters. I make it about halfway through a chapter, then I have to quit because I get a bit bored. It's not often that this happens to me, since I love these types of games. I've always been interested in this time period and the Knights Templar, so I was excited to play this HOG. Unfortunately, it's not keeping my interest.
Cat_In_RV | Added on: June 17, 2012
 
This HOG had a lot of unique features, from the scrolling scenes to twists on "spot-the-difference." In spot-the-difference you had to put items where they belonged, and some of the scenes were pretty crammed with stuff. I liked the history lessons on the Crusades and the Knights Templar, which were in excellent English because they were probably copied out of a book. The poor English syntax came during conversations. This can be a relaxing game, but if you play against the clock, it's much more challenging. I think most players who regularly play HOGs will like this game.
Shanoa | Added on: September 7, 2010
 
Start off with the pluses. The artwork is nice, the story is nice, and it was cool learning more about The Templars. The game was to short for me, and the ending just seemed like they didn't feel like working on the game any longer. I'll play the sequel if there is one. I'd recommend this for the bored, with not much else to do.
lcapnam | Added on: July 3, 2012
 
I really enjoyed listening to Beethoven!!! I also really liked thr graphics, along with the templar history. BUT, hated the end. I thought I (or Jane Angel) was moving on to another chapter when suddenly I get the credits... not happy with that. Otherwise, it is a great HO game anad hope more will come to pick up where this left off.
1dermom | Added on: March 8, 2010
 
I could not get past the first puzzle, not because it was difficult, but because the "characters" dialog was written with such poor grammar I found it awkward. I expected better. If 0 stars was a rating option, that's what I would have chosen.
Babala | Added on: March 24, 2010
 
This hinted at being a HOG/adventure mix, but is really just a HOG in panoramic scenes. The puzzles aren't particularly original or challenging. The historical bits of information read like a history textbook, and I didn't find it compelling. This game is best for those who like straight HOGs with a little twist in presentation. Since my first love is adventure games, I wasn't enthralled with it.
Margo352 | Added on: October 25, 2010
 
Others have commented on the poorly translated English - one would think that if you are marketing to English-speakers, you could employ a good translator. Some of the items were way too small to find - I found myself clicking all over just to move on. I also found the constantly flashing "HINT" button mildly annoying. I did play it until the - very abrupt - end. I wouldn't play it again or recommend it to anyone. A disappointment on many levels.
princess2step | Added on: July 5, 2012
 
Think this would be quite fun and surprisingly interesting to those who choose to play it. Enjoyed it!
Harlowe1962 | Added on: February 3, 2011
 
but I love this game! I agree that the English translation on some words have some issues but it's not that bad. I can see where a gamer who likes a lot of adventure and challenges would not like this game but for someone who likes mostly hidden object puzzles (with no irritation because the mini games are too hard and you cant skip them) will like this game! It is not very challenging, but it is fun. I am enjoying it very much. I love the scrolling screen and that objects become available as you scroll through the scene. For those of you who prefer hard complicated HO games...its best to move on because you wont like this one.
bernergirl | Added on: June 14, 2011
 
Novel in that it used different ways of presenting the screens - some times typical HO, sometimes puzzles to assemble then multiple scenes to survey. Interesting mini games.
kitscat | Added on: September 2, 2010
 
This is the best hidden object game I've found in a long time! This one took some work. Most of the objects are well hidden, and it is challenging enough to require an occasional break before getting right back to it. I like the mini-games, and the history that goes along with it is interesting. I like the way the scenes can be moved and the way the list of objects changes color to show what area of the scene they are in (or not in). Best of all, IT DOESN'T REQUIRE A WALKTHOUGH--one of the most frustrating things about most of the newer hidden object games. (When I sit down to play a game, I want to relax and play the game, not feel cheated because I've had to spend half of my time looking up directions and clues.) I'm playing the timed version and can't wait to get back to it right now. Thank you to the team that came up with this one!
kinlv | Added on: September 7, 2010
 
Story line is very involved. Long download time for screens--forget what is going on the time is so long. When characters are talking, the conversation box changes quickly so you eiter have to read extremely fast, or just miss most of what they are saying. Long, boring game.
SUZsaysHi | Added on: March 3, 2010
 
There is so much I like about this game. I love the scrollable scenes, the mini games are fun and challenging, the hidden objects are fairly easy to find and you get plenty of clues. I am purchasing this one.
Gerry_Quinn | Added on: February 23, 2011
 
This game had some great things going for it in terms of core HOG gameplay. The graphics are good, the objects are clear but still often hard to spot, and the scenes are varied. The scrolling system in which object names go from grey to black as they come into view is an original idea. It might seem like it would make the game too easy, but they get around this by often having multiple objects of a kind, e.g. '4 vases', so it remains a challenge. You can often use this feature as an alternative to a conventional hint when finding the last tricky object, which is a nice change. The 'spot-the-difference' sections also have a new approach which I enjoyed. Mini-games are not too numerous, but easy and enjoyable enough. What lets this game down is the plot. The scenes are atmospheric enough though the character animation is poor, and Jane's diary is a nice touch. However I felt the only thing clear about the actual storyline is that I was not missing much by not understanding it! The ending was far too abrupt - a short final chapter with a little extra difficulty or drama would have made all the difference. And a solid plot would have kept the player's interest much higher throughout the game. Audio was very limited, but while I appreciate good sound and music in games, I find I don;t really miss it very much when it's not present, so it didn't spoil my enjoyment. After completing the game there is an option to play over the different scenes against the clock. As well as this, the 'laboratory' mini-game appears in a much more challenging version than before. If you like this kind of game you will find the in-game versions too easy but you will appreciate the bonus version. (Making the in-game version easy was a good idea, as pure HOG players might otherwise find it annoying - the bonus version gives players the best of both worlds.)
Joseela | Added on: March 8, 2010
 
The game had many good points, but its plot was limited and it was much too short.
bbqqueen | Added on: April 17, 2010
 
I think this is the worst game that I have played on here so far. I waited for the game to load up in between each window I was doing. There was too much of this loading up. I like something that will move on. Got frustrated and quit the game. Once I got to a window to find items, it was fine. Need to do something about this one.
Purplefeather | Added on: March 5, 2010
 
This game was a really good HO! I like the fact you could move around the scene! The mini games were easy. Game just didn't last long enough. finish in no time.
gibinns | Added on: March 3, 2010
 
Many new twists and lots of variety, even though I have lots of games to play, had to play this one right through
ukpldn | Added on: October 16, 2012
 
Nice HO game, good graphics, nice music, great history lesson. Liked the scrolling scenes and the variety of puzzles. On down side some of the scenes were crowded and hard to find things (which is the object of HO games), not enough time to read journal and really, really hated the ending, it came too abruptly. But all in all if you are a fan of the HO games this is worth trying.