Golden Trails - The New Western RushGolden Trails - The New Western Rush
Number of reviews to show on each page:
20 reviews
 
Reviews of Golden Trails - The New Western Rush
SUZsaysHi | Added on: August 18, 2010
 
I really like this one. Especially the fact that you can unlock an unlimited mode. Graphics are good, storyline interesting, HOs are not that hard to find, Mini Games are fun. I really like trying to shoot the bad guy when he pops up to get an extra hint. All in alll a good game. I will probably purchase this one.
Perseus | Added on: September 14, 2010
 
Definitely one of the best HOG's that I have seen recently. If nothing else, the replay value is great. I really like all of the extras. Unlimited Mode, Extras, Secret Mission, Trophies. Plenty of things to keep me coming back. Getting all of the trophies was a whole other game in itself. Great value. I didn't particulary care for the some of the disproportionate items, but once I got used to it it didn't bother me.
DJIO | Added on: September 13, 2010
 
The ambience of this game is stunning, it makes the game much more interesting and challenging. The story is also very good and the soundtrack is pure art.
DarkDragon | Added on: September 12, 2011
 
It's a fine HOG, with mix of some mini-games. A lot of trophies to obtain, some I feel a little crazy to get. Somewhat interesting story, though a little dull ending. Good amount of play time. Good replay with unlimited mode unlocked after finishing adventure mode.
emi1 | Added on: August 27, 2010
 
i was pleasantly surprised by this game. from the 1st scene with the buffalos grazing/the wolf sitting and standing/the rabbit moving around. loved it. every scene had something cool happening-subtle things such as grain slowly leaking thru a tiny hole in the bag to snakes slithering across the scene. the items were challenging for me to find. i actually used all my hints at one point. thank goodness for those outlaws you can shoot to gain more hints. the dialogue was intriguing-loved the accent of the sherrif. the mini games i played were simple, but they all added to the story. this is definately a game to consider buying. i really think it would be fun to play with a group of people. it's one kids could play with adults to gain confidence (and help the adults with the small items). great game...
Shanoa | Added on: September 15, 2010
 
The voice-acting in this game for the main character was amazing. Hints are quite fun to acquire in this game because you have to shoot bandits that randomly pop onto your screen. All the various achievements make this a game to replay again and again.
jamier2712 | Added on: September 8, 2010
 
Enjoyed the story line very much. The added challenge of finding sheriff badges in each scene was very good. You also had the opportunity to gain additional hints by shooting bandits. The hidden objects were not just "give aways"; you had to really search for some of them. The trophies were good, too, because there are several additional challenges you can meet during game replay. Overall, the game was very good and I will replay it again.
flafun53 | Added on: March 3, 2011
 
This game was great fun to play.. The object of the game was to solve the bank robbery..the hidden object section was basic, but the scenes were beautiful and well laid out. I put it down as kid-friendly, but keep in mind there is a shooting gallery were you shoot bad guys. The hints are available, but you win awards if you can make it through without using a hint. All in all I really liked this game and will replay it alot.
Sbkitycat49 | Added on: September 10, 2010
 
I have played it once and am playing it again. It is fun to play and it has some challenge. The graphics are GREAT. Love it!!!!!
ArmySSG39 | Added on: November 29, 2010
 
Fun, challenging game that can be played over and over
Kamberley | Added on: August 23, 2010
 
I played the entire game including extras this morning, probably took 5 hours to complete. It's all hidden object scenes no puzzles. The graphics are very good, the story is ok. The hint system is kinda different you must shoot bandits that appear at random in the hidden object scene but they don't always appear, I never ran out of hints however because the game isn't difficult.
PipCat | Added on: August 30, 2010
 
Not a bad game. I liked the fact that it was untimed because it took some time to find some of the hidden objects. I would have given this 5 stars except for 2 things: after awhile the bandits popping into each scene became annoying and it was nearly impossible to find all of the badges hidden in each scene. However, it was not necessary to shoot all the bandits or find all of the badges in order to finish the game. Given the fact that there is gunplay in this game I'm not sure I'd recommend it for children.
eartha | Added on: March 3, 2011
 
I love this game! It has so much to do with the added bonus games,and unlimited play. I like the idea of getting extras for finding stolen items, playing for two hours and etc. I find it hard to stay away from this game. Keep trying to beat my own time. Really worth the money.Thanks Gamehouse!
Harlowe1962 | Added on: May 6, 2011
 
I know I have played this game before as the days free download. I dont know why I didn't review it. Reviewing a game is the only way I know I have played it before and I am usually pretty good at remembering to do so. It was a great game, a lot of fun. Not sure about the kid friendly part since you do shoot outlaws for points. It was interesting and addicting. Lots to do and great graphics and dialog. I highly recommend this game!
joey247 | Added on: September 30, 2010
 
I personally thought game was too short. Otherwise it was the average Hidden Object game.
funlover | Added on: September 17, 2010
 
Great graphics. Really enjoy the trophies and unlimited modes. There was even catches in the game where you had to find other adventures to play in order to complete the unlimited modes. It's a great value game. If you like the uncomplicated HO games, I think you would like this one. We like all the PI type games.
gamelady | Added on: August 20, 2010
 
I did not like this game. Some of the objects were hard to find and they did not give you enough hints. There was a shooting gallery that was fun, but I am giving it two stars because of the difficulty of finding all the objects. Maybe if there was more hints available it would of been better but I just played the one hour free trial and that was enough for me.
4250blue | Added on: December 20, 2010
 
I love hidden object games but am not to crazy about the games that have super intricate story lines and mazes of items to collect.... This was probably my favorite of all... I replayed twice, second time was quite a bit easier but they have an extra level and also bonus rounds to finish when you are done with the game itself. The graphics are great... I loved, loved, loved this game. One of the best so far. I've tried several without purchasing and wish they would do a sequel to this one. I'm having a hard time finding something that equals this game. Jewel Quest Heritage was a great game but a bit short... Gardenscape is a great game... gets a bit tiring but I recommend it highly along with just Pure Hidden which is a super cute fun game.
terlee7 | Added on: August 30, 2010
 
A good HO game. I liked that it was relatively easy and I could just play, rather than wrack my brain to solve things. It made a nice change and was fun.
goldendk | Added on: September 2, 2010
 
it was enjoyable to play, i will play it again. i would let the kids play it
deja77 | Added on: August 26, 2010
 
super fun game,waiting for number 2. loved the characters and target practice.
kag2439 | Added on: September 16, 2010
 
Of all the hiddden object games I have played, this has been the most fun. I love the gunman that comes out that you can shoot for hints. What a good idea!!! Lots of fun.
the2bearsandme | Added on: August 19, 2011
 
Across the board fun. My niece loves shooting the cowboys but manages the game very well without help from Auntie. Auntie loves it too. Cute. Fun. Relaxing. Enjoyable.
musici123 | Added on: September 7, 2010
 
Here are positives: (1) A nicely written mystery/detective game with a lead reminiscent of Tommy Lee Jones. (2) Good old-west/wild west atmosphere. (3) Plenty of extras like a game guide, how the game was created, extras levels, practice target shooing. (4) Find 3 sheriff badges per scene, so you will be able to open extra modes. (5) You can get extra hints by shooting a pop-up bandit. The best way to activate is to click randomly through the scene. (6) No penalties for random clicking! (7) The memory of this game kept haunting me. I have downloaded it twice. There is much to recommend this game, yet I will not be purchasing. Why? (1) My complaints are distortion of sizes. You have to find a hazelnut, but it ends up being the size of a basketball in the scene. It's a small annoyance; some will not be bothered by that. (2) Parts of the scenes tend to be too dark, which I ascribe partly to my monitor, but not entirely. (3) I had trouble with the cursor floating; I went into options and turned it off. The "floating" problem was solved, but I dislike having a game which conflicts with my system. The positives far outweigh the negatives. I think if I did not have system conflicts, I would have used a ticket and bought this game. I think there is a real possibility for future sequels.
sportygal2009 | Added on: August 23, 2010
 
Wow! I must admit, I didn't think too much of this game when I first saw it and almost didn't play this but I'm SO GLAD I took the time to download this as I found this to be a very fun game. In this game you are helping Sheiff Jack solve the bank robbery of the small town Sunnyvale by going to many different locations and questioning people. I found this to be far from the most challenging I've played but as I said a FUN game. Very interesting story with twist and turns and I enjoyed the characters. Graphics are just great as well. The hidden object part of the game, most I found pretty easy to locate while some pretty well hidden. You also have inventory items that you use in other scenes of the game. The hint system is definitely different from any game I've played as you have to shoot the gansters which at times kinda startled me cause they just pop up out of nowhere and at no given time but found it to be pretty cool overall. I found the hints to be good and plenty as I had 13 when the game ended as I did have to use some. The mini games were also different in a great way as you have to fit items back into the scene but the scene goes black and you have to move your cursor around to "light it up" to fit back into the scene and you are given maybe a minute. If you have any time left, you get bonus points. I did have to redo a couple of them as it will allow you to try again. You can also skip them but won't get bonus points. I just found this game to have a lot of variety which is why I also believe it would be great replay and many ways to earn bonus points and just to name a few: shooting the gansters, the mini games, not using hints and finding the sherriff badges which if you find all 150, it unlocks the unlimited mode. This is just my opinion of the game, give it a whirl and see what you think. Thanks Gamehouse for yet another GREAT game. 5 stars all the way! THIS ROCKS! : )
faye1 | Added on: August 20, 2010
 
A good game for the family. The mini games are easy enough for kids. all in all a good game.
Minxski | Added on: September 20, 2010
 
I really loved this one, the graphics were great and there was a lot to this game – really good value for money (IMHO). Some of the items to find were quite well camouflaged or half-hidden, which made the game some-what challenging. To open bonus areas/win cups/earn extra points you had to find items that had been stolen and sheriff badges in each scene as well as the listed items. Some items you need tools to find. I wouldn’t say this is kid friendly, as to earn hints you needed to shoot outlaws – which i found a little odd. There is a whole heap of extas to this game – you get bonus material, which includes bonus scenes to search, wallpaper, walkthrough etc. You also get a extra mystery to find out who stole the gold, again with new scenes. You also get unlimited mode, so you can search the scenes against the clock for all hidden items. This game is a real treat!
Diana51 | Added on: February 18, 2013
 
This was the third game in this series that I played and I was not disappointed. Not too taxing but could still be puzzling. I even enjoyed the story! Hopefully there is another in the making?
monicamartin | Added on: November 1, 2012
 
Easy to find the objects but some of the objects are challenging to find. So, it keeps you on your toes. Good story. I have the second Golden Trails too. Love these games. True HO games!
dejabettye | Added on: September 28, 2010
 
Enjoyable game. Special beat the clock/score is really enjoyable. Trying to collect as many awards and stolen object as possible keeps you coming back.
jszypkowski | Added on: August 23, 2010
 
Some objects are hard to find. A few too many rewards, I think, but funt to try for. Interesting story line. I realy like the voice over.
BelleStar | Added on: September 16, 2010
 
the graphics and colors were easily playable. I couldn't stop playing until I was completely through all levels. I just wish there were more levels....I prefer the western scene also....the extra little bonus games were a plus
patchlady | Added on: September 17, 2010
 
I would play this game for hours, but I only had the 1hour time period. If I HAD bought it, which I am doing now, I would probably this game for hours. It was a lot of fun...and the "talking" was great too...especially after the "too many clicks"... don't hear the same phrase over and over again. I would recommend this to everyone:)
Cinella | Added on: September 8, 2012
 
Well, why “practice makes perfect”? Because the second Golden Trails is better. This first game is OK. Overall the graphics are clear and the music (even though in a loop) is relaxing. However, the “whoosh” sound of the bandits happens when they disappear not when they appear. This, of course, makes it very hard to shoot them and get the hints – and you need the hints. Several items in the HOs scenes are so tiny that they are really very hard to see and you end up straining your eyes – hence, you need to kill the bandits and get the hints ….. The only solution is simply to stop looking for the HOs and concentrate on seeing the bandits when they first appear.
mavethrave | Added on: August 18, 2010
 
This is not too difficult so it would be good for the kids but at the same time I enjoyed it. Especially trying to shoot the bad guys when they pop out. It has an ok story line and basically it's just good fun. No heavy thinking needed here.
Dorte | Added on: August 18, 2010
 
Overall a very enjoyable game in my opinion. You're a sheriff in the Wild West and you have to find out who robbed the city bank. This takes you to different locations and has you talking to various people, sorting out the suspects. The hidden object parts are well made, it shows you the exact objects you have to find in the scene, and you have to use some of the objects you find to uncover other hidden objects, i.e. interact with the scene. Some objects are also very well hidden, which I like. Every now and then a bandit will pop up and you have to "shoot" him with your cursor fast - this gains you extra hints. You can also gather all the sheriff badges in the scenes and when you've gathered 150 you get access to the unlimited mode. Along the way you earn trophies (for finding 10 items without misclicking, for not using a hint for so long, etc.). All in all a very enjoyable game, kid friendly too, 4 stars from me.
hankysis3 | Added on: August 31, 2010
 
This game surprised me. It had a lot of successful elements. The hidden objects were recognizable and they didn't need to hide them in the shaded dark. The storyline was interesting, and the mini games were fun. The "bandit" popping up in the game made me jump a few times, but then I became aware of the "horse" sound right when he would appear. Even though you did have to go to another place to find the last hidden object, they didn't overdo it and make you want the game to end just so you didn't have to go back and forth. Great job overall!
nana01 | Added on: August 11, 2011
 
I play this game with my grandkids and we love it! With the extra little games at the end and getting to shoot the bandits, it's very addictive. I'd love to see more old west games!
Nightcloud | Added on: August 31, 2010
 
This was a very nice game to play. The hidden objects were the most difficult to find of all the games I have played on Gamehouse, I believe it was because of two things, how well they were blended in & the out of proportion size they were to everything around them. The graphics were top notch. I enjoyed having to go back and forth between scenes to complete them. I would say it was wonderfully challenging & its length was a tad bit short but not that bad. I would purchase it again. I forgot to mention the Bonus Items and puzzles were a surprise which I enjoyed very much, the wallpaper and the music. I love the shooting gallery. You have to get it!
sheema16 | Added on: September 2, 2010
 
i love playing this game draws you in. hard to stop playing, time passes by. good game to play.
bk2007 | Added on: February 28, 2011
 
This is a very clever hidden object game. Multi-level searches, smartly hidden objects with just enough easy ones to keep you searching for the hard object, right before your eyes! Kind of a silly story but the locations are actually authentic. (Somebody who made this is from Texas). Loved searching for the sheriff's badges, shooting the bad guys for extra hints, and finding stolen objects. Mini games were good, too. Great re-play so you can increase several areas of expertise, points, trophies etc. LOVED IT! Great job done on this game guys! Would love to see more this clever and fun!
CharlieOldGal | Added on: September 22, 2011
 
Golden Trails proves HO games don't have to be gloomy and creepy or fairytale schmalz. The story is a murder mystery, but the approach is laidback and casual. Good HO scenes with excellent realism coupled with a shoot-em-up minigame I am actually able to master make it a good all-round HO game. Trophies and unlockable unlimited game help to make this a definite replay contender.
fantasiosa | Added on: November 25, 2012
 
I didn't think to play one of the best games I have ever played in my life. I love games as that is, very thinking and challenging but always good when it's in the Far West that you have to make your quest for hidden objects. Also sounds are extremely nice: all the game is super. I recommend it to all people who love to play a fantastic game in the lost Far West.
TAR671 | Added on: August 19, 2010
 
A good game for the family, or anyone of any age. The objects are challenging at time, but not impossible to find. The shooting gallery is fun. The story is cute.
stubby2 | Added on: November 30, 2011
 
I play it over and over again..wished they make more like this one..the second one is not as fun..love finding the badges...I recommend it to everyone
carp | Added on: September 22, 2010
 
the game is very addictive you can't stop playing they should have more just like it very enjoyable
gardenfrek | Added on: September 7, 2010
 
This game was great! My husband and I play these games together (four eyes are better than two) - he & I both enjoyed the Western Theme and the shooting gallery mini game was loads of fun, didn't care for the other mini game too much but it didn't take away from the overall experience. After we finished playing we went back and played the unlimited mode until we got gold cups in all - the scenes were beautiful and not repetitive and the extra mini option of finding the stars was a good "add-on". I found no flaws at all with this one - really enjoyed it and would have purchased it even if I hadn't had credits. Great Job guys/gals
Stardncr22 | Added on: August 30, 2010
 
I initially wasn't going to download this as I'm not a fan of Westerns, however, I'm glad I did. This was so different from the others in a refreshing way.. there's an element of mystery as you are helping the sheriff solve a bank robbery. There are hidden objects to find, and some are done creatively, which made it a challenge for some items but not frustrating at all. You have to leave some scenes to get an object and come back to complete it which I normally don't care for , but you only have 4 or so places in the scene to go to so, it doesn't get confusing or take away from the fun. Some items are outlined in blue or yellow where you click on it to uncover an object, or you will be told to use an item from your inventory to do it. In the middle of finding the hidden objects there are crooks you have to shoot and when you are successful, you get more hints which took a little getting used to initially, but really liked the added fun /challenge/way to get more hints. Then Mini games, were different, you were given objects which you had found to replace in a comic page like scene which goes dark,, but once you click on on of the objects it's like looking in a dark room w/ a flashlight to find the blue outlined shape in which to match it with. You get more points the faster you go..so pay attention to the scene before it goes dark so you can go faster. There are stolen items in each hidden object scene that have sparkles to find, and you have 3-4 sheriffs badges to find in each scene as well, I like that you are told when you find all for that scene. The graphics are great ! Nice and colorful and bright - I get tired of all the dark /gloomy HOG's this was a treat! The music was enjoyable, even though I'm not a country/western fan. I thoroughly enjoyed this game and can't wait till the sequel comes out if there is one! WTG Game House - another winner! :0)
sparkleannie | Added on: August 19, 2010
 
This game would be fun for kids and adults alike. The hidden objects are not too easy nor too difficult to spot. It's easy to figure out where you need to use an inventory item. Bandits pop up on your screen occasionally so be quick to shoot them! The mini games were easy enough for even younger kids! I'd recommend this game for the whole family!
SRebeL | Added on: May 9, 2011
 
This is one of my favorite HOGs because: 1) Beautiful graphics/scenese 2) Terrific, unique minigames (including shooting galleries) 3) Challenging finds including hints and bonuses 4) Cohesive theme/story
welshman | Added on: August 25, 2010
 
I enjoyed playing this as some of the objects were actually quite hard - but not impossible to find. I liked the idea that you have to go to other scenes to find tools to use in previous ones but felt this wasn't really made enough of - it was too easy. The story line was okay bur not really gripping..it's basically a good, ordinary HOG.
mcbuffett | Added on: August 31, 2010
 
So far this game is very good. I like it a lot except for one little thing. There are bandits that pop out in every scene so that you can recharge your hints. Totally freaks me out. Their hiding in the corners and at the side of the screen, you are playing the game and you look up and there is someone staring at you. I know it's coming and I still jump.........just eerie. Other than that one flaw in my opinion its a good game. And because of that I'm still not finished playing it thru.
Rambling_Man | Added on: August 27, 2010
 
Not the hardest hidden object game that I've played but it was a lot of fun. I enjoyed the story line that goes with the game and found that getting to the hidden task was an added challenge. I also like that when I started to play it again that there were different hidden objects to find although the main ones were the same which was expected since they go with the story line. In all I think this is a good game and look forward to the further adventures of Sheriff Jack
scrappy03 | Added on: September 1, 2011
 
It has alot of hidden objects. I like it when the gangster pop's up and you have to shot at him. It's a good thing there is no time limit, because the gangster destractes you from looking for the hidden objects. It's a very good game.
tattie | Added on: October 8, 2010
 
I really enjoy the game. My 8 year old great grandson loves it, especially the mini games and gun fights. Hints are easier to get then most, if you pay attention. This is my first review, but thought it was worth rating. I bought it.
funinside | Added on: August 5, 2011
 
Hidden object game also has mini games at the end of each town. Clever story. Mini-games include shooting a gangster which may not be appropriate for kids.
Tayotae | Added on: September 17, 2010
 
This game was fun, enjoyed it alot. However, the is one mystery to solve and that it done. "Who robbed the bank?"" I play games for fun, so I am not what you would call a real gamer. This is a game for fun. I began it and finished in three hours. Now replays are all that is left. Good but could sure have had more mysteries to solve. Who shot the farmer?, Where is the herd?, Who sold Tommy's pony?, Who was cheating at the poker table? etc.
kylakitty | Added on: August 23, 2010
 
I almost didn't play this game because of its Western theme but I'm really happy I did. Some of the HOs are easy and some difficult. I liked that they were in picture form instead of item names. They're not always positioned in the same direction and sometimes hiding. Although you may think it makes it easier; it doesn't. I skipped the storyline but did find myself tapping my foot in time with the music - a rarity for me. Overall, I'd highly recommend at least playing the hour trial. You'll probably want to purchase it.
Maineiac | Added on: August 31, 2010
 
The game was enjoyable and some of the items were difficult to find, especially the hidden badges. The shooting gallery mini-game was well done. The story line was somewhat choppy and disconnected, but did not detract from the playability of the game. It may not be suitable for younger children due to shooting the bandits, and perhaps some of the dialogue when interacting with the Native Americans. All-in-all, a good game, and a fine effort on the part of the developers. Hopefully, there will be sequel chapters to the game.