Ghost Town Mysteries™ - BodieGhost Town Mysteries™ - Bodie
Number of reviews to show on each page:
20 reviews
 
Reviews of Ghost Town Mysteries™ - Bodie
kitscat | Added on: May 3, 2010
 
Sorry, this is one of the worst games I've played lately. Pictures are too dark to find some things (like the flies, for added hints), and the hidden items on the tombstones are so tiny that most times I ended up sweeping the cursor over and over the entire area until it picked them up--except for the last one I tried, that I totally gave up on. I rarely give up on a game, but this one is not fun. It is not easy or challenging; relaxing or fast paced; clicky or thinky. With some re-working, it might be okay, but the tombstone puzzles also get a little boring.
mek509 | Added on: July 29, 2010
 
The screens are very dark and not very clear. I have tried to play this game twice and ended up quitting it both times. The gravestone puzzles are really good though.
sly8ball | Added on: February 10, 2013
 
some items were difficult to find and you were either using your hints or clicking here, there, everywhere to find them. Good game but gets kind of boring after awhile. It's a good value if it's free.
faye1 | Added on: October 22, 2010
 
I didn't like this game very much. The picture is so dark at times you can't see anything and the objects at times are so small you can't find them. The tombstone puzzles are frustrating.
Kodak_2057 | Added on: November 2, 2009
 
I found some of the repetition to be very boring (exactly the same level over and over with a slight change in scenery and objects). One part literally did the same thing about 5 times when you were supposed to go to the church. I also found several of the items to not be hidden but totally nonexistent. Even after using a hint, I would not see the object and just have to click in the area several times before clicking on the object purely by chance. I also found this with the mini levels in between, like the graveyard and pictures. I cannot just quit a game, because I can't start and not finish, but I was hoping for every level to be the last.
gmac1007 | Added on: October 30, 2009
 
This game was a great game and yes it it a true story I have seen the town on some ghost story programs. It had all the creepy elements my only complaint is some of the objects were almost impossible to find and they could have been a little more generous with the hints. Some of the tombstone items were very hard to find and the flies for your hints were a little hard to find. Other than that I really enjoyed the game. If you like scary stories this is the one for you.
pgillenw | Added on: October 25, 2010
 
Having visited the ghost town of Bodie many times and the fact it is almost Halloween I thought this game to be not only timely but bring back old memories. The game based on the scenic old mining camp is certainly realistic. The game is a challenge to locate the hidden objects. The grave stone puzzles were interesting to work. Harringpost's grave stone was the most difficult for me. I suspect that if you exit the game and return the puzzle pieces are presented in a different order. When I completed Galor's grave stone puzzle and set out to locate 4 spades I gave up after finding only three. I could spot club's. Again I suspect that the game has the ability to require either Clubs or Spades. On each grave stone, after completion of the grave stone puzzle, you are ask to find carved markings. This is very difficult. I wish the developers would consider re-doing this game and 1) improve the ability to rotate puzzle pieces 2) make it easier to locate carvings on the grave stones and 3) save the true location progress on return to play after an exit. The concept of a Ghost Mystery based on Bodie was a wonderful idea. I would love to play a remake.
Emeraldblack | Added on: November 9, 2009
 
Its way too dark to see anything! Gods, I love HO games but this was THE worst I downloaded. You can't seem to find anything,the areas are a mess where you have to look. Thank gods I downloaded this with funpass. I'm not one to leave a game not finished but you can't see what you are looking for.
lilsistern | Added on: October 22, 2010
 
It has all been said....all the reviews are spot on. I rarely let a game beat me but this was impossible and not worth the aggravation! What are the developers thinking? Do they play these games before they market them....too bad, could have been an outstanding game, good story line, tombstone puzzles repetitive....They won't be selling this one.
Shayden77 | Added on: November 3, 2009
 
I really did not care for this type of a hidden object game. It was like going to a strange grocery store with the lights out and having a list of items to try to find. Not much interaction AT ALL, just a list of items to find each time except for putting the headstones back together. I really enjoy the HO games where you need to find objects to interact with other items to further yourself in the game but this HO game was not like that , it was just a purposeless list of items to look for. EVERYTHING was dark and it gave you that gloomy feeling and it just left me feeling aggravated, depressed, and totally unintrerested. I know everyone is entitled to their own opinion, just as I am, and it did get some great reviews but not from me. Seems like lately that HO games ONLY are out there to play and most are moprbid or gruesome...Where is the fun anymore???????
Gerry_Quinn | Added on: January 24, 2011
 
I think this game deserves a bit more love than many of the reviewers gave it. I found it a little frustrating at the start because some of the objects were hard to find and I didn't realise that the 'hint spiders' hang above the objects rather than on top of them! But once I got over that I felt the objects were hard to spot but not unfairly so. My mistake also caused me to start over some levels, and when I did so I found the objects were different, so there is good replay value there. The gravestone puzzles won't suit everyone, but I liked them, although the interface was a little annoying - right click to rotate would have been better. The music and sounds were very atmospheric and creepy - in fact they were just about the best I've come across in a HOG. If you like a challenge, give this a try - it might turn out to be one of your favourite hidden-object games.
KmK4Life | Added on: May 28, 2012
 
Not a bad game. Creepy environment. Great for Halloween. A bit challenging. Sometimes repetitious with the same kinds of puzzles over and over. But it's still fun! Decent graphics.
snetz | Added on: November 3, 2009
 
I love hidden object games but this one is just to dark. Items were very difficult to find at times and you can only accumulate two clues at any given time. And what is the point? There are no points given and no time clocks to beat. Where is the incentive to play it again and beat your score?
kb999999 | Added on: May 10, 2010
 
This hidden object game starts out like any other, finding clues and a mystery to solve. A very interesting and spooky story, with sounds that could send shivers down your spine. This is the only reason for the 3-stars ... By the third gravestone, the scenes were so dark that see/finding object were near impossible. Also, the pieces of the gravestone puzzles were very dark indeed. While the 'find-the-fly' hints were fitting, were also very difficult to find because of the darkness. This would not be a game for younger children, but for older kids/teens and adults. Overall, I'm disappointed in the quality of the game. So very glad that I played the free-trial first.
painta76 | Added on: November 2, 2009
 
This is almost cinematic in it's story set up at the begining. some may complain that the ambience is a little to dark and made objects to hard to find, but i just found that it made the game play longer than other games of the same calibre. these games are usually not all that challenging as eventually you will find the objects, but with this one some of the objects are just drawings or camaflaged by things of the same colour which makes it more challenging. the only down side i found is that the extra difficulty of this game made things a lot slower, not good for those with short attention span. Just follow the spook lights keep an eye out for flies the rest is self explainetary.
Mountaindog | Added on: November 2, 2009
 
I sure am glad I tried this game. I was almost put off by some of the other reviews but it looked so intriguing I had to try. I am not finished but have had a lot of fun playing it to this point(at least halfway). Yes, it is a little dark and all the graphics not as sharp as some, but I find it fits the storyline just wonderful. I played MUCH WORSE!!!! I am not having that difficult of a time finding most of the objects and actually use a couple hints at the end of each level just to find the flies! If this OLD DOG can find the objects, most anyone can!!
Magnafan | Added on: October 29, 2009
 
finding items on tombstones are not easy to locate sometimes not even visible to the naked eye. graphics are good need to fix the hidden items on the tombstones more easier to find not invisible
DVon | Added on: October 29, 2009
 
Edges of items to find are indistinct. Only play if you have really good vision or use a magnifying glass. Too bad it is so difficult to see. It would be a fun game.
sparkle | Added on: November 4, 2009
 
I love hidden object games but this one was too too dark. I played the free trial and gave up out of frustration after 30 minutes.
Shadeaustar | Added on: October 29, 2009
 
Unlike the previous posters, I like the graphics. They fit the time period of the story. Sepia-toned, in the fashion of early photographs, they fall right in line with the action. The story is engaging, and enjoyable, and so far, I haven't found anything I've been at a loss to figure out. Because of the graphics style, I don't recommend this for children, and I also recommend you try before you buy. but I definitely am enjoying this game.
MirabileDictu | Added on: November 16, 2009
 
The concept is fantastic but the gameplay leaves much to be desired. There is a fine line between challenging and frustrating. I found this game to be more frustrating than challenging. The story was very interesting and if it was just about the story, I would enjoy it. As another review said, the graphics are not good; some scenes are so bland and dark, you could barely find anything. Also, there was not much variety in puzzles. It was the same pattern: hidden object, jigsaw puzzle, hidden object, jigsaw puzzle, etc. This went on, then a "find the differences" puzzle between the HO and jigsaw puzzles. Needless to say, the demo did not make me want to play more than I already had. Perhaps it gets better but I didn't have the desire to purchase or go further.
missclairol | Added on: October 28, 2009
 
Great Story line, too bad the scenes are so blurry anad hard to pick out object. That seems to be everyones complaint. If you can get past that the story is nice and original. Great for Halloween. I bought and played straight through, blurry scenes and all. Great for Halloween. I am hoping the creators improve quality while keeping good story lines on future games.
jbrottes | Added on: November 2, 2009
 
I was more difficult than some, and I like the variety
jlew | Added on: November 2, 2009
 
The storyline is good and entertaining. Unlike other hidden object games that try to conceal the objects with clever artisty, this game just seems to conceal them in clutter. Artisticly it seems that little thought was put into it. Just throw in so many objects they are hard to find. My monitor is adjusted for high detailed photo and graphic work. The scenes in this game are mostly too dark to be played without adjusting the brightness and contrast of the monitor. It is too bad a great concept got lost in execution.
KantHitChit | Added on: October 28, 2009
 
Not impressed with this one. Graphics are terrible, very grainy. Objects carved into the headstones were so small and poorly drawn, was frustratingly hard to find. Game play is very boring. Impossible to find any hints. I couldn't even finish this game as my eyes were so strained...managed 4 headstones and that was enough. Very monotonous. Best try it before you buy it... KHC
AidensCoolMom09 | Added on: April 25, 2011
 
This game has very hard HO puzzles,I had to use alot of hints to find the things on the list.The story line is ok but the graphics are horrible.This game was worse than I thought...:( It is very creepy bc ghosts keep popping out at you,so keep a light on!;)
PipCat | Added on: May 23, 2012
 
Intrigued by an HO game involving a ghost town and an unsolved murder mystery based on actual events I was eager to start this game. My interest soon waned when the fuzzy graphics gave me a headache and the repetitive jigsaw puzzles of the gravestones became just that - repetitive and boring. Added to this the fact that there is no Skip option for any of this and you're limited to 2 hints at at time makes this a tedious game. The instructions do say that, if you use both hints in a given chapter, you will get a new one shortly. However, it they also say that more hints can be found by finding 3 flies before you enter a house (which were EXTREMELY hard to find due to the fuzzy, grainy graphics) but never mentions that you can only have 2 at a time. The premise of the game is great and it really, really could have been outstanding but unfortunately falls short of that due to poor development. Unless you need more frustration in your life I would recommend you pass on this one.