Farm Frenzy - Ancient RomeFarm Frenzy - Ancient Rome
Number of reviews to show on each page:
20 reviews
 
Reviews of Farm Frenzy - Ancient Rome
infinity | Added on: December 5, 2011
 
Alawar makes good games. I love their Crop Busters match 3 game, but am not so fond of time management games. But since this was on sale, it was worth a try. Actually, the graphics and animations are amazing, as to be expected with Alawar games. And for that reason alone, I wanted to enjoy the game. I might even have resigned myself to endless watering of grass, picking up chicken eggs, baking cakes, caging raging bears, and the like. But the problem is, the game expects me to either know how to play one of these Farm Frenzy games already, or to figure it out as I go. There are very minimal instructions, basically word pictures, like reading hieroglyphics. But really, Alawar, take an extra day or two and write decent instructions for the novice if you want to sell more games. I was able to figure out what to do, but it was slow going because actions occur in sequences: you have to pick up eggs off the grass, then make egg powder, then bake cookies, then use the cookies to bake a cake, but before baking the cake you have to send the donkey off to town to pick up a creature that looks like a groundhog to help bake the cake. And it took 45 minutes to get that far. If you're used to the Farm Frenzy games, or TM games in general, you'll probably love this, as other reviewers did. But if you're inexperienced with TM games, enjoy the scenery in this one. Just be prepared to stumble around while you do.
snappybookworm | Added on: February 11, 2013
 
I thought my luck was in this morning when I looked at the windows 8 compatible games and noticed that two of the Farm Frenzy groups were on. I've been waiting for this since I got my new windows 8 computer in December. However, it doesn't work.
kesay17 | Added on: February 16, 2011
 
Farm Frenzy with a twist. You can't just upgrade when you have the money. you really have to build by adding various other things like wood, cement etc. Makes you really have to work for that gold. I think that this FF is a little harder than the others have been. The music & graphics are much improved. Love these games. Try it - you will enjoy the challenge.
emi1 | Added on: February 11, 2011
 
this is on the same premise as the other farm frenzy games-buy stock/feed stock/prepare different items and sell items. this one is more challenging, tho, b/c in order to upgrade your equipment not only do you have to earn stars to buy the upgrade, but u have to make cement and add this cement to the amt of money to upgrade your specific equipment. that's another step to have to incorporate in your time. b/c the cement actually takes sand/h2o/eggs. i love the music, and the graphics are great. thanks for taking a much loved game, and upping the ante!!!!!!!!!
yusef | Added on: February 23, 2011
 
If you have played the other Farm Frenzies, then you will know the basics of this game--collecting, manufacturing and selling stuff. However, the levels are harder levels to beat and the developers have added some twists. As already mentioned, you have to build your upgrades. What makes it so hard is that there aren't instructions to tell you how to build your upgrades; it's trial and error, although the equipment on the field can be a clue. On the other hand, sometimes things are put on the field to throw us a curve ball. For example, in one level, you have to buy stuff to build a ship and there are buildings signs (nothing built yet) for the items you need to build. However, what you really have to do is make your money in other ways and then buy the sailcoths and wood bundles. You don't need to build the workshops at all, at least on that level. I wish I could say the game is both clicky AND thinky because it's both. In addition, the animals run some of the workshops, so even if you don't need a sheep or a cow for materials, you may need them to produce items, like the old Singer treadle sewing machines. It's cool to watch the sheep and cows go flying into the buildings where they do the work. Swoop! Animals sucked in until they've done their job. There is a definite learning curve here because while those animals are running machinery, they're not producing goods, which means sometimes you have to overbuy to keep how many you need on the field. I'm on my second time around, going for gold now, so it's clear I love this game. But I'll mention the down sides. There aren't very many. You don't get to dress bears on too many levels, and also the warehouse could be a wee bit bigger. But what really gets me is that when you finally get your ships built, and boy is that an exercise to achieve, you get . . . nothing. A ship doesn't even come flying out to amuse you, only a mass of points rack up. If you want to know if Scarlet really goes back in time to Rome, you have to read the story. I'm not going to spoil that part. If you like the FF series, I highly recommend giving this one a try. Seems the developers are finally listening and putting a few more bells and whistles in. Great!
Justinitfun | Added on: February 23, 2011
 
This is a great game and highly addictive! I really enjoyed playing it. My only drawback to it was I lost interest after I got all of the upgrades available and the 60 minute level seemed to go one forever...now in the fun and challenging side of that it really does require you to think about how to make your decisions wisely and work on your goals . All together good fun and worth the extra $$ even outside of your game credits!
wakemelatur | Added on: May 3, 2011
 
I found this game to be challenging but not frustrating. Also, great sense of accomplishment when you figure out what you need to do to beat the level. I have tried to go back and reach gold on every level but still have not done it.
mysticunicorn22 | Added on: February 14, 2011
 
Ok I love this game but you waited a bit too late to release it. Ended up getting it with one of my other website memberships but i'll still put a good review on it for here because it was a great game. Building upgrading can be a bit tricky but still pretty good game play and some funny suprises in it too.
FancyGapWoman | Added on: March 4, 2011
 
I'm glad to see the developers are continuing to make the Frenzy games more challenging. Great new twists and very challenging the further you go. Can't wait for the next one!!
LadyJ60 | Added on: March 3, 2011
 
I have been playing the farm frenzy games for a while. I love them, they are so much fun, It is hard to stop playing. This particular one is much harder but I love it. Thanks
ffwfire | Added on: May 19, 2011
 
Your job is to take care of animals in this game like all Farm Frenzy's. The difference in this game you upgrade your buildings differently. It kinda makes it more hard. The reason I gave it is a 3 is because I didn't see too many visual effects like the cows dancing or playing an instrument as in previous Freny's. I completed all the levels, but I didn't stay with this game from beginning to end. I stopped playing it and then decided I would finish it.
Melode | Added on: December 19, 2011
 
The only thing that did not work for me is the change of the theme.
PatriciaE | Added on: March 25, 2011
 
I love all of the farm frenzy games and this one did not disappoint me. Love it.
grannylynn | Added on: March 11, 2011
 
Really fun game to play. Just wish it was faster at the beginning (since I have already played other Farm Frenzy games I knew where the game was going, essentially). However, all the Farm Frenzy games give you variety and re-playability. I would recommend this game to families, especially. Even younger children can grow into this one without fear of scary graphics.
ediewhite | Added on: February 24, 2011
 
I could not quit playing this game! It is the best Farm Frenzy so far I think! I would buy it again!
Linda1 | Added on: March 11, 2011
 
It's as much fun as the other Farm Frenzy games. I can play it over and over again.
cinben | Added on: March 3, 2011
 
Very similar to the other games, but just as addictive. I'm somewhat obsessed with the Farm Frenzy games, so I have them all. Once I've finished a game, though, I want a new adventure to start, so that what this one is to me -- a new adventure. I'm only about 1/3 of the way in, and like it so far. It has a couple new things like needing cement to upgrade. I hate that they've changed the dogs in the last couple versions so that they tangle with the bears and disappear rather than just keeping them at bay as they used to. There doesn't seem much point in buying them now.
shrikewood | Added on: May 19, 2011
 
Very good fun and kept me occupied and engaged. Neither too easy nor too hard.
losangelesnative | Added on: February 14, 2011
 
I just purchased the full version, so I have not done too many levels yet. But I just had to comment on the improvement in the graphics! They are very sharp. Instead of a car taking your goods to town, there is a boat instead, which floats on a realistic bit of water. And instead of an airplane to buy more goods, there is a very cute burro/donkey that buys them. So cute. Music is funny too - is that the theme from "Magnum P.I."? LOL! If you love Farm Frenzy, you will love this version too.
fleikii | Added on: July 11, 2011
 
It's definitely harder to get gold in this game, which can be frustrating. I like that you can sell the cats and dogs. This can make a big difference when you need money at the beginning. Or when you want to get rid of the dogs before they chase away all your bears before you get the chance to dress them up! (The bears, that is, not the dogs.) Still the best time management game(s) around - I would highly recommend it.
DebbieNewYork | Added on: March 17, 2011
 
I have all the Farm Frenzy games and this is the hardest so far to get a gold cup on each level!! They are getting trickier and involve more thinking ahead of each move. Can't wait for the next one in the series!!! Keep up the good work!!