Guardians of Magic - Amanda's AwakeningGuardians of Magic - Amanda's Awakening
Number of reviews to show on each page:
20 reviews
 
Reviews of Guardians of Magic - Amanda's Awakening
Vicky81 | Added on: January 29, 2013
 
I bought the game on the strength of the free trial and to be honest, I wish I hadn't. Although the game was fairly fun to play, I was very disappointed to find that once I had bought the game there was only another 20 minutes of game play left with a very weak ending. The puzzles are easily solvable but good for relaxing game play and I thought that by buying the full version I would have hours of relaxing play left, but as this is a game that you can only really play once, I feel that I have wasted my money. Very disappointed.
SilverSuki | Added on: March 28, 2011
 
As others have said, this is more of an adventure game than an HO game. It was great fun and turned out to be quite original. The storyline was very solid and the puzzles were fun - my only complaints are that it was a little too easy and a little too short. But don't let that put you off, it is definitely worth a play, I recommend it.
wydcmama | Added on: March 30, 2012
 
The graphics were good and the plot is okay -- but nothing to write home about. The hint system is totally useless. In fact, there is no hint system at all. And, the guidance on what to do is vague. I had to find a walk-through to get through the game. It is not an intuitive or logically sequenced game. I, personally, don't like games that need a strategy guide to get through them -- much less to finish.
mitsy | Added on: March 22, 2011
 
Nice game - and definitely recommend you try the free trial. I found it very engaging and 'different' to start off with but quickly turned out to be quite simple and repetitive. You end up just going back and forth between scenes to find anything at all you can activate. Some fun Mini puzzles though not all that challenging - seemed like a REALLY short game - bought it after hour trial and finished it pretty soon after.
emilou | Added on: May 19, 2011
 
I liked this game. It was nice and easy. The storyline was good and got your attention. The minigames were challenging but easy to get through. Not a true "hidden object" game, more of an adventure game, but a nice change. If you are looking for a relaxing afternoon game, this is it.
sportygal2009 | Added on: March 29, 2011
 
Wow! I must say I'm quite disappointed as I'd been looking forward to playing this for the longest time but not what I expected at all. This started off pretty interesting, challenging and thinky, as this is not a HOG but more like a an Adventure game. You have lots of things to find as you are pretty much moving your cursor (mouse) around until you interact with something as there are lots of boxes to open via puzzles, spells to cast, and places to go, travelling between this world and other worlds, and should keep you busy for a good couple of hours however for me the "interest" in this game ended after about a 1/2 hour once I got the hang of the game just found it boring and repetative. I hated having to trace the symbol (spell) each time to go between worlds and finding the constellations in the telescope. Not that this was hard or anything, just repetative and boring. Not really all that challenging. I couldn't even bring myself to finish this game. Definitely give this a whirl and decide for yourself. Most seem to have enjoyed this but sorry just not for me. I give this 3 stars. Not all that and a bag of chips so to speak. Just OK in my opinion.
roxy8279 | Added on: May 19, 2011
 
In this game you have to be good at figuring things out for yourself. There's no tasks. You begin in a side yard. There's a tree a front door and a basement door both are locked. You have to find the gears for the well. Then put it together. Some of the hints don't really help but I had fun playing.
daizylady30 | Added on: July 28, 2012
 
The graphics are good. The objects you have to interact with are clear. The music is a little repetitive but overall it is pleasant. It took me two times trying before I was able to beat this game due to the vague hint system. You have to really pay attention in every location to get through the game. You also need to use the sound. There is at least one occasion where there is a knock at the door when a package is left. I love the bubble machine. I thought that was a nice added efffect. The mini games all have the option to skip the puzzles. I didn't see a need for this but used it twice just becuase i wanted to get on with the game to see what was next. I don't see any real replay value to the game because once you have been through the whole thing it is the same the second time around. The storyline is cute but campy. I think this is a kid friendly game, no gore or foul language but, it may prove to dificult for younger player by themselves. All in all, I enjoyed it tvery much.
C01P07 | Added on: September 20, 2011
 
It seemed to me that a lot more content could have come with this game. The storyline is interesting and original and I thought it was disappointing how little the creators explored the story and how quickly it finished. In my mind there could have been more spells to find, more machines to collect and more to do in each of the worlds. I also thought for a puzzle game it wasn't very challenging. Nonetheless, a good hours entertainment!
Takethater | Added on: April 28, 2011
 
Nice idea for a game, picking up objects to solve puzzles but the game was too short. Some of the puzzles were too easy as such as the tangigram puzzles (fitting triangles and squares and other shapes together to form a picture). The puzzle would tell you if it was in the right place by locking it into position. These puzzles should make you think more by you moving them round until you get it right. Matching pairs and road rush games are nothing new, and were too easy. Okay to wile away an hour or too if you are on fun pass but you'll be disappointed if you pay full price for this game.
cmcnaul | Added on: April 15, 2011
 
I wouldn't go as far to say this game would be kid friendly, I think it may be a little above that age. (I'm guessing like 5-12 maybe, unless your kid is some "doogie houser" type) I did enjoy playing the game, which I even ignored a few of my favorite tv shows to continue playing. Thank God for "record". I think the graphics are average, and the grand daughter this game is about looks manic depressive most of the time. (no offenses now, just describing what I see with NO puns or poking fun intended.) I do think I need to update my video card, or just maybe need to get a new computer. The game runs a little slow on my system.
Sooner_Girl | Added on: March 22, 2011
 
I really enjoyed this game from the beginning. It is very different from most HOGs. As a matter of fact there really isn't many hidden objects. There is an actual storyline and to advance throughout the game you must solve all the different riddles, which are all different which made it very challenging. My olny thing negative about it is when you are stuck .... you are stuck it might take you going back through each level with a fine tooth comb to be able to advance at another point. But overall, good game.
mstng | Added on: September 26, 2011
 
This game for me was a puzzle. Having to find things in order to advance into the game. It was not an overly long game just the right amount of time for what the game was about. The music was relaxing making the scenes unhurried when finding tools. I am glad to have given this game a chance. Even just to play once you may be glad you did.
fizash | Added on: July 23, 2012
 
I actually really enjoyed the first 15 mins then after that my mouse hand lagged so bad I couldn't really do any of the puzzles so I had to uninstall. Too bad because it was fun! You may not have this problem if you buy the game. The constant ads probably made it lag because it wasn't doing that in the beginning...
devi | Added on: March 23, 2011
 
In the beginning I didn't think I would enjoy this. The characters were gloomy and had sour-puss faces with no vocals, but it didn't take long before I became obsessed playing it. Very challenging. Not your normal HO. This is what I call more of a puzzle game than an HO. Unfortunately when I went back into the program to finish playing, I got locked out, saying 'game load failed'. I was very disappointed. Even uninstalled and reloaded, but didn't help. I'm envious of the players who got to finish. I definitely recommend this game for those who like a real challenge.
Lilymaisel | Added on: March 24, 2011
 
Very enjoyable doesn't take to long to solve, still great fun.
MaudeO | Added on: March 18, 2011
 
I liked the beta version of this game, and I love the finished version even more. This game will keep you busy and make you think..and probably retrace your steps. It's original, involved, and time passes quickly when you're playing. I'm glad to see that the comments made when this was a beta game were taken seriously. I think the storyline is easier to follow now, and some of the scenes and tasks make more sense. I'm really glad I decided to play it (again).
sunny3k9s | Added on: January 17, 2012
 
Although I enjoyed the plot & solving all the puzzles, this game has a fatal flaw - the hints are USELESS!! "Maybe I should look around more" is no help whatsoever. The only way I got through it was to find a walkthrough on another site. There is no heads up about clues overlooked. It is only by an intuitive leap that you sense there is something missing. Moreover, the only way to correct those mistakes or omissions is to go to Main Menu, erase your profile & start again from the very beginning. It is a real shame that the game designers sabotaged themselves by trying to be too inscrutable. Such a pity!
SUZsaysHi | Added on: March 21, 2011
 
This game is way too involved for me. Some of you might like it, I do not
PipCat | Added on: March 21, 2011
 
A very nicely done game! You play Amanda who is destined to follow in her grandfather's magical footsteps. You must find the parts of 2 magical machines and assemble them in order to protect that magical world. In order to find the pieces, numerous puzzles must be solved to retrieve them. The puzzles are not too difficult and with a little trial and error you should be able to solve them without too much frustration. A Skip feature is available for those who prefer the quest rather than solving the mini games. Scenes are beautifully drawn and icons assist you in finding items of interest. The game comes with a custom cursor which cannot be turned off and I found that the movement of the cursor became increasingly jerky the more I progressed through the game. It has some good replay possibilities if you want to go back and redo any of the puzzles you may have skipped the first time around. There's no timer to this one so take your time and enjoy the scenery. This one is worth taking a look at.
Tayotae | Added on: November 25, 2011
 
This game has such beautiful music and not a bad storyline either. The whole family liked playing it. The graphics are very nice. Give it a try, it won't hurt.
jillmac | Added on: March 24, 2011
 
Really good game only got stuck once with the fairy, other than that, good selection of mini games and fairly interesting story line for a change ! Well worth a go .
Smedley | Added on: March 21, 2011
 
This fun game is unique in many ways! It's a HOG without HOs - well, the HOs are components you need to build gadgets, to compenasate fairies, to open hidden paintings, to defeat drone gaurds, to immobilize a giant robot, to free a prisoner, and to make good prevail! The plot is well developed, and the tasks are all relevant. There are many games, puzzles, riddles, and challenges. The old magician's house looks docile enough, but once (if) you can find the laboratory (hint: think Santa Claus and toys), then you soon uncover a castle and a secret corporation. The games are real fun; very deductive - even a great variation of "Whack-a-mole"! Be ready to move from "painting to painting", and learn how to read the constellation (hint: x is first, y is second; higher numbers are up and to the right, lows to left and down). A real attention keeper. This game will "Transport" you to new places, "Spark" your interest, "Fire" up your imagination, and "Freeze" you to the screen! (Those were all clues). One of the best games sine "Mortimer Beckett and the Time Paradox"!! I bought it; it's a "Keeper"!! Can't wait for the sequel(s)!!
sameyers | Added on: May 19, 2011
 
I found this an enjoyable magic game. The graphics were clear and well-done. The mini games were fun, not really difficult, but not boring either. I liked the concept of the machines you have to put together and how the MC travels through paintings. It's light fun.
hydee | Added on: March 28, 2011
 
I loved the demo, so I bought it. And finished it an hour later..... disappointed with the length of the game big time!! But I think kids'll like it.
luvsgames | Added on: April 7, 2011
 
At this point I need to start over. I did something out of sequence and I can not proceed. I am at the 5th painting the circus and it will not direct me any further. I need to take a break and try again another day.
Deviarich | Added on: March 22, 2011
 
I liked this game I just wish it was a little bit longer. I hope that they have more adventures with this character being the guardian.
gardenfrek | Added on: March 29, 2011
 
This game was fun but entirely too short - not really worth the purchase price. Like the other reviewer - I played the trial game, bought it and finished it in about another hour. I was very disappointed that it was this short - I expected much more; this'll teach me to read the reviews before I buy again.
maryday | Added on: September 16, 2011
 
Am so glad I got this game. I am a fun pass member so doesn't really matter to me (as it did to others) that the game may be short. It is fun to find the pieces needed & put them together to solve whatever problem is going on at the time. If you are not really a fan of the games that are so difficult, I think you will enjoy this one. Thanks to Gamehouse for this free game. Get yours today !!!
DrGameLvr | Added on: December 13, 2011
 
I really loved this game. It was pretty short which was fine but I thought the puzzles were just right. Not too challenging so that it was frustrating, but you could easily figure them out which made for a fun and relaxing game. The story line was interesting also. I liked that this was an adventure with goals rather than just finding random objects. Very good!
MJ1234 | Added on: October 26, 2012
 
Fun game with great graphics, interesting storyline...the game wasn't all that long and the hint system is worthless but enjoyed playing it. Very kid-friendly...
VforVictoria | Added on: March 18, 2011
 
This has been a fun game, and challenging which I like. Even if I am stuck now lol! It is a great puzzle game. Give it a try!
Yosemite009 | Added on: July 18, 2011
 
The challenges, games and puzzles are very standard fare, as is the story. Noting exciting or unique.
DarkAngelSlayer | Added on: September 16, 2011
 
game was ok but short. Nice story and landscape. They could have more though. Not really worth replaying.
emi1 | Added on: April 12, 2011
 
i find this game to be very frustrating. i had a hard time finding items b/c i just couldn't see them. sometimes the items just looked nothing like i expected them to. i also had difficulty knowing what to do in the scenes at times. FRUSTRATING... the story's interesting, but the frustration factor had me eager for the hr trial to be over.
Cricket5461 | Added on: April 28, 2012
 
This game was fun to play although it was a bit hard sometimes to figure out what to do and clues were very easy to miss. The puzzles were fairly easy but they did get more difficult as you got towards the end. I enjoyed the graphics and the storyline was okay with a nice wrap up at the end. Definitely a kid-friendly game and it's pretty quick play, didn't very long to complete although kids would probably find it more difficult and therefor it would be a longer diversion for them.
Musia | Added on: August 11, 2012
 
This game was fun but also came with many frustrating parts. The hint system is worthless. There were a couple times that I missed picking up an item. After going back and forth between different locations (which is annoying because of the spell thing) I finally gave in a tried to use the hint system. It just said I had to look around some more (Duh!) :D The graphics are undeniably fantastic and the general concept is good, but they didn't take it far enough. The game is very short and I think there was much more that could have been done (there is a mermaid, we didn't get to talk to!) I loved the puzzle box idea and the puzzles were adequately challenging (but not too much). Overall good job, but I hope they do another game and make it better!