Fallen ShadowsFallen Shadows
Number of reviews to show on each page:
20 reviews
 
Reviews of Fallen Shadows
devi | Added on: October 24, 2011
 
My eyes hurt. I think I need new glasses. Get out your microscopes to play this one. Some objects are so small that even after you use the hint button, you still can't see it. Maybe it's my age. Anyway, the graphics were good, sometimes dark but the pace of the game had two speeds -- slow and stop. Sometimes you went to a new location, put your cursor in a sparkle, and a window comes up saying "Congratulations, you've found all the clues in this location". I did? What did I do? I didn't even get a chance to look at the scenery. Then there'd be a stop, screen goes black very slowly and all of a sudden you're at a new location. Strange. I would recommend playing this game anyway. You definitely need to meet Hot Dog Man with his lovely cart of food. Enjoy!
VforVictoria | Added on: October 22, 2011
 
I liked the game, but like the last one I didn't love it. Too many interuptions within the storyline that for some reason bothered me than others. It had an ok storyline. The hidden objects were good, the graphics were great too. Just not enough to make me love it, but it was worth a try.
kboozer | Added on: October 28, 2011
 
The hidden ojects in this game were very difficult to find. I rarley use the hint button in a game, don't like to. But in this game I had to. I liked the game at first but later on just wanted to finish it. If you're up for a challenge and have great eyesight, maybe you'd like it. Me, not so much. Meant to give this 2 stars. **
mek509 | Added on: October 28, 2011
 
The HOGs were overkill, not only becausse there were so many of them but the objects were often impossible to see even with the hint circling the object. The story starts off really well but soon deteriates. Very boring to play - and there's a sequel.
jamier2712 | Added on: November 28, 2011
 
Storyline was interesting and the music was pretty good, although I didn't care for the voodoo music. It got on my nerves after a while so just went on mute temporarily. Many of the hidden objects were so small and so well hidden that I had to use hint, and sometimes even that wasn't enough to really find the items, so had to click around in the highlighted area to find the object. I found the ending very abrupt and disappointing, although I will certainly play the sequel game.
annalyst | Added on: October 20, 2011
 
Skip the sequel unless you can improve on this one. The story started out okay but just got plain strange as it continued. The game itself was not exciting at all and it did everything for you so it left us with no challenges at all.
Budica | Added on: November 7, 2011
 
Overall, a very interesting game. It has nice artwork and a good story. However, my only complaint would be that some of the objects are too hard to see. I actually had a couple that I never did see, I just clicked in the area the hint outlined until it was found. I would love to play the sequel, but I hope the programers tweak the ojects a bit. I wouldn't like to see it get too easy, but at the same time they should all be visible to a degree in which they can be found.
emi1 | Added on: December 16, 2011
 
i usually enjoy HOGs, but this game is not one i like. the items were very difficult to find. granted the hint button did recharge rather quickly-i played the casual mode. i found no flow with this game. it was just traveling from place to place looking for items i couldn't see. the music was right on with the story line, tho. i guess i can't love 'em all, huh???
DarkDragon | Added on: October 19, 2011
 
Game has great graphics. Kinda strange music. The story starts out suspenseful and exciting, and gets killed along the way with a cliff-hanger ending for a prequel. It is nice, but too long winded. The game itself is not very long, but it made me feel like ages. It is mostly HO, and an excessive amount at that. The puzzles are for 10-year-old kids, not challenging at all, but it doesn't tell you what to do, so may take time to figure that out. HO are very well hidden, some are too well. Some are good hidden, but many are bad (too tiny, too subtle). Some minor misspells. If you hate waiting for the hint to recharge, simply hit Menu to back out and go back Play, the hint will recharge instantly. No hint outside HO. The game is very predetermined. You have to follow a strict straight storyline, doing everything as it goes, no straying or exploring allowed. In fact, it won't even let you move to another scene if there're still businesses at the current scene. It feels very boring. If you play advance mode, there's no sparkle to show where to do/go next, you have to move mouse around until it shows a magnifier or an arrow. Anyway, it could be a very nice game, but turned out to be pretty frustrating. Don't they test game before releasing anymore? I'll go back to play Torchlight now, much more fun than this. If it's not for my urge to see the ending, I won't even finish this.
ToketsuPuurin | Added on: January 6, 2012
 
I wanted to like this game. the art is good, the little bit of plot I got at the beginning made me curious. The statue with the magic violin fairly early on really caught my attention. But this isn't a game. It's a lockstep tutorial with the helpful arrows turned off. There is no choice in this game, no actual way to influence it. You either click the correct tiny spot on the screen, possibly with the correct item activated or nothing happens. At all. You didn't want to leave that area just yet? too bad. you can't go back because the game doesn't need you to be there right now. You want to investigate "that thing over there! yes! that thing where I'm obviously supposed to go according to my goals!" well you can't because you have to wander around doing ten other pointless things with no understanding of why. It is impossible to find objects in this game. they are tiny. they are beige blobs on a beige background. I'm supposed to know that barely visible 15x15 pixel beige blob is a muffin? I don't want to find your stupid muffin. I want to look at my inventory at the clue I just got that will open that door and I can't because you won't even let me open my inventory right now because I don't need it. And that's the easy mode with impossible to see sparkles guiding you to your destiny. I shudder to think about what the hard mode would be like. I suspect it's the ninth circle.
janeaustenfan | Added on: October 20, 2011
 
Ok first off, I have to say for you hard core HOGers this is not for you. But for those of us who don't want to have to think a lot, this is perfect. There are only certain ways you can go in the game (which I like because I don't get lost that way) and the graphics are wonderful. The games scattered throughout are sometimes simple to solve, sometimes hard to solve but if you have patience you can wait for the skip button to skip the whole thing. Only 2 complaints for this game: Some of the objects were very hard to find. They really blended into the background. I have perfect eyesight and they were hard for me to see. At least you have unlimited hints but they take sometime to recharge. If you don't like animated things in your HOG scenes, this isn't for you. In several of them little things move like the clock hands, smoke, etc. All in all though a fun game, and I am looking forward to the next one which I hope will be out soon. :)
Mysterya | Added on: April 30, 2012
 
The graphics and plot got you hooked but the game play left much to be desired. Too much back and forth. I had no problem finding the objects. I do not know if the game gets any better as I played the free one hour but it only took me about forty minutes and could not progress as the demo stopped not allowing you to attempt to finish.
covingtonmom | Added on: October 31, 2011
 
I enjoy HOG games, but lke them to have some puzzles mixed in. I had high hopes for this one at the start, but became increasingly frustratred by the hidden objects. It was almost entirely HOG, very few puzzles. I could have been okay with that, but the objects were so small and well hidden that I often could not find them even with the "hint". Thankfully, in casual mode, the hints recharge quickly. I ended up just clicking in the highlighted area to find whatever it was. When I have to use the hint 3 or 4 times in one screen, this is not fun anymore. I got into the nightclub, then deleted the game as it wasn't improving.
redaf | Added on: December 28, 2013
 
First, the graphics are simply a feast for the eyes. The scenes are extremely realistic, though a little housekeeping would clean up the mess, you are transported to what could be an actual place in New Orleans. The beauty of the h/o scenes is everything is right in front of you and cleverly hidden. There were no darkened areas to hide shadows of things to guess at hoping you might pick the correct item. The only area that was really difficult for me visually was the voodoo shop. There was so much to take in it was hard to focus on one single item. The music and sounds set a lusciously creepy atmosphere that sucks you in and immerses you further into the game. I had no difficulty figuring out where to go and if you prefer poking around adventure style (I do too), you may not like the fact that it really isn't required in this game. It is not a straight ho game, but pretty close. The mini games are interesting without being frustrating, the characters are colorful and eerily engaging in keeping with the storyline. It is possible it was a little ahead of time for this genre. I really enjoyed this game! My only question is if this came out in 2011, where is the promised sequel?
mdmmo1976 | Added on: October 21, 2011
 
This is the most awful HOG I have ever played! The puzzles are too easy!! The story would be a good if you didn't have to search for HO every 30 seconds, which becomes extremely boring (especially since you need to have magnifying glasses surgical implanted on your retinas to see most of the hidden objects). Don't waste your time, eyesight or money on this garbage.
cmpbtam | Added on: October 28, 2011
 
Several of the objects are hard to find. The game left me hanging, now awaiting the next chapter in this game.
gibinns | Added on: October 24, 2011
 
it is good that there are different games for different folks. I really liked this game for some of the reasons others didn't....I liked that there were LOTS of hidden object scenes and they were somewhat challenging and I liked that they told me where to go next...I don't like wandering around. The graphics were very good, the transitions could have been a little faster but it wasn't a big deal, I'm looking forward to the next one
Jazz | Added on: October 19, 2011
 
I was hooked from the start. The graphics, the music, the story line and the whole ambience. Delving into a mystery that becomes more mysterious the further along you go. The games were relatively simple but added to the gameplay. I would highly recommend this one. (Not for children under age 14)
sailormom | Added on: October 24, 2011
 
I'm not liking this game at all. Boring and frustrating. I like hidden object scenes, but that's just about all you get with this game and even when I use a hint I am still having trouble finding the correct object. I'll finish it, but I'm not happy with it at all.
csentilles | Added on: October 20, 2011
 
I liked this game and storyline. The challenges were ok, some difficult, some easy. You have to follow a single path, you can't deviate from it. Everything is step by step to get to the next part of the story. The music was creepy, which went along with the story. HO scenes were pretty good, some things jumped out at you, others you had to really search for. All in all, I would recommend this HO. I can't wait for the next in the saga to see what happens as the search continues.
ljas | Added on: October 21, 2011
 
I was looking forward to this game, since all the recent HOGs have been a disappointment. But this was a real sleeper. I never thought the scenes would end it was just back and forth. Go to the crypts, go to the graveyard, now go back to the crypts, and you have to click each dialogue arrow; don't even try to click to fast! This could have Really been fun if it had moved along faster and a few of the items weren't so tiny and dark to find. I have watched paint dry faster than this game took. Hopefully the next portion will move along and have more of a story behind it instead 1 liners " Where is grandpa?" and some different scenes to go to.
bella24 | Added on: October 20, 2011
 
I can't put my finger on it exactly but, there is something wrong with this game. Maybe it's the disjointed story, which they insist on interjecting every three minutes, could be the overly wordy, silly script, or the awkward poetry that really, really tried to emulate Edgar Allen Poe. All I know was that I felt like I spent a lot of time waiting. Click on a dresser, wait, some bit of story appears, wait, find stuff, wait, character comes in and starts talking, wait, find something, more talk, wait, another character blathers on, you get the drift. I guess what I didn't like about this game was that it could have been good - but, it wasn't. Buy something else.
Tayotae | Added on: November 14, 2011
 
I really liked this game. The art was very nice, music was good as well. Alittle back and forth work, yet objects were always easy to find with a little what I call "just set back and take in the whole picture" work. I also enjoyed the people, storyline and the mystery. It was alot of fun.