Escape from Thunder IslandEscape from Thunder Island
Number of reviews to show on each page:
20 reviews
 
Reviews of Escape from Thunder Island
dirty1mom | Added on: November 30, 2011
 
I loved this game. It really held my interest and made me think on a few of the screens. The mini puzzles were well done.
mek509 | Added on: May 25, 2011
 
I was busy throughout the whole game. Lots of things to find to complete puzzels. HO's were sometimes very challenging, everything from easy to hard. The storyline was long but I could skip through every panel quickly. Needed a lot of hints to wend my way through the game when logic would have solved my problems.
Babala | Added on: July 21, 2011
 
Much better than I anticipated, with adventure heavy, HO scene lighter approach, and not a lot of hand-holding through-out the game. Voice-overs and cut scenes were cartoonish, but somehow, they mad it work with decent acting. Hints do give clues to next step, and recharge quickly. HO scenes occasionally with very small items, and puzzles can be repetitious, but overall it was a good romp.
emi1 | Added on: May 19, 2011
 
typical HOG-find items in different locales. the graphics on this game are just ok. the story silly. there wasn't enuf direction. i found nothing in this game interesting or challenging...
Womanthunder | Added on: May 23, 2011
 
I love dark, morbid and creepy games but I found this to be a nice change of pace. I love to laugh, and found myself laughing throughout this game more than once. Some of the humor is subtle and some is obvious but all in all it's light and refreshing and full of fun. I am a fan of Big Finish Games. For those of you that don't know, they are the developer behind 3 Cards to Midnight and 3 Cards to Dead Time, so, knowing the talent they posses and their unique spin on the original, I was curious to play this game and see what changes they have made. I am not disappointed. While it is completely different from their well-known 3 Cards series, it still contains the elements that make them such a good developer: uniqueness, originality, great cut-scenes, and awesome voice acting. While the story itself is not that original, they still managed to keep the plot interesting enough to want to continue to play. This game was meant to be on the lighter side, so keep that in mind while playing. Do not take this game too seriously, just have fun with it. I like the interactive hidden object scenes and the content is relevant to the location. You will not find any rolling pins here folks! The objects in the hidden object scenes are objects you would expect to find in a jungle, creepy crawlies included. I detest spiders but alas, that's a jungle for you! All objects are to scale (huge pet peeve of mine) and the graphics are pretty good. I'd give them a 7.5 on a scale of 1-10. I love the side-kick, Marbles the one-eyed monkey. He's great and good for several laughs. The dialogue does not seem forced or scripted, but flows naturally as normal conversation would, especially the interactions between the male and female characters. True to life, this one! All in all, I'm having a blast playing this game and give kudos to Big Finish for producing another great game; albeit much different than their past exploits. Great to see them branch out and am looking forward to more from them. Enjoy! This game is loads of fun so I urge you to give the demo the full hour and add it to your collection for days when you just want a humorous escape.
JetM | Added on: July 21, 2011
 
This game is a lot like the Mortimer Beckett games in that you have to go into and out of different locations. The only thing I didn't like about it is that sometimes it was not real clear what you were supposed to be doing to solve a puzzle and the hint button was no help, that was frustrating at times. But all in all the game is really fun, relaxing (no time limits) and addictive. Not especially "kid-friendly" at least not for little guys, but lots of fun for adults and older "kids".
Kakkabilly | Added on: November 19, 2012
 
Not worth the cost. Graphics are OK but actual action is crude. Hint button needed HEAPS to be able to get anywhere in the game
devi | Added on: May 23, 2011
 
I was a little surprised at reading other peoples reviews They went from 2 to 5 stars, from frustrating to great. Well, I loved it. I found it fun to play. The graphics were good, the storyline usual ... finding somebody and escaping before total disaster ... but the interjected humor made it fun. The monkey character had some funny things to say, even though it was in monkey-language that strangely enough you understood. All in all, I recommend this game. Enjoy, enjoy.
Syren | Added on: September 19, 2011
 
I pretty much only play HOGs and I passed this one up on quite a few occasions. It just didn't seem like something I'd enjoy. But I was wrong. This game is really fun, unique, and just awesome on many levels. The cut scenes, yes, are cartoon-ish, but cool and add so much character to the story and the game and even the characters themselves. I found the story to be very amusing and fun. (Marbles was especially fun.) The acting was great. It was an awesome adventure and hidden object game that is just the right amount of difficulty to avoid boredom and test you a bit, but yet easy enough for a more novice player than myself. I'd say it's kid friendly. A good game to play after a long day to unwind or just when you need a laugh. I loved finding all the tools and pieces you needed as I went along to solve the puzzles. This game really balanced all the factors I love in an adventure/HOG perfectly. I can't so much comment on replay value as I am not the type to even watch a movie twice, but I'd imagine some would find it fun to play again. I look forward to playing another game with Rita and Marbles hopefully. Definitely recommend this game!
2002mom | Added on: May 23, 2011
 
I played the entire game using my FunPass. The graphics are super. There are HOGs spread throughout the game, but I expected more. I did enjoy the games where you had to piece an item together to collect it. As you collected coins you were told by collecting a certain number, you would unlock a portion of the game. Either it didn't happen, or I misunderstood. I thought it was an extra game to play, but it appeared to simply be an additional scene. I had to resort to the help forum to get past a few parts in the game. And like others have mentioned, I was disappointed in the HINT button. More in-game help would have increased my rating of this game. I did like that clicking the map would tell you if you were done in that area. In a way it was more helpful than the HINT. The puzzles needed a little more instruction. I completed most of them simply by accident. In most of them I really didn't know what the objective was. I do recommend this game for those that have patience. It is kid friendly as far as content, but again it takes some logic to work out some of the areas. I will most likely replay it at least once.
VforVictoria | Added on: May 23, 2011
 
Story line cheesy, graphics too. Some of the puzzles were fun, and HO but it was getting more irritating as the storyline went. Good for a trial.
k8tie | Added on: March 16, 2012
 
This game kept me entertained right the way through, I liked the fact that some items where tricky to find, Great Game! You should try it.
emilou | Added on: May 24, 2011
 
I agree with another reviewer, the graphics within the hidden object game was good, however the stroyline cartoon was dreadful! It was a scream at how bad the animation was. Then the story line was insulting. I do apologize, I haven't finished the game but have played for a couple hours and just have to skip the dialoge. I gave this game only 2 stars because of the storyline. They make the girl/heroine look like a moron at times. Was this what they were talking about when they said "light-hearted"? you can keep it. If my insomnia keeps me up late I will try to finished the game, but in the meantime, I'll try something else.
beady | Added on: June 8, 2011
 
I even wanted to play it again! It was hard to figure out at first, but I just kept trying different things and it got easier to figure out! Lots of thinking involved. Dialog was a bit much, kind of stupid.! I would love more of these HOG's
Or_Ducatisti | Added on: May 20, 2011
 
This one is really coming in under the radar, with no reviews or other information on any other gamesite, I wasn't expecting much, but ended up pleasantly surprised. Overall the look and feel of the game is quality. The in-game art is nice, with rich and vibrant graphics. I'm not a big fan of the cartoon characters in the cut-scenes, especially the monkey who I find irritatingly ugly. Music and sound effects are good. Some hidden objects are tiny and/or overly well hidden, making gameplay a bit haphazard, some scenes are easily completed, others feel like you'll never find that final widget or puzzle piece. The Hint button works well in the hidden object sections, and is completely useless elsewhere, choosing to point toward puzzles and doors that you already know about, as opposed to that tiny hidden item you're really searching for. The globe/map feature is a tiny bit helpful, showing the places which still have things to find or do, unfortunately it is not 100% accurate, and I ended up finding a few items in sections that showed as "completed". The comment bar that pops up when certain items are clicked stays up for a specific period and can be annoying as you simply have to wait until it clears if you're trying to get at something that happens to be beneath the text. Most other games allow you to click away from these comment popups. My only other complaint is the objects in your backpack need to be clicked on exactly, making skinny things like shovels and crowbars tedious to obtain without really concentrating. Especially frustrating when you need to use that item multiple times in a row, and have to click on it each time. The puzzles are inventive and interesting without being completely confusing. It is so much fun when a game is able to deliver puzzles which I initially react to with "what the heck???" and then in a few minutes have an "oh, yea, that's how it works!" moment. Very rewarding! I did have a few situations where I simply could not find a missing puzzle piece and would have loved to have a walkthrough available, but ended up persevering and finally finding what I needed (usually the items were hidden behind a rock or in the floor). This is definitely a game that works best if you relax a bit and simply wander around inside the game world, stopping and going away from it occasionally when you get stuck so you can re-enter later with a fresh perspective. Overall, a really neat adventure that's long enough and with enough content to make it worth purchasing.
mar1 | Added on: November 25, 2011
 
I really liked the game and the graphics. I would have liked it to be longer. I thought the way the monkey was always ignored for saving the day was very funny and cute.
ilovecollies | Added on: May 19, 2011
 
Enjoyed the characters and the story line. Some original puzzles
LittleRedDog | Added on: June 24, 2011
 
I almost wasn't going to try this due to the graphics....but I just didn't catch on to the concept right away! I liked that a chapter would end like a cliffhanger, with a couple of choice labels on the climaxing episode. Then go immediately back into the game, of course. I had to try a little extra to find something, see something, or figure out what to do. I had no problem using the hint button only to discover I was not doing what I was supposed to do. This is definitely a very lighthearted storyline and the dialog was funny at times. I have not yet finished it, however, and would not be surprised if I play it over again. I especially liked the heroine, then that monkey was great! I can't think of a thing wrong with it so far, so I highly recommend this game to anyone! I am very glad that I gave it a try; this is a perfect HO puzzle game to take a break from the darker story lines. Definitely liked this one! I marked "Good Replay" and am confident that it will prove to be a good replay game for me.
AmethystGirl | Added on: July 5, 2011
 
I loved this game! It was the perfect balance of interactive rooms, hidden objects, and puzzles. The hidden object and puzzles were just right, not too easy and not too hard. I also liked being able to check the map to see if I missed anything in a room. It's easy to miss one item in a room so you have to be thorough. I liked not having time limits. I never got really stuck and I enjoyed from beginning to end. They need to make more like this. Thank you to the creators!
MomJay | Added on: May 26, 2011
 
The game is challenging, addictive, and fun! However, I have come to a part where I can find no help or how to get out of the area and am stuck right now - but I WILL find my way!
AngelzLi | Added on: May 20, 2011
 
i rly liked the characters even if they were all kinda cheesy and not well drawn =) the graphics for each scene were pretty good, nothing spectacular but definitely good and the storyline was good. but two things knocked this down from a 5 star game tho. 1 searching for the puzzle pieces. a bit repetitive, and got quite annoying having to look at EVERY brick, and stone in walls to be sure i retrieved them all. but the puzzles were fun tho once you got all the pieces. and if u have trouble finding them (as i did a couple times) the help button is ZERO help and always directed me to the puzzle itself...very frustrating. 2 lack of actual HO scenes...i spent more time on puzzles and searching for pieces of puzzles and coins (for bonus reward) then anything else. that was a bit disappointing and i got quite annoyed with it by the end and just wanted to hurry up and finish it. over all good game, definitely one to adventure thru. would recommend.
sam10100 | Added on: May 25, 2011
 
I am especially pleased this game had so much dialog. Most games just give you picture stills with text bubbles. I'm glad they went the extra mile to give you many talking cutscenes with still pictures. I enjoyed the puzzles in the game. The game was rather light on the HO, but I like puzzle games more. It does get repetitive looking for tiles and coins but at least they reward with an extra scene at the end if you get all the coins. Fun to play, but I burned through the game too quickly in a couple days. Their hints helped you gradually with puzzles instead of letting you skip outright which is good. The characters were very amusing. Love that monkey.
Rianna | Added on: November 25, 2011
 
I really imagined I could feel the heat. I played this game before but messed up towards the end and missed getting an important object - even retracking didn't help and I couldn't finish the game. So I purchased it and won't miss anything this time. Good graphics and an enjoyable experience. The puzzles are unique and very interesting without being too difficult. Good replay and value for money.
cjvp | Added on: May 25, 2011
 
Ignore the cheesy storyline and cut scenes because this is actually a pretty good HO/puzzle style game with terrific graphics in the game sections .However I have to agree with another reviewer - that is one ugly monkey!
Mysterya | Added on: November 28, 2011
 
The puzzles were a nice variety. It was nice the game did not have a timer. It is for a more experienced HOG player as the puzzles had no skip or real hints. The game graphics were nice though the transition screens where cartoony,aimed for kids. The bonus at the end well was not one would expect from collecting the items. I think families and kids will like it.
kargalou | Added on: June 17, 2011
 
The hidden object scenes had really good graphics and were challenging enough without being aggravating. The rest of the game graphics were also good. The mini-games were mediocre and the hint button was not very helpful much of the time -- you were on your own except in the HOGS. The story line was a bit too "cute" (the monkey saves the day but gets no respect -- yadda yadda yadda) and more juvenile than the rest of the visuals merited. But it was fun and worth a few hours. I haven't replayed it yet, but I think it will be okay a second time through.
garf9999 | Added on: June 9, 2011
 
I have to say that although it is not the hardest hidden object game I have ever played, it was the most enjoyable and fun I have played in quite a while. It was nice to have tasks to do and not just find hidden objects screen after screen. If you like a bit more than the hidden object search, this game is for you. I hope they make alot more like this!! I would buy them all!!! :)
30534598 | Added on: December 10, 2013
 
Want my $$ back...Impossible to move forward as I clicked on every possible niche to find "THE INVISIBLE" things needed to proceed past the 4th or 5th scene.
mavethrave | Added on: May 20, 2011
 
This is a wonderful change from all the dark, gloomy, demonic games that have been coming out. It is fun, fanciful, and while not extremely difficult it has some challenges. The graphics are good and the story line is amusing. I loved the little monkey that keeps coming to the rescue. I won't give the story all away, I'll just say give it a try, you'll like it. Thanks to the developers for a charming tale and a great game.
the2bearsandme | Added on: July 11, 2011
 
Challenging and frustrating ... all in one basket. Alot of going back and forth to complete tasks which challenges the old memory cells. Relied on the Hint button too often on first try but that just made me go back to the beginning to see if I could do it without using the Hint button so much. REALLY GOOD value. NOT for kids.
hall5558 | Added on: June 2, 2011
 
Finished it in 7 hours it needs to be longer,still like it.
PipCat | Added on: May 31, 2011
 
I finally finished this one and was sorry to see it end. HOs are the right balance of easy to find and "where the heck is it?!". The puzzles also strike a nice balance between not too hard and hard enough without becoming frustrating. There's not too much dialogue and what there is is spoken (you have the option of clicking through it if you're not that interested in what the characters have to say). The only criticism I have about the game is the fact that you have to keep picking up an inventory item each time you need to use it in a scene instead of "holding" it until you don't need it anymore (i.e., the crowbar is used several places in a scene and you need to keep picking it up). It's a small criticism I admit and it didn't really take anything away from the gameplay itself. This one requires you to think through solutions and the hint system steps you through the solutions rather than giving them to you all at once. It's the perfect way to get a nudge in the right direction or to give you the answers if you're still stuck. It;s definitely kid friendly although younger players may need some help with some of the puzzles. By all means - try this one!
Scawglitwich | Added on: January 4, 2012
 
We absolutely loved this game. I played it with my 6 year old and he said it was better than Power Rangers, lol! That is saying a lot. The puzzles were quite challenging. I screwed up this one puzzle with the puzzle pieces so bad that I just kept having to hit the hint button until I eventually got it. The puzzles with the puzzle pieces kind of look like hieroglyphics so it's kind of hard to determine what the ending picture is. I really enjoyed the adventure aspect of this game. It wasn't just find the hidden objects in the scene. You had to figure out what to do or where to go next. The map was a great feature in this game because you could click on it and it would tell you your location and also if you needed to do anything else in that location, whether it be find useful items or solve a puzzle. The hint button sometimes helped a lot and sometimes didn't help that much but at least it refilled somewhat quickly. If you collected 80 coins then you got to see a special bonus scene after the credits. I collected I think a total of 100 coins so it's great that it allows you to miss a few and still get the bonus.
paddington43 | Added on: May 31, 2011
 
The graphics are good and I really liked listening to the story instead of reading the lines. Yes, I agree with some of you other players who thought the monkey was UGLY lol but he's the only smart character in the game! I found some of the puzzles thinky but stayed with it (tried sooo hard not to use the hints lol). Not all that many HO spots which I liked for a change. Overall I really enjoyed the game and will play it over and over....only next time I will be skipping thru Rita's talking parts,...talk about clueless lol
Cinella | Added on: July 1, 2011
 
The overall storyline is ok (despite the monkey that always saves the day). There is a lot of repetition re using the same tools to get to the various pieces of puzzles. My biggest problem was that I have a 24" HD monitor -- if I selected the "full screen" option, the hidden object scenes became vague and the objects blurred. Having to play the game on a small screen took a lot out of the game. Too bad ...
jecski | Added on: June 2, 2011
 
It is very addictive and a very good game hard enough but not hard.This game is chalanging enough to keep you wanting to go on and on you lose all track of time an you just do not wanted to stop so this makes it a very good buy you will want to replay this game over and over .
The_Mom | Added on: June 10, 2011
 
I love hidden object game ... i must say this is one of the best ... the puzzle's where challenging and fun ... this game makes you think and i love it ... thank you for all the hours of fun ... Val aka The_Mom
SUZsaysHi | Added on: May 20, 2011
 
This game has great graphics and is the kind of HO game I usually like, however with this one some of the objects are very tiny like the insects, etc. I got stuck in the puzzle and spend 15 minutes moving my curser everywhere and could not get out, so I gave up.
cakeplayer | Added on: December 1, 2011
 
I was surprised by how much fun this game was. The puzzles were really challenging and you really had to think about some challenges. The best part was that it was a pretty long game with fun things to do on every level. I enjoyed the "serial movie" theme of the story. Thanks Gamehouse for giving us this game as a game of the day. Great fun!
JMR247 | Added on: June 7, 2011
 
Had to quit after the first hour....cursor moves very sluggishly so it makes HOG interaction so frustrating! Then the game provides no direction or goals so I found myself using the hint button not for the HOG puzzles but just to figure out what to do next. Not worth the money wait till this game is featured as a freebie...
littlegem | Added on: May 31, 2011
 
Enjoyed this game. Found some parts of it really easy and would have rather have used my brain rather than some of the tips that came up. The most challenging part for me were putting the puzzle pieces in place and some of the hidden objects were well hidden too.