Dark Parables - Curse of Briar RoseDark Parables - Curse of Briar Rose
Number of reviews to show on each page:
20 reviews
 
Reviews of Dark Parables - Curse of Briar Rose
yelorose | Added on: July 1, 2010
 
I love, love, love this game. The first time I played it, I thought it was very well done, the graphics are super, although some of the areas are very dark. I have replayed the game several times, and hope another great one will follow. I love the fractured hidden objets, and the way the game comes together. I especially the objective being spelled at the bottom to help navigate the course. Please do a sequel.
tjnbarbour | Added on: May 14, 2010
 
I don't think that I can say enough good things about this game. It is beautifully done, graphically, and game-wise. 10 points to Blue Tea Games for their excellent work, I can't wait for the next one. The story line is so good, I couldn't stop playing, I just had to finish. I am even looking forward to playing again, and I almost never replay games. You will not be sorry for giving this one a try, it's not your regular hunt for the linst of items type of game.
rwisti | Added on: May 27, 2010
 
This is the first time I have reviewed a game. Some games are real stinkers (too fast, too simple or plain stupid) This game, however is a very interesting and fun game. Love the way you really get involved in game. Very challenging in some areas. The graphics are very good. Loved this game and cannot wait for another like this.
jillibilli | Added on: December 29, 2010
 
This is absolutely one of the best games I have played. If you like HOGs where you have to use the objects you find, then this one's for you. You find pieces of objects in the pictures and then go around Sleeping Beauty's castle to place them. The mini games are challenging and allow you access to different parts of the castle. A really challenging game that can be played several times. Need more like this!
NDSpacer | Added on: May 10, 2010
 
Loved the challenge of trying to remember all the locations. Of course I didn't follow the Inspect sequences the first go round, but did on the second 'hard' format when the hints were taken away. Great job in creating this game.
kenspunkin1 | Added on: May 17, 2011
 
This was a really fun game with a great storyline. I loved that there were lots of places to explore and that there were puzzles within the puzzles. The only reason I didn't give five stars is that the puzzles did repeat and eventually you could quickly click the pieces without much thought. I also was disappointed that after being handed the gold rose (which clearly goes down in the well) the game ends, and the hard level is the exact same game without hints. I didn't need the hints the first go around, and would have liked to go down in the well without having to replay the entire game. Overall, the game was well worth the download and did keep me glued to the screen for several hours.
Tonkatuff | Added on: June 3, 2010
 
Awesome, not as great as NancyDrew, cant wait for the next one though, it was fun
paddington43 | Added on: June 4, 2010
 
I really loved this game. I've played it so many times and I've yet to be bored. I wish Mortimer and the Lost King had been this detailed and involved....shame it wasn't...(note to the creators of the Mortimer series)! I can't wait for the sequel that was "hinted" in the game of "The Frog Prince".....If it's as good as Briar Rose I will purchase it before the demo is done LOL Absolutely 5 stars!!! I'd give it a ten if I could!
AndiJxo | Added on: June 21, 2010
 
I really enjoyed this game, usualy the games I play are time managment so you're moving quick and miss things. This game had a more relaxed pace so you could really think about what was going on.
grillieth | Added on: May 26, 2010
 
Loved this game! It wasn't hard, just a lot of fun. Original games, moved along easily and definitely kept my interest. Also has nice little change up if want to play again.
alias | Added on: November 9, 2011
 
HOG were miserable. Looking for little pieces of something else in dark corners is no fun at all. I wish I could skip the HOG. I haven't even finished the game and I don't know if I want to. The hints are slow to refill and I just want to get away from the hidden objects. So far there is not really a clear path to follow and the two games/puzzles I managed to get to were pretty easy not challenging at all.
Cybrcruzrr2 | Added on: December 7, 2011
 
I was initially skeptical because I thought it might be for kids, but once I began "Dark Parables - Curse of Briar Rose" - I found it addictive and didn't stop playing until I completed it. I did finish in one day, but aprox. 9-10 hours (with a few breaks in between. I couldn't resist playing until I completed the entire game. The graphics were excellent and there were many interactives. I muted the volume, so I can't comment on the sound track, but there were sufficient and helpful hints when struggled to find the 'next' move. Hints were sufficient. It's certainly family-friendly, except for the very young children who may become frustrated because it does require average critical thinking. The game is relatively fast-moveing if you're good with HOG, except for minimal needs for hints. You will need to look for items in different scenes to find items you'll need to take for actions in another scene. Meaning that, there are several interactive segments that will require action to complete another task. Overall, I rate it as a '4', rather than a '5', only because I thought it ended too soon: about 6-8 hours, depending upon how well you enjoy searching scenes for finding sometimes quite subtle hidden clues. Don't recall many minigames - but I'm confident that there were probably some. I ranked it a 4, instead of 5, because I would've liked it to take several days, or weeks, not hours to solve. The ending is satisfactory, but it suggests that there may be a sequel - which I certainly plan to play. ENJOY!`
ILuvCats | Added on: December 13, 2010
 
I found this game to be very addictive! The hidden object objective was to find pieces of items that you needed to complete various tasks. I also liked the way you had to travel back and forth through out the castle to complete your mission. I started out using Gamezebo's walkthrough, but less than half way through found that I didn't really need it. I found the story line very interesting and the graphics very realistic. I enjoyed this game very much and would highly recommend it.
susanw801 | Added on: May 20, 2010
 
I loved the solving of the puzzles. It's also a great memory puzzle.
Sooner_Girl | Added on: April 14, 2011
 
I really enjoyed it! It gets you involved in the storyline and has great puzzles all over the place. I wouldn't change anything. The ending does leave it open for another game like this one and I can't wait for it to come out !!! =)
Junnie | Added on: May 2, 2011
 
I bought this game a few months ago and have just finished replaying it. It has a great storyline using one of the fairytales we all grew up with...Sleeping Beauty. The graphics are great and the hidden objects are well placed and when found, form a clue for the next piece of the adventure. It has you running all over the place, to use the items you collect to finally get you to the sleeping princess. I would thoroughly recommend this game to all lovers of adventure and HO games. I also found it definitely has replay value. I enjoyed it just as much the second time around. Please developers, I'm really hanging for a sequel. I'M A FAN!
suzieq76 | Added on: September 2, 2010
 
I got SO STUCK on this game I thought about deleting it, but instead went into game forum and saw the suggestion to go to Gamezebo - which I did. With the assistance I got there, I was able to complete the game, and then I did the HARD MODE. I enjoyed the game very much with the assistance from gamezebo. I only wish the "spindle room" was included. I was even able to get in the big door down in the well. I am certainly glad I didn't delete the game.
Smedley | Added on: June 4, 2010
 
This is what we wanted when we got Mortimer & The Lost King instead! Briar is the best of many worlds: HOG that uses finding fragments to build a tool (like Mortimer & Time Paradox), great puzzles, helpful hints I(hint: try to collect cursed objects for more hints); the need to move from scene to scene to find items needed elsewhere, so many scenes to explore, it makes Mortimer & Time Paradox look easy as ABC (hint: keep track of where you are = map); all set with super graphics, haunting music, an original twist to a classic fable, set in Scotland to boot! Look for apparitions to help - or hinder - your progress! An addictive game that will keep you involved - much more thinking than clicking, yet you can move at your own pace! WOW!! Try it yourself, then buy it - like i did! Thank you, Gamehouse!!
majormojo | Added on: June 21, 2010
 
Very enjoyable. The back and forth searching and puzzles to solve made it most intriguing. A very good value. Looking to replay and the next game to follow.
me_2 | Added on: May 20, 2010
 
One of the better Hidden Object games I have played in a while. Like the fact that you have to search for stuff you need to complete a task or game and that your reward is another object needed to complete another task. Well worth the money.
Buearl | Added on: October 17, 2011
 
This was a very entertaining game. It has great graphics and challenging puzzles. I enjoyed trying to figure out how to get from place to place and find the puzzle pieces to solve the mystery.
yorkshirerose26 | Added on: June 22, 2011
 
This is good game and a nice twist on a child's fairy tale. It is fairly standard hybrid of HOG and adventure, but the other puzzles are good and taxing and whilst some are 'tried and tested' others I have not seen before and consequently were challenging and fun. The main game took me around seven hours to complete, but then once you had finished this there was a hard mode. This was basically the same game without the 'hint' feature, this was where the problem for me arose and I didn't therefore complete the whole game. In hard mode the puzzles were obviously harder and with no chance of skipping (due to there being no hint mode), it tended to spoil the enjoyment of what may have been a good finish. The 'second run through' just seemed to be a re-hash of the first, puzzles were the same (except the colour ball - to tiles one were harder (which is where I quit)) even the Briar was a ghost again (and the same verse was used). This left it for me a tad disjointed and took the 'fun factor' out of what had been up until then a good game. I didn't get all the 'cursed objects' though so may have been an extra in that. Good but beware of the hard mode.
tigergirl2uk | Added on: May 24, 2010
 
I downloaded this game to get it a try and would've deleted it if it wasn't any good. I loved it from the very first click on Play. It loads up fast and gets into the storyline really quickly. You have to use brainpower throughout much of this game and that makes it so enjoyable. Not a flash game but really well thought out game and I completed it in two days as I was so engrossed with it. 10/10 for the designers - more like this one please!! Jenny Bury St Edmunds, England
carsodp | Added on: May 27, 2010
 
Loved this game! Wasn't unbeatable but not a pushover either. Loved the "replay" and "no hints" is challenging. A good value for your money. Glad that I got it.
Jem888 | Added on: May 11, 2010
 
Loved it! Loved it! Loved it! Best game I've played to date. Excellent graphics, lots of interactive puzzles that weren't too complicated to figure out. I love games where you travel back and forth between locations to complete pieces to progress further in the game. I absolutely could not walk away from this one. When I turned off the game it was all I could think about and as soon as I finished playing it through the first time I started to play it again, which I have NEVER done with a game before. It makes me wish there was another fairy tale game to solve by the same developers.
Illogical | Added on: May 28, 2010
 
When playing HOB games I'm use to my objects being found with text as oppose to similar images. It wasn't too bad but it made things very easy to find. Curse of Briar Rose is a smooth play. Aside from loading, the game had no jerky moments. Beautiful! I mean beau Ti full graphics. Obviously, the created put in work! The mini games are pretty tricky but not extremely challenging.
Marymay | Added on: May 21, 2010
 
I loved this game as it made you think throughout and it lasted a while. Value for money
peacefrogdd | Added on: May 10, 2010
 
I absolutely loved this game!! I will play it again and again!! I want more games like this I couldnt stop playing . I went to bed and found myself laying there after an hour not being able to think of anything else but the game, I got up and played more, before I knew it, it was 4am..lol I just didn't want to stop:)
sambosbinky | Added on: May 17, 2010
 
I really loved this game, it was well worth its price. If you like being involved in a game,this is one for you.
cmcnaul | Added on: May 26, 2010
 
I was first skeptical whether this game would be the challenge that I look for in the hidden games category. It was longer than I expected, so I feel I didn't get punked for my ticket worth. There's nothing that upsets me more than to spend a ticket for a short, *#@rappy game. The game took me several hours, and days to complete. It is challenging, you have to go in and out of areas to find clues. Once finished in the first game, the harder mode is harder. And the hints aren't as available, so use the quit game, get some coffee and go back to the game later and you just might find that last piece. I look forward to the sequel the Frog Prince.
Rapatorette | Added on: June 3, 2010
 
I was always finding a reason to go back to the game. It was on my mind 24/7 and kept me in a mode to solve the mystery. My comment to those who are wanting to play this game is be sure to remember where everything is cause the second part is much more challenging..Really a great game.
Ridindawind | Added on: March 27, 2012
 
I thoroughly enjoyed every minute of gameplay. This game has everything you could ask for in a HOG and then some. I am not going to go into a full review of this wonderful game, just let it be said that you will miss out on several hours of one of the best games offered by GH if you dont download and play it. I have only one Question, BOTH SEQUELS TO THIS GAME HAVE BEEN AVAILABLE FOR SOME TIME NOW,. WHY HAS GAMEHOUSE NOT OFFERED THESE GAMES TO US??????
sybshere | Added on: June 28, 2010
 
This is a really riveting game. I was delighted when I managed to get through the second part of it without clues. I'd reccomend it to anyone who likes hidden object/adventure games.
ddwalsh2009 | Added on: May 10, 2010
 
was not the best game.really short glad i didnt buy this one played with fun pass.overall waste of time do not buy..
pgillenw | Added on: November 8, 2010
 
Wonderful game! Enjoyed immensely. There must be a sequel. To the development team great work! This game was playable on my old as dirt system. I was impressed that the program behaved well as I roamed the castle and its grounds. Great programming. I selected Kid Friendly because the 12 and above ground could handle and be challenged. Again, quite a production!
PipCat | Added on: February 15, 2011
 
Wow! What an awesome game! It's like a good book you can't put down until you've finished it. This one is VERY involved and there are so many locations I wish I would have made a map right from the beginning instead of retracing my steps in order to put one together. Unless you're willing to give up several meals and lose some sleep, it's not a game that you'll finish in one sitting so its length alone gives it good value. HOs come in pieces (much like the first 2 Mortimer Beckett adventures) and finding all of the small pieces can be very challenging. There's good replay value as well since I know I didn't find all of the cursed objects the first time around. Well worth the price of admission and if you like long involved games this one's for you! Hoping there's a sequel in the works!
Raynbo5858 | Added on: May 7, 2010
 
I really liked this HOG. It reminded me of the Dream Chronicals series, which is what got me hooked on HOGs and by which I set my standard. The graphics are great, the settings are beautiful, and the music is relaxing. You have to find pieces of objects. Hints are plentiful. Mini games make you think but they don't make you crazy. This games also has hints for the mini puzzles if you need them.
66mustangsally | Added on: October 17, 2011
 
I really liked this game. Would have given it five stars but I didn't particularly like the backtracking to other scenes. It would have been nice to have a map or something to "transport" to the other places, not just the one "transporter" between only two places. The graphics were outstanding. Loved the storyline. Had trouble with the locks/mini-games so I skipped those. Just couldn't figure them out. I like a relaxing gaming experience since I usually play at night before bed (main reason I don't like the gruesome games...nightmares!). If I get too frustrated, I just skip through. Finished the game in about 3 hours so I wish it was a bit longer. Ending was anti-climactic but I would still recommend this game. Would definitely play another Dark Parables game.
wenz | Added on: May 17, 2010
 
This is the best kind of game for me - where you pick things up and use them in other places and involves a bit of thinking - not just boring lists of things to find!
austchast | Added on: April 14, 2011
 
From what I have played of it so far it is vary good and challenging. Love Hidden Objects games and this is a good game.
Tuutiki | Added on: July 20, 2012
 
I like this game because there were some things challenging and some things easy. I could progress with hints as needed and take in the artistry of each scene. Fixin' to do the hard mode and it will probably be just as enjoyable although no more hints. This was a very G rated game in my opinion and also entertaining.
lilcows | Added on: January 14, 2011
 
The backgrounds are nicely detailed. I had to use the hint a few times for some items. The bonus games were fairly easy compared to other games, but a nice break in-between levels. Finished the game in about 3 hours. Will definitely replay.
Natales | Added on: June 25, 2012
 
This game had a cute story but, it was not my favorite HO game at all. I don 't like when the whole game is just finding the pieces versus objects. The directions were good though. Graphics were good as well,just not my cup of tea.
elaineorni | Added on: May 11, 2010
 
This game kept me so fascinated that I went through it in several hours, only stopping to sleep -- like Sleeping Beauty! The one and only glitch was a game where they said, "Put the balls above the related tile." What they meant is to put the ball on top of the tile. Once that's done, the rest is very intriguing, making you think, but rewarding you, and it's good for your memory getting all around the rooms in and out of the castle. Bravo! Well done.
brownsnapper | Added on: May 20, 2010
 
Dark Parables - Curse of Briar Rose is a unique and different game....I started out 'just playing the free game'....I was too far gone when that hour was up and I couldn't turn back...I felt like I was walking the streets of the town and could almost hear my footsteps in the quiet of the Church vestry....I want another Dark Parable....and I want it now.....in other words.........GREAT GAME
pike | Added on: October 6, 2011
 
Marvelous game well worth my every second attention with very well planned puzzles and extremely wonderful graphics.Truely worth playing and looking forward for more Dark Parables games in the very near future.Well done
moosey51 | Added on: January 23, 2013
 
The review of Red Riding Hood was fun to play. The Hidden objects were great. When that is all you play a good one comes around once in a while.
Mareseatoats | Added on: May 20, 2010
 
I love puzzles and this game fits the bill pretty well. I want to use my brain and finding items isn't fun for me but solving puzzles is.
Pandora1111 | Added on: March 30, 2011
 
This is a game that I totally fell in love with. It is so worth its money. The graphics are so stunning that I often found myself hanging around in a scene without anything to do and just looking. You have to 'walk' a lot, but that I didn't mind due to the gorgeous scenes. The music is well-chosen and not irritating. Some of the puzzles can be a bit repetetive, but this has been changed in the game's sequel Dark Parables:The exiled Prince. For both games I can honestly say that a Prememium Edition would be worth the extra money. I'm already looking forward to the next one, which they are working on already and hopefully many more to come.
roxy8279 | Added on: September 19, 2011
 
Hidden object games are fun whether it's pieces of an object or complete objects. I hate when people complain excessively it's either too hard or not hard enough. This game is right. It was fun and smooth. Not confusing.
squeakweir | Added on: October 4, 2010
 
One of my fav HOG! Plenty of puzzling and having to work things out, whilst searching different scenes. Really enjoyed this game and was sorry to see it end!! 10/10
Kazr | Added on: November 10, 2010
 
I absolutely loved this game, I was totally hooked from the start, it was challenging at times but I could not leave it for hours, I wanted to see how it finished. I have dozens of Hidden games & would put this in my top 10. I throughly recommend this game to anyone who enjoys having to use their mind to get to the finished result.
GamerNo1 | Added on: December 10, 2010
 
This is one of my favorite hidden object games. It is challenging, innovative, and a sheer delight to play. It tells the classic story of Sleeping Beauty in a spooky sort of way.
marzbar | Added on: October 24, 2011
 
I enjoyed this game, it kept me engaged and the mixture of different puzzles kept it interesting. Only disappointment for me was opening the door in the well once in hard mode...I thought there would be more there.
wagannon | Added on: May 6, 2010
 
Great game - too short :-) Enjoyed the game and the inquire button helped when I was stuck for where to go next.
Mimi77 | Added on: May 7, 2010
 
This game is wonderful. It kind of reminded me of the first two Mortimer Beckett Games and was just as enjoyable. Lots of fun and it's hard to stop once you start playing.
Cathy54 | Added on: June 11, 2010
 
I enjoy playing this game over and over. I suppose I will get tired of playing it but, I have already played 10 times!
sportygal2009 | Added on: May 17, 2010
 
WOW! Talk about being addicted to a game - LOL! OMG! This game drew me in right from the get go. One of the best I've ever downloaded as it has an AWESOME story, great graphics... JUST WOW! I couldn't stop playing this. I loved traveling from location to location finding things to unlock other things and rooms! I will admit it definitely got challenging and really thinky on what to do next at times but I just LOVE this game. The so called "hidden object" part of the game was actually finding pieces of items so you could use in scenes but most of that was pretty easy; I used few hints for that. Just figuring out where to go next was the challenge and thinky at times. From the ending looks like a sequel is coming. I sure hope so and also don't have to wait too long for it. This game definitely ROCKS and another BOMB game. Way to go Gamehouse as you ROCK also! Please continue to bring similar games to this to the game site here.
Hillbilly_Gal | Added on: October 14, 2010
 
I'm a mother and a grandmother in my late 50s. I play games from Gamehouse.com to relax after spending my day being "Mom's Taxi Service" and "Grandma's Taxi Service." I played the free trial of this game and I hated to see it end so I bought it at around 5:00 p.m. My husband finally came out of the bedroom around 4:00 a.m. the following morning and asked me if I was going to come to bed. I completely lost track of the time because I was so involved in this game. By Chapter 12 I had to go to Gamezebo.com to complete this game because I got stuck. Thanks to the strategy guide on Gamezebo.com I was able to finish this game the next morning. I played this game the 1st time with the name "Mom" and am now playing this game again under the name "Grandma". This game is as challenging and addictive for me now as it was the first time I played it (smile!). I love it! (For me, this is a rare occurence.)
JPGamer | Added on: October 10, 2011
 
I do not like hidden object games where you hunt for randomm useless objects in odd places. This game has you hunt for peices of the objects needed to solve the mystery behind the Sleeping Beauty tale. The puzzles were not so challenging that you had to give up or look online for cheats yet they were not mindless- you had to think things through. I enjoy the Mortimer games and this game reminds me ofthem but with a darker story line. I look forward to more games on this series.
simango | Added on: May 13, 2010
 
Excellent! the best game yet!! highly recommend this for everyone enjoying a challenge. Everything about the game was over the top, graphics, color, clarity, style, i look forward to their next game
BJ143143 | Added on: May 17, 2010
 
After playing the trial I knew I was going to buy the game. Enjoyed every bit of it. Hated it when I finished the game. Leaves you wanting more. Excellent.
pcpat | Added on: April 3, 2012
 
Not being a fan whatsoever of fragmented objects, I gave this game a shot and made the purchase. Glad I did so!! Either the fragmented objects got easier or I got better playing. Although still not a fan of fragmented, Briar Rose delivers a top-rated satisfying gaming experience!!
Harlowe1962 | Added on: April 26, 2011
 
This was a fun game. I enjoyed playing it. I remember playing it some time ago but forgot to review it. It took forever to download...I didn't understand that. After waiting all that time I realized that I had played it already.
turnergang | Added on: June 3, 2010
 
Made you think alot. Kept going to other areas then back where you were. Captivating and fun! And then it has more! Love it!
andiegirl6 | Added on: January 10, 2012
 
This was a nice fun game. Not too hard, not too easy. The storyline was minimal without long scenes of dialogue, which I liked. The HO scenes are finding parts of objects for building. Some pieces were very small and difficult to find, while other scenes were fairly easy. Puzzle content was good for me. I get annoyed if there are more puzzles than HO scenes. It was great having the "inspect" instead of running all over the map looking for the next HO scene. I enjoyed playing this game but don't see it as one with great replay value.
katesgram | Added on: November 8, 2010
 
I liked this game but I was very disappointed to find I couldn't play the bonus game because it is only available in the collector's edition. I played all the way through and got the gold rose and I thought that if I played the hard version of the game and used the gold rose that that would open up the bonus game but it didn't. Other than that it was an enjoyable game.
Fanob | Added on: June 17, 2010
 
Though I am not a fan of HOGs which involve hunting for hunks of things....the good graphics, challenges and mini games made it worthwhile. the task guide and story line, were extremely well done..enough to give some direciton to keep you from wandering aimlessly, but clever enough to make you do your own thinking. I would gladly do another "Dark Parable" if this were to become a series.
sooner | Added on: May 20, 2010
 
a really good game to play,it difently chalanges your brain,and you really have to pay attetion for the morphing objects i found 17 out of 20.a very fun game ,i highly recomend it
Nancydv | Added on: May 19, 2010
 
This is a fun, game with beautiful graphics! It is challenging because you have remember where things are & travel around the different scenes over & over to complete the game. Once completed you wish it lasted longer!!
WilmaG | Added on: December 4, 2012
 
This game was def worth downloading! It actually took me almost two days to play through it, which was great fun, but a bummer to end. You've got to pay attention to locations, of what you'll need where. The story line was terrific, easy to get into and understand. Although it'd be tough for a youngster, there's nothing in this game that would offend anyone.
tatts15 | Added on: November 8, 2010
 
I only found out about gamehouse a few days ago and this game was the 2nd free game download. I am totally addict it is the best game I have ever played
MirabileDictu | Added on: May 28, 2010
 
Thoroughly enjoyed this game! I liked the "real" story behind Sleeping Beauty... kind of like The E True Hollywood Story. Good story, nice gameplay, and some challenging puzzles make for a very good time. Worth adding to your HOG/Puzzle collection.
Christina_1973 | Added on: July 23, 2011
 
I absolutely loved this game!! It could got confusing at times if you didnt pay attention to where you had been and how to get back to that point. There were times I had to write things down on a piece of scratch paper. Pace was good, it made you think, but help was available if you got stuck. I can't wait for the sequel.
Corylea | Added on: August 8, 2011
 
The premise of the game is fairly interesting, but the actual hidden object searches are pretty dull. Instead of searching for whole objects, the player searches for pieces of objects. And these objects are usually all the same color, hidden on top of a background that's all the same color. Finding 16 pieces of wood that are hidden on top of other pieces of wood or a dozen pieces of metal that are hidden on top of other pieces of metal just isn't very interesting.
Angel37128 | Added on: October 12, 2010
 
I really liked this game! It was fun to figure out things throughout the whole game. I thought the game was a little too short, but overall, I liked it. I also though that is was very challenging.
RandiM | Added on: May 7, 2010
 
I got the demo for this game and loved it, it had great puzzles and beautiful graphics. The only problem was it was a little repitative, hence the 4.
MoniqueStuivy | Added on: April 7, 2011
 
This was a great game. Playing it the second time was even better since you cannot use any hints.
outlawyer | Added on: May 10, 2010
 
Great adventure maping looping game. The graphics are attractive. Only drawback is minigames are not too interesting. But a very enjoyable original game.
firefly | Added on: May 24, 2010
 
I thought it was a fun game, nice graphics. Not too hard, but still made you think.
sansan | Added on: January 20, 2011
 
I felt the game was too easy and was over too fast. I played the hard version but that was basically the same puzzles as the first but with no hints. It wasn't that hard. At the end I felt there was more to come because some of the rooms weren't really finished but once I found the Frog Prince there wasn't really anything left to do. There are also too many hints and you are allowed to skip over puzzles (with a small penalty). It's a good concept but really it wasn't that different from other hidden object type games. It left me thinking, okay, that was good, but is that all there is?
tabbycat9990 | Added on: May 11, 2010
 
This was a great game, very addictive! There are so many rooms and challenges, it can get a bit confusing at times with the castle and grounds being so huge, but well worth the play. Good graphics and storyline.
ramones73 | Added on: June 3, 2010
 
A new spin on the sleeping beauty,I like that it is a darker,creeper than the fairytale.I could not stop playing it and now I am playing the hard mode.I highly recommend this game.
bebsymanith | Added on: June 2, 2010
 
I love the game so much!!!! the graphics, sounds, tricky disguise and above of all the story line is very very entertaining. so people, don't hesitate, buy it! its worth every penny u spend!!!
carolynrodgers | Added on: September 1, 2011
 
This game is intriguing. It holds the attention of the player. The storyline is good.
justwhisper | Added on: June 3, 2010
 
I enjoyed playing this game because it was more challenging than most hidden object games. Curse of Briar Rose has puzzles that really make you think, and it challenges your memory while trying to find your way around the various rooms and buildings. I do not think I would recommend this game for young children but young teens and older should enjoy it. The only thing I dislike about this hidden object game is that once you complete it in normal and hard mode there is nothing else to do and there is no real challenge any more. But it is a great game and I thoroughly enjoyed playing it.
RubyScarlett | Added on: June 3, 2010
 
I enjoyed this game because you not only had hidden objects to find, you also had to go back and forth to areas already played and there would be something new. You had to use objects in different scenes from where you found them. Keeps you on your toes!
Minxski | Added on: July 20, 2010
 
Really enjoyed this one, the graphics are great, the story involved and all together challenging and addictive. You have to find parts of items to put together to open new scenes or free items (HOGs are pictures). The items make sense and the scenes wonderful to search in. There is also the promise of more stories to come. Can't wait for a sequel!
jansresearch | Added on: June 17, 2010
 
The story of sleeping beauty is well known. The music and graphics do not depart from the fairy tale. I thought the graphic detail excellent!
S_p_l | Added on: September 15, 2011
 
This game is what made me a fan of Blue Tea Games publishing company. Their games are virtually flawless, and are true works of art, much like story books come alive. Like Curse of Briar Rose, the story-lines are well developed, the games are lengthy without dragging, the graphics are top notch, and the ambiance music/sound is always lovely. There is always a character of interest behind the story that captures the attention of the player, coaxing them to play on and discover more of that character's role in the plot. The puzzles were the right blend of challenging and logical, and finding objects was fairly simple. The only small qualm I had with this game is the amount of backtracking necessary to solve the puzzles, and investigate areas of interest in each scene. However, this is to be expected in a lengthier game. They are games one can play again and again. The graphics are so detailed, there is always something new to discover. The length of the game helps in replay value as it's difficult to remember what needs to be done to complete each scene. I absolutely recommend this game, as well as other Blue Tea Games, such as Dark Parables: Curse of the Exiled Prince and Macabre Mysteries: Curse of the Nightingale.
starblossom | Added on: September 8, 2010
 
I'm a big fan of hidden object games, so it isn't easy for me to rate 5 stars. I really liked the way this game played out...there are a lot of items to find but I like that you basically know what you are looking for. I wish they would have shown more with the godmothers/king and queen once she was awoken, but overall I had a great time playing.
rockingl | Added on: September 17, 2011
 
I like these games that are not too easy and yet not too hard. Lots of back and forth action to keep you on your toes. I needed to ask for help near the end. Ending was a let down but still enjoyed playing.
Realith | Added on: January 23, 2013
 
I liked the scenario and the puzzles. The Hidden object scenes are also very interesting. It's a good game.
diane999 | Added on: June 2, 2010
 
I loved this game from start to finish, very addictive as i ended up staying up late to finish it :) then went straight into the hard mode. can't wait for the next one "frog prince" hope its just as good. more games like this would be great :)
Carolg | Added on: August 14, 2012
 
The most involved HOG I have played. Quite difficult going backwards and forwards at ties, but the teleporter helped once I had found it. This game really made me think and was very good value. At the end of the first hour I thought the game was nearly over, but I had not uncovered 25% of the layers within the game. well worth the money.
vistagil123 | Added on: May 10, 2010
 
Excellent game, would play it again. The only part I didn't like is the ending...not knowing for sure if there is a sequal in the works with the "Frog Prince"? I really enjoyed the puzzles in the game. They are fairly difficult but not to the point where you get frustrated trying to solve them. Also if you drag the objects onto the hint button they will show you where is should be used. What an anwesome feature. Some parts of the game were a little dark so some objects are very hard to find. Would recommend this game, I couldn't get enough so I played all night to get to the end.
PRISCILAT | Added on: May 17, 2011
 
This is the best game I have ever played. THE SAME BUT DIFFERENT!!! The game have something special and magic. Is very, very good.
sinergy1 | Added on: August 27, 2010
 
I loved this game! It was a great challenge that kept me involved and thinking to find the answers!
papagino | Added on: June 15, 2010
 
I found this game to be extremely mind-challenging and entertaining. Some difficulties with knowing how to proceed but patience leads to solutions.
embrisa | Added on: January 9, 2012
 
I really enjoyed playing this game. The graphics in this game were amazing and the storyline easy to follow a long. The game play was not too hard, nor easy.. just kind of right in the middle. I finished the game in about three hours. Finding the hidden objects were always fairly simple as was the mini-games. I would suggest this game for somebody who is a beginner or just looking for some cool, casual fun.
SilverSuki | Added on: May 12, 2010
 
So far I've only played the trial time, but I think I'm probably going to have to get this one! I'm not normally much of a fan of HOs, they have to have an edge for them to appeal to me, either some originality, an extra dimension to them or just very good quality. This is very good quality, so far I would rate it on a par with Mortimer Beckett I think, or maybe even Dream Chronicles, as you have a lot of freedom of movement and can to go back to previous scenes to do things you weren't able to do earlier. Only criticism so far - it's maybe a little too easy? But in this game it just makes it feel fun to play and keeps the action/progress going. It's also interesting and appealing - so far I haven't got bored by too much talking/storytelling or irritated by annoying characters; since I am notoriously hard to please and easy to annoy, you should take this as high praise indeed and give this one a go!
gardenfrek | Added on: May 7, 2010
 
My husband and I enjoyed playing this game alot!! We finished it in less than two hours but it was great - very original and addictive - like the other reviewer - I didn't want it to end. Need more like this one.
Angelique1971 | Added on: April 4, 2013
 
I did not care for this game as much as others. I prefer looking for whole objects as opposed to pieces and the searches were many. Visually I think it is lacking. Broad open scenes with little to do in each. What's worse, is that the Hint button is inactive during regular game play. Although, an "Inspect" button displays HO scenes you need to visit and sometimes offers an objective hint to help you along. My weakness is navigation and this game helped little with that. I was often unsure how to get to my next destination. I thought the story would be more interesting but I found myself getting bored. These things are only my opinion and I'm sure that there are lots of players who would disagree with me. It's probably worth trying yourself if it sounds like your type of game.
DarkChylde | Added on: May 28, 2010
 
I really love this game! I downloaded it late at night, thinking I would play a little, get some sleep, then play more the next day ....... NOT! I was up till the wee hours as I couldn't stop! Now my spouse is playing the game, and he was almost late for work today because he didn't want to stop, either. The graphics are enchanting. I found the whole experience entertaining from beginning to end. Some of the pieces were in dark places, and that was the only time I needed hints. A great storyline, getting rid of the curse (therefore, waking Sleeping Beauty). Lush scenery and many places to test your search and puzzle skills. I can't say enough how much fun I had! I look forward to the next story, Frog Prince! Keep these kind of games coming!
bayouwife | Added on: July 21, 2011
 
This is one of the better Hidden Object Games. Not to hard but still challenging enough to keep you interested. Have not yet finished but am loving it.
nermal | Added on: September 26, 2011
 
I play a lot of hidden object games, find most of them very redundant or even boring after a few minutes into them, especially when the story become either too much, or totally lacks. This one had a nice balance of challenge, beautiful graphics and a fun story. There is a lot of backtracking to do but it's overall not too complicated, yet will take a normal person a few hours to clear without hints (between 2-3 hours for sure). The ending is a bit of a let down but I am looking forward to the next chapter.
TaraPiccola | Added on: January 7, 2011
 
Loved it! Would like more games like this. Like the mini games inside the story. The hints let you know where to go next. Great time.
SUZsaysHi | Added on: May 8, 2010
 
This was just an ok game for me. I have played a lot better. The graphics were good. I just took way too long going from place to place. I will not be purchasing it
rchrdtppr | Added on: May 10, 2010
 
Very much like Empress of the Deep. You could go back and forth, find new items, use them in different scenes. You have to have a good memory since there is no 'map' to return you to specific scenes. The games were more challenging than those I played in other HOGs, but overall I played it in a days time. Not difficult at all. It went quickly and I like the music - relaxing. It was a good value because I got it for free. Not really a favorite, but definitely not a sinker like Titanic.
calypso601 | Added on: April 7, 2011
 
I don't usually like HO games that much but this one was fun. The graphics were very good and the puzzles were just challenging enough to hold my interest. My only complaint is that the "hard" version of the game is just the same game but with no hints. I didn't really need the hints the first time so it was exactly the same for me.
LarryKim | Added on: May 26, 2010
 
I love this game. It is one of the best I've played in a long time. My grandchildren like to play with me and they Never want to stop for anything. It is hard to leave it unfinished.
emi1 | Added on: May 7, 2010
 
this was a challenging game. while some of the pieces of objects were easy to find, others were very difficult. it evened out. the story was intriguing. you just want to see how it ends. the graphics were amazing. there were enough hints-and along the inspect button (showed u the places u needed to search to finish a chapter)- i didn't get frustrated as i sometime do with games like this. i say this i definantly a keeper...
Iona | Added on: May 21, 2010
 
Really enjoyed this game - well worth the money and great that you have to find things to actually use during the game - makes you think!
purplecak | Added on: May 17, 2010
 
This game reminded me a lot of the "Myst" series from way back when. There are a lot of puzzles, you have to figure out exactly where everything goes and you collect tools and items along the way. There's a lot of backtracking because you're always finding new objects to place. The storyline is really interesting. The pictures are a teeny bit creepy, so that was fun to play in the middle of the night with all my lights turned off! However, I will say that if you like a nice, laid back Hidden Object game... this one probably isn't for you. Some of the hidden pieces were downright EVIL. I have a 30" monitor, and some items were still only a quarter of an inch high. Scenes are very dark, and the items will be shadowed and color-corrected to blend into the background. There are a few items that I had to use a hint for because neither my husband nor I could find them after looking for ten minutes straight, and when it was revealed we were both yelling "are you kidding me?!" at the computer. Great game though. Just really tricky sometimes. Other times, it was just the right difficulty. Didn't give it a kid-friendly rating because I think it would be too frustrating for a child, plus, it is a little bit dark and spooky. Play it with your older kids though!
wendycwill | Added on: May 20, 2010
 
This was an AWESOME game. It challenged me greatly and I am a "hidden object" addic, so much so I usually purchase my games. This game was long, with many levels, there should be more games like this.
Lisa522 | Added on: November 15, 2010
 
Hauntingly beautiful and wonderful game - great theme. You are investigating the case of Sleeping Beauty, and an enchanted castle which is under a curse causing it to slowly be engulfed by thorns (unless you can hurry and help!). The scenes are beautifully crafted with hand-drawn graphics, the music very fitting (has a beautiful but quite haunted appeal to it and very fitting to the storyline). The game pretty much consists of extremely well-done FROG scenes - this is a first for me - not the part about the FROG scenes but I have never seen them done so well - they are not too easy, not too hard, and not impossible to find. Even the items you are assembling are more interesting than normal. There are many puzzles throughout the game - every one that I did was completely unique - some were quite involved but in a fun way. There are many locations that you unlock as you proceed further in the story. Lots of areas that require multiple pieces before you can fully unlock the area. There are unexpected animations and even bonus items to find (cursed objects which usually are a piece within a scene that is suddenly subtly animated). I found this game to be perfect along the challenge scale - I didn't feel frustrated, yet I didn't automatically know all of the answers. Demo time FLEW by, felt like I only played about 15 minutes, was truly an hour. I finished the demo at chapter 3, quickly purchased and am now up to chapter 4. Highly recommend this game
maryd | Added on: September 20, 2010
 
Enjoyed this thoroughly and sat up late with it. One of the best I've bought and definitely worth it.
kmpuff | Added on: May 20, 2010
 
Good puzzles, not too hard or too easy, not too short. Would have been helpful to be able to use hints in mini-games, but the ability to skip the puzzle was nice.
Monkeygus | Added on: June 17, 2010
 
Whenever a game comes along that involves a fairy tale, I've got to know what the story line is. This one did not disappoint. Interesting concept, without being scary (so the kids can play it too). There was more thinking involved than the average hidden object game, but not so much that you'd have to use a cheat book.... which was a nice change of pace. No time limits, so you can actually enjoy the scenery. My only negative comment would be that the ending was sort of disappointing, but it left it open for the next game in the series (YEAH!). Can't wait! I would highly recommend this game. Beautiful artwork, good storyline, and challenging.
globug | Added on: July 18, 2011
 
I LOVED this game. Loved the graphics, the story, the mini games. all of it! played it over and over. never get tired of it. waiting for the next one!
Takethater | Added on: May 10, 2010
 
Wow! What a game. So much to do and so much to explore! I couldn't stop playing it. There are so many rooms to go to and find to aid you in your quest that you do wander around a lot - you need a map or a good memory. But that's not a bad thing, it's all part of the fun. Make up objects you need by clicking on the bits to assemble it then think where the object needs to go. There's a helpful "inspect" button which shows you which room(s) you need to head for - but don't make it too easy for yourself. Great little puzzles thrown in for good measure. A very long well thought out game - it's even hinting at a sequel at the end of the game to save the Frog Prince. Can't wait. It you like Mortimer Beckett you will love this.
Ms_Nae2U | Added on: May 6, 2010
 
I really enjoyed this game! It was not a dull game and I hated when the game was over. One of the best hidden object games I've played.
SRoyer82 | Added on: September 16, 2011
 
I loved this game. I agree there was lots of backtracking but it was still such a wonderful story and such good puzzles that I couldn't tear myself away I beat it the the first time in about 3 hours and then it took me about 4 in the hard mode. i loved the graphics and the secret room. I can't wait for the Exiled Prince. Great hidden Object Game
rellenh | Added on: June 14, 2010
 
This game is challenging but if you've a good memory, it'll be fun. The story is very interesting, too. One of my all-time favorite games!
gina62 | Added on: June 16, 2010
 
I was very involved in this game. I couldn't get enough. after completing all chapters and completing the chapters with no clues or hints, I wanted more but that was the end of the game I guess. I was looking for the frog prince but I guess thats another game. Over all I simply loved it.For me, if it was a book it would be unputdownable.
glgulette | Added on: June 4, 2010
 
Very interesting game with lots of challenging parts to figure out and remember.
jules_510 | Added on: May 6, 2010
 
I have been waiting for this game to hit GameHouse! I loved this game when I played the preview on another site.
muise4 | Added on: January 21, 2011
 
I stayed on here for hours the first time. You keep finding all kinds of objects. It's almost like going into a strange house and peeping around at things.You may not know what a hidden object is for for at the time, but you will need them throughout the journey. Things are not impossible to find like many other games. One of the best HOB I've played
tlb3900 | Added on: December 3, 2010
 
I thoroughly enjoyed this game. It was a little tricky at first because I was used to playing games where you just had to find things and there was no plot to follow, but as I consulted the journal and kept playing it got much easier. Looking at the journal is key. The game was not too easy, but not too hard either. I also enjoyed the story, although it wasn't much of a mystery, more of an adventure. I was hoping for more of a resolution at the end, but oh well. It was still fun. Can't wait till they come out with the one about the from prince!
GeekMom | Added on: May 10, 2010
 
I loved the dark fairy tale atmosphere. The game mechanics reminded me of the first two Mortimer Beckett games. The story sequences are all voice overs, so no annoying dialog to click through. You search for pieces of objects that create one whole object. The pieces were often fairly difficult to find. You then use this object to solve a puzzle, such as using a broom to sweep debris. This might uncover another object or a mini-game. You did have to revisit scenes several times. The scenes were gorgeous enough that I didn't mind. The Inspect feature shows you where to go look for the pieces. However, it would have be nicer if the characters in the story offered clues as to where to look. There are also several mini-games that you can choose to skip. One mini-game that was repeated was rolling balls into specific squares. It was fairly difficult for me the first time and I ended up skipping the others. The game is based on a dark fairy story, so has ghosts and is a bit scary for young children, but no violence takes place. This game lacks the strong story line that would make it a five star game. I enjoyed wandering around the castle and the puzzles were lovely and at times challenging. However, while the tasks I performed gradually unfolded the mysteries of the castle, I never felt I was unfolding a story. The ending of the game promises a sequel. I think this game could be five stars if the story was better integrated.
Debonair | Added on: March 29, 2011
 
Unlike many other reviewers here, I was not overly thrilled with this game for a number of reasons. First, the good: the graphics were very nice and crisp and the background music was enjoyable. The plot was engaging and of course you want to play to the end to wake up Sleeping Beauty. I didn't care for the HO where you had to find all these little pieces of things to put items together. The first couple of times was fine but after awhile it was nothing but annoying. There is a lot of back and forth in this game, sometimes without much logic behind it. As others have said, make a map. There was not much to explore in each room--usually just one object, although sometimes you'd go back later for something else. The game gives pictures of rooms you have to inspect for each chapter, but the pictures are so small it's almost impossible to tell what they are. My biggest gripe was the fact that there were no plot hints. If you're stuck and are not sure where to go--well, you are stuck. The hint button will keep telling you what your goal is but not where to go/how to get it. I play HO a lot and I had to go find a walkthrough for the last chapter, which was very frustrating. I feel if you need a walkthrough then it isn't well-programmed (my opinion).
jeffro | Added on: December 7, 2010
 
Definitely an entertaining game. I enjoy the colors and the graphic clarity and detail, as well as the challenge. I wanted more so I guess it is mildly addictive!
ArmyStrong | Added on: February 25, 2013
 
They did a great job with the story and the graphics. A little twist on the HO objects was a nice and different treat while playing this game. Well done!
dawncline2000 | Added on: May 17, 2010
 
This game is well made with an enjoyable story! The only complaint I have is that in spots it is very dark which makes it near impossible to not have to use a hint! But the game makes up for that by making it fun and leaves the possiblity for a sequel great game fun story and fun relaxing play
Stair3way2heaven | Added on: June 17, 2010
 
I loved this game. I found it to be refreshing, interesting, and fun to spend time with. I can't wait for a sequel.
new2gamesNloveit | Added on: May 23, 2012
 
The fragmented hidden objects puzzles took a little getting use to and at times were quite challenging; but...I did get use to it quite quickly. I really enjoyed this game and had a wonderful time playing twice in a row! The story is good, the puzzles are challenging but not overwhelming. And, the layout is workable. I enjoyed it!
Goldean | Added on: January 13, 2012
 
I'm a sucker for princess games, and this one delivers a great overall experience.
NetreaB | Added on: July 28, 2011
 
I love hog's and this excites my inner child. First Dark Parables game and looking forward to others. Keep up the great selections.
denkat72 | Added on: May 10, 2010
 
I enjoyed this game and did get very involved. You need to think of where each item you collect would go and while it was challening, it was too difficult. Good graphics and a good use of the Sleeping Beauty story. I would play this game again.