Grimville - The Gift of DarknessGrimville - The Gift of Darkness
Number of reviews to show on each page:
20 reviews
 
Reviews of Grimville - The Gift of Darkness
charl | Added on: December 10, 2013
 
I have been playing HO games for long time. I had to use the "hint" button way too much. Many times I didn't know what to do next or where to go, However, having said that, the story was good and the scenes were nice.
anniecg | Added on: December 9, 2013
 
I gave this game 4 stars simply because the map was not interactive and there is A LOT of going back and forth. Other than that game was terrific. Graphics are great, very detailed. Even the music (which I usually mute with most games) was just right. Characters were quirky and interesting; the mini games were truly different and fun (tho I had to skip one or two - was able to do most of them without skipping). NO WALKTHROUGH NEEDED! :) The best part was the ability to choose the path of your game at different points. The game progressed based on your decisions. Truly an imaginative, fun game to play (and replay). I definitely recommend this game.
higg5083 | Added on: December 16, 2013
 
PRO'S: the drawings are very different and cute. The HO objects were well drawn enough that you could tell what you were looking for. The coolest thing going for this game is the ability to make choices and see how those choices make a small impact on the game. I thought that was just brilliant and lends itself to good replay value for the game. Also, the characters themselves were awesome even when they weren't doing anything. You could randomly click on them (as you constantly ran past them, see the con's) and they would make little grunting noises or say hello etc.. Again, brilliant! It's the little things that make or break a game and this one had some really interesting little things. And lastly, it has a map! Yeah! Definitely gonna need that. CON'S: The map! It's just a map. It does what any Rand McNally can do...shows you where you are. No click and it will take you there. It basically just lets you know how very far you have to run to get to the next place you need to be, and back again, then to the far left, now lets run all the way to the right...you get the idea. Then there's the really original mini games. I liked them and thought they were fun, but there are no real instructions to speak of so you have to figure out what to do on a mini game you might not have ever seen before. CONCLUSION: It took me about 7 hours to finish the game which is pretty good. Towards the end when I started getting tired of it I used the hint button a lot so that sped up my play time considerably. If you've got the money to spend on it, or your a funpass member definitely give it a go. It's worth it just to see how it ends which is not what you would expect. Have fun with it, and poke the other characters every time you run past them to see what they have to say :)
covingtonmom | Added on: November 25, 2013
 
I found this game to be entertaining, the puzzles varied and not frustrating. The one thing that would have made a big difference would be to make the map interactive. Having to click back and forth between so many scenes to accomplish tasks becomes tiring very quickly. I did find the "choices" a nice addition to the game. It might be interesting to play again and make different selections to see if how or if the gameplay changes. There are a few glitches, not that effect the game, but I did encounter what seemed to be Russian writing in a couple of scenes.
tamryn | Added on: November 27, 2013
 
I'm thinking it's was 4 yrs. or more that I became hooked on HO/Adventure type games. They've come a long way in all areas of gameplay since then. This game has all the things I love. I didn't even mind the map didn't jump to locations because there are plenty of hints to get you on tract. I really like skip option for puzzles....some I'm not good at so it's a spoiler if that prevents me from moving on. I consider this a great replay because depending on decisions of the outcome.
MJ1234 | Added on: March 17, 2014
 
This game had great animation - it was so different than what you normally see in an HO game. The story was interesting and the graphics were good. There was a map but it was just a map - not interactive at all. It would have been very helpful to have been able to use it to go to places because there was a TON of back and forth. Got old. The hint button was very helpful - it would point you in the right direction or tell you who to talk to next. The puzzles and mini-games were unique and very fun - they were all pretty easy to accomplish. I think I skipped one. HO scenes were very clear and easy. You do go to the same scenes quite often but I liked that the old items you found before were gone and you had to find all new items. Throughout the game you have to make "judgment calls" that affect the gameplay - for example, do you help a pickpocket rob someone so you can get a coin you need or do you warn the victim? Kind of a fun part of the game. I wouldn't recommend this for kids - gory cut scenes and the subject matter is not appropriate. Great game - well worth your time!
Sadie | Added on: November 30, 2013
 
Not the kind of game I'm use to but it was good I was a little confused at first but was I got it it was good.
redaf | Added on: November 25, 2013
 
The story is unique, nice graphics, music. Hidden object scenes are not difficult though there are one or two items that might be a little harder to find. Mini games are quite different than most I've played and were fun without being frustrating, The twist is at certain points in the game you have two options and if you choose the wrong one it will affect someone adversely in some way. So choose wisely. Good hint system, and you do obtain a map, but unfortunately it will not whisk you away to your desired location. Just give you your bearings, but the areas are not difficult to maneuver through. The end leaves you an expecting a sequel, and if so I look forward to playing it as well. Ought to say I played on casual, so expert may be somewhat more difficult.
31643726 | Added on: November 30, 2013
 
I loved the mini games in this, so often we get use to the same mini's being in the hogs. Not this one which makes this game very Unique. The graphics are great very detailed. Your also given a map to help you progress in the game. I really enjoyed playing this game and think I might play it again only play it selfish to see the other ending. Applied Systems Ltd. did a great job give us more with mini's and puzzles like these. Thanks
cat_in_rv | Added on: December 12, 2013
 
While this is a long way from my favorite HOG, it does have some unique elements, such as decision points at various stages of the game which change some minor elements. The story is very good, and the HO scenes are well drawn and quite easy. The mini games, on the other hand, are a bit challenging. There are several types of mini games not often seen in a normal HOG, which was a very pleasant surprise. There is also a "skip" button should you choose not to play some of the mini games. I did find the music to be somewhat irritating at times, particularly on the fourth or fifth repetition. The cut scenes are a little rough, but they do enhance the story. The lack of an interactive map was very annoying. There is a lot of back and forth, and not only does the map not allow you to move to a scene, but it doesn't not tell you where items needing to be completed can be found. The journal is sometimes useful in pointing you in the right direction, but I found myself using the hint button quite a lot to figure out where I needed to go next. Overall, this is an enjoyable game with very interesting mini games. I do not recommend this game for younger children do to the subject matter (grisly murders, demons, etc.)
Desertsong | Added on: November 28, 2013
 
Nice game! Different from most HO games because you had to make a choice at several points in the game that affected the outcome and various characters. Hints were good, but an interactive map would have made a big difference. Lots of back and forth to collect objects. Interesting puzzles along the way. Nice game over all.
Alison978 | Added on: December 31, 2013
 
This game was a bit different as I had to talk to different characters and do things for them to progress to the next part. Several times I had to make the choice of what to do and was told the outcome of my decision. I liked that aspect of the game, a sort of "choose your own adventure" type. There is a map, but it's pretty useless...it would have been much better with an interactive map...there is A LOT of going back and forth. Also, the map didn't give clues where locations had active tasks. This would have been helpful as I didn't know when a location would have a new search for me. The hidden objects weren't overly difficult and the previously found items didn't reappear on subsequent searches of an area. The mini-games were alright, not too hard, not too easy (except the wanted poster...that was tricky, for me anyway). The journal kept up with things as I went along and provided a task list of things to do. I played this game in one sitting, mainly because I was afraid I would forget where to go and what to do with my inventory. I do not think it is appropriate for kids as it has some graphic (although cartooned) cut-scenes.