Empress of the Deep 2 - Song of the Blue WhaleEmpress of the Deep 2 - Song of the Blue Whale
Number of reviews to show on each page:
20 reviews
 
Reviews of Empress of the Deep 2 - Song of the Blue Whale
null | Added on: September 16, 2011
 
While I made it through the game rather quickly, the puzzles were enjoyable, graphics were beautiful, and parts were challenging enough to keep me thinking.
vjvl51 | Added on: April 17, 2012
 
I like the fact that I can bypass a puzzle if I don't feel like working it out and that nothing is timed. The graphics and sounds were great. There was one hidden piece that I had trouble finding but was successful eventually. The hints were just that - a hint not a "here is the piece".
rchrdtppr | Added on: August 15, 2011
 
I like the scenes, the music, the story line. It went very fast and I found myself done. I found it to be "less than" what I thought about the original. Still a good game.
elainerzez | Added on: August 9, 2011
 
This game had me so hooked I finished it in one night. Until 4:30AM. I can't wait for the next sequel.
skystone | Added on: September 2, 2011
 
I really liked this game, the story line was fun, and it was not full of just hidden objects, but also many other challenges. The short games were difficult at times, but you could wait out the clock if you were stuck. All in all, it was enjoyable, and I want more just like this! The developers of this game have a good thing going, and I hope they do more and more games like these. The kids also took part on occasion and now want to play on their own (ages 8 and 11).
Harlowe1962 | Added on: January 2, 2012
 
I was looking forward to this game coming out as the first one was so much fun. It was a blast! Cant wait for number 3!
lcapnam | Added on: August 4, 2011
 
I really enjoyed the story line, has great graphics and keeps you involved, not just searching around for hidden objects. I liked the involvement most. Hope a 3rd comes out. Thank you Gameagents corp. Great game!!!
Tropix | Added on: August 11, 2011
 
Awesome atmosphere. What a world! Captures that insane beauty of the first episode but with an entirely different flavour. If you have a weakness for majestic and down right adorable animals in an awesome story line. Hidden objects were well balanced. Voice acting great. Bonus content was a blast. We're still playing that Zem thingy. Wasn't expecting that! Also... whats up with Jacob this time? Has he been a liar all this time? Overall one of the best. Thankyou Gamehouse.
devi | Added on: August 8, 2011
 
Wait a minute, whales do talk in this game, although very strange sounding. Beautifully designed graphics. Pleasing sound effects and music. Storyline about the same as first, evil sister, yada yada yada. I really enjoyed playing. But beware, you'll need your sunglasses to collect the gems at the end of the game.
rosiieelle | Added on: October 12, 2011
 
I loved the first empress of the deep, and this is a good sequel! Good graphics and good story...
paula_ny | Added on: August 5, 2011
 
considerably shorter than the original and not as engrossing. i finished the game in under 4 hours whilst also watching a tv programme and would have been even faster if i could have hurried the dialogue along. i thought it'd be more like the original and fortunately used a funpass to purchase it. i'd have been quite unhappy if i'd paid full price for it!
mel8670 | Added on: August 4, 2011
 
This game is a good sequel. I would have have given it more stars if it was longer,I have funpass but if I was buying it I would say it isn't worth the money due to the length.
DarkDragon | Added on: August 5, 2011
 
This sequel is pretty well done, excellent graphics as usual, nice music/sound, intriguing storyline and ending, good HO scenes (some objects pretty hard to find but still ok), non-HO objects are well hidden but not frustrating, plenty tasks. The bonus game ZEM is pretty interesting and addictive. Drawbacks: pretty short play time (like about 6 hours, more or less); lots of back and forth; map cannot be used to move around (and pretty useless actually); puzzles are too easy and a little repetitive Overall, it would be more recommended for purchase if it were longer and more challenging. Recommend if you have Funpass or played Empress 1 and want to have it for completion.
nodragon2 | Added on: August 9, 2011
 
I really enjoyed moving throughout this game. Having to chase all over, frequently back-tracking to find and place items kept my interest. There was enough variety and challenge to the games and puzzles to keep it from becoming repititous. The story-line was so-so, but the graphics more than made up for it! BONUS!!! At the end you get to play multiple games to win additional trophies. All in all , several hours of great, absorbing, fun.
kjoyness | Added on: August 15, 2011
 
Good fun. Included in-game is a strat guide, which you can choose to use or not. I used it once or twice in my trial. HO's are easy enough, puzzles are challenging, love the graphics. Really fun game, a nice challenge. Looking forward to more.
cjvp | Added on: August 11, 2011
 
Loved the original game and was disappointed with this sequel. It suffers from “Dream Chronicles syndrome” where succeeding games become a pale imitation, less imaginative and more formulaic than the first. It is very short and the game play very easy and repetitive. (Find the animal, find the tokens, solve puzzle on head – repeat) The original game had a genuine sense of mystery not only in the storyline but in the sense of wandering around a very unusual and enigmatic environment that only slowly began to make sense. Graphics somehow fell flat – maybe because you raced through the different sections pretty quickly. Voiceovers were irritating – “looks like a starfish goes here…” And the collecting the crystal dolphins and healing sequences were just silly. Oh well, maybe next time…
Kerrijerri | Added on: August 15, 2011
 
Not many challenges to this game at all. It was way too simple in my opinion. Maybe the kids will appreciate it.
talba | Added on: August 15, 2011
 
This was a fun game...better than some of the HOG that I've played this summer. The storyline was pretty good and the tasks made sense based on the story and the graphics were very nice. I liked the mini-games although they did become repetitious after awhile. Over all, it was an enjoyable game.
Jem888 | Added on: August 15, 2011
 
I was so excited to see a sequel to my beloved Empress of the Deep. The graphics were definitely up to par but the game play was not as good as the first one. It was really easy to cruise through this game without using hints. I did enjoy the little extra game at the end. So if you are looking for an easy, graphically pleasant game that doesn't take too long to play you'll enjoy this one.
pirate43 | Added on: September 26, 2011
 
I thoroughly enjoyed this game really makes you think and is loads of fun love it!
PipCat | Added on: August 4, 2011
 
Great sequel to the first Empress of the Deep but I thought it was much shorter than the original. Gameplay was still interesting, though, as was the storyline. The game kept me involved throughout and the HOs were not frustratingly hard to find. The puzzles were easy enough to solve. The map was a nice feature but just as in the first game you are not able to use it to jump from place to lace within the game. There's an added bonus in this one - another game called ZEM which can be played after satisfying certain criteria at the end of the game. It's addictive and fun to play but unless you purchased the first Empress and want this one to be added to the series, I don't see much sense in purchasing it. I do, however, recommend you give it a try by either plating the demo or using a Funpaa because it is a good game.
TAR671 | Added on: August 15, 2011
 
I did not care for this game personally. I found it very clicky. At many locations you have to click all around the area to complete the task. The HOG scenes are cluttered, requiring that you click around to find the listed objects in that they are masked in many cases by other objects. The game became very boring very quickly. Most locations require you to find only one or two objects, then to move to another location. To identify the new location you have to again click around the location to identify places to move. The puzzles are easy, once you determine the object of the puzzle. The graphics are good but, the cut scenes tend to ramble. I suggest you try this game yourself to see if you enjoy the game.
RavenWhitehart | Added on: January 5, 2012
 
It was a good game. I had no problems playing it and it was fun.
CharlieOldGal | Added on: September 19, 2011
 
Headline: Beautiful & Soothing, Best Enjoyed By Kids. 8 /10 Game Style: The quest aspect is simple and relatively easy so the focus is on the beautiful surroundings and the puzzles. Artwork: Magic. I hate to gush. But this is really beautiful graphics. I found myself dawdling through HO scenes, taking in the sights and soaking up the atmosphere. Story: It is simple and easy to follow, less involving, however, than the graphics. It’s a fairy tale, and kids would love it. Replay: I might play it again if I need to de-stress, but this really is for a younger audience and also presents little challenge. Flaws: The map is worse than useless. It makes getting around sometimes frustrating. Tips: Don’t let your ten year old get her hands on this one, she’ll replay it to death. Did I mention how much I LOVE the artwork??
Babala | Added on: August 31, 2011
 
Definitely an improvement over the first game, this iHOG has a very dreamy, relaxing quality to it, improved voice talent, and beautiful scenery. The music stands out with an ephemeral, magical theme and greatly enhances play. The graphics are clear, there are two modes of play, hints recharge a bit slowly in advanced mode, and HO scenes aren't cluttered. As the empress you're charged with releasing four children imprisoned by your evil sister, but are some twists to the tale that keep it from being stale. Interestingly, though I didn't buy the CE, I had access to the SG, and option to the bonus game. I didn't find all the cartridges necessary to unlock the bonus game, but wasn't interested in going back to find the rest. In summary, this is a pleasant though not outstanding iHOG, and I enjoyed the SE enough. It was better than the first EOD, and passed a good 4-5 hours at my snailish pace nicely.
nvyank | Added on: August 11, 2011
 
Liked this one better than the first. All the different areas that you needed to explore just made this a truly unique experience!!
wolfcreekgal | Added on: August 8, 2011
 
I bought this game not having played the original and liked it so much I just used a fun pass to buy the first one. The game is different from other HO games I've played as it's a whole lot more challenging. Being 48 years old, I'm all about a challenge! The graphics blew me away and the story line is awesome. If you play these games all the time, like I do, then you'll notice it's a little too short, but aside from that it's a great buy!
VforVictoria | Added on: August 5, 2011
 
it's not as intriguing as the first, but still well done. Lots of puzzles to work out and hidden objects to find. Graphics do not seem as fresh as the first games, but still well done. Thanks!
simango | Added on: August 12, 2011
 
not for the young at heart. Strong player skills. would recommend this game
Playerhelen | Added on: August 8, 2011
 
Think this version was much better than the first better graphics; mini games etc Loved the twist at the end and can't wait for version 3
Kelili | Added on: August 4, 2011
 
This is a good follow up to the first Empress of the Deep. There are HOs to find and mini games to figure out. The graphics are good but I found the monotone colours in some of the HO scenes made it difficult to find some of the objects. The Strategy Guide is great because you don't have to exit to the main menu to access it. The mini games are pretty easy and ones we've seen before like turning tiles to complete a picture and turning pipes etc.. I liked the storyline of restoring the seasons and helping the animals but it is kind of easy to predict how it ends. Throughout the game you pick up Diary cartridges that you use in the Secret Room to get access to the extra game, Zem. It was a bit tricky to figure out how to play and I only played one round but I will try Zem again to see if I can get a higher score. Overall, a great game.
Mixx1224 | Added on: March 16, 2012
 
If you are a supporter of wild animals then this game is for you. All the wildlife looked realistic, and were accompanied by realistic animal sounds This installment of the Empress of the Deep was as good, maybe better than the first. Beautiful graphics, great sound effects and soothing music, easy to move around in and a bit twisty at the end. No upload or technical problems noted.
Sofi | Added on: August 11, 2011
 
Is captivating, the images are great!!!. Is fun to play ;D
Sparrowke | Added on: August 3, 2011
 
Nice game, nice graphics. Good storyline. Good mix between adventure and HO!
melsgarden | Added on: October 20, 2011
 
I really enjoyed this game as well as the original. The background sounds and artwork are just great. Can't wait for the next one (to be continued.....)! Had to bypass a few puzzles, but when I play again will do better (I hope).
Cat_In_RV | Added on: September 13, 2012
 
I loved the original Empress of the Deep, but I think I liked this one even more. The background music was fantastic. Sometimes I stopped play just to listen. The graphics are excellent, making the HO scenes quite easy, although you do have to do some searching. The mini-games are not overly challenging, but they are enjoyable. The richness of the scenes and the variation in the scenes did not allow you to become bored. And the animals as guardians worked well for me. The animals were well drawn with actual animal sounds. I thoroughly enjoyed everything about this game, and I hope Gameagents keeps their word and brings out a third installment.
Juny | Added on: September 19, 2011
 
1st time playing one of these games, at first couldn't get the hang of it, then it clicked, I enjoyed having to think about where to go and get clues and then go back to use them....
linusmum | Added on: October 3, 2011
 
Loved the first Empress of the Deep game and really thought this would be a great follow-up. However, to my disappointment, it rates only as okay in my book. The puzzles are all a ton easier than the first game and it really seemed like there was less to explore in the gorgeous surroundings than there was in the first game. One criticism of both games is the hints sometimes basically end up solving the puzzle for me. It would be nice to have the option to get just a nudge in the right direction instead of just skipping the puzzle entirely or being told exactly what to do. I don't think they've worked the right balance in there yet. Still, it's fun and I will definitely be recommending to a friend.
redaf | Added on: January 9, 2013
 
Played the original Empress and loved it and I can only say they aced it with the sequel. These two games have been some of my very favorite played on gamehouse as the mix of story, not overloaded with impossible HO's, creating very enjoyable mini games that tie in with the storyline and having beautiful music and great voices make the overall experience of this game awesome. Hope number 3 is in the offing soon!
kyleesmommy | Added on: March 12, 2013
 
WOW WOW WOW ...I played this game solely on recomendations and they were spot on !!! The graphics were wonderful,the storyline was engrossing,I didnt know who to trust-AGAIN !!! The puzzles were fair to middling = not to hard not to easy ....skip worked in a pinch... Loved loved loved all the animals in this one,great idea,maybe more could be worked out for a third Empress??? Over all I really liked this one and I may play it again on the hard difficulty setting in a few months to see how I fair.. Play it its worth the time!! HAPPY GAMING EVERYONE !!!
smallfry091956 | Added on: August 8, 2011
 
I really liked this game. Good graphics. I like the different scenes you go to. Some objects were hard to fine and some maps I didn't understand I do recommend this games if you like hidden object games. I also liked the story line.
Cinella | Added on: August 12, 2011
 
Quite disappointing …. . You go through one after another beautiful, elaborate scene with special effects -- only to pick up one or two items. The graphics are crystal clear ... except in the Hidden Object mini-games where most of the HOs are unrecognizable. A few puzzles not worth talking about. And, truly, I found the “Healing hand” to be way too theatrical. A sequence to come? No way will I buy it.
looeboy | Added on: August 12, 2011
 
Best hidden object game I've played on Gamehouse. Absorbing and relaxing hidden object game.
Expo | Added on: February 21, 2012
 
I found this game was a lot shorter than the first one, a lot less involved and a lot easier to play - BUT that could just be because I had played the first one and had a grasp on the way their minds work now! I'm looking forward to the 3rd one - although I will admit that I agree with a previous review and that this could quite easily have been added to the first game because I did find myself thinking that it was almost as if they had created the game, picked a good point and just cut it off for a sequel. That said, the graphics are astounding and it was good fun.