Haunted Past - Realm of GhostsHaunted Past - Realm of Ghosts
Number of reviews to show on each page:
20 reviews
 
Reviews of Haunted Past - Realm of Ghosts
 | Added on: September 25, 2015
 
I absolutely loved this game. The only thing that would have made it better would have been a map. But I think this is one of those games that actually came out long before the maps became popular. The graphics are nicely done, for being as old a game as it is. Still... this game has withstood the test of time and I hope will be around for several more years.
 | Added on: March 20, 2012
 
Great game! Good graphics and good storyline. Hints recharge quickly. Hint button also works to let you know where to go next which is very helpful when you don't have a map. Only wish it were a little longer. Hope you enjoy. This is a definite reco.
 | Added on: May 20, 2013
 
Loved the graphics, difficulty of HOS and the constant challenges throughout the entire game. Great thought and work went into creating this HOG. Awesome. 5 stars all the way!
 | Added on: March 19, 2012
 
I found this game like a a good book very hard to leave. The need to click between many rooms to get to the next challenge is frustrating and makes the game very clicky. As another reviewer stated a map that allowed jumping between areas would have been very helpful. regardless, I found this an enjoyable game! The graphics are good, the game is challenging but not impossible to figure out with a little thought and effort on your part. I recommend this game to all!
 | Added on: March 18, 2012
 
This game was great! Not only did it keep my interest but the pace of it held my attention as well. Best game in a awhile!
 | Added on: March 18, 2012
 
I played this game in relaxed mode and can see it would be a lot harder otherwise, there are two other options. The hints are helpful but you have to think a little bit, like I had boards in my inventory which I tried to use to cross over a gap in the floor, but it turned out I needed the blanket instead. You move between the real world anda ghost world and hide objects so you can find them in the other dimension. One good thing about this game, when you find an object you are going to need, or there is something you need to perform, after you do it, that part of the room will no longer light up so you know you have completed that part of the game. Also when you finish with a room on either side, it will say "cleared". Great feature - means you don't waste time in a room when there is nothing there. A few glitches - you have to click on things several times to get them, but other than that this is a must -play game.
 | Added on: April 6, 2012
 
Midnight Mysteries has done it again ! Their games are never a disappointment. Challenging enough to keep your interest but never to the point of regretting buying it. Stories lines are fun. Looking for clovers & ravens keep you on your toes. Can't wait for the next one !
 | Added on: March 20, 2012
 
liked it a lot, graphics and hidden objct screens were very good. Hard enough to be fun but not so hard as to be frustrating
 | Added on: February 1, 2013
 
From the moment it played the free trial i bought and downloaded this game. I usually like my H.O. games a little more challenging but i still loved this game. Going back and forth between worlds was great, to see the same room in two totally different ways. I loved the fact that when you were finished with something it wouldn't let you click on it anymore. There's nothing worse then trying to figure out what to do next or where to go next and your clicking on something that's done and wont help you. But this game avoids all of that. It lets you know when you've finished with something as well as completing everything in a room. The game was short completed in 4 hours. I like games that are longer but I still really like this game and its great if you want something good that's not going to stress you out bc its so hard and your unable to figure things out. But a few tips to those that are going to play..in some of the HO parts its very picky where you click on things....and sometimes it will say like 2x birds but there's actually more then the 2 birds (last time I checked an owl was a bird) that can get very annoying. But other then that it was great. Have fun
 | Added on: March 18, 2012
 
THE GRAPHICS ARE AWESOME AND YOU WILL LOVE THIS GAME IT IS CHALLENGING BUT NOT SUPER HARD, IT WORTH EVERY PENNY
 | Added on: March 19, 2012
 
This is a fun game and not so challenging that you get frustrated. A map would have been nice to avoid all the "back" clicking. If you really want to be challenged, this game is probably not for you. But like me, if you simply enjoy finding hidden objects and solving the puzzles, this is for you.
 | Added on: March 27, 2012
 
Very enjoyable game! Not so difficult to be frustrating, not so easy you loose interest. A well thought out game with a nice twist, finding objects in the ghost realm, you must hide them there to be able to recover them in this realm and use them to solve a puzzle. Nicely done Gogii Games !!! Graphics are beautifull and crisp. Help/ hint feature refilled quickly and was helpful. Put on your walkin' shoes, there is quite a bit of to-ing and fro-ing so you get your excercise, lol as other reviewers have said a jump map would have been helpfull. Overall this is a very enjoyable game, not to be missed, tho imo not for the youngsters. game lenght was great , imo very long games tend to get very redundant and tedious.. Definately recommend to all for a very good and enjoyable play. You will not be disappointed :) Kudos to Gogii Games !!!!
 | Added on: May 25, 2012
 
This game is very "think" orientated with lots of going backwards and forwards as you move through each level. I would say that this game is one fo the more complicated ones i've played. The only negative thing i have to say is that i was both surprised and disappointed at the way the game ended.
 | Added on: March 29, 2012
 
I enjoyed this game. I like the fact that you can customize your options for play. The story is interesting and different with the ghost realm aspect. Not for small children, great game for an older audience.
 | Added on: April 11, 2012
 
You must find mother, she is lost between the two realms, that of the living and the dead. There is a lot of back and forth in this game, but it made it kind of fun. Great graphics/art work, You get to go back and forth in the spirit realm and real world as well, only to help find mother. This one is a hunt and pick game, as there are few clues if any. Some talking as well as reading. Not to bad for a spooky scary game.
 | Added on: November 18, 2012
 
This game was… satisfactory. The clearness and crispness of the graphics stood out to me immediately. Color palate wise, the graphics are beautifully dark with an abundance of grays and purples- which I love. The music isn’t particularly memorable, but is pleasant in some areas and is never overbearing or distracting. The game looks wonderful, but that’s about all there is to it. There isn’t much complexity, depth, or originality to the premise, storyline, or characters. A young woman inherits an estate, and lo and behold, discovers it’s haunted. It turns out she has the ability to see and speak with ghosts, as well as travel between the realms of the living and the dead. Seems cool enough, but I couldn’t help but feel like I’ve played very similar games before. In fact, I know I have… Macabre Mysteries: Curse of the Nightingale, Deadtime Stories, Margrave: The Curse of the Severed Heart, House of 1,000 Doors: Family Secrets, Phantasmat, Midnight Mysteries: Salem Witch Trials, Shiver: The Vanishing Hitchhiker, and etc. I could go on and on. As far as the HO scenes go, they’re rudimentary and easily completed. The puzzles require the use of basic logistics to be solved and not much else; therefore they present very little challenge. Seasoned HOG players will more than likely find this game too tame and simplistic. Still, should you find yourself stuck, there are plenty of hints and skip buttons to be used. Also, one of the helpful things about Gogii Games is the “Area Cleared” sign that drops down at the top of the screen when all tasks in a specific area have been completed. It helps prevent backtracking and keeps you moving forward through the game. I was hoping the ending would add a twist to the stale storyline, but was left feeling very underwhelmed. Still, there’s a certain quaint appeal to the game that kept me playing. On that note, I would suggest it’s worth at least a play-through.
 | Added on: June 12, 2012
 
The graphics are clear and the music appropriate. The storyline is original. The HOs are easy and the Hint button refills quickly. It also shows in which direction to go without depleting. The game indicates when an area has been cleared. I loved the way it twinkles when you have found all that’s needed to be found. The game is quite creative in so far as finding items and hiding them in one realm in order to retrieve them in the other realm. Truly enjoyable game!
 | Added on: March 23, 2012
 
I very much enjoyed the challenge of this game - and I have to confess I needed to use a few hints to help me move forward in a few places. But it was wonderful fun and I would definitely recommend this game for anyone that likes HOG's. Unique for me in this game was the need to hide objects in one realm to use them in the ghost realm - great concept. I would not recommend this game for young children due to it's complexity and scary story line.
 | Added on: May 16, 2012
 
Overall this game was very enjoyable. The entwining of the ghost world with the real world added an interesting dimension.
 | Added on: March 17, 2012
 
I enjoyed this game but did finish it in two hours. I appreciated the hints and clues along the way because at some areas you have no idea where to go or what do next without them. One thing I did not like was having to click through 8, 10 or more doors to get to the room I needed to be in. A jump-to map would have been much better, but then I guess the game would have only been an hour long. Will play it again for relaxation.
 | Added on: March 17, 2012
 
Very good game.. I enjoyed it very much.. Sad to say I didnt play it on GH, but a diffrent site. Worth the time it took to play it.. Great graphics and story line.
 | Added on: March 23, 2012
 
I really liked this game. The graphics were wonderful and the music was not too much. I lked that the hints recharged fast, and it did not use a hint to go from room to room. The puzzles were not challenging enough. The only thing I did not like was the game was way to short. I played the free hour and then purchased the game,and it just was not long enough.
 | Added on: April 16, 2012
 
I thoroughly enjoyed this game. Having to work out going between reality and the ghost realm was a new way for me to do hidden object games. The graphics were excellent and story line good.
 | Added on: April 12, 2012
 
Excellent graphics, suspenseful music, good story. I don't really like the story (just that I wanted something more sinister :P) but it developed pretty well. Good HO. Puzzles and tasks are enjoyably challenging. Hint is not consumed if using as direction, which is very useful as I was stuck sometimes. A lot of back and forth, but the scene will indicate Area Clear, which is nice for me not having to search in those scenes. Pretty good game to play. However, for purchase, the Platinum edition may be better as there are extras, including a bonus chapter (aww I want to know what it is but I don't want to pay for just that as I've already finished the game >-<)
 | Added on: March 24, 2012
 
I liked going from room to room to try and solve the mystery behind the story. The graphics were great, hints were helpful and it leaves you with the feeling there will be another one. Can't wait.
 | Added on: June 10, 2012
 
This game is easy to figure out but I love the scenes. The story line is lousy. Poor replay once game is finished.
 | Added on: March 23, 2012
 
I really liked this game. I started off in Advanced Mode but had to change to Casual. The Advanced mode has very little help and I couldn't figure out what to do next. Casual mode is still quite challenging but not as frustrating as Advanced. Music, graphics, and storeyline are all very good.
 | Added on: March 19, 2012
 
I liked going back and forth and searching for the ithems all over. Not so much as running back and forth, but challenging enough to have to use your brain. I enjoyed the game several times.
 | Added on: July 3, 2012
 
Just spooky enough for a grandma and 9 yr old grand daughter to play together with giggles and shivers about the spooky parts. We had so much fun playing this together! Enough of a story line for me to like, and not too much where grand daughter got bored or impatient. Fun to move between realms and use things as well. Give it a try, you just might like it.
 | Added on: February 27, 2012
 
Wonderful. I love the graphics and the storyline was very good. Part of the fun was remembering where you had seen something before. Excellent job. I have played 3 times so far. Very addictive.
 | Added on: June 4, 2012
 
I usually don't like going back and forth a lot, but in this game that was part of the fun! I like that you had to remember what you had seen in various places so that you can go back and get it. I don't remember how long the game was exactly, but I can tell you it is one of the longer play time games. Some of the hidden objects were hidden well, but not so well that you got frustrated looking for them, and they were not so easy that you could go click, click, click and find them all! And you had to be clever in the past to hide objects you will need in the future. And make sure you look at the paintings! Graphics were not all dark and gloomy - there was some color to it. I really enjoyed this game. Played it free with Fun Pass and then actually bought the game.
 | Added on: February 5, 2013
 
This was my first hidden object game and I liked it enough that I bought more and more of them. It wasn't too involved or challenging, it was just right for an afternoon of leisure. If you are into hidden object games you will love this one.
 | Added on: February 21, 2012
 
All I can say is that I loved this game. Yes, some of the hidden things are hard to see but that's the whole point of the game. My only glitch was that sometimes the cut scenes would stick and if I did use the hints/strategy guide, it was purely cos I'm too bone idle to look for long to see what I've missed! All in all a great game and the premium edition extra chapter is a great little game on its own. Bring on the next one.
 | Added on: February 16, 2012
 
very dark, spooky HOG. really enjoyed the music & the background sounds-thunder storm-sounded very authentic and close. the items were hard for me to find sometimes, b/c i had a hard seeing them. not sure if this is b/c of the darkness of the game, or just my eyes gettin older. anyway, being able to use the hint button pretty frenquently if needed helped w/ that. the story is good-the audible dialogue was great-u could hear the fear & the malice in the ghost heroine and ghost villIan. there was not too much dialgoue to detract from the game. u find items in different locations-some items go into ur inventory as they r useful in later scenes. the minigames were definately ones i could play-at least in the 1st hr. u can skip them if ud like-which is always helpful to me. i liked that when u used the hint button u'd hear broken glass and a hole of broken glass would show u what u needed/where to go. all in all a good HOG...
 | Added on: November 19, 2012
 
I loved going from old and decrepit to shiny new in this HO game. What a great idea! I've always wished that these games would have an option or bonus play where you could make the rundown house/castle, etc. back to it's original pristine condition again. The scenes are beautiful. Love hiding and retrieving objects. Couldn't stop playing until I finished. More please!!
 | Added on: February 17, 2012
 
not worth the premium price. I never used the strategy guide once. Help system is very good at pointing you to where and what you need. Bonus chapter was incomplete, just leaving you hanging for the next chapter in this game. Only tok me coupolehours to complete the whole game... not worth the premium price. Great story though, good actors, and I probably will get the next installment.
 | Added on: February 20, 2012
 
My hour trial ran out before I got to the end so no clue how long or short the entire game maybe but I was really into this one right from the start! The story line is fairly intriguing and involved but thankfully doesn't have so much extra story and dialogue going to slow you down. I liked the graphics and music as well as the HO scenes. Most items were not too difficult to find and others needed a closer look. The hint button (in casual mode) is super but game flowed along nicely that I didn't need it but a couple of times. This one has the interesting twist of finding certain items, hiding them again and then retrieving them in the other side....and not quite as simple as it sounds! :-) All in all, this one is a keeper for me!
 | Added on: March 6, 2012
 
I was going to wait to play the non-platinum version when it was released but the description of the game intrigued me enough that I bought it although I have to agree with some other reviewers that it was probably not worth paying the premium price. The game reeled me in from the very first scene and kept my interest throughout. I was glad that it's untimed because there are lots of locations to visit (some more than once) and I appreciated the fact that you got an "Area Cleared" message when you'd found and did everything in a room. The HO scenes are very well rendered and the objects are hidden well enough to make them challenging enough to find but not so difficult as to be frustrating. The sound effects were great and added to the gameplay experience. Not everything is evident when you enter a room so looking for "hot spots" is required which I like better than having the game spelled out for you. There's not a lot of dialogue to go through and you have the option to skip any you come across. I do see some Replay Value in this one since some of the objects do change in subsequent run-throughs. The only thing I didn't like was the fact that, after finding certain items, a message would appear at the bottom of the screen but it would not stay there long enough to read and there was no way to get it back. Even after I relaized that this was happening I still couldn't catch all of those messages. I would have preferred that it stay there until you click on it to go away and this cost the game a star. All in all it's a good game. I didn't really see anything that would not make it Kid Friendly but parents should take a look at it first to make that determination.
 | Added on: February 21, 2012
 
Loved the story line in this game switching to & fro from the real world to the spirit world collecting & hiding objects in both realms to complete tasks to solve the murder mystery. Mini games are fun & there is a skip button. Nice quick refresh on the hint button. It is a dark story as you roam throughout the mansion on a stormy eve with the sound of constant thunder that enhances the story line confronting ghosts. This is NOT a kid friendly game. I found it was fairly easy to wander about the mansion which made the game even more fun. Good graphics, music & sound make this a solid game but I gave this a 4 star rating because the game playing time was short.
 | Added on: November 10, 2012
 
This is one of the best HO games I've played to date and I've played a lot of them. I loved the 2 realms that you have to go between. There was just the right balance of puzzle and hidden object scenes. It had a nice although cliche story. Graphics were great. Once I started the game i couldn't quit until I was done. It wasn't too hard so if you like a challenge I would suggest playing on advanced. Overall, one of the best and would recommend it.
 | Added on: March 6, 2012
 
What great graphics and story line. Very well done. Mother is wonderful and beautiful and I must help her. Talkie, was not much reading.Good mini games to keep you busy and some back and forth, but that becomes part of the fun on this great game. Takes a bit of thinking to remember and to get the right combination of things you will need. You should give this one a try.
 | Added on: February 24, 2012
 
Graphics and story line were excellant with this game. Just the right amount of HO and puzzles to maintain my interest, and the imagery was amazing. You do have to back track quite a bit, but I felt that was part of the challenge. All in all a great way to spend a few hours. If you're looking for more of a challenge, opt for the advanced level.
 

Sign up or sign in (for free)!

To play this game, simply enter your email and create a password to set up your free GameHouse account. This gives you lots of benefits, such as personalized game recommendations and discount offers!

X
Continue playing as guest »