Fairy Tale Mysteries - The Puppet ThiefFairy Tale Mysteries - The Puppet Thief
Number of reviews to show on each page:
20 reviews
 
Reviews of Fairy Tale Mysteries - The Puppet Thief
cps108 | Added on: April 30, 2013
 
An enjoyable game to play, fairly short. Good HO scenes and a nice set of graphics. Agree that the lack of map and hint button for direction being slow, hurt game a touch, but overall fun to play.
devi | Added on: April 29, 2013
 
An enjoyable HO with plenty of portals. Graphics were good and hint button recharged quickly, There were 2 reasons I did not give this a 5 star rating: no map and using the hint button for direction was rather slow. But I thoroughly enjoyed playing this and hope you will too.
jkjennings | Added on: April 29, 2013
 
Many scenes flow from another, never dull. HO scenes are repeated maybe twice but then new areas opening up. No map but you stay in a general area but it's often hard to remember where some gadget was. Not long enough but I played it off and on, and was always eager to get back to it. Worth playing.
anneatplay | Added on: May 1, 2013
 
This game was very short. Lots of places to go, nice graphics. HOS were harder then they would appear, being uncluttered you'd think everything would stand out but definitely did not. Hint button a loser, there was a 5 to 6 second lag for directions and that almost seems a freeze during a game. No map. Voiceovers were quite good. I think the premise had far more potential then was used. Mini games were easy except the finale, which was a style I'm not fond of although it turns up in nearly every game there is. I didn't find the journal of any value at all, and the fonts were hard to read. It was a decent time waster but one of the ones I'm glad I had a FunPass for and didn't buy.
mrskelley | Added on: April 28, 2013
 
I normally do not play any of the darker HOGs, but this one looked interesting and not too dark. I do have the funpass, so I thought why not. I was pleasantly surprised. You are a investigator for the Brothers Grimm, and you are rescuing a puppetmaster who kidnaps children. The game moved along at a quick pace so I did not become bored. This may not be true for those who are more familiar with these type of games. I would definitely play the trial if you intend to buy it, but if you do have the funpass, give it a try!
PipCat | Added on: April 29, 2013
 
As an agent of the Brothers Grimm, you're charged with stopping the evil puppet master who has been abducting children from a town for a long time. The graphics are beautifully rendered and the music adds just the right touch to the atmosphere of the game without being intrusive or annoying. The voiceovers are superbly done and the amount of dialogue is just right. I played in casual mode and didn't have to use the hint system very much during HO scenes but did use it to give me a nudge in the right direction when I'd forgotten exactly where an object needed to be placed in order to solve a puzzle. This is where a map would have been helpful because there is a fair amount of walking back and forth between locations. It becomes a little complicated/confusing as you near the endgame because of sublevels within certain buildings. I just chalked it up to being a bit more challenging to try and remember where you are and where you need to go (which is where the hint system helped me). The HO scenes are not cluttered messes and are just challenging enough to hold your attention without becoming frustrating. Some objects are cleverly hidden in plain sight which really added to my enjoyment of this game. The puzzles are also well done and can be solved with a little patience. There is a Skip feature available if you just can't solve one and it's available almost immediately. It's an untimed game and I didn't find any penalties levied if you misclick or click too quickly. Be sure to check your journal when new items are added as it can be helpful in solving some of the puzzles. This one is addictive and I do think it's a good value and the length of game play is very good but I can't comment on replay value because I only went through it once. It would be nearly impossible to determine if some of the HOs change when played again because of the scope of the game but it can be just as enjoyable if it's played after sitting on the "shelf" for awhile. I recommend giving it a try.
redaf | Added on: April 29, 2013
 
The graphics are nice, the hidden object scenes are crisp and clear with most objects easily found with the exception of a few each scene. I must say I appreciated the items being hidden well as opposed to being too dark or fuzzy as in some games. Most of the mini games are relatively easy with the exception of the last one which is a format I generally do not play well. Others I am sure will fare better with it. Music is nice and blends well with game play. Voices are good with none wishing you had the sound off. There is no accompanying map or strategy guide, but neither are really necessary as if you are unsure which direction to go next the hint button will indicate the way to go without draining. I say too short as I downloaded the game at 7:30 or so this morning and was finished by 11:50, and that included time to get coffee, make and eat breakfast, etc. I played relaxed so others choosing to play the more difficult level may have a longer more challenging gaming experience. I would recommend this one for Game Pass members looking for a few hours pleasant diversion.
petdetail | Added on: May 1, 2013
 
Only thing missing was a map because I was clicking a lot. Otherwise, it had all of the elements I like. Not too hard, not too easy. Enjoyable & casual.
RenaiReborn | Added on: April 29, 2013
 
For a hidden object game, this was just about what was expected. The artwork was aesthetically pleasing, and the storyline was just involved enough to keep you interested. The casual mode was well paced, the hints recharged at a good rate, and at a moderate pace, took about three hours to play through.
Summer | Added on: May 5, 2013
 
Perhaps Im tiring of mediocre games, but this didn't impress me all that much. It was fairly good, with some failings or glitches but just didn't have alot of wow factor. I think the story didn't quite develop as much as it had potential to. Trying not to spoil so keeping it vague, but one of the early concerns turns into nothing right away, that was a disappointment. Nothing really turns out to what you would think, and I never felt genuinely concerned or anxious for the characters as if there never was any real threat. Perhaps we just didnt get to know them/the children as we should. There were plot points that I felt really werent explained or fleshed out. I also felt it was way too short- I finished in 2 and 1/2 hours, and it was disturbing the hint button can freeze the screen for a while- but hang in there, it will unfreeze itself after a bit, and it's really annoying to have no map. It is not that big a game though, so I handled it fairly well and only forgot how to get where I needed to go once. =/ The hint does give you a direction indicator, so you can get back on track. However even with those points against it, some of them being minor, I can still consider it a mostly solid game. The overall graphics were very nice, the HO scenes were clear, albeit expert level, minimum of repeats, the hint was helpful in & out of HO scenes, the use of items made sense, the main character didnt do stupid or cringeworthy things, the voice acting was good, and there was a good "rescue the children" plot, even if you never really got the whole story or saw the results at the end. Like I said, it just doesn't wow you or make you love it, but its decent and you're not likely to hate it either.