Dark Strokes - Sins of the FathersDark Strokes - Sins of the Fathers
Number of reviews to show on each page:
20 reviews
 
Reviews of Dark Strokes - Sins of the Fathers
DarkDragon | Added on: June 22, 2012
 
Graphics and music are really great. The story is interesting and unfolds smoothly, well even though I practically can guess somewhat the ending when the character is in Leonard's house, still, the ending is very epic. Loves that characters have voices. HOs and puzzles lean a little on the easy part. Tasks are plenty and some back and forth. The hint isn't consumed if used as a direction, which is useful b/c I'm stuck sometimes. Quite long play time, and it kept me going on and unable to stop ^^ Overall, this is a great game to play if you like this genre. Nothing extra though, may be a good replay with expert mode. Not for young kids of course.
symplertimes | Added on: May 23, 2012
 
This is the best game I have played in a long time! The graphics were so realistic you could almost smell the sea! There was a time or two of going back and forth, but, that may have resulted from my choices rather than the game. I would reccomend this game to everyone. One of my favorites I've ever played!
flaca | Added on: December 26, 2012
 
Very original and hard to pull away from it since the story was so great everytime you found a figurine it got you more and more into the game. The mini games were great, not so hard. Visuals were good. The end was just right. Although, I must say it was predictable, so on that note I don't give it a five, but on a whole... it gets a 5. I so recommend the game. PLAY IT!!!!
leea928 | Added on: June 1, 2012
 
This game is well worth the money. It is not one of those "done in an hour" games. I have played it twice, once on regular and once on expert. I did not have to skip one mini challenges, but the option is there if you want or need it. There is lots of walking back and forth, but that doesn't bother me. If you like HO games, and like them to last a while, this is the game for you.
Cricket5461 | Added on: May 19, 2012
 
This is a splendid HO game. It was very involved with lots of great scenes, tasks and puzzles. The graphics are very well done and the game was quite challenging without being so difficult that a little patience didn't resolve most difficulties. It was addicting and even though I figured out the ending pretty quickly I still couldn't wait to see it play out. My only complaint is that they started out the HO scenes with having extra actions that had to be done before certain objects could be clicked on and I like that in HO games but they did the all too familiar thing, where it only lasted through about the first 1/4 of the gameplay. After that, just regular HO scenes. Still, a Splendid game. I enjoyed it immensely.
Cinella | Added on: June 1, 2012
 
The game has a gripping storyline that flows smoothly. The graphics are beautiful – in some instances painting like. It offers a good mix of HOs and puzzles. The HOs are clear but sometimes difficult especially when you need to combine two items in the HO scene. The Hint button in this case is of no help – quite frustrating. However, it is very helpful in pointing you in the right direction. There is a map and a book recording the various events. But what really won me over was the ending – quite unexpected and delightful. Dark Strokes is really a great game, quite entertaining.
anneatplay | Added on: May 21, 2012
 
I thoroughly enjoyed this game. Lots to do, lots of scenes, but light on the backtracking. Puzzles were more time consuming than difficult, which is fine with me. It had a much more coherent story than most (in which you had moments of pity for the villain) and the HOS had purpose and were well drawn. I never replay HO games so I don't rate for that. I would recommend this to any adult; not a story for kids.
cornelius01 | Added on: May 22, 2012
 
This game has a good story line. It doesn't get boring. There is a lot of going back and forth but you really don't mind. The mini puzzles are challenging but not too hard and there is a skip button if you need it. The graphics are great. Not suitable for children. Suggest play this in the dark.
nvyank | Added on: May 21, 2012
 
This game was sheer genius. I liked having to complete specific task in order to proceed to another task and/or the hidden objects. I want to see more like this!!
mel0417 | Added on: May 21, 2012
 
The story line was new and refreshing. It struck just the right balance of mini-games and hidden object areas. I liked that you take something away from each of the hidden scenes too. It is a little difficult in areas when you need to do a small specific task but the hint button works as a directional guide as well. It was definitely easier the second time around, but still a fun play.
AidensCoolMom09 | Added on: May 22, 2012
 
This game is great! The graphics are the best I've seen and the story line is really good! Worth every penny!
judyr | Added on: July 1, 2012
 
I loved, loved, loved this game. The story, graphics and general feel of the game was one of the best I have EVER played. Captivating probably describes all aspects the best. I cannot say enough good about this game, and hope there are more to follow. Alawar, you did it again. Pat yourselves on the back for this one!
Takethater | Added on: June 26, 2012
 
Great, graphics, fab story line, super long gameplay. My only grumble is that because the game is so involved, it could do with a better map and some help to tell you if you've finished clearing an area. Otherwise it would have had a five star. You will not be disapointed if you purchase this game as it will be money well spent. Clear and colourful HO scenes, lots of interaction with objects you pick up along the way and a variety of puzzles. This is one I would deffo play again.
GameDancer | Added on: May 23, 2012
 
Another A+ for Alawar Entertainment!! You will DEFINITELY get your $$ worth adding this game to your HOG library. This is what the game offers you: 1. Not only great graphics but excellent visual effects thru out the entire game even in the HO cut scenes. 2. Speaking of HO cut scenes, they are abundant & as the game progresses they become more cleverly hidden. HO scenes are MEANINGFUL to the flow of the game and the flow of the game is superb. The game is divided into areas of several chapters...once you completed all the tasks in each of the chapter areas there will be no need to return back. There is a non interactive map; however, the hint button directs you to where you need to do a task w/in the flow of the game. The hint button does NOT lose a hint while doing this. There is some what of going back & forth BUT only w/in the chapters of that area...again, keeping the flow of the game moving smoothly. 3. Adding to this mystery is the MUSIC. Great editing of beautiful musical scores that are not repetitive intensifies the story line along with amazing sound effects. 4. There are great puzzles w/in each chapter area ranging from fairly easy to time consuming yet solvable. The puzzles have meaning to the game for the tasks needed to continue forward. There is a skip button for those who may get frustrated & surprisingly it powers fairly quickly. 5. The length of play is L-O-N-G. From the beginning at the train station to the final moments of the game where you will follow an entertaining, intriguing story line of lost love, revenge & malice on one side to undying love at all costs on the other side in this mid 1800's mystery adventure, you will spend many hours of enjoyment. I highly recommend this game suitable for late teens>adults. Start in casual mode...relax & enjoy!
Maineiac | Added on: June 2, 2012
 
The graphics, especially the cut scenes, were very well done. The storyline was decent, and the back-and-forth travels were typical for the genre. My greatest criticism is that there was very little challenge in completing the game. I played in the "expert" mode, but still found that is was boringly simple. It's a great game for younger players or for those who are just learning HO games. Experienced players may find it difficult to stay involved all the way to the end.
roxy8279 | Added on: July 23, 2012
 
This game had so much activity you can't get bored. Even though you have to visit some of the same areas at least twice it's not done in an annoying manner.
tkmorse5 | Added on: June 19, 2012
 
I really enjoyed this game! I usually get bored with hidden object games because that's all you do, but with this game it was a good combination of hidden objects and puzzles.
Cat_In_RV | Added on: October 17, 2012
 
I played this game when it first was released and just finished it a second time. This is a very involved game. There are a lot of things and places to remember that must be revisited when the correct object has been found. And the further into the game you progress, the more complicated it gets. Fortunately, the hint button will point you in the right direction without penalty. There is an excellent story here, as well as excellent graphics and music. The story pulls you forward, and you are not just moving from one HO scene to the next. The HO scenes themselves are no more than moderately difficult because the graphics are so crisp. The mini-games run from easy to moderately difficult, but all can be completed if you are patient. Some of them do take time. You can always skip them if you choose. The story line itself is neatly wrapped up without being hurried or abrupt. Altogether a very satisfying game. Not for pre-teens.
devi | Added on: May 21, 2012
 
Great game. Great graphics. Great HO scenes. Game had many portals so I was grateful the hint button guided you without using up the hint. There were many tasks to perform, but none too difficult to accomplish. Of course you always had your 'skip' button if a mini was too hard. A definite reco!
lre7 | Added on: May 22, 2012
 
I liked this game. It kept me going for a bit, but I get so tired of having to go back and forth so much -- sigh! I know a number of others love that part, so if that's your thing, you'll probably love this game. I just feel that, if I want to play an adventure game, I'll play one. But I downloaded this because it was supposed to be an HO game, then got sucked into the story and wanted to know how it ended -- grin! If going back and forth is not your thing, be advised that, while this game has a number of fun puzzles to solve, there are way too few HO scenes for my taste. The HO scenes were mildly challenging to me, mostly because the item I have in my head and what the artist has drawn don't always match -- grin! I will probably replay this at some point, but not right now, so I can't really address the replay issue. The game did seem to last quite awhile, so that's a good thing. I figured out the ending quite early and just kept playing to see how we (and the characters) got to the end. The end was pretty typical -- I wish some of these would let the characters return to a sane world before they ended, but that's probably just me. Depending on the age of the child, this is okay. No blood and guts, but a lot of fantasy bordering on magical elements.
MountainMan | Added on: February 10, 2013
 
This game has it all. Interesting and beautiful characters, a well thought out storyline that kept me captivated the whole time. The music is the best I have ever heard on a game. It is a somewhat challenging game but it is so interesting that you forget about that. It's so good that I hated for it to end. I would give it 10 stars if I could.
new2gamesNloveit | Added on: May 25, 2012
 
This is the second game I've played by Alawar Entertainment...and I must say it is fantastic! (The first game was "House of a 1000 Doors" which I now own with the free fun ticket from FunPass, because I loved it so much!) The game is immediately addictive, great graphics, storyline, the puzzles were challenging but, if you had too much of a hard time you could choose to skip. Definitely need your running shoes, you definitely go back and forth, (just like the game I named earlier), but it's great fun and I didn't mind at all! Not with this game...it was definitely worth playing again and again! This will be another game I will buy in the near future! Love Alawar and GameHouse!
LisaRCT | Added on: May 29, 2012
 
Enjoyed the play of this game quite a bit. The story and the interaction was involved to keep me playing until I finished it. Great graphics and design. Nice job!
Darlene_Vile | Added on: September 27, 2012
 
Not only does this game feature the two most attractive characters ever to hit Gamehouse (I don't care if he is fictional, Ethan is HOT!), its also a fantastic game. The graphics are really stunning, and everything is so stylized, right down to the little details. Especially the villians ("the faceless ones" they're called) who look so cool they easily could have stepped out of an awesome movie. It has a great level of variety, always with multiple things to do on each screen, and a lot of puzzles to solve. There are a lot of locations to explore, and the hint system is perfect. Its the kind that tells you where you need to go next without using up a hint. Love that, and I love this game.
Cheesemountain | Added on: September 6, 2012
 
Since playing House of 1000 doors - Family Secrets, my wife and I have gravitated towards Alawar Entertainment. Again this is an impressive game and great graphics (small details are great). Looking at the rating and where the majority lie, this we find id where we rate this game- (within the top 10% tier for hidden objects). The story is quite good and not as many, just finding objects in a group of object in one scene, The story, clues and puzzles really help this be one of the top 10 percenters of hidden objects. Note to Alawar Entertainment - We are available as beta testers for your latest software creations, We have completed eight Alawar H.O games so far - keep up the good work.
Natales | Added on: May 1, 2013
 
This was a fun game with some great twists and turns. The HO were fun and the story was enjoyable. It was great going from location to location and the hint button was great if you get stuck. Enjoyable time to be had by all
Bigboy | Added on: November 16, 2012
 
I thought this game was very good. I liked the story line and the general flow from area to area. While some of the side puzzles were moderately challenging, I found some that I had to spend some time on. And a few where I had to use the hint button.
Cluttered | Added on: August 18, 2012
 
After about 10 minutes of play, I purchased this game - and that is something I don't do alot of since I have FunPass and play most games that way. I just finished and can say it was a worth while purchase. The plot line was so interesting that I kept playing about 4 hours a day for the last 3 days. Most of the HO scenes were rather easy, but some were a little more difficult. Some had interactive items you had to find. They seemed to get more complex as the game went on. Because the graphics were so clear and wonderful I rarely resorted to the Hint button. There are many many areas that you will explore. There is the Train Crash Site, the Town and it's buildings, the Courthouse, the Forbidden City up and down, the Cemetary, the Dock and Ship, the Island and the Tower. Each of these has multiple areas in them. WOW! Just when I thought I was close to the end, there was more. There was one thing I did not like and that was that you had to go back and forth alot without the use of a map to take you there (yes I have gotten lazy using maps to move around!). There was a map, but only to look at - not to move you here and there. What I really liked was the ending was satisfying. So many games the end seems rushed and not well thought out, almost rushed. Not this game. The end ties everything completly together.I highly recommend this game. You will be thrilled and not disappointed that you wasted a credit.
gordis | Added on: July 6, 2012
 
I loved everything about this game, from the story line to the end, has good graphics and the HOG are great, not easy but not difficult either. This one is a winner!!
T_B_ | Added on: August 19, 2012
 
This is a beautiful game with amazing graphics and music. The puzzles were challenging, but not impossible. Some of the objects in the hidden object scenes were difficult to see. Great story!
smshelton | Added on: May 28, 2012
 
IT WAS A GOOD HIDDEN OBJECT GAME YOU DID NOT KNOW WHERE IT WAS GOING AND WHEN YOU GET THERE IT WAS REALLY GOOD
Mysterya | Added on: July 13, 2012
 
Beautiful Artwork and animation. The characters has presonality and depth. The stroy was fluid, no choppiness and you did not necessarily have to do everything in order. Casual mode had decent enough challenges and the HO part just right not to hard or easy.
Kathryn179 | Added on: May 28, 2013
 
The map didn't provide hints, but the hint feature provided direction. The mini-games were fun and original. The HOGs weren't too difficult, but they weren't easy either. The story was a page turner. It had me wanting to collect more figurines to find out what happened next. I really enjoyed this game. It was original and the characters were realistic looking, even their expressions were well done.