Forgotten Places - Lost CircusForgotten Places - Lost Circus
Number of reviews to show on each page:
20 reviews
 
Reviews of Forgotten Places - Lost Circus
Poppa | Added on: November 10, 2010
 
This game could have been a lot better. Having voiceovers is a good start as not many HOGgers enjoy no voices ( as long as they are not annoying ).Some hidden areas are way to easy to find the items, case in point the music sheets. 3 jigsaw type puzzles in the hour demo were a bit much. I don't know if this game was beta tested by players, but if it was either the recommendations were not heeded or the developer didn't listen. Someone new to HOGs might really enjoy this, but to veteran gamers it falls short.
tarbarme | Added on: November 10, 2010
 
The graphics are pretty bad and there wasn't any tutorial with this. You have to guess at times on what you are suppose to do. In casual mode the mini games are way too easy. The hint and skip button takes too long to load. This one is a big thumbs down.
desertdreamer | Added on: July 29, 2011
 
I enjoyed it so much I replayed it back to back. Has "easy" mode and "expert" mode. Even the mini games changed somewhat each time. Well worth the money.
bigdoc13 | Added on: December 13, 2010
 
I liked this game,even though it is really aimed at children. I thought it was a bit dark at times,and the storyline was a bit off.
cjprice | Added on: April 28, 2011
 
I like hidden object games that make your mind work...this was fun but could have had a few more screens. My granddaughter and I finished it quite quickly.
sportygal2009 | Added on: November 11, 2010
 
Hmmm... I really tried to like this one as I was looking so forward to it coming when it saw it on the upcoming list here but I just found this game downright BORING. You can play this in casual or expert mode and I did the casual as I always start off that way in any game if given a choice just to get a feel for the game. For starters I usually don't follow the "story" but tried to with this game since as I mentioned looked forward to it but the so called story didn't make any sense to me as your going back and forth in time (present and past). Some scenes of the game the graphics were pretty good and the things you had to find were probably too easy at least for me as I clicked through it pretty quick. Then sometimes when you change scenes, the screen goes "white" for a bit and is about BLINDING (at least for me it did this, not very long but enough to be noticed and blinded) and then the next area will be so dark and items hard to find and some so small. The hint button I found so-so on charging back up- not super fast but not really slow. Mini-games I did a few puzzles and putting keys back where they belong. Also finding music sheets and some instruments. Oh and a leaf blower moving balloons around just to name a few games. You can also skip these and same on charging up as the hint button - so-so. Now it just might get more exciting but a half hour tops was about all I could cope. Oh and if you find I believe it is 50 paw prints it unlocks a bonus side quest however I didn't get that far obviously. Give it a whirl as you just might enjoy it but definitely not for me.
Harlowe1962 | Added on: June 14, 2011
 
It kept my attention. It was entertaining. I wouldn't buy it though.
Ris25 | Added on: November 11, 2010
 
This was good. The story line was interesting, but the ending kind of jumped at you, almost like it was a little bit "far fetched". Other then that though, I would recommend playing. Not to easy not to hard, plus if you cannont figure out the puzzles you can wait for the hint meter to fill up and it will solve it for you.
Linda1956 | Added on: November 19, 2010
 
I love HOG games but am usually having to look for assistance in a walk through for some games, as some of the newer ones become more and more challenging and less and less fun. This one was TOTALLY fun to play, has a wonderful story line, and has just the right amount of challenge to it for me at both levels. At first I tried to over-think it as, I have said before, some of the newer HOGs are too challenging, but once I overcame that, I had a ball with it and enjoyed playing it again with my granddaughter. I hope there are more like this; I had so much fun I hated the game to end!
Chickenlady4460 | Added on: November 15, 2010
 
I enjoyed this game alot. It has an interesting plot and story line. I found the paw prints difficult to find at times, but all in all a fun game.
ljas | Added on: November 15, 2010
 
Very disappointing with the graphics and mini games and the characters. I got to the point that I just clicked through the remaining portion of the game and exited.
Tayotae | Added on: June 15, 2011
 
This one was very my head, but maybe I was simply tired as it is 3:04am. The graphics were good, but far to much stuff all over the place to find much without a real good search. The story line was different than most. Maybe it was hard for me cuz I am so old and I have lost grey matter. Not quite sure here. No I would not purchase it. Nor would tell anyone to get it, unless they were very much into hard games.
vonissk | Added on: February 10, 2012
 
I have only been playing HOG games for a short while and so far this is one of my faves. It was challenging, had a good story line and most of the mini puzzles were fairly ez to figure out. I would reccomend it.
flyingsquirrel | Added on: April 28, 2011
 
I like hiddeen object games. They are a challenge sometimes. But they are fun. I have enjoyed this game.
kyleesmommy | Added on: April 8, 2013
 
Lets see,its a very interesting game,I like seeing the dilapidated circus and then the bright shiny new one,I liked the story idea,the music was somewhat annoying,but right on for old time circus music,crisp clear graphics,mini games were challenging to easy and skippable,hint button pointed your way and helped during HOS and those HOS were a nice challenge,you have to look for items,so it seemed like a good game until "IT" happened....I am admittedly terrified of clowns and I am trying to work on my fear,hence the circus game,but WOW,I had to stop when,in the game and this is a SPOILER ALERT,I had to put the makeup onto a clown head and face !!!!! Sorry,my game ended right there,I had to stop...So I dont know how it ended,if I was near the ending or not,if it is a short game or a good value or any of those things,I chickened out and quit !!! So I cant speak to value or replay or any of that and I do apologize for that,but I am now and seems I always will be scared of clowns !!! as always HAPPY GAMING EVERYONE !!!
elainerzez | Added on: November 18, 2010
 
I played this game twice. not because I liked it I didn't understand the ending. The second time I got it. I didn't care for this game because you keep waiting for her to tell her husband something. It never happens. It was a lousy ending.
infinity | Added on: January 27, 2012
 
The game flashes between dreary scenes of a decrepit, deserted circus and the same scenes in a colorful, cheerful, child-friendly style of art. It's not really scary, yet not quite a young kids' game. After 45 minutes of play, the game seemed like it had been dragging on forever and yet not much had happened. Hidden object scenes were just fair. Mini-puzzles kind of boring. Didn't see the point to go on even to find out the "big mystery," as the storyline just seemed an excuse to tie together the HO games.
sig0902 | Added on: November 18, 2010
 
I was fun but ended to quickly. I was hoping for another level that was more challenging.
Cbrez | Added on: November 11, 2010
 
I rather liked the fact that "How to Play" was on the opening page. I did not find the story to be very interesting. The back ground music was ok. The HO and mini-games seemed almost over simplified. The graphics were acceptable, but room for improvement. I would consider it kid friendly. But, playing it once was enough for me.
kmgreen2002 | Added on: November 18, 2010
 
This was an okay game. I have played several HOG games and this one was cute, but not much of a challenge. The story line is what is cute and interesting, however the objects were easy to find. I did enjoy the cute cub like growl every time a paw print was found. Not too much on a replay value, but a great one for a beginner in HOG games.
clownswife | Added on: December 13, 2010
 
game is addictive and great to play. good graphics
kesay17 | Added on: November 11, 2010
 
Disappointing game. Looked like it would be a challenger but turned out to be an easy HOG. Items were very easy to find. Mini games in both modes were easy to complete. Story line was OK but not overly great. Graphics were good. Game is good for beginner HOG players.
bella24 | Added on: November 30, 2010
 
This game has two sides, one dark, the other cutesy. They should have stayed with the dark, decaying side and made this game nice and scary. Instead, it's infused with this child-like, colorful, perky side that annoyed the cat litter out 'o me. When I first started the game, I felt a spark of excitement: is this the one? A few minutes down the road, though, my eject meter went off. Ah, I thought, what have you people done? The HO's were easy, the game...blah. Almost liked it, thought I might and suddenly realized that I'd rather be cleaning the garage.
crazykoala64 | Added on: November 19, 2010
 
i really enjoyed this game it was fun my husband also played it and loved it. we both finished it in one day thats hoe addicting it is.
mitch2828 | Added on: May 6, 2011
 
good game, good graphics,,,,enjoyed it very much,,,
SUZsaysHi | Added on: November 11, 2010
 
I could not wait to play this game. After finishing the 60 minute demo I do not want to purchase it. Some of the scenes were so dark there is no way you could find the HOs. Other scenes were too easy. Some were just too "busy" to pick something out. The mini games were easy to the point they got boring. Sorry but this one does not cut it for me
elianamr | Added on: November 29, 2010
 
Nice and somewhat original ... not too complicated and easy to go through. Should have lasted longer
faye1 | Added on: November 19, 2010
 
For a HO game it was pretty good. Not as challenging as other games. I liked the graphics, but it ended to quickly.
bethwrealtor | Added on: November 17, 2010
 
Game not as challenging as many but still overall and enjoyable HO game. Hints recharge quickly
mumsy | Added on: November 18, 2010
 
mini games are great, hidden objects pretty well hidden. A bit repetetive.
GamerNo1 | Added on: December 3, 2010
 
This game is lots of fun. It's challenging and thought provokive and has a great atmosphere.
tetcats | Added on: December 6, 2010
 
Really enjoyed this game. Cute graphics, interesting scenes, fun mini games. Quite original.
AidensCoolMom09 | Added on: May 11, 2011
 
I usually don't write bad reviews but in this case,I have to.This game is very childish not at all like its description says...don't waste your time on this game.The only reason I finished it was bc I was hoping the ending would be great,I was sorely disappointed.
xenutia | Added on: November 12, 2010
 
Well, that was a disappointment. I did actually start off thoroughly enjoying the game, because it was a bit different and I really enjoyed some of the mini-games. I think that the leaf blower game was particularly enjoyable, (yes I am a big kid) and wouldn't even mind a whole game based on that with various obstacles to get around. So I will say that the mini-games were really fun and original. although very kiddy. The idea of switiching between the past and the present worked quite well, and there were some fun things tucked in amongst the HO parts of the game, some of them quite original, but oh dear, in two of the HO scenes, the HO list failed to materialize and I was left clicking randomly on everything and using hints to try and work out what I was supposed to be looking for. Thankfully, there was no penalty for wrong clicks and the hints filled up fairly quickly, so it wasn't insurmountable and I could move on and finish the game. I don't know if it was just me, but I did think that it seemed rather short. It's possibly just because the puzzles were very easy to solve. I was playing it on easy mode, so perhaps the expert mode would have been better and made it last longer. All in all, there were some bits of it I loved, some I couldn't care one way or the other and some were downright irritating. Hence only 3 stars.
TnTexas | Added on: December 10, 2010
 
Overall Impression: A fun game with an original idea. Too bad they tried to shoehorn it into a dark and creepy box. Media Description: For the most part, the graphics were nice and bright and clear. There were some dark, murky scenes; but they weren't in the majority. Storyline: In my opinion, this was probably the weakest part of the game. Had they simply stuck with the idea of finding the cub, I would have described it as fun and original. But instead they plunked that story into the middle of a confusing, severely underdeveloped storyline of a woman who hunts down a circus she's been dreaming about. The ending to that storyline comes out of nowhere and leaves the player wondering what in the world just happened. Not very satisfying at all. Gameplay: Overall it's pretty straightforward. There were some spots where I was left wondering what was expected of me, but there weren't many of them. HOG Scenes: The HOG scenes were more along the lines of cluttered rooms rather than junkpiles. Nothing was velcroed to the ceilings or walls, and the objects were proportional to the scene - which did make some of them a bit hard to find. I don't remember there being any misclick penalties. Minigames/puzzles: The minigames were woven into the storyline very well. Some of them were more difficult than others, but they were eventually skippable. Hints: The hint was unlimited and refilled within a reasonable amount of time. It also worked in non-HOG scenes as well as the HOG ones. Being able to understand what the hint was revealing was questionable at times, but not too often. Will Probably Appeal to: those who like iHOG/Adventures and are tired of the grandpa-needs-rescuing variety. Will Probably Not Appeal to: those who like straight HOGs or for the storylines in their games to make sense.
babycakes0001967 | Added on: July 28, 2011
 
I did like this game! Wish there was more levels. Keeps you involved.
Tigercub | Added on: August 22, 2011
 
Challenges your knowledge of plants, animals, and various other items, very colourful detailed graphics. Very visually and appealing scenes with many sittuations. Great hidden object game for all ages. I liked it a lot.
kargalou | Added on: February 9, 2012
 
This game switches back and forth between cheery, colorful scenes of a circus of the past, and extremely dark scenes of an abandoned circus. The cheerful scenes are very standard (but old style) HOGs. The dark scenes are so dark that it is difficult to spot the items sought. The story with the cub is childish, but other aspects of the game make it not appropriate for younger players. The mini-games are okay but not very challenging or interesting. In addition, I'm glad I only spent $2.99 for the game because it was very short and isn't one I'll likely replay.
gerimack | Added on: November 10, 2010
 
loved this game, lovely story, good graphics, mini games easy enough to do, and I got a good laugh clicking some of the items in the scenes especially the wet floor sign, overall a very enjoyable game
nvyank | Added on: November 15, 2010
 
It could have been a little longer. I liked going back and forth between the two time period. For an HO game this was pretty good.
Lisa522 | Added on: February 10, 2011
 
This is a nice hidden object game with a fun circus theme, intelligently written, good graphics, some decent variety of what I've played so far. I don't regret purchasing it - nice for a lighthearted play experience.
Lilymaisel | Added on: April 28, 2011
 
a little bit to short and easy to solve, but yet good fun.
ellkin | Added on: November 15, 2010
 
I enjoyed this game, maybe not so challenging as other games but still had to find my way around it, the story was a bit strange but other than that, quite enhoyable, the hints recharge pretty quickly and the mini-games can be skipped, my one advice is when you see the screen lightening up, look away as otherwise you wont see anything in the dark scenes After reading some of the other comments, i wasnt sure whether to try it or not, glad i did as i found it quite a good game, so try it, nothing to lose and you might find like me you enjoy it
PSPMichael | Added on: December 2, 2010
 
This game was fun, but far too short. I finished this game easily in just a couple of hours, and that was taking my time, answering the phone and having something to eat. While I enjoyed the game and the story, I was disappointed how quickly it was over.
ibtlb | Added on: November 18, 2010
 
This game was just cute. Not much of a challenge.The graphics are pretty. hos easy. The game just lacks something.
Mysterya | Added on: November 9, 2011
 
Very nice game especailly for families. Kid Friendly. Adults will like it as well. Well knitted storyline. You feel as if you are in a circus.
annakb | Added on: June 23, 2011
 
I love HOGs - my favourite genre. And this one is right up there - spooky story, objects that are not too easy to find (but not impossible, either) and some really cool mini games etc. Can't speak for the music, as I never have the sound on - find it distracting. Love the graphics too. Have not played it to the end yet, but have thoroughly enjoyed what I have played so far!
hankysis3 | Added on: March 7, 2011
 
This game has great graphics and well defined hidden objects. The story is muddled at best, and seems aimed at a younger audience. I did finish the game in casual mode, and found it flowed smoothly. If you want a game that is not going to stress you out, this would be one of them.