Island of Death - Demons and DespairIsland of Death - Demons and Despair
Number of reviews to show on each page:
20 reviews
 
Reviews of Island of Death - Demons and Despair
30951169 | Added on: July 30, 2013
 
About one third of the way through the game it crashed my computer. When I tried again it went past the section successfully but crashed a few minutes later. A shame because I was enjoying the storyline, game and graphics.
devi | Added on: July 30, 2013
 
Graphics were gray and dismal. Constant rain. No map to show you where there might be a task, so you are left going back and forth to gather one item at a time. Most items you collect you do not need for quite a while. And it rained and rained. To make matters worse, the main character finds a cure but only gives it to her boyfriend. Game ends abruptly. I was a little disappointed in the whole play. Did I mention all the rain?
30612114 | Added on: July 29, 2013
 
This HOG is not crisp-sharp but slightly fuzzy. That makes objects more difficult to recognize. To further complicate things, all outside scenes are continuously raining. Some items are mis-labeled like a butter dish is really an oil can. The puzzles are not difficult and the game verbosely tells you what is needed. The worst is the constant shuffling back and forth between locations to get a single item. There is no map for quick-moves from location to location. I found myself bored with the tediousness and ended up clicking the help button repeatedly to get to the next required location. I do not recommend this HOG unless you like tedium and a dark story line.
pcpat | Added on: August 14, 2013
 
Suicide at opening scene gives gamer a clue for what's in store. In stark contrast, an unknowing newlywed couple has planned their honeymoon to a remote island and they are about to have some major issues. Almost immediately, complete chaos unfolds and you are the young bride who is trying to solve a gruesome catastrophe that has now involved her new husband as well as the island's inhabitants. Played Expert level. Hidden objects are clear and story and time appropriate. Puzzles are creative and can be solved with not too much difficulty. The artwork, graphics and story line definitely draw the gamer into wanting to play this game to it's conclusion. Enjoy!
31076592 | Added on: July 30, 2013
 
I really enjoyed this game, very interesting, good replay, There was a lot of going back and forth, but not a lot. The hint button would tell where you need to go next. I really enjoyed this game and will play again in the future.
sok30 | Added on: July 30, 2013
 
I really wanted to play this but after 30 mins or so I had my screen freeze up totally. I agree with the other reviews, poor spelling, confusing and cluttered HOG screens, not much direction. I feel bad not being able to review more than the first 30 mins but ran out of patience with the screen freezing etc.
Desertsong | Added on: July 29, 2013
 
All in all this game isn't too bad if you can get past the oddly named items (e.g., butter dish instead of oil can), the poor spelling (e.g., dall for doll) and the occasional freeze up. It would have been nice to have a map because there's lots of going back and forth. A lot of tasks aren't intuitive either; you apply odd items to accomplish a task. The HOS weren't too tiny or too dark for a change. And, I got awfully tired of "This will come on (sic) handy." But the graphics are nice and the story line, if a bit improbable, still keeps your attention. The mini-games were fairly easy, too. The game is also rather short but a nice time-waster.
cat_in_rv | Added on: August 26, 2013
 
If you like a game that rains all the way through with a lot of gray scenes, then this one is for you. The story line, where yet another bride has to recue her groom, is improbable, but okay. The graphics are acceptable if not actually crisp, and the mini games are easy to moderate in difficulty. Explanations on what to do to complete those minigames are somewht cryptic. Also, there are a lot of poorly titled items (desk when you really want a wooden plank, etc.) and poorly spelled words; often a problem when the game is developed in non-English speaking countries. There is quite a lot of back-and-forth with no handy map to jump from one location to another, and it's not immediately evident where to go to find the next item. The hint button does come in handy here, and in the casual version recharges very quickly for a change. The music is actually quite good and adds to the spooky atmosphere. There are some good things here, but the poor story line and incessant back and forth left me wishing the developers had taken a little more time with the game. Not for pre-teens.
Tiafl | Added on: July 29, 2013
 
I started with the full version but am giving up on playing any further. I suggest that designers have an impartial game reviewer or play the game themselves to see the pieces that don't work before releasing the game. Early on I began with forceps, 1 skull and a loaded gun in the inventory. I finally figured out to use the gun to shoot the object above the infected people standing under the umbrella. The item turned out to be a sack with a key to the trunk. With the raincoat from the trunk I was then able to endeavor a bit further through town. I did figure out how to obtain the hose and a valve for the fire hydrant so that the diner could be accessed. Many things were viewed during as far as I progressed but there was always something missing or needed. And just where these items come from is unknown and whatever is needed is not in the inventory. The HO scenes are not too dark but are congested with stuff. Many objects need something done to them first. The flower you are supposed to paint yellow is on the chair. It is not the other flowers that are in the scene. It is a given that all users will be able to find the hand print somewhere in the pouring rain scene? Oh, and staves turned out to be a bundle of stakes. The hint button recharge is very quick. I rated the game with 2 stars because it does have clear graphics and it is apparent that a lot of work was put into the game development. There is no need to start from scratch but please review what the users will be seeing and fix appropriately before releasing a game. No developer wants to see bad reviews for something that they spent a grueling time fame to develop.
slimshady1 | Added on: August 10, 2013
 
this was a very good game liked it only small drawback was no fast travel map so a lot of back and forth in the scenes but still worth playing if you like working things out
flaca | Added on: July 30, 2013
 
would of been a five but it froze on first 10 minutes and that was that.... what a flop, But it had great potential :/