Dream Chronicles® - The Book of Water™Dream Chronicles® - The Book of Water™
Number of reviews to show on each page:
20 reviews
 
Reviews of Dream Chronicles® - The Book of Water™
clown45 | Added on: August 25, 2011
 
I love the Dream Chronicles! This one was the easiest one yet - or maybe I'm just getting better!! I only had to skip one puzzle the first time through. On the second time through I got all the puzzles and finished the whole game in less than 2 hours. Was it worth the money? Yes, because I will play it over and over, trying to beat my own time. Will I buy Book of Fire when it comes out? Of course!
Leatta | Added on: June 29, 2011
 
I have all the Dream Chronicles. This was one of the easier ones, just wasn't long enough to me. Would have loved to play more than two days, even with lots of breaks for everyday duties, just didn't last long enough. I love the Dream Chronicle series hope to see a lot more, and longer ones.
AndysAntics | Added on: July 8, 2011
 
After playing the other 3 games in this series I was delighted when the Book of Water appeared and could not wait to get started! How disapointing though! Took me less than an hour to complete and I felt completely cheated! What a waste of a funticket!
sooner | Added on: September 16, 2011
 
it was a great game ! iy made you think and pay attition more closly as to what was going on.i think it was much better than than the others.
tjnbarbour | Added on: July 6, 2011
 
I feel so cheated having wasted one of my monthly passes on this game. I was absolutely enthrallled by the first of the Dream Chronicles, and hoped so much that this series would improve. Instead they seem to have used all of their ideas on the first two. This one is just embarrasing, I would recommend it to very young children who are just learning to move on from Eye Spy, If you have any higher skill set than that, skip this.
devi | Added on: July 5, 2011
 
Like all the Dream Chronicle games, this game is a little on the strange side. Definitely more of an adventure than an HO game. It has bizarre scenes that are beautifully drawn, however, many scenes are stolen from their previous Dream Chronicle games. So for that, minus one star. The game was also very short. Minus another star for that. Otherwise it was an OK game. Nothing special. Try for yourself. Some people hated it, some loved it.
blunauburn | Added on: June 30, 2011
 
Much shorter and less challenging than previous in the series. Definitely not a lot of brain power required. Rather disappointing.
nvyank | Added on: July 1, 2011
 
I loved the other 3 games. This was a total waste of time. It took maybe a total of 2 hours to finish this. Very Disappointing.
mema247 | Added on: July 7, 2011
 
`This game would be fun for beginners. It was not the challenge I was expecting having played the previous Dream Chronicles. Disappointing.
LadyWhisper | Added on: July 21, 2011
 
I enjoyed this game but it and The Book of Air were way too easy. I was some what disappointed. It was too short as well. Hopefully if there is a Book of Fire then it will be more challenging.
ToketsuPuurin | Added on: January 23, 2012
 
Dream Chronicles is a series that is set apart. The first trilogy was amazing, epic, and gorgeous. This second series started unimpressive but with potential. This second installment has pretty much crashed like a rock. There's a lot of revisiting locations you're now familiar with. This isn't actually a bad thing. It's nice to see the continuity. The bad thing is that you spend half the game trundling from location to location in your airship without ever actually getting to revisit any of the awesomeness of the old locations. There's one mind-bendingly obscene puzzle at the beginning of the game (nearly impossible without a walkthru) and the rest of them are easy. The feeling I got while going through this game was one of rushed development. There were so many locations and places where they had opportunities to add puzzles and flesh things out and... they just didn't. I went on a whirlwind tour of the last four games and I am left feeling abruptly unfulfilled when it ends. Really short. As in after the trial period is over you might, possibly get ten more minutes of play out of this game. and there's no point in replaying it. It's not a disappointment, it's an insult.
savtakate | Added on: July 11, 2011
 
This game was inventive and made me stretch my imagination to fill the requisite skills sets. It also was easy enough that I could have the satisfaction of completing all the tasks over the space of time I was able to play it. Thanks for the fun!
Tayotae | Added on: June 29, 2011
 
The graphics are wonderful, as least as much as I was able to see of them. This is a talkie so that was great as well. But, hold on, cuz this game is a hard one. It took me 45 minutes and I never did find the train engine, not a piece of it.So there I ended my search. Too hard for this old lady. Seemed like a good story line.
mdbenoit | Added on: June 29, 2011
 
Compared to the other Chronicles, I found this one less challenging and way too easy. The graphics are still beautiful, but they seemed to have taken short cuts with less animation, as well as recycling artifacts from the other games, but making it easier.
littlebit870 | Added on: July 1, 2011
 
What can I say ! I was so disappointed in this game. It did not come close to the previous games in this series. What on earth were they thinking! Releasing this was a big mistake.
fungamer | Added on: July 21, 2011
 
"Water" just wasn't up to the standards of the first 3 Dream Chronicles. Much easier than previous games and consequently completed much more quickly.
JED62 | Added on: July 14, 2011
 
I agree with most the other reviews. I've played all the dream chronicles, and while this one did seem a little "go here, do that" without having to figure it out yourself, I found a lot of the puzzles fun and some a bit challenging. Graphics are great as in previous games.
nanoo25 | Added on: July 15, 2011
 
I like HO games but this game can be exasperating at times!
itchypoo | Added on: July 7, 2011
 
The games was okay, not as good as others in the series. I hope the next game will be back up to par with the other games.
Ellenh | Added on: July 5, 2011
 
Having played all the other games in the series I was really disappointed. I expected the same level of challenge and interest. This game was far too easy and just sent you all over the place - telling you exactly where to go and where all the objects were. Left nothing to do. Felt like a re-hash of the previous games. Great graphics as previous games though.
cvlunn | Added on: July 13, 2011
 
I enjoyed the game, but was able to complete it very quickly and felt as though I did not get my money's worth
DarkDragon | Added on: October 12, 2011
 
Well, game is pretty short. The story is somewhat more "action" than book of air, but somehow feels not satisfying. May be it will get better, this feels more like a build up to something. Puzzles and tasks are easy to figure out, somewhat feels unchallenged. Still like the first 3 better.
janeaustenfan | Added on: June 28, 2011
 
Very enjoyable game. Liked: Graphics, storyline, relaxed mode Disliked: puzzles (some were quite difficult and I had to use the skip puzzle several times), would have liked it to be longer, would have liked to been able to explore more things in the different cities--especially the water houses--what a neat concept! Overall a game I really enjoyed. I haven't played the others in the series but playing this game makes me want to check them out.
emi1 | Added on: June 28, 2011
 
man, was i looking forward to this game. i'd describe it as a puzzle game with HO scattered thruout. i got stuck very early in the game-trying to find out how to find the train engine. the hint button did absolutely nothing to help me. it is very vague. oh, well. hope you have a more enjoyable and productive game than i did...
odtaa1 | Added on: July 14, 2011
 
the dream chronicles games are one of my favorite. Each one seems to be a little more challenging than the previous game, an this one was no exception. Only criticism was that this one seemed to be shorter than the others. I also like the fact that I can choose "expert" mode with no tutorials, and fewer unasked for hints.
VforVictoria | Added on: July 6, 2011
 
I have loved the other Dream Chronicles and had looked forward to a new one. Not only was it WAY too short but it lacked any real challenge or intrigue as other ones in the past have. I felt like it was a rehash of some old ones with no challenge, and I almost felt like I was in a recurring dream with lack of participation, just a witness to the events this time. Were they finished? Did the creators get bored? So unlike all the others, what a rip! Can I have my money back?
Kelili | Added on: June 29, 2011
 
Another great chapter in the Dream Chronicles series. It is short but as usual the graphics are fantastic and the story continues to be interesting. There isn't much HO work to do but the different tasks and puzzles kind of make up for that. I can't wait for the next chapter!
PipCat | Added on: July 5, 2011
 
I was a little disappointed with this episode in the chronicles. It seemed much easier than the other 4 and I thought it was a little shorter as well. I did enjoy playing it and I did buy it to round out the series (which I also purchased) but I think it lacked something which I can't quite put my finger on. It isn't bad so give it a whirl but don't expect the same level of gameplay as the rest of series.
KimDuffy | Added on: July 14, 2011
 
I have played and enjoyed all the others in the series but this one was very disappointing. It was way too short and I completed it very quickly. The only reason I didn't give it just one star was because the graphics are so good as usual.
slimshady1 | Added on: November 25, 2011
 
i have to say i was dissapointed with this game i was able to complete it in 2 hours you had very little to do it seems to lead you through to easily i like to think a little more when you get to a place there was little to do before you moved on the puzzles were good but could have been better the previous kept me happily engrossed for several hours seems this game was rushed out a little to quickly sorry !!! chronicles fan :-{
evadiva | Added on: July 1, 2011
 
Used to love Dream Chronicles but this was too easy and too short. Hopefully they get back to the normal challenging level next time...
KitKatsMeow | Added on: July 7, 2011
 
Too Easy and it's almost baby like! Please redo and make it much more interesting! It's a continued story line and it should be getting much more difficult and not simple!
LittleRedDog | Added on: July 19, 2011
 
After having played all parts of Dream Chronicles series so far, I was a little intimated. I had found great challenges so far. I especially liked the memory puzzles...in the others. What happened with this one, developers?? The graphics are beautiful and there should have been more challenges with each step of the adventure. I skipped no puzzles. I found some frustration trying to get assistance from hints. So I thought back on the others....if you can't seem to get anywhere, and you have looked everywhere...no, you haven't! These puzzles were actually so easy, and I was trying to give them what they did not require. Truly, this one was far easier than the series up to here. I love it in that the story continues. I would have liked more story, more trials for our heroine, and thus more play time for me! If I could I would give it a 3 and a half stars. I more than liked it but did not "really like it". I am not giving up on the creators. I just know they will rebound in the next of the series! I will add this to my collection. I will replay it. I will just know ahead of time that I can actually really relax where the puzzles are concerned.
cakeplayer | Added on: July 5, 2011
 
Although I enjoyed the game very much, it was not worth using my fun ticket on as it was way to short. I was really disappointed that it wasn't nearly as long as the other games in the dream chronicles series. Beautiful game though.
themargenaus | Added on: July 1, 2011
 
I am a big fan of the Dream Chronicles. Maybe this game isnt as dificult or challenging as the other games but it is still the same great story line and relaxing atmosphere that brings me to this game in the first place. Im just so happy there are more games in this series :)
jomarie10 | Added on: July 7, 2011
 
I've always enjoyed the Dream Chronicles games. I especially enjoyed the challenge of figuring out the puzzles which had few hints and lots of variety. I never cared if I got stuck on one puzzle for an extended time period I would just plug away till I found the answer. This game was way top easy compared to the others with numerous hints and the ability to skip puzzles. Plus it was very short and the ending abrupt. If the next one in series is like this I will never buy a Dream Chronicles again. As always the graphics were beautiful.
justylvr | Added on: July 5, 2011
 
I expect so much from Dream Chronicles for some reason, but I'm always disappointed. Its basically really easy hidden object. Sometimes you have to do things with the objects you find, but its really obvious. Plus, I find each installation too short...I think they could have made all of these into one game and it would've been interesting....now, I'm bored!
kmarie66 | Added on: June 28, 2011
 
For a HOG there wasn't much to find. Not typical. I liked the idea of a task based story line; however, the developers did not use the concept to its full advantage. There were very few objects required to find (broken pieces) and a handful of fairly simple puzzles to solve. The entire game took me a little over an hour to complete. Beautiful backgrounds, wish there had been more opportunity to explore. Not a challenge.
cinnyann | Added on: July 5, 2011
 
to easy other series games were much better,seems like it was not ready
Mustang22 | Added on: July 7, 2011
 
I have all of these games and this was an extreme let down. Most of the places you've been to and the game pretty much runs itself. You no longer do the work to forge pieces you need or use the time portal. Even using the airship was one load of fuel provided for you and then it took you through the whole game. The play time took a few hours and I had finished the game. Not worth it.
pdxfirefly | Added on: October 17, 2011
 
I've played all the Dream Chronicle games and really like the style of puzzle solving, finding pieces of objects, and story line. Dream Chronicles: Book of Water falls far short of the previous games. There were two hard puzzles (one quite hard), the rest were very simple. There were very few scenes in which to find things and solve problems. I zipped through this. It felt like the creators of the game were really lazy, or in a hurry to get the game released, because there were many places in the game where you go somewhere, do one thing, and never return to that place. There is never an opportunity to explore anything, never any complex sequences to solve. *** mild spoilers below *** Part of the problem seems to be that in this game, the player visits many locations from previous games, yet there are no new puzzles. In fact there are far, far fewer puzzles. Take the herbalist's house. In a previous game, you could go upstairs, downstairs and the kitchen. You had to figure out how to turn power on and the lights in all the rooms, then there were many problems to solve in each room. You had to cook up recipes in the kitchen. In this game, you can only go in the kitchen. The lights are all on. The potion is already made and on the table and all you have to do is find jar to put it in. You can't even get beyond the entryway to the clockmaker's house and there is almost nothing to do once you get there. Contrast to the clockmaker's house in a previous game where their were rooms to explore and many puzzles to solve. The game's only redeeming value was the art. As in all previous Dream Chronicle games, the art was beautiful (imo). This game was a huge disappointment compared to the previous games, and I cannot recommend it.
akopel | Added on: June 30, 2011
 
The Dream Chronicles are usually pretty challenging, and take some real thought. I finished this game in one evening. The graphics are good as usual, but rather than getting to see more of Wish like inside the toy store, we just run from place to place doing exactly as we are told. Too bad, too. It has some very real potential, but it's too short, too shallow, and too easy.
ligs | Added on: June 30, 2011
 
Having loved the other Dream chronicles games, I bought this as am not due my fun passes yet. What a waste of money, took no time at all after the free trial expired to finish the whole thing and it was far too easy compared to the others. Seems like this was just a rushed out stop gap game. Graphics are still great though.