Garden Defense™Garden Defense™
Number of reviews to show on each page:
20 reviews
 
Reviews of Garden Defense™
jmg1234 | Added on: April 16, 2012
 
I've played many hundreds of games, and this is ONE OF THE VERY BEST. Too bad they don't let me give it 10 stars. Strategically place gnomes, grow flowers that attack, and hire bugs. Different combinations, and scenes to keep it interesting. You earn lab points to buy available upgrades. These upgrades are great. I really like the gnome upgrade where it shoots rockets, nice sound effects, and all. The animation of the plants, and things are great too. The music espacielly the last episode was good as well. Everything about this game is awesome. The quality of work, innovation, and independent thinking put into this game is outstanding. I sure hope there's a sequel to this one, as I'd love to see more games like this out there. Very addicting, too bad there's not more than the 5 episodes to play. I played normal mode first, then went back and played hard, and very hard. You might want to try the easier modes first so you earn all the nice lab upgrades first. Unless you want a real challence on the very hard mode. The lab upgrades make all the difference in the world. VERY HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS GAME, TWO THUMBS UP.
cordis | Added on: May 5, 2009
 
Popcap has released some great games, and this one is still my favorite. I can replay this over and over again and still have fun.
collagejoy | Added on: July 5, 2011
 
This is a truly enjoyable Tower Defense style game, which are among my favourites. You can set the game to 5 different difficulty levels, so it's good for kids and adults. I highly recommend it!
emymn | Added on: May 1, 2012
 
I find myself coming back to this game again and again. I think I like it so much because it takes logic and planning, especially on the “hard” and “very hard” levels. Since there are so many combinations of gadgets, plants and bugs, the game has great “replay-ability”. I have played this game more than any other; since I have ADD and bore easily, that is saying something!
P_elle | Added on: January 12, 2012
 
A great game - one of my all-time favourites! If you liked Plants vs. Zombies, you'll love this game too. Lots of good options to adjust complexity, pace, and so on.
MissRaven77 | Added on: August 17, 2010
 
I downloaded this game because I was bored with H.O. & Match-3's & I wanted something different. I definately found it in Garden Defense! It was cute, very fun, & I had to use a lot of strategy on some of the later levels. The variety of upgrades & the game action combine to make this a great replay, too. I highly recommend this to everyone!
babyjack00 | Added on: November 16, 2009
 
enjoyed playing this game. Even came back to continue playing a second day (I normally get bored after my first day of playing a game)
wingy82 | Added on: March 16, 2012
 
Well, need a bit of patient with this game as well as some thinking too. Overall, it is a very entertaining game. Love it!
twoeagles61 | Added on: June 4, 2010
 
I love this game & can play it over & over, but since I have a "system" it is almost automatic to get thru every level fairly easily. Kids love it & they can go wild with their imagination on how to win (so secretly we're encouraging them to use their minds).
purplecak | Added on: March 15, 2010
 
This is my husband's all-time favorite GameHouse game. I constantly found him on the computer playing it. One of the more strategic games on the site. You definitely have to plan out your moves for each level, or you'll be in trouble! Good graphics, lots of fun, and a ton of levels. Totally worth the money, and a great game for everyone. The only reason I wouldn't rate it as "kid friendly" is because there aren't a whole lot of "easy" levels, and a younger child would probably get frustrated pretty quickly. I'd say appropriate for ages 10+
DarkDragon | Added on: May 23, 2011
 
I like the graphics, bright and colorful. The story is somewhat funny. Music is ok, and the sound effects are nice. There are many types of weapons and upgrades to tinker with. Each level has 5 difficulty modes (very easy - very hard) and can be replayed. I still haven't finished all modes yet though I finished the story. There are 3 categories of weapons (machines, plants, and bugs) that you will unlock throughout the story. A nice thing is that once you unlock a category, you can use them in earlier levels, which is useful if you want to finish very hard modes. Enemies are crawlers and flyers (some weapons are more effective or only attack 1 type), and occasionally bosses. Each level gets harder with stronger/faster/more enemies. The last levels are crazy even in very easy/easy mode. Overall, it is a nice game to own. Replaying is pretty fun and challenging as well. It is highly recommended.
Lisa522 | Added on: October 7, 2010
 
Fun game... I had purchased this game outright and finally had a go at it tonight. First , I want to say that I got my first taste of tower defense games through Plants vs Zombies - that is one hard act to follow. Garden Defense is fun but all the things that make P vs Z so wonderful become readily apparent. That's not to say this game isn't worth playing... My biggest drawback with this game is that you seem to be able to favor certain plants & gadgets (gnomes, cherubs & such) and use them pretty much exclusively. P vs Z *makes* you have to come up with alternate strategies as the point cost is high for better plants AND some levels omit the use of certain plants. Another thing that I liked better in P vs Z is the controls are much clearer. Also the enemies have definite personalities and very specific advantages & disadvantages. Although this game has almanacs for plants & pests too, they are not as readily available and the differences with the enemies were subtle at best. One thing that I did find very cool in this game is that you can upgrade your plants and your plants can even reproduce. You are able to fertilize your plants and move your gadgets within levels in real time (without losing them as you do in P vs Z). When your plant reproduces, you can either separate baby from mama to have a whole separate plant OR keep them attached for a slightly more powerful mama plant. Altogether, worth trying & even buying but in my opinion, this is better played BEFORE you get spoiled rotten with Plants vs Zombies - king of them all :)