Farmington TalesFarmington Tales
Number of reviews to show on each page:
20 reviews
 
Reviews of Farmington Tales
MJ1234 | Added on: December 4, 2012
 
I really enjoyed playing this game - can't add much to what has already been reviewed. Fun mix of time management and HO. Scenes are good with opportunities to earn bonus gold in each HO scene. Fun building and improving the farm. The mini games got extremely repetitive and boring...so much, in fact, that I ended up spending my hard earned money to skip them! :) All in all, I really enjoyed playing this game!
rwisti | Added on: December 13, 2012
 
I think this is a really fun game, a lot like farmville type game. My computer is having issues playing this game, so I will not continue to purchase it. Am really bummed, because it was fun. I may try to redownload it at a later date.
annakb | Added on: March 15, 2013
 
Really enjoy playing this game (haven't finished yet...) - there are so many different aspects to it so it's a really interesting and absorbing one. I could do with less of the chit-chat scenes though you can skip past them. Some of the puzzles are really challenging - I haven't yet found the keys for the farm gate, have taken the payment instead. And finding the bomb isn't always easy either......But overall, this is a great game that can keep me happily occupied for hours at a time and is probably one that can be played over and over again!
theredace | Added on: December 4, 2012
 
I thought this was going to be another time management farm game, but it's actually way more interesting than that. I can definitely see the comparisons to Gardenscapes, though it's more like Farmville meets Gardenscapes. The HO game play is more interesting than most games, because they give you little optional goals to try to achieve in each level like find some items in alphabetical order, or find all the hidden gems, or collect items in a specific order on screen. It really makes you think about what you're doing instead of just monotonously collecting items. Between levels, you have a big farm to create. It's bigger than the screen so you have to scroll the camera around. I thought that would get tedious but anything you need to do has a little icon at the edge of the screen and you can just click it to automatically move the camera to that spot...very nice. You plow fields, plant new crops, wait for them to grow like Farmville and then send them to the market and sell them. And all along you're buying new upgrades to build up your farm. It's super fun. Highly recommended!
NDSpacer | Added on: December 4, 2012
 
I bought this game after a half hour of play. The earlier 4 and 5 star detailed reviews reflect my sentiments perfectly, so I'll not duplicate what they've already said. If ever you've played Farmville on Facebook you'll be familiar with the level of addiction in planting and harvesting crops.
devi | Added on: December 7, 2012
 
What a great game. Took me about 5-6 plays to actually finish and become the #1 farm. Scattered HO scenes (to pacify us HO lovers). Seeding, watering, and harvesting crops to sell at our own market. Restoring the old farm with proceeds from the crops. Quite exciting. Keeps you busy busy busy executing your chores. The only thing I disliked was using my hard earned money to skip those mini games that got almost impossible to complete. A definite reco from me. Hope you enjoy!
mmouse | Added on: January 29, 2014
 
I have now played both Farmington games & much prefer the uniqueness of this first one. I really enjoyed the extra bonus points you can go for while searching for hidden objects! Building is also fun & to me, an extra bonus, especially when you have several options to choose from. Not at all stressful, but definitely keeps your attention. I had to force myself to close the game & go to bed...night after night!! LOL
bluecalliope | Added on: December 3, 2012
 
I generally get bored with HO and Time Management games but this game is a refreshing blend of both. Within the first 30 minutes of play I knew I had to buy this game. It's great for adults and children alike. The twist of growing crops & managing your farm (time management) in between the HO scenes is surprisingly fun and addictive. The addition of several different types of mini games throughout game play is also a delight. The mini games are also available from the main menu if you just want to play those. Additional money for your farm can be made by reading the challenges at the top of the HO scenes and completing them as they show up (i.e. - Find 3 objects in alphabetical order) instead of just finding items from the list at the bottom. If you accept quests for reward money I do recommend keeping a list handy of the quest items you're looking for as they might show up in scenes but not be listed at the bottom. I disagree with a previous comment regarding locating the gems. I did not find them difficult to find at all and my children enjoyed helping me locate them as soon as we entered an HO scene. They are many different sizes and colors and include pearls. The story line is amusing and the music isn't as annoying as most other games. I have not replayed the game but from what I've seen from my first run through I believe replay of the game will be different every time depending on how you manage your farm and the speed with which you accrue money to purchase upgrades. I had to set up different "characters" for my children so they could play their own farms! A great game for the entire family!
avian51 | Added on: December 5, 2012
 
I really enjoyed Farmington Tales, because it combined several different genres--hidden object, resource management, mini-games, etc--into a great story that tied them pretty seamlessly together. There were some fun extras in the hidden object scenes as well--getting bonuses for finding objects in certain order, spotting hidden gems (agree with reviewer who says they are difficult to find, but they're supposed to be). I enjoyed making my way through the story and meeting the quirky cast of characters. And I really liked that I was able to personalize the dog's name. WARNING: This game is quite involved, and once you get started, it will be difficult to leave because you're having such a good time.
LuckyLea | Added on: February 24, 2014
 
Really like this game - think its a bit much for young kids - thinky but with helpful hints - enjoying! Super addictive!
denisey81 | Added on: November 30, 2012
 
The game format is nice.The hidden object are somewhat hard to see and find.The gems are very hard to see.PLEASE BRING BACK MORE HO GAMES LIKE DREAM DAY WEDDING!
tamryn | Added on: December 2, 2012
 
Love this game except for mini games! They are my least favorite kind of puzzles & repeating them over & over became old fast. If you skip.....you pay. As you progress skips increase to larger sums. I liked the concept of making repairs but would have liked a better variety of puzzles. Finding the gems was part of the fun for me and the other quests offered within the HO part. ie finding items in abc order, or in reverse. There are several others as well and liked that feature a lot.
adventurist | Added on: December 4, 2012
 
I was really impressed with this game. The Hidden Object scenes are nice, bright scenes with clear graphics, and the items are well hidden. There aren't a bunch of tiny, hard to make out items, so I didn't have to give myself a headache squinting to find them all. In addition to the list items, there are goals that appear at the top that you can meet for extra coins (things like find 5 items in alphabetical order, or find three items in three seconds, etc), so as I got more better at finding objects there was even more I could do. The farming part of the game was a ton of fun, and I never had to spam my friends like some of the other farm games I have played. I really enjoyed fixing up the farm, and taking care of my crops and animals. The story is very heart-warming, and kept the game moving forward without being intrusive. The characters are all super cute, and I even got to name the dog, which was a nice touch. There are a lot of little puzzles along the way, and it was a nice mix of ones I've enjoyed before and brand new ones. You can play them all from the main menu if you find some that you really like. This game has a lot to offer, and I highly recommend it.
BrownEyes82 | Added on: January 5, 2013
 
I loved this game! It's the best of multiple worlds - I love HO games and I love the farming sim games, and this provided both. In addition to that, you also get to play some fun bonus games along the way - tetris-style puzzles, sudoku, etc. I loved the goal of earning enough money w/ the hidden object screens and produce sales to make upgrades around the farm (similar to Gardenscapes & Tales of Laguna). It's something that you can easily play for a short period of time and come back to it later, or keep playing for long periods. I really enjoyed it!!
roxy8279 | Added on: January 7, 2013
 
This game was not that great I was reading some reviews before I bought it but I guess I was playing a different game than everyone else.
flaca | Added on: December 31, 2012
 
The game was very fun to play but my only chief complaint was that it was as extremely fun it was long. It was just too much in detail. The end needed a little more umph to the story but ended fine I suppose. They left it as so they could tap into a sequel for their retirement I suppose. If you are like me that love TM farm games you'll over look some nuances of the game as I did as forementioned. Try the game. But it's so dang long....
Harlowe1962 | Added on: December 3, 2012
 
I didn't care for it though. It's more of a Time Management type of game. It has great graphics and a cute story line, very kid friendly. I enjoyed the trial but I wont be buying it as it is just not my type of game.
Crystalwizard | Added on: December 2, 2012
 
The game could be a lot of fun. It combines a hidden object game with a farmville or simfarm like farming game, as well as combining in aspects of gardenscapes. However the puzzles you are required to do at times are far too difficult and cost too much money to skip if you don't care to do them. And to make matters worse, it's very hard to make money. This wouldn't be a problem, you could play the game slowly and have fun, but the game forces you to spend lots of funds on improvements. Being forced to spend the money on improvements before you're ready to ensures that you can't play the game the way you want to. If you ignore the improvements in favor of planting crops or doing other things, the game shuts down your market, thereby ensuring that the ONLY thing you CAN do is play the hidden object part of the game until you very slowly build up enough money to open the market again. Being as you are supposed to be a poor farmer scrambling to get enough money to pay off the bank loan or they'll take your farm, the very idea that someone would come along and shut down your market is ludicrous. And the fact that your market is ON YOUR FARM AND YOUR PRIVATE PROPERTY, and didn't require you to get a "market permit" to even open the market, makes the fact that a farming magazine somehow has the right to close your market even less realistic. The negative aspects of the game are seriously frustrating. They would be just fine if the game had a challenge feature where you could turn them on, but for relaxing game play, or even normal game play, they totally ruin the entire thing.
drvelocity | Added on: December 5, 2012
 
I liked this - it's a bit different, but also has similarities to eg Gardenscapes where you're trying to upgrade your farm.
Miss_Vy | Added on: February 10, 2013
 
I had a lot of fun playing this game. I love farming games and just recently got into HO games. Here you play HO to earn side pocket money, but it's the farming that you'll be doing the most to earn the money. You'll be playing mini games while your shop is collecting money and the crops are growing. It was a bit overwhelming at first because quiet a few things are on the screen and you'll need to do a bit of work. But then it got somewhat boring. The HO part to the game is challenging and I like how there are some goals you can aim for; that gave it some excitement. You can actually loose in this game and have go start all over again. There is a lot of pressure to upgrade your farm, I didn't take them seriously at first and ignore that part instead I focused on stocking up the shop. They closed of the market and I had no money to upgrade and there's no way I can earn $4000 just from playing the HO game (you get on average $120 per game you play). Overall, it's fun and I think kids can enjoy playing it.
Mom2FiveCats | Added on: December 8, 2012
 
The only way I can think of this game is like playing Farmville (growing crops but at a much faster pace - like SECONDS) and playing hide and seek at the same time. Fun time for all.
Maleficent777 | Added on: December 4, 2012
 
I downloaded this game because the screenshots looked so interesting. I was definitely not disappointed! The storyline is cute and funny without being overdone and I loved the quirky characters! Not only do you get to name yourself in the game, but you can name your dog, too! There are a ton of different HO scenes to explore, with the added challenges of figuring out what crops to plant, setting the best price, and solving farm problems (in the form of mini-games) whenever they pop up! With hours and hours of gameplay, Farmington Tales is a great value and hay bales of fun!
Maineiac | Added on: December 1, 2012
 
It's interesting whenever a new style of game arrives. This one is a clever merge of several other genres. It combines HO with time management. The storyline is entertaining as well. Hope to see more like this.
Hillbilly_Gal | Added on: December 3, 2012
 
I loved this game more than any HOG game I've played since Gardenscapes and Gardenscapes Mansion Makeover. After the free trial was over, because I can't afford to buy this game until my husband's social security retirement income arrives, I played another free hour trial at a competitor website, then after that hour was over I played it for 8 additional hours at another competitor website that offers an unlimited free trial as long as you don't leave the game for very long at a time. As you can imagine, I didn't get much housework done. For me, playing this game was an enjoyable one day vacation from doing housework and running errands and my husband, who is retired and doesn't go anywhere without me, didn't object to because it has been years since I've enjoyed a game this much On the 3rd of December I am absolutely positively going to buy this game from Gamehouse.com who has the best Customer Service in the world compared to any of their competitors. This game is so much more than just Hidden Objects. I'm a retired farm wife who misses living and working on the farm very much. This game is the next best thing because you have to find hidden objects in order to earn the money to pay for improvements to the farm, for feed to the livestock, money to buy the seeds for the farm, you have crops to harvest, eggs and milk to sell, wool to sell, a farm stand to maintain, many of the problems that most real life farmers have to deal with such as the well going dry, the gate not working, and much more. This game is NOT a variation of Gardenscapes 1 or 2, both of which I really enjoy and I play both frequently. Farmington Tales is so different from Gardenscapes and Farmscapes that it's like night and day. There are quests for you to take to earn additional money which is accomplished by playing the hidden object games. At first, only a few locations are available, the remainder become unlocked after you've found a few gems. There are 3 hidden gems in each location. Finding these gems will eventually unlock another location on the farm. If you can't find all 3 in one location, don't sweat it, you'll find more in another location. They're very well hid but even with my poor eyesight I found them, even the ones that you think is a marble or a piece of a pendant but its not so click on it. This game is repetitive because life on a farm, beef or dairy or crop, is repetitive and there is no getting around that. Let's face it, most of life is repetitive such as driving to and from your job every day is repetitive. Your job is probably somewhat repetitive, too, whether you're a plumber, an electrician, a nurse, work in a law firm, work in a medical clinic, work in a supermarket, work in law enforcement, work in the construction industry, etc. Yes, I've done 'em all at one time or another during my almost 60 years of life. The puzzles that are symbolized with a puzzle piece on your screen consist of many different varieities of puzzles such as Sudoku, Mine Search, unravel the wires, connect the pipes, and many more that I enjoy. You have to pay coins to Skip a puzzle, the cost increases as you progress in this game which gives you the motivation to try and figure them out. I also like the fact that this game does NOT end after you've played it a few hours. Although I played Farmington Tales for over 10 hours yesterday, I haven't completed it yet. I really like that. I hate full version games that are over in only a few short hours or less. This is the first game that I've played in many years that I actually enjoy the music and that I didn't turn off because it got on my nerves. It's music that has a country sound to it but isn't unpleasant to folks that don't like traditional country music or bluegrass. The music changes while you're searching for hidden objects but is still very pleasant to listen to. In most games, HOG, match 3 and cards, I turn off the music entirely because it gets on my nerves. I even keep the sound turned off when I play Farmscapes, Gardenscapes, and Gardenscapes Mansion Makeover. I love the games but hate the so-called music. This game is a full blown winner in my opinion but don't take my word for it, try the one hour trial of this game with an open mind then decide for yourself. I strongly recommend this game for all ages.
emi1 | Added on: December 11, 2012
 
this game feels like a combo of HO and TMGs. the story is heartwarming. the music is perfect for a farm. i really enjoy the graphics. you have crops, animals, and you have HO scenes. the goals that you have during the HO scenes are fun to accomplish and get you more money. also the quests are challenging. how cool to see the farm coming back to life. definately a game for my library of games...
Cat_In_RV | Added on: December 7, 2012
 
This is an interesting game. There are many, many HO scenes in the same locations, and there are a limited number of different puzzles that get progressively harder as you revisit them again and again. If you read what I just said, you would probably think I didn't like this game. But you would be wrong in most respects. Even though both the HO scenes and the puzzles are repetitive, I got really caught up in planting crops, feeding the animals, and making improvements. I played it over five days before I finished it, and I really enjoyed watching the farm become profitable and grow. But there were things I didn't enjoy, or at least not for long. The music, which was cute at first, drove me crazy pretty quickly, forcing me to turn the sound off. And the cutsie little aphorisms offered by the traveling salesman weren't so cute about the 4th or 5th or 10th time around. The mini-games, such as Sudoku, minefield, untangle the strings, and put together the pipes became progressively harder. I quickly began skipping the Sudoku and minefield; the first takes too much time, and the latter I never enjoyed to begin with. But I resented having to spend my hard-earned farm money to skip the games. All-in-all, I normally would never play such a repetitive game, but I got caught up in building the farm and wanted to see it through to the end. If you enjoy this kind of combination management-HO game, you will probably enjoy this. I did, although I wouldn't play it again.
mrsbetty | Added on: December 6, 2012
 
This is the best new game I've had in a long while. It keeps your interest and I find it hard to stop playing and going to bed. I just can't leave my crops without watering all of them. The only drawback I have with this game is the puzzles. I find most of them too difficult or too time consuming, and I hate to spend my hard earned money to skip them. Otherwise I would recommend this game to everyone.
Natales | Added on: January 16, 2013
 
I really liked this cute and fun game. There is a strategy to it and it took me a little while to get it but both my daughter and I played it and had fun making our farms. Fun game