Esoterica - Hollow EarthEsoterica - Hollow Earth
Number of reviews to show on each page:
20 reviews
 
Reviews of Esoterica - Hollow Earth
31643726 | Added on: January 12, 2014
 
In the beginning I was excited to start playing this game. The graphics are great the intro is wonderful. Alawar does a outstanding job with HO games, but in this case can I just say it's like someone put a deadline on the programmers. In some areas of the game it's outstanding, but in other areas like the puzzles some of the puzzles are unsolvable what I mean is that I solved the puzzle but it didn't recognize the solve, so I clicked on the skip and I was right every time. The storyline is a good one and it would of been a great game if they would of just carried it out the right way. This game was way to short and in the end they do everything and it's over. Sorry Alawar but I was greatly disappointed in a game that when I first read about it I couldn't wait to play it only to be let down.
31491854 | Added on: January 15, 2014
 
Overall, I liked the game. I thought that most of the mini-games were fairly easy, though on some the instructions were extremely vague. There were at least 2 misnamed objects in the HO scenes. All in all I enjoyed the HO challenges. The most annoying part for me was there is no way to quickly travel back and forth between scenes, you have to scroll back through as many as 4 screens to gather the appropriate objects to complete a task. I played in via my Fun Pass.
30684323 | Added on: January 12, 2014
 
I really like this game, it had to be Alawar, love their games and this is another hit, so far I like the story line and all the puzzles you have to go trough I hope is a long game. Thanks Alawar and keep doing what you're doing!
MJ1234 | Added on: February 20, 2014
 
I thought this was a pretty good game - the story was interesting and the graphics were great. There were lots of HO scenes - all were very clear and pretty simple. The puzzles were fun but challenging - you could skip them if you want to but these were fun to figure out. I also liked that at one point you played as a different character and you got to see what happened from another point of view. Overall, I thought it was a very entertaining game with an ending that came way too soon!
tamryn | Added on: January 17, 2014
 
In addition to abrupt ending I didn't like having to be a speed reader at the end! When the credits began rolling I thought what a shame more effort wasn't made for a more satisfying ending. On the plus side graphic, puzzles, and hidden objects scenes were enjoyable. This is a good Fun Pass game but I wouldn't recommend a purchase because the ending is lacking big time.
31055737 | Added on: January 13, 2014
 
Not the best game I ever played but very enjoyable until it just shut down and told me I'd have to start over. The game wasn't done so I'm not sure what happened. The HOGs were pretty easy and the story line is original. I'd recommend this game if it had worked correctly.
40630403 | Added on: January 15, 2014
 
Graphics in this game were really beautiful and colours crisp. I was totally absorbed. Puzzles were difficult to solve in places as there was inadequate explanation on how to play the puzzle. In the end I pressed skip as trying to figure out how to play the puzzle became more confusing than the puzzle themselves. HOG scenes were not too difficult. I was really getting into the game towards the end and it stopped suddenly, almost like the developers got fed up with the storyline and just finished it. That was a shame, a few more minutes at the end would have been great. Maybe there can be extended play in the platinum edition. All in all a thoroughly enjoyable game. Well worth the full purchase.
sok30 | Added on: January 20, 2014
 
Although Alawar is one of my favorite publisher's but I didn't even finish this game. There was way too much story line for me, the mini-games were so vague it was often impossible to figure out what you were supposed to do, some items in the HO screens were mislabled (water can / was actually a funnel) etc. No map and lots of running around so I found myself constantly hitting the hint button. Not a favorite but it did show hints of Alawar's usual high standards so it wasn't a complete loss either. I played with my fun-pass and am glad I didn't buy it or waste a credit / ticket on it.
zimmie | Added on: January 14, 2014
 
I used my free reward card to purchase this game. I am glad I did not waste a credit. The game was very short. The HO scenes were easy. The puzzles were either very frustrating or just easy. I finished this game in few hours. Did not need interactive map. Hint button used to tell you where to go next. It was an okay game but I found it kind of boring. I would recommend the free trial before purchasing.
31140297 | Added on: February 18, 2014
 
1. Doesn't resort to 'gore' and scare tactics. I'm getting really tired of those. 2. Beautiful graphics - rich details, lovely colors. Such imagination and care went into this! 3. Novel mini games - nice to see something new, or at least a new twist on an old favorite. 4. Fun storyline - I'm a sucker for a good adventure story; this one is very 'Jules Verne'-y and the graphics are sort of 1930s art deco. PLUS: the 'switched character POV' was fun and added an interesting layer to the story. 5. Good balance of HO and adventure - not everything you need is in a HO scene, some things are lying around. It's nice to have a little variety. (BTW: most HO scenes are very clear & most objects are fairly large. A few (~1 per scene ) are tiny or more hidden.) 6. Challenge level - some mini games were very simple, and this was relaxing; others were a bit more challenging, but VERY doable with a little patience. (Some do require close attention to detail, though.) Solving problems outside the mini games was the same - mostly very straightforward, a few times you have to think a bit. 7. Not TOO much back & forth. I don't think there was a map, but most trips are only 2 or 3 clicks, a few are a bit longer, but not insanely so. 8. Music & sound effects: I especially like the sound effects - they added a lot. Music was fine - especially good when it got 'adventure-y'. 9. Length - I played in expert mode & didn't skip any games. I think I spent at least 4 hours. That's actually a bit longer than my 'average' for HOGs. 10. Others may hate this, but there weren't always sparkles or 'grippy hands' when I moused over something important. On occasion, you have to think a bit and click on an item that you *think* might be useful. I love having this added little challenge - nothing was mind-boggling (e.g., if you see a screwdriver laying on the ground, you may as well try to pick it up). But the HO scenes did sparkle and the magnifying glass did show up for places where you have to look more closely. What's not to love? - As another review pointed out: 1 or 2 objects are mislabeled (watering can = funnel). This is pretty typical of most HOGs - they're produced outside the US! If you can't find something, just think: what could be related? (worked for me, anyway) - Abrupt ending: I think the reason it surprises ppl is that most HOGs have a very specific end goal (e.g., defeat the demon), so you know when you get there. But, yes, perhaps one last interactive scene would have been nice. (But mostly, I wanted more of this game!!) It may not be everyone's cup-o-tea, but I hope that people who might love it as much as I do will find this review and give it a shot.
Desertsong | Added on: January 13, 2014
 
Lots of back and forth to collect things you need to move forward, but in general not too bad. The HO scenes were cluttered but the objects weren't too small or too difficult to find. I liked the parallel story lines. The mini-games were somewhat challenging.
31269295 | Added on: January 17, 2014
 
The graphics alone sold me. I enjoyed the story line. As I am not a mini game player, I loved that I could skip them in a short amount of time.
AprilRyan | Added on: January 13, 2014
 
Like most games from Alawar, this is a solid Hidden Object Adventure (this is not my favorite developer, but they did make some games that really stand out and most games from them are definitely worth playing). I found it a bit heavy on the HOS, with only a few interactive things to do in them (just open a drawer or something, that's it). The graphics were pretty nice, the game had a nice storyline and the puzzles were okay. I'd give the game 3,5 stars, but rounded it down, because of the ending, which was very abrupt and left me feeling like I missed something (maybe I did?).
vbriggs06 | Added on: January 15, 2014
 
I usually enjoy games like this one - mostly hidden object with a few mini-games thrown in for good measure. But this game didn't quite get it right if you ask me. I played on regular settings and found that the mini-games were poorly explained (a few of them I literally had no idea what I was supposed to do, even after checking all of the punch card and journal clues... all I can say is thank goodness for the "Skip" button - used twice.) Furthermore, much like a few of the other reviewers, I found myself surprised by the ending and not in a good way. One second I was playing, only an hour into the game, and then all of a sudden there were credits on my screen. What??! What happened?! Is this a glitch? Or did the game actually end like that? I was so shocked by the abrupt finish I actually cannot even remember what the last part of the game was. So, my overall review I suppose would be that this game had great potential to be fantastic. Good graphics, generally fun... but why so short Alawar??? If you enjoy games that take a long while to complete because you like a challenge or you just simply enjoy getting hooked on a good mystery game for a while, this might be a mild disappointment based on how quickly it finishes. But otherwise, not too bad...
Tiafl | Added on: January 14, 2014
 
I did give a rating of 2 as it is apparent that a lot went into the design of this game. Maybe it was designed on and for Big Screen. Seeing the small print listing on HO scenes and wording at the top of the screen for need to know items is quite eye straining. The HOs seem to be in proportion to the screen but appear small not on a Big Screen. Positives include that the hint button will guide you to what to do next. There is no penalty for HO scene over clicking. Graphic images are easier to find than a list of HOs as seeing an object outline is easier than getting a magnifying glass to read the words. Mini puzzles are challenging as the jigsaw puzzles are not of typical design for putting together and couldn't even begin to figure out how to connect the dots with the pencil & ruler to complete the blueprint. There were others that the how-to stumped me but seemed to succeed after clicking this & that. Puzzles do have a skip option. I have given up at the crash of the helicopter which returned me back to uncles home. Perhaps if I attach my large screen laptop to a Big Screen TV someday I may try again.
redaf | Added on: January 12, 2014
 
As the granddaughter of a famous scientist you are tasked with finding him after you receive a letter letting you know he is in trouble. Set in the 20's the period in time is well represented and then some. You have the option of regular (which I played) or expert, which those who like to be challenged may prefer. There is no shortage of unique mini games none of which are overly complicated but fun. Hidden object scenes are offered either with a list of items or shapes to find, some interactive requiring a drawer to be opened, etc. Scenes are bright and well defined for the most part with only a few shadowy areas usually appropriate to the area and place of gameplay. Graphics are nice, music and voice good. Decent hint system available and an interesting side find game locating metallic cards to be viewed in a machine you carry with you. At a few points in gameplay you switch characters which offers different perspectives and is always interesting. I enjoyed the game throughout and recommend it.
cat_in_rv | Added on: January 22, 2014
 
This game had so many good elements: The graphics were great, and the level of imagination to design such a world was wonderful. BUT...there was no map to allow you to get around in a timely manner instead of having to manually go back and forth all the time, and the mini games left a lot to be desired by way of explanation. I really enjoy mini games, but in a couple of cases I couldn't even get them to work correctly, and I had to skip, which I dislike. Additionally, the hint button was next to worthless. It would indicate a blank place in your inventory (meaning you hadn't acquired what you needed yet?) or would show you what needed to be used, but not where to use it; often where you were supposed to use it wasn't even in the same scene. Nonetheless, I'm moving right along with a decent story line, and then the ending--say WHAT? We just got to Agartha, and the world started collapsing and we were whisked away home. After all the hype about this inner world, I wanted to see and explore it. I at least wanted to save the Agarthans from the bad humans. But no such luck. What a terrible ending. Definitely worth playing with Fun Pass, but dont buy it.