Gardens Inc. - From Rakes to RichesGardens Inc. - From Rakes to Riches
Number of reviews to show on each page:
20 reviews
 
Reviews of Gardens Inc. - From Rakes to Riches
41956326 | Added on: July 7, 2014
 
I love this game, challenging yet fun and not difficult to understand! I wish more games were like this one!!!
mitty81 | Added on: February 5, 2013
 
Could not stop playing the game for 4 hours straight! It's full of reachable challenges and you always have enough motivation to go to the next level. So far, no technical problems on my notebook, so I'm pretty happy. Is the sequel coming?
haley458 | Added on: February 4, 2013
 
Yes, this game also stuttered for me when things got busy on screen, which yes, it is really annoying that game companies can't smooth out all of that before releasing it, but I'm not going to reiterate all of that again. I'll just go through the game itself... I really enjoy TM games & this is just my style. Not too hard to get gold but some levels are a nice little challenge to work around. Also, it is a bit original when it comes to blending the road-clearing theme with the gardening theme. Not sure why these gardens tend to be haunted (by the most irritating of ghosts), but I like planting the flowers, etc. I also really like when games have something that your points go towards -- in this case, money to build the villa/house. Otherwise I don't really care if I get a million points or a zillion points or whatever (why don't games ever have you earn, say, 10 points at a time?). Things I don't like about this game: had to turn the music off b/c it's so repetitive I thought I would kill someone after a bit; obviously the stutters in the game is a "con", I don't like how you have to earn time or lose time here & there, and sometimes the ghosts & burglars are SO annoying -- especially the ghosts since they stop all the action -- WHY would they bring out a ghost in the fog where you can't even see it to stop it?? But if the editors of this game would've spent just a little more time doing their jobs, I think I would've rated this 5 stars. But as it stands, I almost rated a 3... but for the fact that I AM still having fun with it.
shannara | Added on: February 8, 2013
 
I really think this game has possibilities. The workers and such have good animations. But, it's extremely hard to play when it keeps freezing up, stuttering, like it's suffering from some serious lag issues. Once that's fixed I'd give it at least 4.5 stars if not a full 5.
Emeraldblack | Added on: February 1, 2013
 
Game is choppy when you have a few people running around tying to do things. Also I've noticed game play freezes at one level. Thankfully I didn't buy it it just used gamepass for it. Up untill the troubles, I did like the game.
EMS01 | Added on: February 5, 2013
 
This had all the earmarks of a really great game. The graphics are really good, the workers are entertaining (I love how the workers would sometimes frown and tap their feet waiting for me to make a move) and the actions are chained. And it does involve some thinking, especially to figure out what the bonus involves in some of the levels. But . . . What the heck is wrong with this game? It keeps stuttering and freezing as the game levels increase. The cursor would jump all over the screen or not move at all sometimes. I haven't quite given up on it (I'm at level 24), but I'm getting close to forgetting the rest of it unless the problem is fixed. I'm also very disappointed with gamehouse's response, or lack thereof. I sent them an email a couple of days ago and haven't heard anything. And I'm not the only one complaining. The forums are full of the same issue, and Gamehouse seems to be ignoring everyone, which is not what I've experienced in the past. Come on, Gamehouse, get your act together on this game. This would be a 5-star if it worked the way it should.
Squidgal | Added on: February 4, 2013
 
This started out as a wonderful game...the best on here in a long while. However, once you get up the level 20 or so, it becomes extremely sluggish. At those levels, you must use 5 or more workers. It seems the way the game is coded that it causes the gameplay to almost come to a standstill. There is no hope of completing the levels in the alloted timeframe at that point. It is a shame...I wish they would rework this game because it really has fantastic potential.
Cat_In_RV | Added on: February 11, 2013
 
I don't play a lot of time management games, but I do like the farm and garden ones. This one started out as fun. The graphics are clear, and you have time goals for each level. If you don't reach the gold level you can always choose to replay that particular level. I liked fixing up the "villa," but the later rounds became disappointing due to the jerky play, which many reviewers have mentioned. Perhaps all of us need upgraded graphics cards, but you'd think this would be something Gamehouse would have paid attention to. I hate spending a few hours on a game and having to quit because it's just too irritating to complete. If the bugs were fixed, I would have given it a better rating.
pavarox | Added on: February 5, 2013
 
I've liked the game because is somewhat thinky, I've liked the challenges and the original tasks. Pity that after passing through 60% of the levels, the game has begun to have stutters.
wardog | Added on: February 10, 2013
 
This is a great game to play over and over. You were kept wondering what would happen next as to the story itself. Also lots of trophies to win. Re-building the Villa is nice too.
kbr2vk | Added on: February 15, 2013
 
Very good story line. Interesting. To bad half way in you start having problems. By that time you are so into the game that you try to continue. But the stalling out gets irriating so I just quit playing the game. I wish that I had read the reviews wouldn't have wasted my time. If they could get it fixed I would start playing it again.
mydragonmoon | Added on: February 2, 2013
 
If you fix the game this will be a real gem.
ingelh | Added on: February 2, 2013
 
its chuppy men 3 workers are doing thing, couldent finished it because it freeze
judyr | Added on: December 16, 2013
 
I bought this and loved it through and through. I'm still somewhat new at TM games, but the theme of this, the thought process and the story were all fun. I liked it so much, I'm sure I will purchase the second one that just came out. And you get so much for your money on this. It's quite long, plus good replay value. I went back and tried to increase my scores. Still need to do more. But it's fun enough that I want to. Highly recommend.
tdc71 | Added on: February 2, 2013
 
Very Very choppy, stutters. Could be a great time management game if this was fixed. Very disappointed.
knitteremum | Added on: March 4, 2013
 
After the game was updated, it now is fun and challenging to play, without the frustrations of the first version. Well-worth playing if you enjoy TM games that involve resource management.
mrskelley | Added on: February 1, 2013
 
I am a huge fan of TM games. This one is well worth playing. Not only are the goals going from easy to more challenging but you really want to reach the next one. It really is a fun game.
Nuka | Added on: February 4, 2013
 
It could be a great, fun game but as the levels have gone up it has gotten more and more unplayable because of the stutters in the game.
emi1 | Added on: February 4, 2013
 
really enjoy this game-the graphics are colorful, the music gr8. i like that u can queue up tasks. it is very challenging-hard to get gold time. it is cool to see your manor getting fixed up. but, the stuttering the game does is highly annoying. if it hadn't of been for that i would've given this game 5 stars...
sadismom | Added on: February 4, 2013
 
I love playing TM games and this one is difinitely at the top of the list for enjoyment until it comes to constant lag, freezing and jumpy screen....this makes the overall experience very frustrating becuase it is impossible to get gold. Please fix the bugs!
blackbirdess | Added on: February 8, 2013
 
I like this game, it's not something that makes me think to the highest degree, and there's a tad too much clicking, but I like it! There's a nice story line, and it's worth trying your hardest as you get to spend the points fixing up your villa. I'm a big fan of the Delicious games but one thing they don't do is let you score as high as possible, you only get set points to spend in the shop, this game doesn't restrict that. The game play itself is certainly nothing new, but it's very, very pretty! If you like the time management/stratagy games you'll like this. (and I can't get gold each level without replaying most, nice to have a challenge)
mtngr12 | Added on: February 5, 2013
 
Game would be great, but there are far too many problems with game play. The money doesn't accumulate between levels, so you can't "save up" to buy upgrades; can't get gold stars because there is always one task that can't get done (click on it, and nothing happens, not allowing you to continue); choppy game play. Very frustrating.
Funnybunny927 | Added on: February 1, 2013
 
Think it would be more fun if items were larger. So much going on screen, size of items to find make it frustrating.
aga1313 | Added on: February 1, 2013
 
Nice and relaxing game to chill out after all day work. Really enjoy it and can't wait to play more :)
Tonoplay | Added on: March 13, 2013
 
It's inspired in Roads of Rome, it is the same mechanism, you have the same things to do in the same kind of sequence. The history is different, of course, you need earn money to rebuild the house. There is only one thing really cool here, in chapter 15 and 17 I guess the ghost scares people in the game and they shout, this is very funny. And the game is very heavy for a time management game. It's not a game that will sell a lot, because the load is very long. The idea of to scare while they work is good, funny, entertainment, the rest is almost the best sellers.
yolndad | Added on: February 2, 2013
 
game is a nice colorful beautiful music, but it is true that there are problems when there are many workers, has as small sobs. send a short message to cs I hope they do other or if they have found a solution to report it
drvelocity | Added on: February 4, 2013
 
I really liked the early levels of this game, but as you progresss, it becomes very choppy and stuttery which renders it virtually unplayable. This is a real shame as it would be a really good game otherwise.
Vivian74 | Added on: February 4, 2013
 
When I started playing the demo, I was a bit disappointed, as it seemed to be yet another Roads of Rome or Rescue Team clone. The basic gameplay is in fact similar to those games, but there are so many features added that it is an entertaining game in its own right. I like the graphics a lot, though there are some levels that don't run smoothly at all - usually when there is water involved. That seriously impacts the fun in playing the game, but at least it was just with a few levels. When you plant flowers, trees and bushes, you have to choose the colours according to a hint you get for each level, which brings you advantages (though throughout the whole game, I haven't found out what the advantages are exactly. Still, Iike working out the clues, which are not too difficult). This is a fast-paced game, especially in the later levels, where there are far more challenges than just planting, clearing paths and watering plants. There are ghosts or ravens to be chased away or even burglars. Burglars and ravens will still supplies. That said, the burglar, while not a bad idea, turn out to also be one of the weak points of the game. They need to be clicked to be caught and sometimes, it's difficult to click them, so valuable time is wasted by clicking on a burglar several times. There are also too many of them in some levels. If I enjoyed clicking like a maniac on moving objects, I would get a game that concentrates on this aspect. Here, it often distracted from the type of gameplay I enjoy. Still, those were minor points in an otherwise extremely entertaining game. I played it in less than two days, because I simply couldn't stop and I enjoyed most of the levels. With good TM games so rare these days, this was a real treat.
KittyKibitzer | Added on: February 21, 2013
 
This is a nice game in the roads to Rome style play. The story is exciting and you want to keep playing to find out what happens next. The only disappointment is once you reach half way through the game becomes jerky to the point of being unplayable. I truly wished I could finish the game but as is it is just not worth the frustration with the jerkiness.