Howlville - The Dark PastHowlville - The Dark Past
Number of reviews to show on each page:
20 reviews
 
Reviews of Howlville - The Dark Past
30612114 | Added on: February 24, 2014
 
The story line is fair and interesting, the graphics are good, and the HOG screens each have a bit of extra fun. There are puzzles in the HOGs which add a bit of interest and difficulty. The progression through the game is straight-forward so that a map is unnecessary, and at each location there are usually 2, maybe 3 areas to explore. All items required to continue are available in these screens and do not carry over to the next area. Hints must be accumulated by finding 'light bulbs' along the way (incentive to think and search longer), however I played in normal mode without sparkles and did not need any hints to play through to the end. Some of the hot-spots are small, so occasionally thorough exploration is necessary to locate items on the quest. A couple of the puzzles are pretty difficult, and I ended up skipping 2 of them due to the length of time required (rotation of multiple tiles to get all in order). The duration of the game is about 8 hours. All in all, a pretty enjoyable game, and one of the better HOGs. Some of the puzzles are too difficult for children, however the rest of the game is kid-friendly.
41659846 | Added on: February 25, 2014
 
Excellent game and fun, never know what to expect !
Tiafl | Added on: February 24, 2014
 
This is an HO/Puzzle game for sure. An HO scene then Puzzle, an HO scene then puzzle, repeat... There is no need for a map as you can either move to one adjacent location or you can't. I played easy mode because the normal mode was more like a hard mode which is also an option. The HO's were not terribly easy to find (hence long play). The lists have color/tint variations but I'm not sure which indicated that you had to do something to find or create the object. A lot of things you just move items around until you get to what you are supposedly looking for. Have fun with the puzzles that you rotate the pieces to make a whole picture of something. All of the pieces around the piece that you are rotating do rotate as well. The graphics were clear and all worked ok but I did not appreciate the repeat setup and oddities with the HO scenes and puzzles.
jkjennings | Added on: February 24, 2014
 
I know this is a hidden object game but, gees, there are so many HO scenes. At least two in each scene. Mini games are few and are just clicky, with no real reasoning involved. This game would be great for someone that enjoys mindless fun with little effort. Of course, I did play the easiest option, so that may account for my limited experience.
AprilRyan | Added on: February 25, 2014
 
Your father went missing, an other scientist went mad. Sorry, spoiled the plot, that was about it. Anyway, this is a hidden object adventure, very heavy on the hidden object scenes (I like the adventuring), but most of them are very interactive and even have embedded puzzles in them which I like. Also, the hint points out the non-interactive objects first (this I find very important, since I use the hint button a lot during the hidden object scenes, but would rather do the interactive ones myself). There are also quite some puzzles, some very easy, some a bit more challenging and some even a bit original. The explanation was not always very good, but for most puzzles it was clear what was expected. The game was not very long, but it took me an (enjoyable) afternoon
Pebbles000 | Added on: February 25, 2014
 
I was very disappointed in this game. Mostly HOs and puzzels. Some of the interactive items were out in left field, for example one place a box was wired shut and you used scissors to cut the wires. There was limited moving between scenes, no map was necessary. You do not get caught up in the game and there is no sense of adventure to accomplish the goal. I would not recommend this game.
RedFirePhoenix | Added on: February 24, 2014
 
This game seemed promising, even with the slightly hokey plot line in the description. I feel like the idea just never reached its potential. For one thing, in most HOGs, when you get a gear symbol or something of that nature, it tells you what is needed when you click on it. This game does not, and where to use some of the items is not always intuitive. The puzzles were fairly standard and easy to get past; the only one I skipped was the age old rotate the squares to complete the picture, only this was the variety where the squares also rotate all the squares touching them. I never have liked that one. This was also extremely short, so don't expect this one to kill much time for you. Overall it was okay for what it was, but I found this one very disappointing for an Alawar game, who usually has some of the best HOGs out there. This felt like something they threw together to have a new release quickly.
haley458 | Added on: February 24, 2014
 
This game started out to be promising. Good graphics, somewhat interesting story, 3 options for challenge level, etc. But then it became 1 H/O scene after the other after the other. And boy, are they ever involved! I don't mind the occasional stick-the-cheese-in-the-trap-to-catch-the-mouse or use-razor-on-crudely-sewn-pillow-to-find-hidden-gem interactions, but this game has you solving full puzzles in order to get a single useless item. In fact, the puzzles during the H/O scenes are more challenging that some of the non-H/O scene puzzles! It's just too much. And there is at LEAST one scene in every room! I started holding my breath going from place to place, dreading the 15-min H/O scene I was destined to step into until I started to forget the game's purpose & story. THAT'S when you know it has waaay too many H/O scenes! If only the developers of this game would've put that amount of effort into the rest of the game play, this could've been great. But as it stands, I won't be completing this one.
MJ1234 | Added on: February 27, 2014
 
I thought this was a pretty good game - graphics were great, story was interesting. There were lots of HO scenes which I like. Lots of puzzles - most were simple to do. I liked that you were constantly moving forward so you never had to go back to an area - I always felt like I knew where I was going and what I needed to do. I thought this was a very enjoyable game!
mimi2010 | Added on: February 24, 2014
 
This is a very relaxing game after the horror I've just had! You have to beat the Demon and set the world free, you know the stuff. It's quite a short game but logically planned, so you progress through it without any searching about The graphics are clear, and the sound track isn't obtrusive. Some of the puzzles are quite new and fairly hard, but you can skip them if you want to. And you have plenty of help along the way. This is a game you can play in an afternoon when you've nothing else. I'd play it again as it didn't give me a breakdown!
cat_in_rv | Added on: March 18, 2014
 
The story line on this game is straight forward. Your father went missing years ago, and for some reason now you've decided to look for him. The scenes are well drawn, and that's always a plus. But it seems like the whole game is designed to shunt you from one HO scene to another with very little of anything else inbetween. The HO scenes themselves are somewhat complicated and even have some puzzles inside them, which is a twist. The mini games are also numerous, and some of them can be a bit tricky. By mid-way through I found myself thinking "Oh no, not another HO scene," but that's the way this game was put together. If you like a lot of HO scenes that are relatively challenging, then this game is probably for you. I enjoyed it but I wish other aspects of the game had been more developed. Probably a bit too complicated for younger children.
ithink | Added on: March 25, 2014
 
Lots of HO games that were enjoyable. Just the right amount of looking without being frustrating. Not a lot of traveling from page to page, which was nice for a change. This is one I'll play more than once.
wojogundo | Added on: February 24, 2014
 
This game was pretty good, I liked the storyline, game was on the short side...It could have been a bit more involved for me. I really like HO games that are adventurous not just all HOs. This game did have both. Some inventory items were sometimes hard to find but the HOs were good and the puzzles were fairly easy. What I really liked about this game is that I only had to do one HO per scene. I really dislike HOs that have you going back to the same scene over and over again, worse yet is when the items get repeated as well. Also, this game kept going forward...I never needed a map because there was no need to revisit a scene. All in all a decent game. Glad to finally get a game that has no bugs or glitches...past few games that were released were pretty 'buggy'!