Chronicles of Albian - The Magic ConventionChronicles of Albian - The Magic Convention
Number of reviews to show on each page:
20 reviews
 
Reviews of Chronicles of Albian - The Magic Convention
hpy_sheri | Added on: November 1, 2012
 
This game is great! Not just a hidden item kind of game, there are other puzzles to do so you dont get bored! Highly recomend!
puzzling | Added on: January 27, 2011
 
This game is not your typical hidden object game. The objects to be found were some times very difficult to find but all of this game is addictive. The mini games are slightly different than most of the new games and the music in the background is quite relaxing. Usually I can finish this type of game in one sitting but this one really makes you work for each level. Wish there were more like this one
edtech30 | Added on: January 4, 2011
 
I totally agree with Xenutia. This game is nothing but loads of hidden objects that mostly have nothing to do with the game. No sense of adventure of all. This could have been a great game with less HO repetition and more interest-building plot, mini-games and applications where you could think about what you needed to do next. It's just a mish mash of objects plastered all over everywhere for you to boringly find. Great graphics though.
pgillenw | Added on: January 4, 2011
 
This was one delightful and challenging hidden object game. I loved the humorous chatter between scenes. This humor can be described as pure British. Very well done. As one reviewer states "great art work". Finding objects is challenging but if you find the Fairy she will help you locate one in the list. Hints can be used and you replenish hints by locating a wand. Interestingly my experience is that the game cleverly awarded a wand to find if your hints fell below five. The game also helped you locate an object by now and then making an object brighter. I only play relaxed mode on all games that afford me the option so this game was relaxing yet gave me a good object hunt experience. It was also a nice touch to restore the old castle. To the developers, good work! Kids who now play hidden object games should find this one fun and parents this game may keep them focused for a while.
Busweet | Added on: January 21, 2011
 
I think this must be the most difficult Hidden Object game I've played. It is really difficult sometimes to find the objects on the list. The graphics are great, and I like the theme. I like that it replays rooms up to a certain point, then new rooms are unlocked. It kept me playing longer than I would have for most Hidden Object games.
acornay | Added on: January 13, 2011
 
This game is a lot of fun, challenging, and interesting. I think it is too difficult for children and they will get frustrated. I want more like this one.
pkantan | Added on: January 21, 2011
 
Items are too small, too many visits to the same areas, too dark.
mavethrave | Added on: January 4, 2011
 
This is kind of fun. Quite a few of the things you are looking for are impossible to find, ie: black notes on a black beam. There are wands that will replenish your hints if you can find them and a fairy lurking around in each scene that will find something for you. Half the time I couldn't find the fairy. It is fun refurbishing the castle but one would have thought that with a topic of magic convention there would have been some magic involved. Really, it is just a junk pile hog. The puzzles are very easy. It was a pleasant way to pass some time but if you are looking for a challenge, this won't do it.
sandiszoo | Added on: July 21, 2011
 
Enjoyed it enough to buy it.... it was a little more challenging because of all the lost items being so little, but that 's what makes it fun. I love the graphics, the movements make it a lot more interesting. I would tell anyone to buy it if they liked hidden objects ( my personal favorite )
SilverSuki | Added on: January 4, 2011
 
As a previous reviewer stated, there is nothing in the gameplay of this game that has any connection with magic whatsoever. It really is just one HO scene after another with no other gameplay elements at all really, except a few token gestures (collect gems, 'upgrade' a static picture of a castle). Also the HO scenes were a type that I particularly dislike, 'junkyards' crammed full of irrelevant and out-of-context items, really spoils the feel of the game for me. I've been very generous in giving it as much as 2 stars, this was only because I didn't actually abandon it before the end of the demo time, so it must at least have earned that much!
devi | Added on: January 4, 2011
 
I was excited to play this, but bored to death within the first 15 minutes. It's your regular HOG game with no interaction at all. None of the scenes (although graphically beautiful) had anything to do with the storyline. It's like they used old HO objects and transposed them into another game, then gave it a gimmicky name to attract players. The stars which give you an extra hint were difficult to find and once you've used up your hints (only given 3 to begin with), you must find another star or that darn fairy that was almost impossible to find. (I got 2 fairies, only by accident). For players who love pure HOG game, this one's for you. As for me, watch me yawn.
PipCat | Added on: May 31, 2011
 
While I enjoyed this one, by the time I was finished with it I needed to upgrade my eyeglass prescription. The HOs are VERY WELL HIDDEN and some are so small that it required the use of the hint button more times than I would have liked. Likewise the gems you can find for extra cash and the REALLY SMALL stars attached to the magic wands you can find to give you up to 5 hints at a time. The mini games are varied and, naturally, get progressively harder the farther you get into the game. Beautifully rendered graphics are a feast for the eyes! However - and I never thought I'd ever say this about a game - I thought it was actually too long. Going back time after time to the same rooms to try and find objects so small in order to get money to restore the castle became very tedious after the 3rd set up upgrades. Just when I thought I'd restored everything there was to restore another set would pop up and back to the rooms you go. It will take quite some time to go through all of the levels so from a value point of view I suppose this is a good value. It's kid friendly but I'm not so sure kids will have the patience to sit through more than a few screens at a time. It's worth taking a look at but don't say I didn't warn you about the eyestrain!
Lara8 | Added on: December 29, 2010
 
I also enjoyed playing this game! The story is fun and you're in a castle! Some of the hidden objects, however, are tiny and even with my big, wide monitor I had a difficult time finding stuff. There seems to be a zillion objects to search through, and I personally don't care for all the clutter. But the mini games are fun and you get to upgrade/design your castle. The graphics are gorgeous and I will probably buy this game for the 20 wallpapers promised.
Mysterya | Added on: July 26, 2013
 
Over all a decent HOG with a catchy hook, completely restore the castle and grounds. For the most part the hidden objects where not that hard to find though it seemed the last ones were the samllest or most cleverly hidden. The mini games were a wide variety and type. Each type progressed in difficulty. The games could be skipped and the main game continue but you did not get the extra money. It could have been shorter and stopped when everything was restored however it continued a bit more offering you a possible choice to continue in a sequel. A good game for first timers and kids though the kids may need help with some of the mini games or finding things as they may not know what the object is. There were decent amount of hint options and even a fairy to help. The artwork was quite nice and fit to the story. Experienced HOG players may not care for the length and having to go back and forth to find things in the same rooms. To be fair however it is a huge castle and large estate. In building you are given options in styles and to even go back and change. In this regard I recommend choosing the least expensive and then after you complete it you will still earn money and you can change design.
peanuts4513 | Added on: January 6, 2011
 
Very fun storyline to follow. Really nice graphics. Mini games/puzzles were way too easy. Some objects were very difficult to locate. But storyline makes it fun to play. Love the ability to buy upgrading of castle, original concept and provides motivation to complete.
Smedley | Added on: February 17, 2011
 
This is one of the best HOGs in a long time! Great graphics with both audio and script narratives; excellent tutorial; wide variety of screens (rooms); the upgrading of the castle is an excellent feature! Challenging HOs and some even harder to find bonus items (jewels, wands for hints, and hidden angels)! The puzzles are varied, fun and challenging! A real keeper! Hint: be careful in making friends! Hours of fun and good replay as you can keep going to rooms to find additional funds and redesign your upgrades!!!
welshman | Added on: January 6, 2011
 
As a HOG this game rates very highly -and it is certainly better value for money than most as the gameplay is long. It has most of the likeable touches - good artwork and graphics, a sense of humour, and a particularly fine variety of interspersed puzzles. Though some of the objects are hard to find I have no quibbles with this as they aren't impossible and there are three ways of obtaining help - each of which isn't a straightforward gift - you can find a fairy who will locate your object; each object will glow briefly so you can simply keep your eyes peeled; or you can use a wand hint which you can replenish by finding another wand. In addition, each object earns you money which you can spend in renovating the castle in a choice of ways. So it's all there, really. It's hard to come up with an entirely original HOG. If this was it I'd have given it six stars, but at present this one is as good as you'll get.
redaf | Added on: January 2, 2013
 
Ok. This game was selected from a review recommendation and the storyline draws you in. Unless you are a hard core hidden object fan this gets tiresome after a while. There are mini games and they are for the most part enjoyable, but it is mostly going from one room to another to find more and more hidden objects. I can honestly say there is so much going on in these rooms it makes my eyes want to cross. Oddly enough, the thing that kept me playing was to find out how much I could earn so I could add more upgrades to the castle. These eventually came at such a cost I lost interest. As I said though, if you are a hardcore HO fan, you will want to keep going. Me, not so much. The graphics are nice, and the characters sometimes funny, so there are things to enjoy for others. Just not my cup of tea
isuppose | Added on: November 1, 2011
 
This was a really great game. I don't enjoy games that are easily beaten in 2 hours and have no replay value. This game is great for replay and keeps you motivated in restoring the castle and grounds. Good mini-games too!
cutiemexi | Added on: November 6, 2012
 
it becomes very repetative after a little while and not enough of a story line for me to stay interested, although i do want to finish the castle to see how it'll look in the end
Harlowe1962 | Added on: July 21, 2013
 
What a great game! I loved it! It is so much fun with interesting mini games. The story line is pretty good and you can skip all the dialog because it is in the spell book so you know what to do without having to listen to their constant blabbering all the time! I have purchase both Albian games and look forward to the next one.
TAR671 | Added on: January 4, 2011
 
I played this game for about 8 hours, and no matter how much I wanted to finish the game, the bad features overwhelmed me to the point, I had to throw in the towel. Every scene is a a cluttered junk pile of objects that have absolutely no bearing on the stated scenario of the game. The objects are so small and the size so disproportionate to the size of the actual object, that completing every scene quickly become a exercise of frustration. I spent up to an hour on one scene trying to find the objects, after I had expended the available hints. being unable to locate or identify the objects, I resorted to quitting the game and when I went back, I had a different list of items. In an attempt to finish this game, I connected my computer to my 50 inch flat screen HD television, only to find that many items were still obscured by other objects. The graphics are good, as you can certainty see the large piles of junk with out any trouble, it is just the individual items that are indistinguishable. The actual game, in my opinion, is not as represented by the developers. The game was presented as a convention of Wizards;However, the game is actually about refurbishing an antiquated castle by selling the objects you are required to find in various rooms of the castle. Any form of animation is nonexistent, and the cut scenes are slow to conclude. The mini-games are in some cases just the need to find more objects scattered among the junk. If you are in the mood to play a mind numbing game that consist of scene after scene of items obscured in a room full of junk from floor to ceiling, for the purpose of refacing an old castle, try this game, I do not think you will be disappointed.
DarkChylde | Added on: January 4, 2011
 
Oh, my eyes, my eyes! I can't stand to play it anymore. I've never seen such clutter and tiny, tiny objects in an HO game before. The background graphics are good, but many of the objects (if you could distinguish one from the other), were blurry, and so far away you could not make out what they were. You had everything hanging everywhere, including upside down. What do all these items have to do with the "convention" about to happen? NOTHING. Random items that were piled on top of each other and so blended in, you had to strain your eyes to try to see a shadow of what you were looking for so you could click on it. Some were so small, even with a magnifying glass they were hard to find. And, let's talk about the gems you could find. Not shiny so it could be easier to find. They were so tiny, a speck of dust looked like a giant. If you managed to find any, it would add some money to your "fix up the castle" project. If you were under 5 hints, you could collect a wand or more (to total 5 hints). Those were a bit easier to find. Then there is the fairy, that if you could locate one in a scene, would find an item for you. The fairies are very small and faded so they would blend into the background better. See what I'm getting at? Major eye strain. Even with my large monitor, it is the most frustrating HO I've ever had to deal with. I had hopes for the game, as I do love this type, but COME ON, don't mish-mash all the objects you can find together and put them in the most ridiculous places. Besides, what does a fire extinguisher have in common with medieval times, anyway? Sorry. I wished I could have played more, but I think I have to get my eyes examined and order some glasses ........
infinity | Added on: July 23, 2013
 
I love games where you get to design gardens, houses, etc., so why not a castle? But try as I might, it was very, very hard to see the teeny hidden objects, the tiny blobs that represented jewels, and miniscule fairies that didn't really look like fairies -- if you could even see them. The hints are replenished by finding very, very small magic wands. The scenes are nicely drawn, but the objects in them are small, not proportional to the other objects, and sometimes difficult to recognize. After just three scenes, I had a headache, and gave up. The other reviews make this sound like a wonderful game. I wish that had been my experience. (This was played on a 17-inch laptop.)
emilou | Added on: January 4, 2011
 
I always try a new HOG. You never know what you'll get. At first the story was pretty interesting, the main HO were hard to find but I stuck to it. Turns out the story just couldn't hold my interest. The HO were too hard to find (most were too small to see!). The mini-games were simple and easy. I didn't finish the game. Just was too boring. If you are looking for a game that is a straight out HOG, this is your game.
Sweetles | Added on: September 12, 2011
 
This is a very very long game. As others have remarked, the items are very small and, many times, very hard to find. You get tired after a few scenes. It gets boring having to play the same rooms over and over again. Also, you are trying to earn money to fix up the castle and the grounds, which is fun. However, after a while the items get so expensive that it takes forever to earn the money and it gets discouraging to have to keep playing and playing in order to get anywhere. If you want a HOG that takes a while to complete, this is it. The graphics are nice and the searches are challenging. It just gets very tedious and boring.
31837908 | Added on: June 21, 2013
 
Graphics good, but scenes a bit busy. Go from room to room in a castle finding ho & selling to buy upgrades to restore the castle. Nice variety of mini-games for diversion. Gets a bit repetitive as you re-visit rooms, but also quicker as you remember placements from last visit. As you complete a scene, you sell your "artifacts" to a Leprechaun & choose upgrades from 3 price ranges. Background music I found to be very relaxing &, quite frankly , strangely drawn back to buy more upgrades. I didn't try to finish this in record time as it would get quite boring. But if you play one or two scenes & leave game, it will draw you back later. I found myself going back just so I could buy ALL optional upgrades & change things around at will.
wallflower7 | Added on: January 13, 2011
 
After trying the free play version, I bought the game. It is very engaging. Storyline, scenes, and the castle designs are very interesting. It keeps you playing till you renovate the different parts of the castle. Kids would like playing this game. It will help their vocabulary and increase their attention to details. Loved the mini games too.
sparkle | Added on: January 4, 2011
 
I usually do not respond to these games or have complaints but be for real who can see these objects. I only had the free trial and after an hour my eyes hurt of trying to squint and see these tiny fairies,gems etc. I don't wear glasses but after this game I might need them.Forget it!!!!
GameFun | Added on: November 12, 2012
 
The graphics are spectacular and the music is beautiful. I enjoyed playing this game and building up money to refurbish the castle. However, as you go along everything becomes SO expensive that you have to play for hours/days to get enough money to finish decorating the castle. I wish the writers of the game had kept all the items at a decent value instead of assuming each level had to cost more money. But it was fun and I enjoyed it. But I did get a bit bored after playing for hours and still not having enough money to do much to finish the castle.
txmadre | Added on: September 27, 2012
 
I really enjoy this game. It is fun and it is challenging. You are not only searching for the hidden items, you are also searching for the clue wands, the free item fairie and hidden gems. All of which add up positively to your account. I hope they come out with another Chronicles of Albian sequel soon! I cannot recommend this game highly enough!
Fanob | Added on: January 6, 2011
 
Boring......... if you just like to look for tiny hidden things...this is for you. There really is nothing else to do here...mini games are very easy...good for kids I guess. no tasks or innovative game play...the music is nice, and the graphics are clear..the storyline is virtually non existant...a disappointment.
geniegirl | Added on: January 4, 2011
 
This game is a "clean up the room", "sell the stuff", and "rebuild the castle" HOG. The only magic is finding a small "magic wand" to get an extra hint or a very small fairy to remove one list object. I had high hopes, but half way through the free trial time, I had made up my mind to not buy the game. Bummer!
Jenjerale | Added on: January 4, 2011
 
My main complaint is that the graphics are a bit blurry and the objects are often invisible to the naked eye, you have to use the hints to find them. Addictive because the reward is building/designing the castle and there are a max of 5 wands (hints) per screen with hidden and I mean teeeny tiny gems to accumulate extra points. Very long game with repitious screens. Sorry I started because it is taking me forever to complete and I want to fish it eventually :)
Harlowe1962 | Added on: July 15, 2011
 
This game was fun and entertaining! Try it for yourselves!
robshep | Added on: January 4, 2011
 
I really liked this game. It has a timed and a non-timed version. It also has a limited number of hints but you can get extra hints by finding the icon during the HO games. During the HO games you have to look for hint icons, gems and items from a list so it kept me from getting bored. If you like HOG's you'll love this one.
hankysis3 | Added on: January 31, 2011
 
The objects in some segments were very well hidden. This game made you really look into every nook and cranny. The upgrades to the castle were fun, and some of the mini games were easy. I didn't accomplish all of the upgrades as the rooms became repetitious, and enough was enough. This game will go on for a long time if you want to do all of the castle upgrades.
LostAtTheGate | Added on: January 5, 2011
 
At first, I loved this game. It was fun upgrading the castle, looking for the objects, looking for the tiny little fairies, looking for the gems (which did not sparkle like gems-Just tiny little dots of color), and looking for the wand hints. After about an hour, I had to exit with a terrible headache. It is a terrible strain on the eyes as some of the objects are impossible to find and the clutter is horrendous. Because of this, I could not give it a 5th star. It had nothing to do with anything magical.
sportygal2009 | Added on: January 4, 2011
 
The game play here is a straight HOG so there is no wandering around in this game or trying to use inventory items to go forward in the game at least what I played of this which was about an hour. You can play this in either timed or untimed mode. I played the timed mode which I usually do in HOG's if a choice is given. What you are doing in this game is going room to room in the castle searching for items. How you get hints is by finding wands which seemed to be plenty and you may or may not need them but I sure did. There are also fairies and if you find those, they will locate the items for you so you don't even have to find them. You also find gems in each room which adds to your money. After you complete a room, you are given money for the items you had found, time bonus, unused hints, and if you completed the mini game which I played a few and found to be easy. I did skip one since it was a "repeat" mini game, one I had already done and just didn't feel like doing it again, plus I wanted to see just how the skip worked in this game. I found that you can skip immediately you just don't get any money for the mini game when it comes time to adding every thing up for completing that room. If you've earned enough money, then you can choose what section of the castle you want to upgrade and it automatically does it for you meaning you don't get to choose any items for example and place them in the castle. If you don't quite have enough money, then you just go to another room and search for more items until you do. That's pretty much all you do throughout this game. I see so far a couple of people really enjoyed this game while I'm doing my review here. One did not. I'm sorry to say but I'll have to agree with the one who did not enjoy this game. As mentioned, this game has nothing to do with wizards so I was pretty disappointed from the get go but as I mentioned I hung in there for about an hour to try and give the game a chance. There is a story, text on the screen, but I found myself getting bored with that pretty quick and clicking through that. In my opinion while the graphics may look pretty neat on the surface however when it comes to finding the items, well leaves a lot to be desired. Kinda reminded me of that 70's TV show Sanford & Son (no offense to this show by the way as it's one of my favorites) as the rooms were basically just junk piles of stuff that had nothing to once again do with "wizard." Actually to my surprise I found the wands and tiny gems more quickly than I did some of the items. The fairies I found almost impossible to locate because they seemed to me anyway blend into the junkpile of items so I just quit trying to find them but happened to come across a couple by accident. As my title says like trying to find a needle in a haystack. I also noticed that sometimes pretty much from the get go, one of the items will "sparkle" to help you locate it or sometimes if you didn't click on something for maybe a minute or so an item would also "sparkle." So for me, I give this game 2 stars. Far from being the worst game I've ever downloaded but I've definitely played much better. Sorry, but I just found this game boring. Give it a whirl however and decide for yourself. I hope you end up enjoy it like a couple of other people have so far in the reviews submitted.
pathleaper | Added on: January 5, 2011
 
All I can say is WOW! This is the first time in a very long time that I got a game that took more then a few hours to finish!!! This game is a great value for the money. Fun to play and your initial game will last you quite awhile.
Nana2 | Added on: August 16, 2011
 
I really liked this game but the objects are really, really small so you need to look hard for them. You also get extra money for finding tiny little gems and can earn extra hints by finding magic wands with stars on them. The updates to your castle are really nice. It takes a long time to play this game because the ojects are just so darn small. My eyes would get tired after awhile and I would have to quit but the game has a ton of things to find. Overall, I would say it's a good buy because it's not one of those games that you play for an hour and it's over.
DarkDragon | Added on: August 8, 2011
 
Great graphics, nice music (though it gets boring after a while) This game is pure HO & some puzzles The puzzles are ok and get harder each level Objects in HO are well hidden, but many are too tiny. Hints (star wands) and gems (extra money) are also very tiny. You can use the fairies in the scenes to collect items for you w/o using hints, but again they are tiny and blended well into background. Game is way too long and getting boring having to do the same scenes over and over again for money. The upgrades for the castle looks really nice, but still not worth it. Overall, if you just want HOG for passing time, this game is the one. Otherwise, pass it.
January | Added on: January 20, 2011
 
I really enjoy this game. The mini puzzles are great too. The graphics look real and not pasted like other games. The suduko mini puzzle was a nice added surprise. Some of the places resembled my garage.
SUZsaysHi | Added on: January 6, 2011
 
I agree with the other reviews that the scenes are cluttered and a lot of the HOs are hard to find. BUT you can find wands to give you hints, every once in a while one of the objects glows so keep your eyes open for that. If you are lucky you can find a little fairy and she will give you a hint. This game is different from the average HO game and I like it so much I have just purchased it. Give it a try and decide for yourself.
Pepie97 | Added on: January 6, 2011
 
I enjoy this game very much. It doesn't end as quickly as most other ones. There is a continuing theme throughout. If you haven't got it yet, you should.
xenutia | Added on: December 29, 2010
 
I saw the word 'Wizards' and 'HOG' and downloaded it so fast that it nearly set my laptop alight. There I was with my cup of hot chocolate all poised for a great game. Unfortunately what I got was a very average HOG, that was a great disappointment. To begin with it had nothing whatsoever to do with Wizards, convening or otherwise. The objects are purely random stock HOs, with barely any magical connections, apart from one Jack O Lantern thrown in for good measure somewhere along the line. I fail to see what fire extinguisers, boxing gloves, and peace signs have got to do with the wizarding world. I got the impression that the designers had suddenly found a lot of HOs in the drawer left over from other games and thought it might be a nice idea to use them up on something, bunging them on random backdrops and more or less just chucking them up in the air and seeing where they landed. You could collect magic wands for hints through the scenes, which was a token bit of fairy whimsy, and collect gems for extra points to build a castle. There was the odd little fairy lurking to give you a free hint here and there, which were quite nice touches, which earned it an extra star. The couple of mini games I played before I bailed out were so easy that someone who was clinically brain dead could have solved them. Yes, I am being a grouch, but I do like things to do what they say on the can. This game had no internal logic at all. I played for about 45 minutes, but couldn't cope with any more. If you like HOGs that really are purely HOGs then you might well like it, although I fail to see that moving around a castle that is in serious need of a janitor looking for HOs with nothing else to relieve the boredom could be that enjoyable. Sorry.
njamba | Added on: October 3, 2011
 
I learned in a mini game, how to play a game I've been wanting to learn for a long time. And it was so much easier than I thought it would be. I'm playing in "relaxed mode", but will play again in "normal mode' so I can get more bonuses next time. The scenes are well done & game play is fun and flows well. A good game to play over again. So glad I bought it!
roxy8279 | Added on: October 3, 2011
 
This game is most liked by kids. I played it got bored my mom and sister same result my nephew played and had fun.
littlebit870 | Added on: January 4, 2011
 
I am really enjoying this HOG. You have to really work hard to find everything partly because there is so much stuff to search through. Mini games are a little on the easy side. It is fun redesigning the castle. At least with this HOG you get good replay value. All in all I will buy this one.
Peej | Added on: January 27, 2011
 
Graphics are great and the story line is fun. But the HO's are small and hidden in dark places. Making money to renovate the castle was fun for a while, but I finally got bored going into the same rooms over and over again, so I just quit playing. I think kids would have a hard time with this game and get bored also.
emi1 | Added on: January 6, 2011
 
i found it difficult to see a lot of the items. this game had nothing that really stood out for me. just a typical HOG.