Escape from Frankenstein's CastleEscape from Frankenstein's Castle
Number of reviews to show on each page:
20 reviews
 
Reviews of Escape from Frankenstein's Castle
SUZsaysHi | Added on: October 12, 2010
 
I found this game to be boring. Too much time spent waiting for scenes to load. Not the best graphics. Music OK. There are a lot better HO games out there. I was really disappointed in this one
SamnEthansMom | Added on: October 6, 2010
 
This game is really short and the load times are awful. I spent more time with the load screens than the game screens. Don't bother.
Piratewench52 | Added on: October 7, 2010
 
Did not like this game at all. It was slow, too much back and forth between scenes, the whole concept seemed like it was not thought out all the way through. I just finished playing two other hidden object games all the way through in 2 days and this one bored me silly.
StaceyWill | Added on: January 11, 2011
 
I really, really enjoyed this game. I liked the story, the graphics, everything. It was a bit short to me, though. And there is a glitch in the part where you have to collect a bone from the skeleton. I actually had to restart the game to do that part in a certain sequence. Even though that was frustrating, I did enjoy the game.
emi1 | Added on: October 7, 2010
 
this is a creepy game. i was playing it with my 7yo nephew, and had to gloss over some of the story. there was a lot of going from place to place to find items to build machines, but there were clues hidden in the dialogue. that was cool. the graphics made it a bit hard 4 me to distinguish items, but even that didn't diminish the game 4 me. if u like HOG's u've gotta try this one...
TAR671 | Added on: October 13, 2010
 
I am going to provide a contrarian view of this game. If you over look all of the minor comments regarding this game you probably will enjoy the game. It is harder than the normal HOG in that little or no direction is provided. Their is no list of objects to find, on any flashing hot spots to tell you how and where to use the objects. Their is a significant amount of moving from one another area and back to complete each level. Hints are not readidly apparent, but they are available, as soon as you learn to use all of the features of the game. If you need guidance to get to the endpoint and do not like wandering around looking at most of the objects in a room to see if they are used or needed for a future action you most likely will not like this game. I struggled throught the first level, but the game became more enjoyable as each scene progressed. I recommend you try this game. I truly enjoyed it, you may also!
kylakitty | Added on: October 12, 2010
 
I'm guessing people will either really love or dislike this game. I didn't have the patience to move from one location to the next, etc. so I quit after 30 minutes. Most likely I need to read the game descriptions before playing, but I was looking for a more traditional HOG. Those of you with patience who enjoy adventure games will probably love it.
Jem888 | Added on: October 5, 2010
 
I played the demo and liked the game enough to purchase it and continue on. You are left largely on your own to figure out the puzzles and find items in the mansion that you need to complete various tasks. However, it doesn't take a rocket scientist...just some patience. You really have to click on everything in a room to see if it's something you might need but you don't get penalized for clicking so it's alright. You can get some help and hints from the ghost like where to look for something you need, etc. Make sure you really pay attention to the room directions when they pop up...I almost got stuck trying to find the 4th power cell I needed and then realized that when I was facing the lower hall door in main hall I had another directional choice to go to the left staircase (which I had originall decended) and could see a whole new portion of the room facing this way. It's not a traditional HOG where you have a list of items to find in a room...more of a seek and find to assemble various componants you need. I sometimes like a game that challenges me a bit more and takes me longer to play through. If you are new to HOG's this probably isn't the best choice for you. But if you are someone who normally whizzes through your HOG's and are looking for something a bit more challenging this game fits the bill.
poogie42 | Added on: April 7, 2012
 
i find this game to be interesting and fun i recommend this to all people who like game house games i wonder if there will be a sequel.
Shanoa | Added on: October 12, 2010
 
This game is super clicky.. and tons of back-tracking. The story-line in this game is nice, one of those games that end with 'The End?' So it'd be nice if they made a sequel. I know I'd be playing it. Mini-games are.. boring overall. Many of them are made way to simple. This game is not very long but it was a nice play. Recommended for those with the fun-pass.
AidensCoolMom09 | Added on: May 5, 2011
 
In my opinion,this game was way too short.I completed it in less than 2 hours.The story line is good,I like the part where Isabella's ghost helps you out.Its a different kind of HOG.
Janie42 | Added on: October 7, 2010
 
A could've been great but isn't adventure game likely to disappoint both IHOG fans (no hogs) & adventure fans (no challenge), the combo of game's journal & Isabella 'ghost' hint system gives everything away. Yet, some quests remain touchy to complete due to poor design choices: busy, confusing screen tags & clumsy interface that needlessly takes up far too much of viewing area. Map feature is good. Graphics are nice but not great. Music fits the eerie atmosphere. Cutscenes, which tell the story, are interestingly drawn--bold black brush strokes with cartoon artistry--but too dark-toned & poorly lit for us to appreciate; plus, 1/2 the time, the texts auto-advance ridiculously fast. Re collecting Isabella's items to hear her memories, while okay as bonus quests, those memories don't add any depth to the story. Puzzles, except for an early card game & a good lock one, are rehashes of ones seen frequently -- & here they've been made unsatisfyingly easy. Indeed, sometimes the "puzzle" is simply a click task. E.g., players click 6 times per screw to unscrew. Could have been a good feature by, say, adding a timer to race against the clock. E.g., simply cut wires instead of needing to cut them in a particular clue-based order. Worse, game suffers slow scene transitions/loads, due either to poor coding or aged game engine? With 12 gigs RAM, I shouldn't have had to wait at all. Players with less powerful machines are going to be frustrated. (This problem was reported ad nauseam during beta testing yet apparently ignored as was a *game-stopping * "cannot find Isabella's bone" bug.) Overall, EFC falls short, especially for a Playfirst / BFG made game. It's also on the short side. If you have a FunPass, the story's definitely a strong point, making it worth playing; otherwise, I recommend most skip this game.
RandiM | Added on: October 4, 2010
 
Very original game. Quite frustrating at parts since I got stuck with some stuff right off. I haven't played a lot of the game, but I know already that I really like it, and I was excited for it to come out when I saw it on the Upcoming Games list! Good job Gamehouse, I am really happy about the games you put on your site lately!
dmdale7884 | Added on: October 7, 2010
 
I did not like having to click on everything to see if you need it. I felt like when the game was over that I still needed to do more tasks.
Angel37128 | Added on: October 12, 2010
 
I liked the some of the puzzles in this game. It was more of a game that has more puzzles than hidden objects, which I would like equally both in an hindden object game. I would have to rate this game as a 3. The ending of the game was ok too.
NHCaregiver | Added on: October 5, 2010
 
this game was Awesome to play it has a lot of activaty threw out the whole game
jkitty | Added on: October 18, 2010
 
I downloaded the trial version, and I will not be buying the full version. The interface is clunky; it spends far too much time showing the "loading" splash. It does this after every move, even back to a location visited many times before. I don't care for the comic book look of the characters, either. It was very slow and tiresome to try to get from one place to another.
NanaSarah | Added on: March 7, 2011
 
Yes, all the complaints are correct, but I agree with TAR671 that if you ignore those issues, the game is pretty good! This is a straight adventure game: no hidden object scenes; a few puzzles to solve to open doors and such, some with clues, some without. The majority of the game is about interacting with the environment to complete tasks so you can escape. It has the feel of one that was developed before the days of "look here" cursor changes and such. It makes you click on nearly everything and actually THINK (horrors!) about what you might need to do next. Since there are no penalties for clicking around, you just do it and find things. If you get truly stuck, Google for a walkthrough. The graphics are a bit dark in color as befits the setting in an old castle, but very nice. There's nothing truly scary or bad, so I could give this to my 12-yr-old grandson without worry. I might have to sit with him to figure out what to do next or help him find something he missed, but that's a good thing. (He's amazed at the number of games that Nana has!) If you like adventures, by all means, give this a shot.
cjvp | Added on: October 7, 2010
 
I liked this game even though it was a little short. It was nice to have to only find things relevant to the game. By the way, for those looking for more direction: if you click on the task on the list lower left, it will give you more info including pictures of the objects you need to find. Discovered this by accident and it was really helpful a few times.
xenutia | Added on: October 6, 2010
 
I went into this game with high hopes. It sounded like the sort of thing I'd like -- Frankenstein, escape and HO. Off we go then. I wanted to enjoy it, but found myself wandering around rather aimlessly wondering why I was playing it. It's just didn't quite do it for me, although I'm sure that a lot of people will enjoy it. It's got some good points. It's slightly different in as much as you aren't so much looking for HOs, as collecting spare parts to mend things, which a plus. The graphics were good, the mini games were good and there was an instant skip button, which was good. The problem was I wasn't quite sure where I was supposed to be or what I was supposed to be doing a lot of the time. The layout of the castle wasn't quite comfortable to navigate around either and there was far too much going backwards and forwards between rooms to complete missions . It took me a few minutes to realise that you could move around the room, using arrows, but once I'd got used to the layout, it was easy to move around, although it did take a little longer than I would have liked loading the rooms. Even though I kept looking at the book for instruction and followed the few directions that game does gives you, I still floundered a bit. Overall the game seemed a bit disorganized and random, and I never really felt in control, which stopped me enjoying it as much as I would have liked. This game does have a lot of good points, so well worth trying, but just not my cup of tea I'm afraid.
sportygal2009 | Added on: October 4, 2010
 
Well I must say I'm usually pretty into the games with little to no direction on what to do but this game is downright RIDICULOUS in my humble opinion. I also wouldn't call this a hidden object game as you don't have a list of items to find. What you are doing in this game is performing tasks to move forward. Yes you do have to find some items, more like an inventory to move forward in the game as it's not the usual HOG game where you have a list of items to find. You are basically stumbling around until you just happen to come across something of some use. You can also click on the tasks to find out more info and it was pretty helpful until I got to Level 5 as there are 10 levels in this game. I found that Isabella your hint is sometimes helpful, sometimes not. I made it all the way to Level 5 and then this game got to be way too much madness for me as I have the golden pieces to fix the window however won't let me get them out of the fire with the tongs as you have to put them in the fire to put the pieces back together again. I even consulted with a walkthrough on another site which was of no help. It was going pretty good for me until this Level 5 then this so called GAME started to give me forget a headache but a MIGRAINE and quite playing this. So as my title says, if you enjoy games with little to no direction, well this is definitely the game for you. I normally do but like I said,this game is just way to much madness for me. I was really liking/enjoying the game up to this point along with the story. I give it 2 stars as I did make it about 1/2 way through the game and it was pretty good but since I can't finish it and I've also played A LOT better games. So all I have left to say is give it a whirl and hope you enjoy it and can figure it out.