Dr. Wise - Medical MysteriesDr. Wise - Medical Mysteries
Number of reviews to show on each page:
20 reviews
 
Reviews of Dr. Wise - Medical Mysteries
GrlGeek | Added on: May 24, 2010
 
Too short, I wish I had my Fun Ticket back. And now my review text is too short. Everything is too short. The diagnosis puzzles didn't really make sense.
shirlfo7 | Added on: March 22, 2010
 
Quite a challenge! Fun to play. Makes you think.. Well I don't quite understand what you want. A four page story? It's a game like many others. I have used all of the key words that applies to this game. 60 minutes trial is not always enough time to give a game it's value. Think about it.
SUZsaysHi | Added on: March 12, 2010
 
I am not sure if I am going to purchase this one or not. I got bored after about the first 30 minutes. The objects are fairly easy to find, and the tools do work well. I guess it is an OK HO game but I have played much better ones
cindybear | Added on: March 15, 2010
 
Loved it, very original but finished too soon. I enjoyed finding samples, and toxic objects and also objects hidden behind secret doors. I found it challenging with a good storyline 'CSI' meets 'Grey's Anatomy'. Would recommend it!
Room333 | Added on: March 11, 2010
 
I only played the demo of this game and got to investigate three patients before the hour had finished. I found it to be like most HOG, where you have a list of items to find with some needing a little more looking or interactive work. What made this game original for me were the mini games that came at the end of the hunt...like helping the doctor in the OR, by handing him the instruments asked for and monitoring the equipment. With this game it is good to remember to let your cursor do the walking. Go all over until you find it change into wheels, something to interact with. Another thing that was useful was the tool kit...flashlight for those dark areas, mag glass for the smaller items and of corse that all to important toxic item finder. Hints are plentiful and reload quickly, and it's nice to be able to search without the preasure of a timer. One thing to keep in mind is that this is a large game file (over 300mg) and will take a little longer to DL. This was a feel good game for me and look forward to purchasing it with my next funtic.
SHELAHDANIELLE | Added on: May 20, 2010
 
This game is okay, but was expecting more from it.
GeekMom | Added on: March 15, 2010
 
I really like the premise of this game where you play an doctor solving medical mysteries like Dr. House. The game has a nice magnifying tool and also a flashlight. However, the main thing I spent doing was finding ordinary objects in a room similar to any HOG. Collecting the special objects was annoying. There's a "toxic" tool that makes "toxic" objects light up for far too short a time. While the object is "lit", you have to quickly move your cursor over and click the toxic object. You can't click on the object at any other time. I had to click several times for each object. Also there are liquids and samples of liquids. The distinction is a fine one. You use a "syringe" tool to click and hold on an object to collect samples. But you also collect some liquids without sampling them. I clicked several times trying to collect a sample from a bottle only to find I was supposed to just click on the bottle. At the end of each case, you diagnose by picking three items from a set of items you have found. However in the first mystery, there are three items but only two were involved in the disease. So two were repeated. That seemed random to me. The surgery game where you hand objects to the doctor was okay to play once, but I wouldn't like to replay it. I wanted to like this game more, but I think other HOGs like Women's Murder Mystery Club do a better job of combining investigation, HOG and mini-games.
Hillbilly_Gal | Added on: March 16, 2010
 
For an old lady like me with failing vision, this game is very challenging. Thank goodness for the magnifying glass because I sure need it. I have to click on hints occasionally in order to find an object, especially not knowing what they look like in this game. Despite the above, I purchased this game and enjoy it so much that my husband has to remind me what time it is so I'll go to bed. I enjoy playing this game so much that I don't pay attention to what time it is. I'd probably play this game all night if my husband wouldn't remind me of the time. (Lol) I'm willing to bet that my husband, children and grandchildren will enjoy playing this game too. If that's the case, I may have a problem getting onto my computer so I can continue to play this game all the way to its entirety! (Lol) Incidentally, I play this game at night when everyone is in bed because it's the only time of day that I have to myself but I'm not complaining!
Cbrez | Added on: March 15, 2010
 
I enjoyed every aspect of this game. However, I rated it 4 because it is to short. By the time you complete the third case you are ready for more cases. It was a big let down not to have more cases available. Hopefully, if there is a follow-up to this game, it won't be limited to only three cases.
lilkim8273 | Added on: March 24, 2010
 
this isnt a fun game at all. too short should have more than three cases. the mini games was to easy too. especially when they were showing you what to do when he was operating/ this is not worth the expense to buy at all, dont even use your fun pass its not worth it at all
chuck0601g | Added on: March 22, 2010
 
didnt care much at all for this game. audio didnt work verry slow paced game for a hidden object game!
purplecak | Added on: March 15, 2010
 
A perfect example of a great concept and poor execution. Oddly reminiscent of a certain arrogant television doctor, but with an ultra-corny twist. Some of the clues were very obnoxiously hidden, and near impossible to see, even on a bright, high-resolution 30" monitor. Also, on one occasion, I had to use a hint because the object I was supposed to find was not the object that was listed. I like the idea of the puzzle mini-games in between the hidden object levels. The tools in the game (flashlight, magnifier, etc.) were a nice addition. The "toxic" thing was annoying. All in all, the game was far too short. I completed it in less than 2 hours. There are only 3 levels, with multiple short stages per level. Not too bad, considering I have a FunPass, but I would probably feel cheated if I had purchased this game, since I don't think it offers much of a replay value.
BoxerLady | Added on: March 11, 2010
 
Overall, I thought this was a fun game. It is a typical HO game with a list of items to find. You are given a few tools to help find objects; there is a flashlight for dark places and a magnifying glass in order to look at small and/or far away objects (which I am ALWAYS thankful for since I can't see a thing.) One small twist in this game is; there is a button provided which. when pushed, very quickly changes the color of the scene to green. While the scene is bathed in green, a few objects which might be "toxic" to the patient, are highlighted in a little bit deeper shade of green. Some of the highlighted objects are on the list and some are not. Objects in the scene that are on the list (the names of those objects are also highlighted in green) have to be clicked on before the color fades. Once the color fades you are no longer able to collect the object. I found this part of the game annoying and "clicky" because the highlighted items faded VERY quickly. Therefore, I had to click on the button several times in a row in order to catch sight of all the different highlighted objects. Because some of the highlighted items are on the list and some are not, it could be considered challenging....to some, but I didn't see it that way. You are also given a syringe in order to collect "samples" of liquids from objects within the scene. Objects from the list are clicked on with the syringe, and it fills up with the liquid. These samples are said to be tested to check for any ill effects to the patient. Unfortunately, there isn't a part in the game where it is taken any further. Once the syringe is filled, the name of the item is removed from the list. You don't get to test the samples, or go any further with them. I thought this was too bad, an opportunity lost, as it would have made the game more interesting in my opinion. Watch carefully when you are looking for items on the list because some items are hidden and in order to find them you have to notice your cursor change from a solid, to a blue cursor with the typical turning wheels, indicating that an item can be moved in order to see more items. Usually, the items behind the movable object include an item from the list that needs to be clicked. Once all the items in a room are found you go on to other locations where the "patient" has been. At each location you search for more items. Once all locations have been searched, you meet with the Dr. to diagnose the patient. You are given a number of informational items, collected by you, to choose from in order to try and form a diagnosis. You put the items in order of what you think is the most likely diagnosis. You get several tries to make a correct diagnosis. I didn't have a problem making a quick diagnosis, so I don't know what happens if you are incorrect every time. At the point I finished my trial time playing the game, I got to the second location with the second patient. By that point, I found that this isn't a very involved game like some of the HO's where you get to mix together ingredients or look under a microscope and click bad cells, at least as far as I got in the free hour. I think it would be easy enough for most kids, maybe ages 9 or older (depending on abilities,) to play because you are given the tools (magnifying glass and flashlight,) so it isn't impossible to find the items - like some HO games. And, I think it would be fun for the kids to learn a bit about different symptoms and trying to figure out what might be wrong with each character. I think this was a pretty typical HO, I've seen more interesting and original HO's lately, and I've seen some that were more involved and had a better replay value and that is why I only gave it 3 stars. But overall, it is a fun game to play and I would definetly recommend it as a game to at least try. Afterall, I did enjoy it enough to purchase it myself.
welshman | Added on: March 15, 2010
 
Disappointing: it could have been good but was woefully short apart from other things. Having bought it I was astonished to find that I'd nearly completed it on try-out. Also it has a section where you are supposed to make a kind of medical diagnosis but in fact it's complete unguided hit and miss as you're not given sufficient information. So the idea was okay but the realisation very poor overall. Sorry!
ice450 | Added on: July 8, 2010
 
a bit to easy,not one of the taxing click/find,but great for the kids
Alecto19 | Added on: May 26, 2010
 
Easy to undersand (I speak french!), easy and nice to play but so fast finish... The differents objects of reseach are fun!
Hildie | Added on: July 14, 2010
 
Only three stages. I finished half of the game in the free trial, and didn't know it was such a short game. Not worth the money.
Poppa | Added on: March 11, 2010
 
I liked the need to use various tools to gather objects. I enjoyed the fact that Dr. Wise is somewhat similar to the TV MD Greg House. They are both vert smart and "wise" cracking all the time. The surgery segments got a bit dull after a while and I wish there were voiceovers during conversations rather that just the text. The game should offer good length as I got into 3 segments of the 3rd case. This is a game that I am strongly considering purchasing. Overall a very good job by the game developer.
Kaylea | Added on: March 22, 2010
 
The game was fun for as long as it lasted. I think 3 case files made the game too short. Would have liked more cases to solve. If I had to pay for this game it wouldn't be worth the price.
govegirl | Added on: March 11, 2010
 
This game has attempted to be something different then your average hidden object game. You play an intern doctor investigating mysterious illnesses under the guidance of the unpleasant but thorough Dr Wise. The game is made up of 3 different cases- the first one very short and the last one very long. There is a lot of hidden object screen searching- the mini games inbetween are rather lame. I think rather than making the last case so long an extra case would have been an improvement as it dragged on and a bit far fetched. The graphics are excellent.
elainerzez | Added on: March 25, 2010
 
What a game it's to bad that Dr. Wise only had 4 cases and the last one only took about 5 mins. to play.
tarbarme | Added on: March 11, 2010
 
This one does have too much to offer. I got very bored with it very quickly. The toxic light didn't stay on very long to find what u are looking for. You had to guess with thing to use. I only got up too the 2nd room of the 2nd level when I decided to quit. Some other peoples might like it but I didn't.
dbabel | Added on: July 8, 2010
 
fun game but once you solve the 4 cases its done too short
Cybrcruzrr2 | Added on: September 20, 2011
 
Dr. Wise - Medical Mysteries is part hidden object, part detective work. The graphics weren't that good and although I downloaded twice, both downloads flickered continuously, which was distracting, to say the least. I liked the idea of detecting what was the cause of different patients' illnesses but finding some of the 'culprits' were impossible without using the hint button. I purchased the game upon release and I wish I hadn't. It would be worth playing for free if you could get a clean, smooth download. It's not offensive but it's also not young child oriented.
infinity | Added on: June 23, 2012
 
This game is missing the "love" from its creators. The dialogue tries to be sarcastic, but it's not witty. There are no explanations to tie the hidden object scenes or objects themselves to the patient symptoms. The diagnosis is presented out of the blue with no trail of logic to follow. The graphics were nice in some areas, and amateurish in others. Mini-games had no instructions on what to do. Be aware that you need to move the mouse around in the HO scenes until your pointer changes to gears in order to find some of the hidden objects. The attempts at coolness, like drawing samples and identifying hazardous objects, just weren't well developed. If you like medical TV shows, go watch one because this game won't satisfy you.
hankysis3 | Added on: March 22, 2010
 
This game had excellent screens (crisp and clear). The magnifying glass that came with the game was an added plus. I enjoyed the mini-games even though there wasn't any logical sense to them. Sometimes hit or miss can be fun. The time spent on one "case" would have been better spent on more. It gave the impression that the game was too short and therefore not worth the expense.
LiplessRhyme | Added on: July 9, 2012
 
This game was OK. I didn't love it, but I didn't hate it either. I wouldn't suggest it to friends. Seemed a little like a knock off of House...
bloodymary | Added on: June 9, 2010
 
This is one of the shortest games I have played. The operation sections not really interesting or fun to play. I could not recommend this game to anyone. There are many other very challenging and interesting games to play in Gamehouse.
PCW75 | Added on: March 12, 2010
 
I liked this game because other then seek and find you get to try and diagnose. You also do a fast pace pick instruments for the doctor. But in all that, it's only 3 cases and then that's it. So real short but fun.
drahn | Added on: March 15, 2010
 
The game is pretty cool. The mini games are better than the game,
MissRaven77 | Added on: July 7, 2010
 
The game is too short & too easy. I finished it in less than 3 hours, including breaks. The replay is exactly the same as the first time through, so it isn't interesting enough for me.
KathPA | Added on: March 15, 2010
 
This is your typical Hidden object game. I would give it a 5 star but it is too short. I do not intend to purchase this game unless it becomes a special purchase for $2.99 or comes in a bundle with another game that I like. How unfortunate that it is so short. I really enjoyed what there was of it.
KCGIZMO | Added on: May 26, 2010
 
I was extremely disappointed in this game. I wish there was a way to get my money back. I really thought there would be so much more to it. After just 2 cases, that is it. There is not much instruction either.
Mrs_G | Added on: June 3, 2010
 
I felt that the game did not give clear directions how to retrieve clues. I had to do a lot of "clicking" around to figure out what to do next. While interesting, it is not a game I enjoyed.