Downtown SecretsDowntown Secrets
Number of reviews to show on each page:
20 reviews
 
Reviews of Downtown Secrets
42368997 | Added on: December 7, 2014
 
Really enjoyed the storyline and the hog rounds but I do wish the game were longer
welshman | Added on: December 9, 2010
 
This is a fairly sophisticated HOG, with stylish graphics that create an atmosphere that helps draw the player in. There's nothing particularly innovative about the gameplay, though what it does it does well. I felt that, especially given the load time, it might have been longer - when it might have earned the fifth star for being good value.
fuzzyfoenix | Added on: December 3, 2010
 
As HOGs go this one was not bad, not great, but not bad. I flew through it in about an hour and a half. Graphics are nice, though some of the smaller objects did blend in a little. The background music was nice too, it didn't get annoying and worked nicely with the story line. The story line, on the other hand, was predictable. I was hoping for something interesting when I started the game. At first it seemed like this game was going to deliver, but, unfortunately, it went down hill pretty fast. All in all, if you want something to occupy an hour or two and you don't mind predictability play it.
devi | Added on: December 13, 2010
 
I should have enjoyed this game, but there were too many things that annoyed me. First, it took way too long to load. There was so much dialogue, some of which you could not skip. The game was very short and if you removed the excessive dialogue, you probably could complete the game in under an hour. If I wanted to read a book, I would have gone to the library. On the other hand, past the loading, past the yakety-yak, I did enjoy the game itself. I found the "ring" interesting. If you like a big storyline with lots of dialogue, this game is for you.
Juny | Added on: December 23, 2010
 
Graphics were really good, story line ok. But, way to short.....surprised i was finished that fast, I'll see about replay value
hankysis3 | Added on: January 10, 2011
 
I loved the "appearing" hidden objects game. At first I thought I missed them, until I realized they don't all appear at once. The story was great (love mysteries), and so were the graphics. It just ended abruptly. Although that can be a good thing if it means you want more.
emi1 | Added on: December 15, 2010
 
the graphics on this game were nice. there were lots of scenes to go to-even just in the hr demo. there was a lot of dialogue, but being able to advance the dialogue as soon as i was done reading it, made up for what can really annoy me on some games. a typical HOG. i found the story rather cheezy, but all in all an ok game.
Cbrez | Added on: December 9, 2010
 
No Brain drain on this HOG. Just sheer enjoyment. I did find one issue which was almost consistent throughout the game. The text in the HO box and hint were not very clear at times. Some of the letters in words seem to fade. I had to hope the word I thought was printed was the correct word. It didn't bother me enough not to finish playing. I found it was a pleasurable experience playing this game. Theme of the story held my interest and the music complimented the story and the game. The graphics were very good. I could not take issue with going back to scenes because the action was interwoven into the story. The use of the ring as a means of finding objects was rather unique. I realize people can always find objections to HOG's not to finish the game but, for me this was a great game.
SUZsaysHi | Added on: December 6, 2010
 
This is an ok HO game. Music is good, graphics are good altho some of the objects are very small and really blend in. Storyline is interesting. I have played better and I have played worse so I guess try it and decide for yourself.
DXA1 | Added on: December 6, 2010
 
I found this game a welcome relief from the latest batch of HOG's that have released lately. The graphics were good, the music was nice, and searching for the objects wasn't very difficult. The storyline got me involved, and wasn't repetitive. I enjoyed this one.
gordis | Added on: December 8, 2010
 
I would have given it 5 stars but it was too short. It was addictive, couldn't let go til the end, it took me almost 2 hours, but it was a good one.
pennyanne | Added on: December 25, 2011
 
I liked this game. It was somewhat different, the graphics were good and I love a mystery. Putting together end and the abrupt ending leaves something to be desired. I've replayed and enjoyed.
DarkChylde | Added on: December 13, 2010
 
The graphics were good, and the story intriguing. I do like the film-noir style of the game, and that kept me going to see what happened. The gameplay itself was easy. I never had to use hints or skip any of the puzzles. Sometimes you had to think about what to do, but that's because the wording given you was not always clear. Not a long game, and it looks like it might have a next chapter. Misspellings and words that don't always match up with the HO seems to be typical of games that are translated into English. I would have given more stars if not for the too easy gameplay and the game a bit too short for my taste. Hey, has anyone noticed .... in the opening scene with the cityscape, that the whole scene is backwards? Look at the tall building that says "neg". You can tell it's spelled backwards and slanting the wrong way .....
kelly219 | Added on: December 9, 2010
 
I loved this game and would buy the next chapter if it was available. The settings were great the the objects had something to do with the story line. Some were hidden very well and some you found easy but you kept looking and the game held your interest. I do hope they keep this going. It was worth the money and time. Good game for anyone. When is the next chapter?
pgillenw | Added on: December 6, 2010
 
Enjoyed this game. I gave it a 5 star rating because the graphics were excellent, the story was intriguing and accomplished well within the time allowed for it to develop. To this gamer the hidden objects were a pleasure to locate. Well placed but detectable. I liked the Hints and the whats missing in a scene, clever. This is not a difficult game. And although not difficult or "Thinky" it afforded a good play. Not all HOG'S need to be absorbing or involved. I appreciate the creativity, the development that must be accomplished to bring a production to gamers. This gamer felt their goal was met. Recommend this game to kids. They too should find it entertaining.
lre7 | Added on: December 6, 2010
 
I agree totally with 'fuzzy'. Played very quickly. Had I known it was so short, I probably would not have ised one of my tickets to purchase it.
sportygal2009 | Added on: December 6, 2010
 
I found this to be pretty good as these kinda of stories are right up my alley. This is about a guy named Alex (a lawyer) whose former flame Marie up and left him 3 years ago but now she finds herself in jail accused of murder. So who does she call upon? Why (smile) Alex of course and he is more than eager to help cause he's still in love with her. The story does have a few twist & turns and seems to hold your interest, well it did me anyway as I sure loved using the ring to go back & forth in time to locate items; that was pretty cool but I thought it ended way too quick, abrupt and even with a few twist & turns predictable. I finished this in about 2 hours which is kinda unusual for me and a game but I must say it was a pretty good 2 hours. At first I thought most of the items would be impossible to find because the screen shots to this game aren't so great in my opinion but I located most of them pretty easy. Graphics pretty good for the most part. Some items a little small. Also for some you have to move your mouse around the screen until it turns into a magnify glass as some are hidden in boxes or drawers just to name a couple of places. Puzzles were also pretty easy. Hint button & to skip puzzles is available pretty quick, within no time at all. Oh but the hint won't take you right to the item as it will show at the bottom of the screen it's location, then you have to go and click on it. So in my opinion the story was definitely interesting but needed to be a bit longer and if the characters actually spoke as I didn't mind reading the text but I think it would of made the game more interesting if you could hear them, I would of definitely given this 5 stars but for the reasons mentioned I give this 3 stars. Definitely thought pretty good but not great. So give this a whirl to form your own opinion as I do believe it's worth a download especially if you are looking for something to get you through a couple of hours.. Hope you enjoy.
Deviarich | Added on: December 15, 2010
 
The story line interesting it had me wondering about what happen to marie and what she was up to. The music was soothing to bad the charcters did not speak that would have made it even better.
TAR671 | Added on: December 20, 2010
 
I measure a game with some very basic criterion. 1) Did I stay with the game until the end ? 2) Did I enjoy playing the game? 3) Did the game offer offer a challenge, while not causing undue frustration? and 4) Would I recommend the game to someone else? This game met these basic criteria for me, so I rated it high. I spent 37 years of my life editing, auditing, and critizing the work of others, so I will those actions to others. Accordingly, I recommend that if you are looking for several house of nontaxing enjoyment, try this game!
Kalyn | Added on: January 18, 2011
 
I enjoyed this game, trying to figure out the who-done-it while searching for the hidden objects. Am I the only one who thinks the male character looks alot like Robert Downey Jr? Perhaps that's why I purchased this game?
Linda1956 | Added on: December 7, 2010
 
I really enjoyed this one for the original story line, the graphics and the characters in the story. This was one that didn't make me feel like I had to go looking for a walk through or tips like some of the latest ones have, and let's face it, if you have to look up things on a walk through every 20 minutes, it takes a lot of the fun away. I'd LOVE a sequel or 3 :)
covingtonmom | Added on: December 6, 2010
 
I got bored with this game very quickly. The cut scenes took longer than the HOG scenes and there really wasn't much in the way of minigames.
MissRaven77 | Added on: December 6, 2010
 
I liked this one, as far as HOG's go. It wasn't too hard, but challenging enough for me to finish it. The romantic storyline is a HOG standard, but there was a decent ending. I gave it 4 stars because I was able to stick with it through to the end, & because it wasn't way too easy to find the objects. It was kind of short, but ok.
Luckyme33 | Added on: December 16, 2010
 
It was interesting and a very good game. Thoroughly enjoyable.