Foreign DreamsForeign Dreams
Number of reviews to show on each page:
20 reviews
 
Reviews of Foreign Dreams
annalyst | Added on: September 20, 2011
 
It took me about 2 hours to complete, the graphics were not that great but the story line was interesting. The ending was a little strange.
Jem888 | Added on: September 22, 2011
 
I tried really hard to play the entire demo but only lasted 45 minutes as I was falling asleep at the helm. It's not so much that there is anything bad about this game, it's just plain old boring. The graphics are low grade (okay but not great), no depth to any of the characters, boring conversation text to read through, easy to find hidden objects and easy mini puzzles. It's not even interesting enough to recommend to beginner level gamers.
phatkhat | Added on: September 22, 2011
 
It has pros and cons, like all games, but more pros than cons for me. The story is intriguing, first of all. It is similar to many stories - all at once. And the mix is interesting. And quite creepy. It's not scary creepy, but weird creepy. The kind of illogical stuff you really do find in nightmares. I liked the ambient sounds and music very much. They were eerie and fit the scenes. It was relaxing, and pleasant, and yet enhanced the weirdness of the scenes. The graphics are sharp and clear, but a bit cartoony. And the animated characters were a bit cheesy. No worse though, than many adventure games. And this is more of an adventure with HOG scenes than anything. I played on hard mode, and I loved that there were NO sparkles nor hints, unless I asked for them. Items of interest light up when you mouse over them. The HOG scenes were not the major part of the play, and for the most part, there were few objects, and they were easy to find. Sometimes you had to search more than one scene to find them, though. And I was annoyed that you couldn't pick up all the dreamcatcher parts as soon as you saw them, instead of waiting until the end of the dream. I was also annoyed at the loopy cursor penalty, especially since I consider it an adventure type game. The mini games were mostly easy, but one I skipped. I wasn't enthralled with them, but they were okay. I most enjoyed trying to figure out what I was doing, what I was looking for, and what to do next. Among all the weirdness were sort of "Easter eggs" of humor if you notice them. I really like it when developers use a bit of humor to lighten up dark games. Not the best game of the year, due to being on the easy side, but far from the bottom of the barrel. I'm a sucker for a good storyline, and this one surely delivers one. I guess for me, a good story will overcome a mediocre game a lot quicker than good gameplay will overcome a poor story, at least in this genre.
1toomany | Added on: September 20, 2011
 
It's difficult to pin point what is wrong with this game. The graphics aren't great, the HO are grayed out objects (makes it difficult some times to know what you're looking for - they do tell you what the object is when you run the cursor over it,) you're plunged into the storyline (if you haven't read the summary of the game, you're lost!) and the puzzles are amateur. It's definitely not a game for experienced HO gamers. I couldn't even finish the trial; I was that bored with the game.
twnsmm559 | Added on: September 23, 2011
 
I unknowingly completed most of the game in the demo. Would not have bought it if I knew it would end so soon.
janeaustenfan | Added on: September 20, 2011
 
Does Gamehouse not test out games before they put them on the site anymore? I didn't get past the 2nd scene. Way way way too dark. Only positive thing is that I do like the story line. Just wish I could see it better. I'll be deleting this from my computer.
nitabulb | Added on: September 22, 2011
 
The story line was quite good, however just as you got int the game it was over. HO's where easy to find, not very challenging.all in all quite disappointed.
iheartgh | Added on: September 22, 2011
 
The game was nice, I liked the story and the graphics were okay. However, it was a very short game! I finished it in about 45 minutes. Just play the free trial, and you can probably finish it too!
VforVictoria | Added on: September 24, 2011
 
Too short, a little too easy, not a lot of challenge. Storyline was alright. Worth a free try.
creeker721 | Added on: September 26, 2011
 
This was so boring and actually annoying that I stopped playing it after about 20 mins. altho it appears that I probably made a good decision after reading the other reviews. Sure glad I have FunPass and didn't buy this!!! Steer away.
jkjennings | Added on: September 23, 2011
 
What's wrong with these gamemakers? Doesn't anyone do quality control before a game goes out? Agree with others that scenes are too grayed or whited out and you can't possibly see the objects, but the wierdest thing is in the morgue scene the objects are named wrong! It says you should be looking for a brush, but it's a picture of a hand! That is really poor workmanship! The story was okay but the people sitting at the table look so stupid when they talk. Totally not a good game.
DarkDragon | Added on: September 22, 2011
 
Graphics is okay, good but not very mesmerizing. Story is somewhat interesting, though illogical. A resurrected boy would make national news, no way he didn't remember that LOL. And how he went to school, let alone college, on a death certificate? :P Anyway, nice try. The puzzles are pretty good, though I would like some more. I only skipped the arranging numbers, and enjoyed the rest. Not traditional HO, but rather collect objects for tasks straight from scene, and many are very well concealed, almost impossible without hint. Fast recharge hint. Rather short play time. Recommended for playing, though may not appeal to many players, and may not worth purchasing b/c of its shortness and not good replay.
roxy8279 | Added on: November 20, 2012
 
This game was entertaining and interesting. It didn't take me that long to finish it.
emi1 | Added on: October 10, 2011
 
i usually like games that involve dreams. this one was mysterious, and i really liked the music, but it was very easy-even in the difficult mode. i did like that it is easy to move from location to location, and that there were only 3 locations to have to go b/t in each dream. the mini games were very easy-i did skip one of them tho-the one with the #'s at the train station. i only played the trial hr of this game. i have to admit i want to know what these dreams mean and who that little girl was, but not enuf to spend money, or credits. just didn't grab me and pull me in.
somagirl | Added on: September 28, 2011
 
Not sure why this game is listed as a Top Game? It's just "okay" and nothing special. Only redeeming quality is that possessed girl might be a good costume for Halloween!
Tayotae | Added on: November 4, 2011
 
This game has good graphics and music, but that about it. For too easy for a whole lot of fun. Had a ok story line, but it was abit boring to me.
embrisa | Added on: September 22, 2011
 
The game was good but sometimes searching for the objects was just plain silly because everything was sooo small and no magnifying glass. Otherwise, It ended too quickly. Poof.. over. If I didn't have the funpass, I would never of paid for this game.
Babala | Added on: September 22, 2011
 
This brief game certainly grabbed my interest as a young man is haunted by recurring nightmares. Some of the dream sequences are very creative though the graphics aren't stellar (loved the angler fish meandering through the morgue). It has cartoonish graphics, no voice-overs, eerie music, good dialogue, but suffers from small HO and lack of direction at times. It does have an ending, albeit abrupt, with little further explanation. The characters are interesting, but gameplay was a little flat. 2.5 stars
devi | Added on: September 26, 2011
 
Wow, that was the shortest HO game I've ever played. Maybe that's a good thing because it was rather boring. Graphics were average, no vocals which meant you had to read everything, hints recharged very showly. My main objection was that it was very difficult to tell what objects were already found and which were still left. There was not enough distinction between the two. All in all, just OK. I definitely would not recommend anyone buying this one.
kboozer | Added on: September 29, 2011
 
I liked the storyline but the gameplay was rough. It was like playing a game that wasn't the finished product. I guess I've been spoiled by other devs with beautiful scenery and smooth play. If they come out with a second part, I hope they listen to the feedback from the game players.