Inspector Magnusson - Murder on the TitanicInspector Magnusson - Murder on the Titanic
Number of reviews to show on each page:
20 reviews
 
Reviews of Inspector Magnusson - Murder on the Titanic
kkrueger | Added on: April 15, 2012
 
This is an ok game. After playing many, many HOG games on here for years, this one really didn't do much for me. Passed the time pretty well, but not to engaging. Froze once on me, needed the break anyway. I would recommend if you are wanting to pass the time, and not be to into it. I did like the "flow", but not the comic book "narrative". Try it out...
flaca | Added on: April 17, 2012
 
the story was lame. So much that was vague. Way too easy. Puzzles were a breeze. I just couldn't finish the game. I just wanted to write this review so if anyone wanted to try this game to not waste their time on downloading it, much less buy it.
avian51 | Added on: April 19, 2012
 
I am really enjoying playing this wonderfully illustrated Titanic-themed game--the murder mystery is very involving, and I like the mix of the fictional characters interacting with the historical ones, such as Captain Smith and several of his officers, and the Purser, too! The HO scenes aren't too difficult, just challenging enough to keep me looking (there's always a few items I'm tempted to use the HINT button for, but I try not to), but not frustratingly hard that I feel like my eyes are strained. The puzzles have, with one or two exceptions, been fun, and the story is keeping me guessing as to where it's headed. I haven't finished the game yet, but I have made my purchase in anticipation of seeing how this one turns out. I know that the ship is going to sink, but now I'm wondering which characters I've met, if any, will make it off alive?
null | Added on: April 19, 2012
 
This game is okay, I just didn't find the story line to challenging.
DarkDragon | Added on: April 30, 2012
 
Okay I give credits that the graphics is nicely done and the music is not half bad. The story is somewhat intriguing. But totally it's not enough to keep me playing. HO is not hard. The map to jump to scene is nice though I think it was a little too predetermined, don't know if it will be different as I gave up very early in game, by the time the inspector finds out the face of Chuckie's girlfriend. The puzzles I could do were not so hard. However, the letter puzzle was totally quacked. The characters are all like crisscrossed lines and the pieces are not fitted together. The photo puzzle is likewise the same with blobs of colors. I think the game is really poorly done. IMO, just skip this one if you don't want frustration.
Tayotae | Added on: April 22, 2012
 
I and Inspector Magnusson had quite the go of it, search for all the clues (HO's) and evidence to solve the murder of poor Chuckie. We enjoyed meeting all the crew mates, Captain, some of the first class passengers and even a cute little terrier, that flew out of the piano, while chatting to an old busy body. Of course I did most of the work, from moving hot pipes, crates, lumber, chairs and the ship at one point. tehe This game was good, great story line, good art work, ok music and lots of dialog to read. The charitures were quite nice and most helpful for the most part. It is a very involved game with lots of mini games, (same to hard) and a long game, so that made it even more fun. You should give this one a try. It was nicely done and well thought out.
Cat_In_RV | Added on: July 30, 2012
 
I have seldom seen reviews be so mixed for a game. I have a feeling that in this case, the older you are, the more you probably liked it. It was interesting to have facts from the Titanic mixed in with the story line. The creators of this game took their time to draw scenes as rich and colorful as the Titanic would have been. Also, it was nice to have different kinds of tasks, such as moving boxes. The story line was interesting, and you couldn't get lost because you had no choice on which section of the ship to visit next. Overall, a very enjoyable few hours.
mrsbetty | Added on: April 27, 2012
 
I find this game very difficult to follow. It is very hard to progress to the next level. It is frustrating and not at all relaxing.
theredace | Added on: April 19, 2012
 
This is a really nice game. Graphics are super nice and the music was excellent. It's much better structured than many other adventure games that have you wandering around aimlessly, unsure of what to do next. Good characters and story, all well-written. Overall highly recommended.
adventurist | Added on: April 19, 2012
 
I have to admit that I am a fan of Titanic stories, but I was really impressed by the mystery that unfolded in the game...much more than just a murder mystery. The game play is a mix of adventure and HO scenes. I tend to prefer a little more adventure and a little less hidden object, but the art was really great. The objects were nicely hidden, and chosen to fit each location rather than just being a collection of random items. There were some cool variations in the HO styles to mix things up, so it didn't get dull. The music and ambient sounds of the ship were very well done, and had enough variety to avoid feeling monotonous. There is a lot of dialogue in the game, but since I enjoyed seeing the complex story come out, I didn't mind it at all. If you don't care about the details, you can skip through the dialogue. If you ever get stuck, the hints work anywhere in the game, so it should be easy to get on track, even without understanding the plot. There were a lot of puzzles, and they covered a lot of different styles and difficulties. I like tough puzzles, and there were a few real killers, but I never had to hit the skip button (although the coins one had me eyeing it for a while). A great setting, story, and art, a good length, and a good mix of puzzles- this was just what I was looking for in a game.
emi1 | Added on: April 16, 2012
 
this game annoyed me from the beginning. i'd click on an item to collect it or to perform an action, and nothing would happen. leading me to believe i was wrong in what i was trying to do. then i'd use a hint only to see that i had been right all along. having to be so very precise on where u click can take the fun out of the game, b/c u begin to second guess yourself. anyway...this game had nothing outstanding in it. jst another HOG...
anneatplay | Added on: April 16, 2012
 
The game was relatively easy and did not take long to play, but I enjoyed it. Lots of HOS, with crisp graphics and some nice twists (moving suitcases around, shifting contents of drawers to find objects underneath). I found the plot inventive and interesting. it was a bit far fetched, but I did want to find out the end. And the narcissist in me liked having my name popping into the story the whole way through, even in the summary!
Tiafl | Added on: February 11, 2013
 
This was a challenging game to play. I almost lost it near the beginning when I could not find the fourth coin, It was on the floor as being patient with the mouse review for the hand finally located it. There were a lot of HOs but there were also a lot of mini games and dialogue. The HOs were clear and seeable when I unchecked the option 4:3 screen ratio. The dialogue could also be read easier. I do not have sound on when I play these games and needed to read what was happening. I have not seen Titanic and had avoided the game because of the name. There were no vampires or other icky kind of things just relaxing to do what was clear to next at your own pace and solve interesting mini-games or not. There were a few that after trying & trying I finally used the skip button. One thing that was truly fun was moving/sliding items about to get to an item you were finding. It certainly is not that easy to move items like this is real life. I loved this game moving at my own pace figuring out how to go about the what next and how to. I am ready now for the next Inspector Magnusson and would like it with the same type of creation as this first in a hopefully series.
bboopelvis | Added on: May 19, 2012
 
Not crazy about the story line. Some things toooooo hard to find. Game ends too soon.
Fayleen | Added on: April 17, 2012
 
I do love a good murder mystery and this one fit the ticket! As a matter of fact, I loved everything about this game! Loads of levels, challenging mini games, and all around FUN! Not as good as House of a !000 Doors, but a blast all the same. This one gets 5 stars from me, Gamehouse! Way to go!
Summer | Added on: August 11, 2012
 
I really enjoyed this, Only a few glitches. There's no voice over, so you have to read it all, and occasionally the comic-style cut scenes would switch too quickly to read it all. (I read more slowly when Im trying to understand and remember what's going on.) Sometimes the HO scenes would require a precise or specific click, like one end of the object wouldn't respond while the other end of the object did. It also is over pretty quickly. The skips came quickly for games, which is great if you don't want to do them, but some were repetitive which gets tiresome if you dont like that type. You dont have to worry about where to go next as only the next scene you need is open for travel. There are repeats but at least you go directly there. I did enjoy playing it and thought the story was compelling, especially a nice break from all the horror, vampire & ghost plots. As for some professional reviewers complaining there are "too many HO scenes"- check the genre again, this is a HO game! I didn't have a problem with the number, I like HOGs, I just want a decent story between the searches.
devi | Added on: April 16, 2012
 
Just an OK game. I didn't read the storyline. Maybe if I did the game would have seemed better, but I got bored with all the conversation. Graphics were good, hints recharged quickly. You had your usual mini games, some of them hard, some relatively easy. If this game had a little more interaction it would have definitely improved the gameplay. I'll still recommend playing, but don't expect too much.
Carrissa | Added on: May 18, 2013
 
When I play a game and have to keep clicking on the same object again and again when I know it's the right object then I get frustrated. Also when I tried to open the suitcase with a sequence of objects and I know it was the right combination, then nothing happens. I got tired of it and quit the game!!
NDSpacer | Added on: April 17, 2012
 
The game directs you from area to area as the story develops - in fact it prevents you from choosing any area on the map except the one you need to go to next. So the need to learn the floor plan, found in some other HOG's, is not here. The graphics are nice and there are no voice overs - the story is read as an illustrated book as you click through the scene. The game did freeze up on me twice when trying to use an inventory item. The first time I restarted the game and I was able to complete the task and move forward. The second time it happened I was just so disinterested in playing the game that I just stopped and deleted it. This just was not challenging enough for me to hold my interest, but I would not discourage anyone from trying it - it's not a bad/poor game and may be just right for someone else.