Department 42 - The Mystery of the NineDepartment 42 - The Mystery of the Nine
Number of reviews to show on each page:
20 reviews
 
Reviews of Department 42 - The Mystery of the Nine
frisia69 | Added on: March 11, 2010
 
Lots of puzzles to figure out and the mini puzzles actually made me think and were challenging!! Slightly "dark" for younger players but I really loved it!! One of the best HO games I have played!
kylakitty | Added on: January 19, 2010
 
This is by far the most enjoyable of the newer HOGs. While the HOs are fairly easy to find the puzzles can be a bit more challenging. I liked having to find various objects to use within each scene. I've only played the hour trail thus far, but it's definitely one I'll purchase!
jkjennings | Added on: November 1, 2011
 
I got lost a few times. The clues are vague, so I found I clicked around a lot on things. Some of the hidden objects I clicked on had to be clicked precisely on where the gamemakers created them - i.e., click on a handle, you can't pick it up, click lower on the same object, it would work. This resulted in me asking for a hint, and it would show the same object I had clicked on earlier. Duh, frustrating. A few of the objects were named things I didn't know, like the name of some Oriental character. Overall, it was paced nicely, had good graphics and held my attention.
Minxski | Added on: February 22, 2010
 
So loved this game, challenging, great story line, well put together, terrific graphics and very little repetitiveness. Seriously, try it if you like a challenge and something a little different!
Smedley | Added on: April 4, 2011
 
If you want to be challenged while following an interesting plot, then this is the HOG you've been waiting for!! There's a helpful map to move from scene to scene - and you do that a lot! The HOs are cleverly hidden, often very hard to find - but you wanted a challenge, right? The mini-games are all puzzles that rely on deductive reasoning - there's very little help in terms of tutorials or instructions. Fortunately, you can skip puzzles if you want (I had only 10 of 15 first time). Note: You need to be very precise in pointing at the HOs. There is a hint factor, but the recharge is very slow (hint: sometimes you can move to another scene where the hint icon is already charged). You'll find that many HO screens appear only after you have visited the room several times; that makes revisiting rooms all the more interesting (and necessary). The guide on the bottom right of the screen is very helpful in telling you that there's nothing to be done in a given room at a given time. Some of the descriptions of the HOs are vague: BBQ was a shishkabob; a hank is a ball of yarn. Some of the HOs are almost impossible to see: a black spider on a dark background. But the plot, though seemingly disjointed, all comes together for the final chapter (of this game). There's sure to be sequel, and I'll be ready for it! I knew this was a purchase long before the free time expired! The theme involves the occult, and may be a bit scary (especially the first chapter tracking a werewolf) for kids. Again, this is a real challenging, addictive poser for you to defeat the Eye Of Evil!
haley458 | Added on: February 5, 2010
 
I had a lot of fun playing this game (and I've played a lot!). It had challenges, different scenes for the hidden object finding, puzzles, and an interesting story... although a little "evil". I don't know why the character looks like Natalie Portman, though... I thought it was set at a great pace with the perfect level of challenging/involved play.
Takethater | Added on: February 16, 2010
 
Loved this game. Mixes hidden object scenes with solving mysteries from objects you pick up so you don't get bored. Hidden objects are very well hidden in some cases (almost camoflaged) so keeps the interest well high. The hand grabber cursor and the spanner cursor helps you work out what needs to be picked up and what needs fixing but you still have to think about what needs doing with what object. The mini puzzles in between are good fun too. Deserves it's five stars.
BoxerLady | Added on: January 22, 2010
 
I enjoyed the hour of free play! It was a bit frustrating initially figuring out what to do, but in all fairness, I always "skip" the introduction on these games because I want to get the most out of the hour of free play. So, it may have explained more in the introduction. However, I quickly figured out how to work the game and I found it to be quite fun and challenging! It was exciting to try and find the secret locations and figure out which "instrument" I needed to use to solve the problem. This played out like a bit of a search game, but that is what I found challenging. My only hesitation would be that you are not told in the Game Details in Gamehouse, how many levels or locations you have to play in the game. In the hour of free play I had already gone pretty quickly through to where you try to create a cure for the Werewolf. I can't imagine that is all there is to the game because I only went through about 3 scenes, so I am going to purchase this game and see what else it holds in store. I just hope it gives good value and replay, but for $6.99 the game that I've played already is certainly worth the cost. One note: I do believe this game to difficult for younger kids, however "tweens" woud probably enjoy the game!
Maineiac | Added on: June 18, 2010
 
A very entertaining game! Lots of puzzles and multiple story lines with different locations. The developers seem to have put a lot into this. The variety of the subplots and the unique puzzles make this game stand out. It's definitely worth owning, but it's horror show quality may be a bit much for youngsters.
gmelvr | Added on: May 19, 2011
 
Loved it and bought it! no regrets.. Bought it when it first came out, so I don't remember exactly everything. Just remember that it was enjoyable.
covingtonmom | Added on: February 4, 2010
 
I liked that this was different from most hidden object games in that you actually had to find items to use. I enjoyed the puzzles more than the searching. The 9 levels varied greatly in intricacy and difficulty with some earlier ones taking much longer than those coming later. Some I was able to finish in a few minutes. I was totally unable to complete the last puzzle. There is no way I would have the patience to solve it. It involves sliding objects in different directions so that matching ones hit each other. You have to do this several times in order to end the game. I quit as the only option to finish was to follow directions from a walkthrough. Too bad. It was a good game until the end.
painta76 | Added on: January 25, 2010
 
I do just love a game with a good story line. This is well above the ordinary hidden object game, most of the objects you find are used in the completion of puzzles, although you still have to find extraineous objects that have no use. Some of the puzzles are a little difficult and there is not much help on how to play, but thank god for the skip puzzle button.
sportygal2009 | Added on: January 19, 2010
 
Well I definitely won't be able to be too helpful with this game as this is now by far the most boring game I've ever played. This is one of those hidden object games that doesn't give you much direction on what to do as your using items from a scene to either use in that scene or another scene to unlock things. I've played a few like this recently and enjoyed them very much and some I didn't but this one definitely takes the cake on the most boring as the items are so small, you need a magnify glass and the hint feature- well that takes forever to recharge. You may enjoy this if you play a lot of these type of games but it definitely wasn't for me. I don't think I made it 15 to 20 minutes of this game. A definite thank goodness for free trial. Just about put me to sleep. I'd give this NO STARS if I could.
Rottn2thecore | Added on: October 20, 2011
 
involved, not boring. The graphics, the music, the story line and the whole ambience. Delving into a mystery that becomes more mysterious the further along you go. The games were relatively simple but added to the gameplay. I would highly recommend this one.
slruser | Added on: April 13, 2010
 
I found this game challenging and enjoyable. It was a nice balance of Hidden Objects and unique Mini Games. Some of the Mini Games could have benefitted from additional instructions, but the option to skip them is available. Overall, this was one of the most enjoyable Hidden Objects games I've played because it required some real thinking!