Heroes of KalevalaHeroes of Kalevala
Number of reviews to show on each page:
20 reviews
 
Reviews of Heroes of Kalevala
mstng | Added on: August 29, 2011
 
This match three game is very well done.When I first started playing my thoughts were not to bad, pretty easy. That changed as soon as I started to put my villages together. It became challanging,and addictive. The match three segments of the game can be fast paced getting up to the levels in the 50's. I was always saying, "Just try one more time to beat this round", then lose, then try again. Yeah it's one of those games. Tough to put down. I ended up playing all of the levels and it does have a good replay. Very recommended to play.
Marymay | Added on: January 25, 2012
 
I am currently playing this game an am enjoying it immensely. Again slightly different to other match 3 games with the differnt heroes having to be picked to help you win. Wrong hero you have to keep changing them to get the right one to win. Not real sure about the villagers but keep doing things until they stop shaking there arms at me. Would recomend for match thre gamers.
xyzlealea | Added on: June 3, 2011
 
I'm not sure what sets a match 3 game apart from all the rest, but this is definitely one of the better ones. I found it to be just the right degree of difficulty, with some levels more challenging that others, but none too frustrating to complete. Just choose your heroes wisely and have fun!
Mysterya | Added on: August 26, 2013
 
Many ways to progress in this. Options almost unlimited. You build your way across several lands to earn money to build and attract heroes to help you. Choosing the right hero makes all the difference as wellas deciding how much of a village to build up before starting another.
Juliet | Added on: June 16, 2011
 
This game required more overall strategy than the usual match three game, which is a good thing, How you develop your village effects your ability to play the match three portion, and vice versa. The only thing I wish this game had was a high score list, so I could see if i could complete the game in fewer levels if I developed the villages differently. As far as balancing gameplay with storyline, it compares to Dreamsdwell Stories. If you find it hard to complete, just keep changing your heroes until you find one that can help you. If none of the ones you have can help, then go back and build your villages a little more. There are a lot of powerups to buy.
Lisa522 | Added on: October 4, 2010
 
Pretty cool game. You start the game as a settler on open land. You then have to play match 3 sets in order to win coins you can use to build up your villages. I also like that the heroes that you earn really do a fabulous job of helping you out. In the time I played, I earned 2 heroes - 1 that creates floods that clears the screen from the bottom up the more you use him in a level. Another has a hammer attack that hits a lot of tricky spots and the more you use him, the better. You are shown the puzzle before each level so you can choose a hero you wish to use given the obstacles before you. Lots of variety. At level 21 (out of 140) and already have 2 villages I can build up (and more to unlock), 2 heroes to help clear the boards (more to unlock). Lots of obstacles too - pieces frozen solid, some chained, some metal, tar that creeps up from the bottom, and a nasty crow sent by a witch that makes its way around the board (this is your timer). You must flip all the selected tiles from yellow to blue before the crow makes it to the end. I wish the villagers did a little more. I earned a farmer upgrade but the only thing I notice is a villager running around in a hat. I'd like to see them actually build some crops. Also, many of the upgrades you earn are trees or flowers - I'd rather earn a few more buildings or other props. I also wish there was some help available to interpret what the villagers are trying to tell you. I think I've been pretty accurate guessing so far but would be nice to know if I'm right or not. All in all, this is an enjoyable and addicting game. My only fear is that it may become quite difficult long before the 140th level. There have already been a few levels I have had to replay but as others have mentioned, it's usually easier the second time through. I would give this game 4 out of 5 stars. I think with the right tweaks it could have been a 5. Fun game - recommend this one!
dnarth | Added on: June 9, 2011
 
Tried the free version but quickly bought the complete version. Enjoy the game!!
Mysterya | Added on: November 17, 2012
 
Nice change of pace. Keeps you quick on th emouse and thinking. The option of more than one hero to help you is nice as definately certain heroes better than some. Now that I have completed it I will try and better my scores and complete the levels quicker.
emi1 | Added on: October 7, 2010
 
this a great match 3 game-not only do u have the typical match 3-match 3 or more to break tiles/break iced blocks, stone blocks, chains u also have heros that help u by using a hammer/h2o. i really liked building the village and deciding where to place buildings/when to buy farmer, explorer/planting trees and flowers-i liked that u can move things after u've placed them. liked the graphics and the music. really a great match 3...
dialyn | Added on: November 18, 2012
 
There is something they don't tell you in the game...you can move from village to village without actually having to completely finish one before starting the next. I thought I was done with the game when I reached the fourth village but I couldn't figure out why I had not seen all the heroes. I went back to the first village and continued playing it and realized that there was more to this game than I thought originally. This turned it from somewhat easy match 3 game to a more challenging one. I didn't find all the heroes all that useful but they are an interesting group and I found it a race to beat the time keeping raven from finishing ahead of me. There is no penalty for playing a level over so you can try different heroes for each level until you get the one that works the best. Found this fun and restful, not excessively challenging. The villagers don't do much except wave their hands about but I enjoyed building the villages. Overall, if you like match, 3, this is a good entry into the genre. Might be too easy for advanced players but it was just right for me.
Robulus | Added on: August 15, 2011
 
Good graphics and game play. Heroes are selected by the player for their powers that best conquer the obstacles of individual levels. The powers are different from most match 3 games. I especially like the rising water and growing branches power-ups. The "time is running out" music near the end of each level gets the pulse pounding.
Creideann | Added on: October 7, 2011
 
One of the nicest match threes I have tried. Liked that you actually accumulated your money, points for a reason. The play and village building went with the story line very well. Liked the heroes. Colorful and entertaining in all aspects of the game. Liked the heroes actually helped you in different ways and depending on where you were at and the challenge you were playing would depend on the heroes you would pick to meet that level. Loved the music. Sound Reel is awesome. The music was perfect for each village and level.
medialady | Added on: August 8, 2011
 
I did not expect this game to be a two in one game. I can play connect 3 objects in a row and decorate my village at the same time. The matching game pieces were easy at first, then they became difficult as the level increases. What makes this game different from the other is that the players are allowed to get help from the town heroes.
daisychain | Added on: May 31, 2011
 
An absolutely brilliant game, one of the best I have ever played. So many levels (150) and initialy it can be rather challenging. I have now completed it 4 times and some of the later levels are still quite tricky. The key to it is using the right hero and then it becomes much easier when you know what each hero does. Creating the villages adds more interest to the game as well. I now need to find another game that will interest me as much as this one!! I used the free download but it is certainly one that is worth paying for.
kelsoj10 | Added on: October 17, 2011
 
Enjoyed the match 3 part, but it does get difficult, but I managed to complete it, albeit I did have to play many of the levels over again and again and try different heroes. Building the villages was quite fun, but the space is limited and the more houses (people) you put on the board, the greater your rewards. Most of the people questioned every new thing, but after a bit gave an okay. But there were a few who were constantly irate over who knows what. You put down a tree and they start yelling. You move the tree and they follow it and keep up the yelling. Sometimes I just picked them up and flung them off to the far recesses of the board where they often kept on yelling. An enjoyable game overall.
infinity | Added on: January 7, 2013
 
I don't always download the free game of the day, but I'm glad I gave this one a try. Top marks to the designers for trying to add originality to the standard match 3 format. The iced tiles drip water like melting ice cubes. The matching icons are sharp, brilliantly colored, and have fun animations, like the oyster flipping open its shell to reveal a pearl. The timer, (which really isn't a problem), is represented by a crow flying around the puzzle and leaving a trail of fire. The power-ups are interesting and based upon superpowers of heroes, such as a hammer thrown by the game that smashes multiple tiles, or a flood of water by an ocean god that washes away tiles. But you only get one superhero per level, so you've got to decide which one will help the most based upon the layout of the tiles and the blocks, like chains. Creating the village didn't seem to be a big thing. It goes slowly,.but the graphics and animations are nice. I'm not a city-builder type of player, so it's nice that you can come back to the game now and again without feeling you have to play through to the end. I'd give it a try. Oh wait, I already did!
collagejoy | Added on: August 16, 2011
 
I really enjoyed this game. More than I thought I would. I found it quite addicting. It gets more difficult as you progress and some levels had to be redone a number of times before I could move forward. There were a couple of levels that were especially difficult and I almost gave up, thinking the game was just going to get too hard for me. However, perseverance paid off and the following levels were slightly easier. Choosing the correct hero for each level is a big part of winning this game. Highly recommended.
Crazy4games | Added on: May 9, 2011
 
This game starts off simple enough, but by level 20 you really have a challenge on your hands. It is possible to complete this game! I have finished all levels and I don't think I've had as much fun ever. The trick is to choose your hero helper correctly. Given the set-up of the screen, sometime the hero that causes a flood will help you more than the hero that shoots arrows, for example. Setting up the villages was also a fun diversion, although, like other reviewers, I couldn't tell what the villagers wanted and there were not instructions. Overall, a very challenging and therefore, fun match 3 game.
gsjddr | Added on: October 7, 2010
 
I've been waiting for a new Match 3 game for a very long time. I was so happy to see this one come out, but even happier when I started to play it. I'm now on level 102 and it's still as much fun as when I started it. The only problem I'm having is trying to figure out what the villagers are trying to tell me. I wish there were a little more explaining of what you are supposed to be doing with the villagers. But, it's a wonderful game and if you love Match 3 as much as I do, you will get hours of enjoyment out of this one. I hope GameHouse makes more Match 3 games available.
kaybuie | Added on: June 8, 2011
 
This game was fun for about an hour so I bought it. Little did I know that it would turn so hard so quick. Maybe I'm misunderstanding the instructions but I can't get vary far at all.
cjvp | Added on: October 7, 2010
 
Could be a nice game except the difficulty of anything over level 23 or so makes it a no go in my opinion. Too much work, too little fun. So developers, did you actually want anyone to play this game to the end? Doesn't seem like it!
sportygal2009 | Added on: October 5, 2010
 
Wow! What a game and to think I almost passed this up and didn't play it! In this game you are trying to earn as much money as you can to purchase different types of buidlings, trees, etc., to keep the people happy. There are 140 levels and right now I'm at 39, hanging it up for now as I've been playing this for SEVERAL HOURS but a game I will definitely come back and finish. The first 20 levels of this is pretty easy in my opinion and really no challenge but AFTER level 20??? OMG! LOL! Beware of all the obstacles put in your way such as locked & iced tiles and especially the ones with the black "tar" is the best I know how to describe them as you can't see what matches need to be made until you get rid of that and then to top it off their is a black crow that goes around "burning" the edge of the border of your match 3 game placed there by a witch as that is your timer. You can also tell when you are just about out of time because the music really speeds up like music from a really great thriller/suspense movie. There is a way to slow the crow down though but not always possible. If you can make matches near the crow, it will slow it down to a complete stop for a few seconds or depending how many matches you can make near the crow. I didn't have to redo any levels until I hit level 22 I believe it was and a couple of them since then I've had to redo 2 or 3 times. You do have heroes that help you out. So far I've unlocked ones that shoots arrows, throws hammers, creates a flood, or throws music notes and you can choose your hero once you earn enough money to move forward and unlock. This is by far one of the best Match 3 games I've ever downloaded to date and I definitely give it 5 stars for its challenge. So if you enjoy Match 3 games and looking for a challenge, I highly recommend this one. This ROCKS in my opinion. Give it a whirl and I hope you enjoy it as much as I have.