Elementals - The Magic Key™Elementals - The Magic Key™
Number of reviews to show on each page:
20 reviews
 
Reviews of Elementals - The Magic Key™
PipCat | Added on: May 31, 2011
 
While I believe this is geared more toward kids, adults should find enough challenges to keep them occupied. The HO portions of the game tie in directly with the goals you are tasked with and some of the objects are very cleverly hidden - a little patience and you should find them all without too much frustration. The puzzles can sometimes be a bit challenging but can be solved with some trial and error. The only part I didn't find entertaining were the battle chess sequences but thankfully you can skip them all (which I did). If you feel the need to try your hand at any of the puzzles or battle chess sequences again you are given the option on the main screen to try them again. The graphics are very good and the music is quite soothing. Just enough dialogue to take you through the story. Definately worth taking a look at!
TIGGURR | Added on: December 18, 2009
 
bought game tues played that night and wed morn good graphics enjoyed playing did have to slow down in a place or two for extra thought but still finished game in about 16 hours still i loved the varied combonation of play
xenutia | Added on: January 4, 2011
 
This is a absolutey delightful game, although it would defiitely appeal more to kids than to adults. I thoroughly enjoyed playing it, mainly because I thought the graphics are amongst the best I've seen.They really are superb. The characters are rather in the style of Anime, but the backgrounds are beautifully drawn. There are some excellent animations in it. Kudos to the artists. The game involves a great deal of player participation in the storyline, which is really quite well written. There isn't any spoken dialogue, but that didn't really bother me much. The music is a bit soporific, so I turned it down as I was starting to doze off. Lol. The HOs are all important to the story, rather than just being random hidden objects. There's a good hint system and some handy little sparkles if you need a nudge. The mini games are excellent, but there is also a chess/battle style game throughout which is good fun, although I was totally dreadful at it! Although I'm sure that is mainly going to appeal to older kids, I think that adults who don't feel like anything taxing would enjoy it. I suspect that serious gamers would find it a bit of a yawn, but if you're in a bit of a laid back mood, it's probably going to appeal as I found it very relaxing. There isn't too much to read and the instructions are pretty clear. I really enjoyed every second of this game.
Cat_In_RV | Added on: October 9, 2012
 
There have been many sterling reviews of this game, but I can't quite agree. I think it's a good game, but not great. I found the play to be somewhat awkward. And the graphics, while colorful and fairly crisp, still left something to be desired. For instance, you were supposed to look for gold leaves, but they were all purple-brown. And I was one short when gathering twigs, but even after using a hint I still couldn't see it--I just had to click around the spot. The game is well-rounded with a variety of mini-games. And of course the grid "battles." I'm not a big fan of this type of thing, but it wasn't too difficult to get through them. You could always skip them, and there is an option to play them after the main game. So yes, the game had a lot of good qualities and I liked it, but I think children would like it a lot more.
sportygal2009 | Added on: November 23, 2009
 
Nothing to write home about on this game. Got bored very quick. Mainly just hunting for stuff and destroy a few monsters. Some things were hard to find and some things I'd click on it and nothing would happen but then use a hint and it would take me right to what I had clicked on. As for the pace of the game relaxing as there was no time limit. Thank goodness for free trial is all I have left to say.
frisia69 | Added on: March 12, 2010
 
I really enjoyed battles with foes. These are seperate from the H/O part. I really liked that the objects to find were relevant to the game and loved that there were lots of puzzles. Some puzzles take a while, but I enjoy spending time figuring out how to make gears work and fiddling with consoles!! REally beautiful to look at and good sense of humor!!
shebaml | Added on: July 12, 2010
 
Hardly the best I've played, but I chose it for my Mac rather than PC and since I use that mostly for work, wanted something fairly easy. It fits that bill.
emarka | Added on: October 27, 2010
 
A really fun game that is challenging enough to keep you entertained and not so hard as to make you stress out. I see this as an excellent tool to help children develop a sense of reasoning and adventure at the same time
pinkwuuf | Added on: June 24, 2011
 
I played this one straight through. The mini-games (especially the chess one) got a bit old, but ticked me off enough when I lost one to amp up my play style. The story line was obvious yet still fun. My kids will enjoy this one.
CarolB | Added on: November 24, 2010
 
This would be a delightful game for older kids who can read well. For an adult it's a bit slow. It's one of the hidden object games that uses darker colors, so if you don't have good color vision there's a lot of clicking on things you can't really see and hoping maybe they're what you want. That probably wouldn't phase youngsters, though. It's not a game I'd get for myself, but parents might want to consider it.
JustGaming | Added on: September 12, 2011
 
Elements was a surprisingly addictive game. It seemed simplistic as first but more difficult as it went along. Very nice cheerful graphics and I didn’t find the music intrusive. I never did master the chess/battle mini-game scattered throughout but it didn’t matter because there is the option to try again or quit. Search scenes included a number of the same objects such a jewels or gears. No junk-pile searches. Hints recharged quickly. Mini-games mostly easy but fun and a little different. One warning – the game contains colored flashing graphics that anyone with a light sensitivity might find disconcerting even though they are relatively brief. Really a nice game with a charming storyline.
1337gamer | Added on: March 15, 2010
 
I just have to say "Wow!" on this one. I normally play what some would consider the "hardcore" games, and my system of choice is the PS3. The reason I bring that up is because I usually play games on GameHouse to experience something different and unwind. Elementals--The Magic Key is the best casual game I have played yet, and has amazing potential for the future. The first thing that sets this game apart are the visuals. Everything from the beautiful menu screen to the meticulously crafted 2D sprites of the characters ooze personality and polish. There was not a single part in this game where I thought to myself "this doesn't look good." Other games fall victim to this, especially on the latter halves where they just want to finish and push the game out. Elementals was handled with the upmost care. The next crucial difference is the storytelling, and this one knocks storytelling out of the park. Sure, there have been some games on here with a good story that I can wrap my brain around and get into, (Emerald Confidential, Campfire Legends, etc.) but every single scene advances the story in a way that doesn't feel forced, and that's a nice change. Also, there are no typographical errors, which is an unfortunate by-product I have noticed in games by foreign studios, and that can sometimes bring you out of the immersion. The gameplay in Elementals is also fantastic, and introduces casual players to grid-based strategy, which as far as I can remember is a first. I applaud games that take that extra step in getting people to enjoy a new genre, and if you try a battle or two and don't like it, you can just skip those segments, which is another nice touch. The hidden object portion in Elementals is very well done, and includes looking in cabinets or drawers, advancing to the next scene and even some backtracking to find all the items. This makes sure the action never gets repetitive, and you will never get sick of a scene or it's eccentric denizens. Another thing is that the mini games are absolutely top-notch. I consider mini games in other hidden object games to be an ends to a means, but here I have actually gone into the bonus mini game menu and played one or two over, which is a first for me. The solitaire/towers game is the best in my opinion, and actually had me looking forward to the time in the story where I would get back to it. Similar to the battles, you can also skip the mini games and puzzles after enough fiddling with them, but I suggest you stick it out. Elementals--The Magic Key is bar-none the greatest game on GameHouse because of its willingness to include different genres, its beautiful art style, its storytelling and frustration-free gameplay, making it ideal for anyone. With all of my reviews I recommend the trial, but I simply can not do that here. Everyone needs to buy this game, because it simply is too good to be missed. As always, thank you for taking the time to read my review, and enjoy Elementals!
Katcooks | Added on: September 15, 2011
 
Although it's a bit confusing as to how to play, it is still fun for everyone.
Tayotae | Added on: April 12, 2012
 
What incredible graphics, storyline, young wizard and playful pet. You must collect a number of HO's, but most of all the gems and crystals. As a small boy searches for his lost sister in a fun, bright and cheerful story, with bright colors, 3D effects, guards and not so nice pets. You will need to know a chess board as this is the mini game you will play from time to time. This really was a fun game, very addicting, involved and some things can be difficult to figure out. Common sence will play a huge part. What a great game. Thanks for the hard work.
Dansmugs | Added on: August 25, 2011
 
Games needs more play time and more longer adventures
Lisa522 | Added on: August 17, 2010
 
Just played the demo of this game for 45 minutes - the graphics and animations are very nicely done. This game has a very magical Harry Potter type feel to it. The puzzles are not too difficult but not too easy either. The mini puzzles you must unlock are interesting and not too bad to do. There is a battle sequence that activates which brings up a chess-board type game (don't worry, it's easy enough!) where you must fight your pieces against enemy pieces. It's all done in a chess/checkers sort of way and is quite easy to play. While I think this game is certainly well made and lovely to look at, I don't know that I would purchase it for full price - not so much that there is anything wrong with the game, but I'm not so into HOGs that I feel compelled to keep playing. However, I would definitely pick this game up on sale. I did find the hint character to be hugely annoying (his appearance and the fact sometimes he's in your face). Honestly, I think he is a detriment to an otherwise beautiful game.
Smedley | Added on: October 28, 2010
 
Couldn't get involved with this game - some nice color in the graphics, some nice bursts of color, but very boring for me: music to sleep by, no voice audio, get tired of just reading. Not a purchase; not even a whole hour of game time. Can't win 'em all; give it a try, but it's no Robin's Quest! Thanks for the chance, Gamehouse!
susanclare | Added on: September 17, 2010
 
I downloaded the trial and did not like this game at ALL. I found it frustrating and parts didn't make sense. I am glad I didn't purchase it...
DarkDragon | Added on: August 25, 2011
 
The game has nice graphics/music. The HO are collectible stuff for tasks, and they are well hidden, some even strain my eyes, like looking for nails =.=. Thankfully, the hint recharges fairly fast. Various puzzles, challenging but not frustratingly hard, and skipable. I really enjoyed the battle chess, it is very challenging toward the end of game (I had to retry at least 1 time each). It is skipable, but there's no option to restart the battle, you can only redo last move and play/skip moves until losing and retry. You can replay puzzles/chess in the extra option at main menu. Pretty good play time. The game, however, is a little lag during playing. In addition, I hate the ending: *SPOILER* It's just a test, so that means I killed a bunch of fire elementals for a happy birthday. Wow, what a "good" moral lesson. Well, it's just my opinion though. Overall, it's highly recommended.