Hero of the KingdomHero of the Kingdom
Number of reviews to show on each page:
20 reviews
 
Reviews of Hero of the Kingdom
31771155 | Added on: August 1, 2014
 
I have really enjoyed playing Hero of the Kingdom over and over again. I just played it again today and found something new that I had never found before. This game is very interesting and it is not too hard to play. You are not on a timer which makes me happy. It is all about exploring and finding things to complete your quest. Even if you don't find everything you can still complete the quest. It is a lot of fun and I can't wait for a sequel to come out. Such a great adventure.
WendyDarling | Added on: May 18, 2013
 
i've never done any of these review things before, but i wanted to do this one because i absolutely loved it. other than the westward series, this has been my favorite game i've played from this site. i played it all the way through twice just to make sure i didn't miss anything. please bring us some sequels of this game quickly!
Irisheyesmeg | Added on: March 20, 2013
 
I cannot understand the reviews that say this game is boring. No, it doesn't start off with a bang. It's the story of a young boy on a farm whose father goes on a week-long trip to town. During that time, the farm is attacked by bandits, and burned to the ground. Now you (as the young boy) must head off into the wilderness to find your missing father. Along the way,you will help people, gather items, learn new skills and explore new landscapes. Here's the good news: this is a free flowing game with no timer of any kind. You can do things in the order that you want to do them. This results in a very easygoing game but that doesn't make it boring. I loved exploring each page for the tiny (see negatives) objects. Searching for pearls, mushrooms, hidden treasures and many other items kept my interest for a long time. There is also a constant hint button though I rarely used it. You have to earn money, in order to obtain weapons, soldiers, food, and potions. The game increases in difficulty as it progresses. You can also choose to increase your skills in various areas. For example, if you become a better hunter, you can kill larger prey which earns you more money. Negatives: As mentioned, the graphics are tiny. I found myself straining to make out the tiny graphics at times but it just made it that much more of a reward when I found treasure. The biggest negative? The game is TOO short! I beat it in less than a day which just isn't right. I felt it could have gone on for double that amount. But it's also a game that lends itself to replay. Don't judge this game too quickly. Yes, it's a relaxing game in that there is no timer and you can do your own thing but I was totally engaged in the story-line and was NEVER bored!
NMJester | Added on: March 19, 2013
 
I expected this game to be similar to "My Kingdom" series or "Kingdom Chronicles", but it is like neither. This is labeled as an action game but it has ZERO action. It's extremely boring. The only graphics are the scenery and an occasionally moving icon. The interaction with characters and the environment is completely text-based. The scenes are slow to load and you need to move from page to page repeatedly to get needed items. The "hint" feature is poor, too. I would not recommend this game to anyone. It requires too much memory and reading for kids and it lacks action for adults. I'm very disappointed.
covingtonmom | Added on: April 2, 2013
 
I've played this game through 3 times now and will probably do so again. The first time, I was just getting the hang of how to make money and what to look for. I used the very helpful hint button a lot. It gives very good direction when you have quests, but just suggest that you sell some of your items to make money. It took a lot of looking around to find out who would buy what. When I finished and read some of the forums, I realized I'd missed quite a lot so I started again. I was still not satisfied with my achievements, so back I went. I've gotten almost all of the achievements, but there's still a few items I haven't found. I really like that it has a map feature which allows you to jump to different locations, making movement around the areas very easy. All in all, one of the best games I've played lately.
kediri | Added on: March 20, 2013
 
I thouroughly enjoyed playing this game and have played it from start to finish! :D I had seen it on another game site and was very tempted to buy it but was delighted when I saw it was available here and on funpass too! I have given it 4 stars because the icons for the quest and sellable items are tiny, if you mouseover them a text box does come up but still they can be quite tricky to find. Also I think it would help to have a quest journal and maybe an indicator on the screen to show if there are still items to find, obviously relevant to your player's level. A map does become available which allows fast travel and it also shows where you are and a text box comes up with each location name. I didn't need to use the hints at all, in fact wasn't even aware that they were there but if you need help the question mark is the place to go to. I'm not sure that once you complete the game in its entirety that there would be much scope for replay but I would say it's a very involving game and if you have the time to play it in one go, go for that. I'd think restarting part way through would involve some need to familirise yourself with your environment. You really need to aim to do every quest you can, as doing them often gives great rewards and unlocks new areas and I feel enables you to complete the game with the highest levels. I'm not sure that it's possible to finish if you just go for the end goal. The inventory is huge, so don't worry about the amount of stuff you collect! It has a good story and I felt it was a very enjoyable way to spend the afternoon - evening. Give it a go but don't expect high end graphics. If you like the old style adventure quest games, then this one is for you!
Smedley | Added on: April 3, 2013
 
This game really grows on you! the introduction/tutorial might turn some folks off, but the pace picks up once you move beyond the mountain pass! As you become more familiar with the game options, the tasks and challenges become more formidable. I have played the full game twice; the second time was even more fun! Here's why: There are no time constraints, so you can opt to either for a quick victory over the Dark Lord, or try to help everyone along the way while also gaining all 38 achievements/tasks trophies! This can become somewhat tedious in that so many things are so hidden that one must resort to random clicking - that's why I gave it 4 stars instead of 5. Here's some hints: pearls can be found in almost any body of water - ponds and streams included! You have many choices for rest spots; often a tent by the military camp or at the mountain pass can be more efficient than staying at an inn (also you get an achievement award for nights camping out - NOT staying at inns!). A real plus for the game is that your trophies are cumulative, so you can continue to max out the game each time you play it! The features unattained are reset for each new game (I have 35 of 38 awards). I wish the game kept track of net wealth (coins), but that is not offered. I would suggest that more options be added to help find things such as pearls, barrels, eggs, etc., perhaps through the smuggler, the mage, or the traders. Tradewinds 2 and Tradewinds Oddessy provide such features - at a price, of course! Five Golden Eggs are needed to attain expert hunter status, and they are very hard to find! Hero of the Kingdom could be one of the year's best - and any sequel that addresses its few shortcomings will be a sure hit! Thank you, Gamehouse!
suemo6 | Added on: March 24, 2013
 
Having played so many Time Management games, this one is quite different and really quite interesting. There is a good story line for the whole game starting with the hero's adventure to save his father from bandits. Each scene opens up a different vista of old country charm and scattered along the way are treasures and goodies you have to spot which will give you gold coins to purchase all the necessary equipment to enable you to carry on with your journey. The description for each errand is clear and precise and some of the errands are quite funny and believeable. The story unfolds with a Dark Lord and his minions of the undead, scarags, goblins and bandits. Moving from slow to a fast paced action game. It captures your interest as you move from stage to stage and except for the fact that the graphics (e.g. the people) could be cleaner, overall it achieved a hero in the making story. I thoroughly enjoyed playing it.
haley458 | Added on: March 19, 2013
 
First of all, I would NOT consider this an "action" game at all, so don't count on that. It's more of an adventure game by far! Yes, it starts out slowly. But you definietly need more than 10 minutes, so ignore that review that says "boring" before you decide for yourself. In the 1st couple scenes you'll get a bit of background story. And though they may be hard to see, be sure to click on any egg nests or mushrooms that you see - you can trade them later! You won't be able to do anything about the animals for awhile; you have to get a little farther and trade for weapons, etc. You'll need to make sure you always make note of what kind of things you can get or trade in each area; also, pay attention to what other little objects (very tiny objects!) start to show up as the game progresses (i.e. little barrels/boxes, different color mushrooms, etc.) -- these later things will even show up in previous scenes if you go back to them at that time. I basically clicked on any little speck of color that looked out of the ordinary! As the game goes on you'll be able to do more, get more money, etc. -- and don't forget to "rest" (gaining more hearts = energy) as you do more things (hunt, pick flowers, etc.). Once you get into it, it's actually fun -- the only reason I took 1 star away is b/c it can be frustrating looking for those microscopic objects when you need to. But give it a shot before you allow your childlike 10-minute attention span decide for you (not that I should talk on that one)...
fryde_99 | Added on: March 20, 2013
 
I have never played this kind of game before - it was a litle like a time management game and a little like a treasure hunt game
31313482 | Added on: October 15, 2013
 
I thoroughly enjoyed this game! It started a bit slow, but I really enjoyed the story, the endless quests, and finding all of the little items along the way. It’s not a hidden object game, but finding the items added a lot of fun to the game. The graphics and music were great; very lovingly designed. I beat the game over two days, and was sad when it ended. If I were to compare it to another game, I’d probably say Fable, but this game is of course much shorter. If you are looking for something fast-paced, this is NOT your game. But if you have more patience than the average American, please give this game a try.
celisewood | Added on: March 18, 2013
 
Not even sure if I was still playing a tutorial three screens in but I've never played such a slow moving "nothing" game in my life! Perhaps not enough patience to get into it but I am uninstalling it after ten minutes of play.