Campfire Legends - The HookmanCampfire Legends - The Hookman
Number of reviews to show on each page:
20 reviews
 
Reviews of Campfire Legends - The Hookman
GREENUMS | Added on: October 29, 2009
 
Good Game! Way too short in terms of game play. Finished in 1 hour!
Jaquebullet | Added on: December 11, 2009
 
Nice game but FAR TO SMALL. Completed in one sitting and felt under-whelmed by the end.
beekie | Added on: November 6, 2009
 
Though it was addictive, in that I didn't want to stop playing long enough even to pay for my free download, the huge disappointment is that it took me only 2 hours to finish the game. It's now obvious that the game is intended to be spun off into other games - there are way too many loose ends to tie up for this to be the end of it. That said, there are also some confusing aspects and some 'order' that you must follow to solve certain problems or finish certain aspects of it. The order is not clear and can be frustrating. But I wish there had been more parts to the game.
msalanea | Added on: October 22, 2009
 
The story keeps you going and the music increases the tension. There are even points which make you jump. Lots of fun.
msheath | Added on: October 27, 2009
 
This game was ok, but not for me. It's too slow. I couldn't even finish the demo.
Twan | Added on: October 15, 2009
 
Finally a game that isn't childish! Great (scary) hidden object game. Great story and beautiful graphics.
GroomerGirl | Added on: November 2, 2009
 
Sort of annoying to navagate between screens, but overall it was fun, and a good blend of hidden object and sometimes tough puzzles.
ladynorth | Added on: October 23, 2009
 
I was pleasently surprised playing the short demo of this game. Right away it had me very envolved. There were plenty of items to find and a puzzle to solve all withing the first 10 minutes or so of play. The game was a bit too eerie for a young child though. I loved the adventure aspect where you had to go from one scene to another to find items and not just stuck to one screen at a time. I am seriously thinking of getting this one.
KJRCowgirl | Added on: October 30, 2009
 
I thought this game was fun, but if it would have been a free one hour I would have finished it for free. Disappointed I spent $7 on it but overall it was fun.
rbon | Added on: October 31, 2009
 
Really enjoyed the little challenges along with the search for the hidden objects.
joan | Added on: October 16, 2009
 
it was confusing at first, once I got the idea of the game the 30 minutes were up. Pretty good however so far.
Lapra64 | Added on: October 30, 2009
 
i thought it was kinda short, but for kids or fist times (to seek and finds) i tought it was really good.
smelleecat | Added on: October 15, 2009
 
This game is awesome. I'd be surprised if it wasn't created by the same makers of mystery case files. It's user friendly, very addicting, a little scary, with hidden object and puzzles. It's 100% worth the money especially if you have game ticket.
snetz | Added on: November 3, 2009
 
This was a little confusing to start. Once I understood that you will need to go from scene to scene to find items, things got better. A lot of secondary puzzle boards that you can't do anything with until you've completed something else but there is no indication that you have to do something else first. Would like to see some incentive to play again, like a timer or points.
stsimmonsnc | Added on: October 23, 2009
 
I enjoyed going to different scenes. I really had to use my mind on the fuse puzzle. I like the tips.
GamerMom1379 | Added on: November 5, 2010
 
I enjoyed this one. Kept me on the edge of my seat. I would definately recommend it. Can't wait to play the next one.
thbrinkley | Added on: October 26, 2009
 
Not a game I would be interested to play on a regular basis. I like a more fast-paced game. But for Halloween or just to be scared like sitting around telling ghost stories, this might be the game for you.
Breezia | Added on: November 2, 2009
 
The storyline was very good and you really had to think to find all of the clues and do the mini puzzles. All-in-all it was a good game. I recommend it for anyone who likes hidden objects and puzzle games.
bobbi318 | Added on: October 26, 2009
 
Was a nice, somewhat interactive game. A little short for my liking though. I finished it in less than a day.
tioga | Added on: October 19, 2009
 
If you don't like the sliding block type of puzzle, skip this game. I found them boring and all of the puzzles are of that type. One was plenty. After the third I was disgusted and wanting a true "hidden object" game. The finish was sudden and a big let down. A bad value, bad game.
raven3517 | Added on: October 20, 2009
 
This game has a great theme, especially for this time of year. It also was more than just a point and click, which was fun. I wish the trial had been the full 60 minutes vs. the 30, because it did take me a couple of minutes at the start to figure out what to do, and I don't really feel like I got the full feel for what the game would be like. But I have two Fun Tickets and liked it enough that I will probably take the jump and use one for it.
Gryffyn1 | Added on: October 16, 2009
 
The first stage demo that I got to try was interesting. I felt it was too short (the demo), but it got me into the game, and I'm hoping the rest of the game will be released soon. It's good for those who like to think, hunt a little, and want some level of spooky without fear factor.
WenQuinn | Added on: October 19, 2009
 
REALLY enjoyed this game! One of the better ones I've played in quite awhile. Can't wait for the next installment! Be prepared to jump and squirm, as things do jump out on your screen and the music heightens the experience. The puzzles are clever and thought provoking! This is exacty the type of game I look for when I want to hunker down for a few hours and enjoy!
bzymommy | Added on: October 19, 2009
 
Enjoyed this game. Made me stop and think - provides a challenge. And yes I jumped too. Wish I would have read reviews first to be a bit more prepared!
jesscor72 | Added on: October 19, 2009
 
I liked this game very much! I must say that it is scary and I don't think children under 10 would like it. Heck I'm 60 and it scared the heck out of me at one point! LOL
kimpossible | Added on: October 19, 2009
 
I enjoyed this game, but I think it would have been helpful for some clues when you start. I liked the spooky bits they put in and that it makes you think to solve the puzzles.
pelican1 | Added on: October 19, 2009
 
At last, a game that has a story that you actually want to read while playing! Excellent play, with hidden objects that make the story come alive. One of the best games I've ever played. Would recommend it highly.
ameelowery | Added on: October 29, 2009
 
This was more challenging than most games I have played
mezzatc | Added on: November 2, 2009
 
I definitely want to buy this game. Great graphics and a little more challenging than most hidden object games.
tzelly | Added on: October 19, 2009
 
It was ok. It was hard to see some of the items you needed to find due to the darkness of the scenes, which got somewhat annoying. But otherwise, it was good.
Robyn | Added on: October 19, 2010
 
Good puzzles, although I found some of the mini games tedious and they took a lot of fireflies (hints) to skip. I spent a lot of time looking for fireflies! Then, suddenly, the game ended. If I take out the time spent looking for fireflies it was a pretty short game, hardly worth it unless you want to spend time solving minis. Get it with a credit.
Brrystar | Added on: October 23, 2009
 
I really enjoyed the game it was challenging at times but at times it was a little to easy. All in all it is a very good game and one I would recommend to my friends and family that like this type of game.
cjpahl | Added on: October 23, 2009
 
It was fun and made you really have to think. I am considering buying it so I can finish it the game and see what other great things there are to do. I think that everyone should try this game.
fuschiagirl | Added on: October 21, 2009
 
I loved it! I just wish it were longer... and I hope another one comes out!
SamanthaS | Added on: November 30, 2009
 
I was really enjoying this game UNTIL my computer shut off. I went back in ready to start back where I left off, and it started me at the beginning of the game! I was so angry. I don't think I'm going to play it again because as fun as the tasks are, they take too long to do and its not worth it. Good, unless you're prone to crashes. Also, I'm not sure where the "save" button would be or if there even is one.
melleigha | Added on: October 19, 2009
 
I found this to be a good game, although I wish the demo had lasted longer.
Tombaugh | Added on: October 23, 2009
 
I did have fun playing this game with my son (10). He helped me think of things I hadn't. The only draw back I found was that after we beat the game he had nightmares about the hook.
MsEdna0512 | Added on: October 19, 2009
 
1 hour wasn't enough to get too much along in the game. I spent quite a bit of time wondering what do I do now. If it was the game of the day I would download but probably wouldn't buy.
Rendal | Added on: November 19, 2010
 
The game is nice, very nice indeed. It has good puzzles, and is not as boring as the majority of the other "hidden objects" games. But at the same time it has a major flaw: it's way too short for a 10$ game. It took me 2 hours and a half to reach the sudden end of the game, and that is simply not enough. If you can buy a 50$ game for an Xbox or a PS3 that last 20 or 30 hours of gameplay (and even more for lots of games..), a 10$ game should have at least 5 or 6 hours of gameplay. 2 hours is not enough guys, even if it was the greatest game ever, and that's a pity 'cause for everything else the game is really good.
TenaMM | Added on: October 19, 2009
 
In the short time I was able to play it was fun I will be buying this game on pay day it seemed to have a new twist to it I would like to finish.
rachaelm4 | Added on: October 19, 2009
 
Game has suspense, makes you think and doesn't get bored! A definite keeper!
Kazcan | Added on: October 26, 2009
 
Downloaded and finished on a Sunday arvo. Makes you think and makes you jump. Great with headsets on.
AutumnRiley78 | Added on: July 18, 2011
 
I scare easily so this game definitely had me jumping a lot! It's a fun game and great to play when you're bored. The only thing I didn't like about it was that it was too short.
hidenplnsite | Added on: October 29, 2009
 
A great game to play with the lights off. The storyline was involved but could have been longer. The atmosphere of the game is dark and you will jump a time or two. A fresh twist on the old urban legend.
kittyofkat37 | Added on: October 19, 2009
 
i love this game it makes you think of where you would find things and remeber where you may have saw something i love it
rettamamacat | Added on: October 16, 2009
 
Finally.....a REALLY scary game.....Prepared to be scared out of your pants!!!! Great job with this one! Hold onto your mouse for this ~grin~ Don't recommend for faint of heart though.
painta76 | Added on: November 2, 2009
 
This reminded me more of Nancy Drew type game play than any thing else, as in it was an interactive story working through several different locations to find items needed to fulfill story line requirements, like fixing shutters to let moon light into cabin, finding fuses to put the lights on, pick up clothes that were strewn everywhere. Unlike other games where everything you need to find is in one place you have to find the items needed in many locations, so you are going from one room or building to another, even to moving objects out of the way to find things you need, and looking in cupboards and draws. I do like the idea of this game but the game play is slow, what was even slower was the fact that virtual memory of my computer was not good enough, which was not a problem that i had with any other download game.
embrisa | Added on: October 29, 2009
 
This game scared me to death. I admit, I am a fraidy cat when it comes to spooky stuff, especially horror movies and this reminded me of a horror movie from the time it loaded up. I did not think the game was easy at all. For me it was a real challenge, especially when I am jumping out of my seat whenever there was a shadow or anything out of the ordinary. Alot of people mentioned it took too long to load up or just too much to listen to before getting into the game. I didn't notice that either. As soon as the girl got into telling the story around the campfire .. it was wham.. The girl in the story is being dropped off at her parents cabin and her boyfriend isn't there yet..it is already mostly dark and foggy. She has to find her way into the cabin and then find a way to let light into the cabin so she can go into the basement where the fuse box is, since the lights are not working. So really, the action started right away..after a really good short introduction, that is. Without that introduction I would not of been half of scared as I was throughout the game. So I rate this game an A+, except just a bit too spooky for me. Bravo! Gamehouse always brings us the best games!
glo4jl | Added on: July 11, 2011
 
I loved this game! The graphics were great but the story really drew me in. I felt like I was watching a scary movie and couldn't wait to see what would happen next. It was a little creepy/gruesome towards the end but the puzzles were challenging enough so as not to get stuck. There are fireflies to "catch" so you have hints if you need help. I thorougly enjoyed playing this game and highly recommend it.
Monkeygus | Added on: October 19, 2009
 
This game grabs you right off the bat. I'm usually more interested in a game than a story line, but this one is a doozy. I actually screamed with I saw the cat! Great fun and definitely work the price. I wouldn't recommend it for young children, but teenagers would love it! Just don't play it alone in the dark...
Tam5115 | Added on: April 28, 2011
 
I bought this game after playing the demo because I adore urban legends and this was the only place to access the game. I'm disappointed overall. I am not one to zip through a game, not at all. I took my time with this one as any other. But man! this has to be the shortest game I've ever played! The mini games were good, took a lot of thought, and tips... I was irritated beyond belief by having to find these "fireflies" all the time. I'm in the middle of trying to do something and I have to flip back through scenes repeatedly to find the stupid bugs so I can get a "hint". I spent more time doing that than playing the game! That's my major complaint... the game is ridiculously short considering the cost, and the time to do non-game things took up the majority of your time. C'mon, really, give time for hints to recharge rather than hunting scenes over and over to get one hint. Also (in my same argument) are you seriously offering two, only two, areas for an entire HO game? I love the theme, adore it. What I got of the theme was wonderful. The length ruined it for me. I can't even say it was a good game, I feel cheated.
eshaddrick | Added on: November 2, 2009
 
This was a great game. I loved the detail to telling a great story line. WAYYYYYYYYY to short I beat the whole game in an afternoon I was disappointed that it wasn't longer. Puzzles were a bit difficult for younger players, but I enjoyed each one
auntjanell | Added on: October 20, 2009
 
I loved that there was finally a game where there were moments when things popped out to you to make you flinch. I loved this game. I hope they bring another game like this, soon.
Whitney8604 | Added on: October 30, 2009
 
I had a blast playing this game. I did not want the trial to end, it had a little of hidden object and puzzle in it. This is definitely a game I am going to purchase.
redcorv2000 | Added on: October 28, 2009
 
very challenging ,very good overall, not too easy. would be a great game to play on holloween night!
bavonv | Added on: October 26, 2009
 
Love these games that make you THINK. Fun to play.
sbw1254 | Added on: October 20, 2009
 
did not like this game much. Too much going back and forth to find items.
jsaad | Added on: January 2, 2012
 
This was a fun game. The hidden objects were found throughout the game and not just on one screen. The puzzles were just challenging enough to be fun but not to difficult. My only complaint is it was too short and I didn't feel I got my money's worth in game play. I want to play the other campfire games but I think its only worth half the price.
msjan | Added on: October 29, 2009
 
trial time was shorter than usual but i did enjoy playing and would play again and again.
pato69 | Added on: November 2, 2009
 
It's a little tricky and challenging. You have to find alot of other objects before you could find what items you really need
Tillie | Added on: October 19, 2009
 
This is a fun game. Challenging and innovative. It's a bit scary too. It's fun to have to go back and forth from place to place to find objects.
shabu48 | Added on: October 23, 2009
 
Good play. Makes you think. The scenes are well done. You have to solve one aea to get to the next-makes this an overall fabulous game to play.
zptdooda | Added on: October 19, 2009
 
Great game, not like every other hidden object game, had too really put thought into finding things and working through puzzles. Watch for scary happenings while playing. Only negative thing-game was over too fast.
jusnanas | Added on: October 23, 2009
 
Not to sure on this game, I play alot of hidden object and didn't get very far when time ran out
emilysmom | Added on: October 20, 2009
 
I absolutely loved this game. The story was pretty creepy and finding the objects was pretty difficult. The puzzles were a challenge but not so much that you couldn't do them on your own. Even though it seems there may be a sequel this game was so short. It took me about 1 1/2 hours to be done with it. A very fun game but not a very good value for the money. Wish I would have waited until it was free.
Nette25 | Added on: October 19, 2009
 
Definitely one of the best games I have played this year. Graphics were amazing! The quality of the game showed the effort that was put into making sucha high quality game. My only complaint was the game was too short. Overall, it was excellent and captivating!
Kakkabilly | Added on: November 1, 2012
 
Graphics while detailed aren't great. Quite repeative in having to return to previous searches to find new items. Don't waste you're money
DarkChylde | Added on: January 26, 2010
 
I loved how this was more of an adult game. I hope I see more of these in the future. It is dark, eerie, mysterious, and thrilling. If I were her (in the game), I would have piddled my pants! Different things to do and solve, all the while the Hookman is getting closer. Mysterious things happen, especially when the boyfriend runs off looking for help or something, leaving her all alone. I was totally engrossed in this game until the end ...... which was a HUGE letdown. The game was too short and that wow factor you're built up to didn't happen. If there are any more Campfire Legends in the future, please make the storyline longer with a huge punch at the end!
racecaryou | Added on: November 2, 2009
 
Couldn't stop playing! Love the unexpected twist! I would recommend anyone to play that wants a different game that makes you think but is fun to play.
waltlin | Added on: October 19, 2009
 
It appears that this will be a continuing games, but the idea that you cannot replay with new things to search for makes it a poor value. Prefer games that you can replay over and over.
kszanz | Added on: October 19, 2009
 
This was an excellent game. I did have to consult the walkthrough a few times; but for the most part, you can figure what to do. The items are clear, and what I like most is that you have things to put together to make other things work. Hidden pictures should be clear and large enough to see. Also, you want more than just hidden pictures to find. You want to figure out how to make things work as well. This has all of that. It's really excellent!
IronRaziel | Added on: October 21, 2009
 
I've never had chills up my spine until I played this game! It was amazing, and really made you become a bit worry what you will see next. I'm not a big fan of hidden objects game but this one really frosted my cupcake where I actually had to think, figure out the clues, go back to find the fireflies numerous of times, and quite addictive. My only complaint is that it was TOO SHORT!!!! I hope they come up with anothr game like this one but much much longer!!!
Cdg777 | Added on: October 23, 2009
 
It was way too short! I was definitely hooked, but it only took a total of 2 to 3 hours to complete the game. (without many hints). It has a great story and interactive items- not just find the hidden item- you also have to figure out what to do with it.
nanaberta | Added on: October 26, 2009
 
Very involving. Some of the puzzles were just challenging enough to feel accomplished for solving them. Suspenseful with a couple "jump out of your seat" moments. Great graphics and sound effects. I wish it lasted longer (only reason for 4 instead of 5 stars), but I was impressed and will buy the next one in the trilogy.
pohclark | Added on: October 16, 2009
 
wish the trial was longer than 30 minutes to get a real feel for the game. Seems to be intriging. might buy it next month.
jrbswife | Added on: October 16, 2009
 
I enjoyed this game very much. It was different from most hidden object games. I would certainly play it a lot.
blwalker2001 | Added on: October 30, 2009
 
great play, keeps you on the edge, wanting to play more and more.
silkbunnygrad | Added on: October 29, 2009
 
I like hidden object games and time management games. This game had good and challenging puzzles as well. I liked the Halloween story for the theme, cause almost everyone knows the version of the story, it was a good idea for a game, and a bit of a thriller.
Alottabit | Added on: November 2, 2009
 
I played the Demo/Trial of this game. If you like those games where you have to find hidden things, you will like this. It is almost like following a treasure map that someone else has made and you need to decipher what and where to go by the clues....I had alot of fun playing this and I am going to buy it as soon as I can. Good luck and Have Fun playing the game everyone.
Ewok | Added on: October 26, 2009
 
Not too bad! Thinky enough to be a challenge, but not so thinky you don't wanna play it!
pikespeak | Added on: November 2, 2009
 
I had to play it twice because I enjoyed it so very much. Both times it had me jumping out of my seat. A great Halloween game. I have never experienced a IHO like this before.
dragonqueen | Added on: October 20, 2009
 
Overall I found it to be addictive and I could not wait for the next part. I did not find it to be scary if that was the intent, but that is just me I do not scare easily. I like the way it drew you in leaving you excited about what was going to happen next. I am diffenently going to buy this game.
missclairol | Added on: October 15, 2009
 
I think it is one of the best games, Gamehouse has come out with, graphics great, soundtrack great. Challenging enough and the hidden objects actually fit the story. Great story line esp. for Oct. or anytime. The spooky factor is great. Definitely a WINNER! It was pure fun!
MjMac | Added on: October 19, 2009
 
I like hidden objects games. I love the one that give you puzzle to solve. I love this game!
pinkcatsfly | Added on: October 30, 2009
 
This game is a must buy if you want a bit of a scare "lol scaredy me". Is a challenge but than again i kept jumping every time the music set off or there was a shadow or something. Did not want to go into the basement and when i did "Cat scared me silly" lol. Not a game for young children. Am buying the game to see how it ends.
diamondgirl417 | Added on: November 2, 2009
 
Great game - good puzzles and challenges to more on to next level. Will definitely play often.
hammann1 | Added on: October 23, 2009
 
It was challenging but not frustrating and the storyline was fun.
jgames | Added on: October 26, 2009
 
fun if you do not have a slow computer,i wanted to move faster to get to each room or the shed.
Buzzlebeez | Added on: October 12, 2010
 
My grandchildren got me hooked on 'I SPY' books and games. This is a fun HOA game with a bit more challenge for us old folks. I haven't finished yet since I got stuck at the boathouse, but I'm really enjoying the challenge although a bit frustrating...LOL. Graphics are really cool and I love the story line that goes along with it. This is a game that not only Grammy enjoys but I can see the older grandchildren playing it as well; not recommended for small ones.
RebeccaW | Added on: October 26, 2009
 
I played the demo, which was unfortunately quite short. However, the little bit of the game I played was interesting and pretty challenging. There are some "jumpy" parts that might make this a little too intense for kids.
faymay | Added on: October 31, 2009
 
I was a little confused as to how to play the puzzles, but eventlually got the drift. It was very addictive and hard to stop until it was finished.
sportygal2009 | Added on: November 18, 2009
 
I didn't care for this game at all. Way too many things to try and find to get to what you need. The scene with the fuse box got on my last nerve. I quit playing after that. I must say the part with the cat jumping out did scare me though! LOL!
bluezinnia | Added on: October 27, 2009
 
not as scary as claimed but sure had a interesting twist to a hog
brenissa | Added on: October 20, 2009
 
I loved this game! The graphics, music, voice overs, mini games, theme, and storyline were fantastic. I became a member of GameHouse just for this game. This is the first game that has ever made me jump!
lisxl70511 | Added on: October 29, 2009
 
I love hide and seek games with mini games. they are very intriquing
kricket_777 | Added on: October 19, 2009
 
I liked this game! It definetly made me think. And I jumped a few times, ha. But the one thing i did hate was the dialog was so slow and when you clicked, hoping to get to the next sentence in dialog, it would skip the whole dialog. I didnt like that, I missed some things by doing that on accident. Oh well. Still, a good game!
Codysgirl | Added on: November 2, 2009
 
Good mystery game. Not too complex but intriguing. Enjoyed it for the hour but dont usually play these kind of games. Too time consuming. If you have the time it's pretty fun.
Iamnottynut | Added on: December 2, 2009
 
I like it so much I joined gamehouse to get it. I am not done playing all of it, but so far it has got my attention.
cusularo | Added on: October 29, 2009
 
Enjoyed the game. It was a combination of a object search game and an interactive play game. Puzzles could have been a little more challenging but overall good fun game.
kdcollins411 | Added on: October 19, 2009
 
An absolute perfect Halloween game. Made me jump more than once which was completely unexpected. What I particularly liked about the game though is you weren't just looking for stuff on the same screen. You had to go from screen to screen and collect items to perform a task to move on to the next task.
geges2 | Added on: October 31, 2009
 
i like the kind that is more relaxing and this was to hard to understand.
anglhrt770 | Added on: October 29, 2009
 
From the moment I started this game it became addictive. I love figuring out where, when and why, this is PERFECT for that!
Sunshine2002 | Added on: October 19, 2009
 
This game was a lot of fun. My ten year old son and I played it with the lights out. He was really scared in a great fun kind of way. I would love to see more games like this. Truly a great way to spend a rainy and cold Friday evening, so close to Halloween!!!
patrick | Added on: October 26, 2009
 
Really enjoyed the game. Some of the in between puzzles were very challenging.
AllOfUs | Added on: August 15, 2011
 
We really enjoyed this game. The only reason we took a star away is because it was quite short. Our six year old found it a little scary at times, so I'm not sure if I would call it a kid-friendly game. But my husband and I found this one to be a refreshing change from some of the more basic hidden object games and the mini-games were good too!
auntjuju | Added on: November 2, 2009
 
I went thru alot to get a version to finally be able to finish, as noted in the forum it kept freezing up - I finally got it to download and play from a different site( so much for the exculsive) than it seemed to move right along to the end.
Endlessblue | Added on: October 19, 2009
 
Loved this game. It was very challenging. It was real creepy. Made me jump a few times.
WHY4US | Added on: October 29, 2009
 
enjoyed all but trying to find the hint bugs. otherwise, it's fun to do a storyline game that makes you think
mabelmty | Added on: October 23, 2009
 
Its pretty cool that you are into it and suddenly the woman screams or things like that, it makes it more fun
rllujan | Added on: October 16, 2009
 
I had a lot of fun with this game. There were some parts that were suspenseful and a few that were startling. This is a very good game.
Sammie_Jo | Added on: November 2, 2009
 
I think this one was ok compared to most of the hidden object games. i wouldnt recommend it to others. i was kinda bored with it.
POOHBEAR | Added on: October 19, 2009
 
I LOVED THIS GAME. THE PUZZLES WERE HARD BUT NOT IMPOSSIBLE TO SOLVE. THE OBJECTS WERE NOT OUT IN THE OPEN BUT IF YOU CAREFULLY LOOK THEY ARE OBVIOUS. MY ONLY COMPLAINT WAS THAT THE GAME WAS TOO SHORT. I GAVE THE GAME 4 STARS BECAUSE OF THE LENGTH OF THE GAME. I READ THAT THIS WAS A TRILOGY. IF THE NEXT TWO ARE THE SAME BUT LONGER GAMEHOUSE HAS A WINNER ON THEIR HANDS.
clbaker58 | Added on: October 19, 2009
 
This is a fun game! Spooky and fun for this time of year!!
player | Added on: October 19, 2009
 
This game was different. A little confusing at times, but overall an interesting game.
simmer | Added on: October 22, 2009
 
Loved the puzzles that were part of this game. Much more than just a hidden object game! A few surprises around every corner. I was sad to see the end of the game!
ladyengr | Added on: May 5, 2010
 
I REALLY liked this game! The graphics were great, the story had a real plot, and the hidden objects MADE SENSE in the scene. That last detail is something that usually annoys me with HOG's. I also like the games where you have to travel back to different areas for LOGICAL reasons, not just to replay the same scenes and find the same or additional objects. Great game! Thanks for making it the Free Game of the Day!
gem2345 | Added on: October 16, 2009
 
The game has great graphics and sound effects. but it is challenging and addictve. It is kind of scary. which is great, escpecially this time of the year. I like this game.
hithakar | Added on: August 17, 2011
 
I really enjoyed this game. It has a good story line, i wouldn't recommend it for children because it may be too scary. The graphics are beautiful and clear. At times I found it a bit challenging but that's part of the fun. I look forward to playing the others in this series. Thank you Gamehouse for another great game.
baguette2008 | Added on: October 19, 2009
 
Scary, addictive with mini puzzles through the trial game.
Ali79 | Added on: October 28, 2009
 
I am so disappointed I wasted a game credit on this! After the one hour trial period I used a credit to get the full game. I felt the game had a lot of promise. It was over way too quickly and left a lot of questions unanswered. For me to consider a game of good value, I would want to be able to play it more than once. There aren't even any mini-games or pure find the hidden object options. Boo!
kandie | Added on: October 21, 2009
 
I loved this game, and hope to see more like it in the future....
Spoodle | Added on: October 21, 2009
 
Wow- this surpassed all expectations- so much that I felt compelled the write a review. Firstly I'm not ashamed to say that I'm 30 and got spooked a couple of times playing this game! It really got me thinking on some of the puzzles- so much more involved than every other hidden object game. I was really really dissapointed when I realised it was all over- I WANT MORE!!!
Sharonngxw | Added on: October 31, 2009
 
This game is rather addictive. But it is a little bit too short for such kind of game. And moreover, the ending wasn't that good. Thank you.
Kitty221 | Added on: April 21, 2011
 
I am a fan, this game is creepy and I am not easily creeped at all. They say not to play alone, not kidding made me jump once or twice. Graphics are top notch, story, freaky of course, and naturally gameplay is great a little challenging.
fluffyduck | Added on: October 26, 2009
 
i loved this game. should be more like it.i loved everything about it , spooky things and all. lol
blakvelvt269 | Added on: October 19, 2009
 
Fun useful in game tips if you get stuck. Good storyline to follow.
Sheilam69 | Added on: October 26, 2009
 
I loved the game. It literally made me jump more than once. Nice graphics. I would recommend it for older gamers.
AidensCoolMom09 | Added on: April 26, 2011
 
This game made me jump several times! The puzzles could have been easier but the game was still my cup of tea!It def could have been longer and it could have made more sense as well....like the boyfriend just disappears and the girl doesn't even ask a question...?? You get my point here...
TnTexas | Added on: September 23, 2010
 
Looks like I'm in the minority since I didn't really enjoy the game. The graphics were fine. The storyline seemed to make sense for the most part. I didn't even mind the travelling back and forth. The part that drove me insane was the constantly having to fix everything. Want to listen to the radio? Gotta find the pieces and fix it first. Want to make a phone call? Gotta find the pieces and fix it first? Want to fix the flat tire? Gotta get the key out of the glovebox, but you can't do that until you find something else, and you can't find that object until you do something else. Maybe it's just the mood I'm in tonight, but that really grated on my nerves. I wouldn't have minded a few fix-it-before-using-it scenarios, but every single one? No thanks.
SeafoodBoiler | Added on: October 26, 2009
 
I found it to be pretty challenging and more of a "hands-on" experience then alot of the other hidden object type games I played before.
Babs825 | Added on: November 2, 2009
 
This game was really fun to play because it was challenging and kept you wanting to get to the next level. When the demo was over, I was disappointed! Can't wait to get it and play some more!
styletsue | Added on: October 19, 2009
 
I really liked the game. The only problem I had was the trial was too short.
LadyGraylyn | Added on: October 19, 2009
 
Interesting story line, different from most hidden object games. The bugs for hints are different, could be a tad more visible though. I was startled by the scared cat which was different. The disappearance of her suitcase was different. Some of the goals could be a little more clearer.
dismom | Added on: October 31, 2009
 
It was like being stuck in an Urban legend movie, finished the game in one night, with the lights on...
kenspunkin1 | Added on: May 31, 2011
 
This game was quite challenging, in that it did not give away how or where you needed to look for all the items. Beware, there are a few instances that will make you jump. :) I really liked the element of surprise, never knowing when something was going to jump out at you. The graphics were good and objects very well hidden at times. I do agree that it was way too short, but for the story, there really wouldn't have been much further you could have taken it. Told like a true campfire story!!
Only4him | Added on: December 19, 2011
 
I really liked this game and I found it to be a bit challenging at times and scary. I like that you can replay it and still feel scared. I thought at any moment that I would see the hookman in every corner that was very suspensful. I only feel that the game ended too soon, I would have liked for it to be a little bit longer. Thanks GameHouse for such a good and scary game!!!
rlbergevin | Added on: October 31, 2009
 
NOT GOOD FOR REPLAY...EACH NEW GAME IS IDENTICAL. PRETTY FUN FOR ONE TIME THROUGH. DID NOT TAKE ME LONG TO FINISH THE GAME
ice2snow | Added on: October 20, 2009
 
Had some tech difficulties, but great game. The interaction within the story was haunting and kept me on the edge of my seat.
S_p_l | Added on: September 15, 2011
 
I found this game to be quite different from other darker-themed HOGs I've played, as I actually felt a slight hint of uneasiness while playing it. The game does an excellent job of keeping the player on edge, as there are several scares throughout the game that make you jump in surprise. Even though I knew it was only a HOG, I was expecting my character to be killed out of nowhere by a hook yielding psycho. I thought the graphics were pretty neat, and very distinctive. The ambiance music was downright creepy, as well as other elements of the atmosphere. The puzzles were often challenging, as well as some of the HO scenes. The HO scenes were often interactive (which I love), meaning the player has to open things such as drawers or move objects to find required items. However, I felt the game was far too short. It took me maybe... two hours to finish it, and I was a little unsatisfied by the ending. I'm also not a fan of games that require you search for objects in scenes (in this case, fireflies) to regenerate your hints. Overall, I liked it, and would recommend it for those who enjoy urban legends and HOG with a frightful twist.
lorilann | Added on: October 15, 2009
 
This game had me on the edge of my seat and the little twist are thrilling. I've jumped a few times while playing just because it's so unexpected.
btk6289 | Added on: October 19, 2009
 
It was a fun game and very challenging... I am definitley going to have to pick this game up to be able to try and get pass the first part of trying to find the fuses and the bugs for the hints....
crash | Added on: October 31, 2009
 
only played for the free hour and wanted to keep going. I love this type of game. Want to play more of it.
natjay | Added on: October 31, 2009
 
this is a nice game to buy and keep you will play over and over if you can make it to the end of the game. a must buy
KittyK | Added on: October 26, 2009
 
The preview was only 30 minutes...I was sad because this was a fun game.
byrd | Added on: November 2, 2009
 
It was a good game, with a good story to it. It would scare you at times you didn't expect. Had a lot of puzzles and a lot of things to seek and find. Although, it was very hard to get into the boat house, and I couldn't figure out how to. Overall it was a fun game to play, and I recommend it.
mandasgran | Added on: October 31, 2009
 
The items are cleverly hidden in this game. A good investment.
panthrvamp | Added on: May 3, 2010
 
I downloaded this as the daily free trial game and even with alot of breaks, in 5 hours It was done, and I do mean alot. graphics were good, but the only things really I felt were challanging were some of the puzzles, and even thoughs didn't take that long. After reading some of the other reviews, I guess was expecting it to be better. Maybe if rather than just the one story, if they had a few of the girls tell different ones or even different versions of the same one it would be better. but if looking for a game that can easily finish in a few hours, then go for it!
TalkingUni | Added on: October 16, 2009
 
I was pleasantly surprised! A bit theatrical, but all in all a fun game. I like the puzzles.
afdpt | Added on: October 19, 2009
 
I played the free trial and will definately be purchasing this game. It's a very suspense-filled game. If I played this at night, I would be a little bit scared. I really enjoyed the elements of surprise in this game. Enjoy. p.s. Not for younger players. I'ld say definately pg-13, unless you want spooked out kids on your hands.
cliff4917 | Added on: October 26, 2009
 
I found it fun and entinig to play. I liked the fact that you could switch from one scene to another when you got stuck finding things
snwht1992 | Added on: November 2, 2009
 
I enjoyed the game. I was able to go through it in an afternoon and I appreciated the fact that I didn't get frustrated with it. The story was cute and reminded me of ghost stories that I used to tell around a campfire.
pmac415 | Added on: October 21, 2009
 
Even if there was not a contest, I would still write a review on this game. The game is so much fun. The demo is short and only contains the first chapter, but this game draws you in, you connect sitting around the campfire where they are telling this scary creepy story and from there, the game progresses. They say not to play this game alone and yes I can agree! It makes you want to hide behind your fingers like watching a horror movie. The game play is great and the hidden objects are scattered, so it's more fun, and in following the theme, you catch glimpes of something that is creeping around outside, and you want to run and hide, and when the lights go out you want to scream "Don't go down in the basement"! I think the horror and suspense in this game is original and makes the game intense. I usually play the demos, and then if the game is good enough, then I'll buy it. After playing just one chapter, I've got to have this game. And then I'm playing it in broad daylight, with my family in the house... it's that scary! But it's a fun scary, not gory, well, after one chapter, I'm not sure... there was the dried up mouse skeleton... I think anyone who likes hidden object, suspense, scary movies, and something different will enjoy this game, I can't wait to play the rest of it!
Dairyfairy | Added on: October 26, 2009
 
Game was ok; I was so busy trying to find clues that I jumped at certain points where something jumps out at you. Storyline was a little slow but otherwise ok.
colemanmama | Added on: October 30, 2009
 
This game was fun and creepy. I jumped a few times. I wish it was a bit longer but it was great
giannelli55 | Added on: October 19, 2009
 
Wonderful game! Very fun and exciting. I was scared playing this game. I was nervous about the sudden sounds and things jumping out at me. Beautiful graphics. Quite challenging! I wish the game was longer!
RandiM | Added on: October 8, 2010
 
I played this game a while ago. Nice game, good graphics and it's for ADULTS!!! YAY!!! I am waiting in anticipation for the new game to come out, and it is the perfect time of the year for it, Halloween!!!!
Silvercat | Added on: October 26, 2009
 
I thoroughly enjoy Hidden Object games but have to admit that this was the first one to ever make me jump as much as this one did! Really enjoyed the plot line and amount of detail to the game!
millie_e | Added on: October 30, 2009
 
It was a really good game apart from being really short.
gitapress | Added on: November 2, 2009
 
The promotion idea sounded great. However, this game is much too tedious and for me, that takes the fun aspect out of it. Game takes too long to load, you spend time searching for objects that are too well hidden, and figuring out the mini game also consumed a lot of time. Graphics were nice, mouse jumped too much, and overall the game became tiring. For this type of game you need more than a hour trial time.
cheryl419 | Added on: October 26, 2009
 
The demo is not long enough to really decide but from what little I seen, it looks like a challenging fun game
bobbien05 | Added on: October 26, 2009
 
This is one of those games you can't stop playing, played until 4 A.M. One of the best I've played since DREAM CHRONICLES (The Chosen Child). Great for this time of the Year.
reambo6 | Added on: October 16, 2009
 
This game makes you use your mind to find clues.One of the better hidden objects game a lot like MCF games.
Nevinsky | Added on: May 3, 2010
 
It's a sunny Saturday morning, my kids are playing Dora and SuperWhy behind me, and this game STILL managed to scare me enough that I jumped! Add to that, it's one of the more challenging HOG-types that I've played - I NEVER use hints, and so far I've had to use several on this one. It's not that the objects are extraordinarily difficult to find, it's more that I can't always figure out where to look. I'm "hooked" so to speak, and can't wait until I can get back to it. My kids are too young to enjoy this, but I would guess it would be "kid friendly" for older (10yo) kids.
doctyper | Added on: October 30, 2009
 
Demo was too short to really get into the game. From what little I saw, I was not too impressed.
oldmummy | Added on: October 19, 2009
 
Very good graphics.Story is good, spooky, and fun. Some of the mini-games took some time to figure out, I usually breeze through these, plus some had different little twists.The tasks, to move the game along, might have been more inventive, but I do play a lot of these games, others might not find it so.My one complaint is, just when I felt I was on a roll, it ended! The ending is far to abrupt! I can see, I am being set up for the sequel, which is fine, but the next one needs to be longer and better. You have the start of a really good, enjoyable series of games, I am looking forward to the next one!
skylark55 | Added on: October 19, 2009
 
This is a great game. Lots of interaction between locations and very challenging. I would recommend this game to anyone who loves the HOG genre.
gmac1007 | Added on: October 16, 2009
 
I have to admit I don't play alot of hidden object games simply because there are just way to many out there. Now having said that and being a big fan of horror and ghost tales I could'nt pass this one up !! I'm glad that I did'nt it is GREAT !! It grabs you by the throat and reels you in from the get go. The graphics and sound are simply awesome . My only complaint is that it just was'nt long enough. Overall I LOVED it and I hope there will be another. This is a great game, with all the right elements especially for Halloween and it is worth the download I recommend you give it a try you'll get HOOKED !! GREAT game Gamehouse stand up and take a bow !! I applaud you !! Keep up the great work !!!!!
stelloriginals | Added on: October 31, 2009
 
Nice game overall. Love the graphics! The cat was a bit much, but I can live with that. Good storyline, easy to navigate.
DocAmy1096 | Added on: October 27, 2009
 
This was pretty boring. It was short and if I had bought the game I'd be pretty ticked. Overall, it was ho-hum.
everyonesmom2 | Added on: October 20, 2009
 
Excellent Adventure HOG.I finished the demo in 15 minutes and HAD to purchase the game. Not like your usual hidden object. This one made you think a little. You not only had to find the object, but than had to use that object in some way. Along the way something or someone was after you. This game will keep you on the edge of your seat wondering what's going to happen next. Not for children or faint of heart. I suggest you empty your bladder before you start. Now the game isn't so hard that you can't solve the puzzles, but it will take a little time and some thought. Don't worry there are plenty of hint "bugs" along the way to help you out if you get stuck. Now for some of the stickier parts of the game. I'm not sure if it is due to Vista or the game, but when the game loads you end up staring at a black screen for 3-5 minutes before the game starts. In between levels the same problem with the screen going black for a couple minutes and than it jumping to the next level. At one point in the game I finished a section and it went black and all of a sudden I was somewhere else. Don't even know why. All in all it is a great game and worth my $6.99, not sure of replay value as haven't tried yet.
maidenwolf | Added on: October 21, 2009
 
The game is a lot of fun, but it is just too short. In spite of its "shortness" it is still worth buying! Can't wait for the next one!
rjemye | Added on: October 22, 2009
 
Cool game...makes you think. Good detail. I would recommend this game to others
GeekMom | Added on: March 12, 2010
 
This game's chilling horror story kept me guessing until near the end. Yes, the ending was rather predictable, but so are many horror stories. The game made me feel I was participating in a horror film and I got quite scared. I really hope to see more games like this in the future.
foxshasta | Added on: October 19, 2009
 
I was really impressed with this game. I hope to see more like this!! The only con was that it was waaay too short! Other than that, great job gamehouse!!!
Brattybratt | Added on: October 16, 2009
 
Wow! I really like this game. I was hooked from the start. Great graphics & sound. Spooky! I did jump once or twice! LOL Perfect for October. Fun, Fun FUN!
forevrsmiles | Added on: October 27, 2009
 
I liked it, but before i knew it, it was over. Even my daughters were helping me!Very addictive for us.
suzzy54 | Added on: October 28, 2009
 
The trial was cool,there wasn't much left to the game after I bought it.This was the first game I bought with a fun ticket.That was a mean trick.
Figgie | Added on: November 3, 2009
 
Perfectly timed for release because it’s suspenseful and offers tension for the Halloween season. If you want an extra scare, play it at night, when you’re alone… The graphics and sound are extremely well-executed. The storyline is addictive; I played right through. Yes, I recognized the spooky story, but that did not detract from the game. There is definitely a “Thrill Factor” in this game. I jumped a few times. I was very willing to ride along for the chills. This game is Not kid friendly. If you don’t want your kids to have nightmares, I’d keep this away from anyone under thirteen. Fine for adults and teens who like horror. There are mini games; some pretty standard ones, but a few had twists. In the hidden object sections, the “finds” were necessary to continue with the story; that made the finding feel more immediate because without fulfilling the list, the danger would grow closer and closer. The objects were not in just one place; instead, you had to move from place to place to gather the different pieces - that makes it feel more realistic. I’m a hidden object game fan, but I know that they can get routine with the usual look and click concept. This game has the added necessity of figuring things out. This becomes a think, look, think again and click game. The trial was WAY too short. 30 minutes let me start to see how the story and the puzzles were going to work. The big disappointment of (purchasing) the game is that it’s obviously too short; it could use additional locations, more challenges, more options to play different versions of the minigames after the main play is over. So short, I think this is going to lead to some unhappy customers! Yes, the story is set up for sequels, but honestly, GameHouse, the sequel(s) HAVE to be longer and they need the ability to be replayed with different objects. Maybe you can have another option, such as quick find, which will lengthen the game. Okay, GameHouse, you have many of us hooked on Hookman. Do we have to wait an entire year for the sequel? Not just any sequel, but a LONGER sequel with more play-time for the money. This type of HO – with necessary objects and a spooky-good storyline - clearly works, GameHouse; I’m sure you’re already spinning this off into a formula using other terrifying urban myths or classic horror stories. I’d give it a five for the thrills and the HO, but a three for the length.
CMSS | Added on: November 2, 2009
 
Enjoyed this game, really kept me intrigued. Was disappointed in the ending, left me wanting more.
bencindy | Added on: October 26, 2009
 
Enjoyed the game but wished it had lasted a little longer.
corridor7f | Added on: February 22, 2010
 
I was really impressed with the spooky and intense atmosphere created, but the storyline towards the end became really predictable and I got a little bored. I, as always, wish it could've lasted a little longer than it did. Great graphics, sound and originality. Gamehouse made me $20 poorer on this one, I bought the full version!
zoobaby | Added on: October 19, 2009
 
I loved the game, although i did get to a part that i couldn't figure out, and couldn't skip, or use a hint (wouldn't let me do any of those things). Overall I think it was fun to play and i would definately buy it.
Unicorn_one | Added on: October 19, 2009
 
Excellent game, good puzzles, couple of good frights too, not really for younger kids because of content but I bet some of them would love it! Good value for money up until the end.... where it ended too suddenly for my liking, very abrupt on my mac.... was that it? then I realised that the makers are stretching this out to at least another game.... very annoying. I would have preferred to have played this game through to the end of the story. Pretty sure the game makers could have thought of another story to continue the theme if they wanted. So for me that was a HUGE BIG BUMMER!..... so I ended my game on a down note
papagino | Added on: October 16, 2009
 
Excellent combination of hidden object and problem solving. Well designed game!
michaelb0823 | Added on: October 19, 2009
 
What there is to this game is pretty good. The puzzles themselves aren't very original, but the way they are presented is, getting them a little bit at a time instead of a standard list for each location. But I was disappointed that there wasn't more. The story was rather routine and it wrapped up too easily and quickly for my tastes.
sewmet | Added on: October 19, 2009
 
I really enjoyed this game. It is a game that I might think about buying.
mek509 | Added on: November 16, 2009
 
Excellent game, lots of puzzels, difficult to find objects in different places.
gigglesforgames | Added on: October 30, 2009
 
I loved it. I really enjoyed the camp setting. It was creepy. I wish it had been longer. But the graphics were great and I'm looking forward to the sequel.
selein38 | Added on: October 19, 2009
 
the demo was to short. would have liked to play a little more. interesting
JBuffat | Added on: October 21, 2009
 
Cool game-I could not stop the game untill I finished.
keribrown69 | Added on: October 28, 2009
 
way too short. i was tempted to buy it after the hour trial but when i read other reviews that it was too short and not worth the money i changed my mind. while it lasts, it is engaging and exciting and a bit scary.
laclark2002 | Added on: October 19, 2009
 
My biggest problem is that the game is really short. I was able to get through it within an hour and a half of play. There is no real replay value since there is no change to the puzzles and there aren't multiple difficulties. It can be hard to figure out where to go next but not bad. I don't consider this to be kid friendly since they try to startle you but it is fun to play through.
chmcarn196 | Added on: October 31, 2009
 
This game was very thought provoking...brain cells definitely had to be used to play this game.
whurlwind226 | Added on: November 2, 2009
 
Game is great! very interactive, like the mini games
Kaet | Added on: October 19, 2009
 
This game has a great story which is very different from other hidden object games for mack. It isn't too easy and definitely still holds my interest the second time through
MirabileDictu | Added on: November 16, 2009
 
This is a very good puzzle/hidden object game. I loved the creepy atmosphere of this game, and the story kept me very interested. There were definitely some parts that made me jump. A few challenging spots but overall, not frustratingly difficult. Not necessarily a good replay but these types of games rarely are (slightly different object locations or puzzle solutions but the story doesn't change). I would recommend still because if you like these types of games, this is a pretty strong entry in the genre. A few good frights too!
Wendibrown | Added on: October 21, 2009
 
I enjoyed this game and will purchase it so I may play the game all the way through, as the download was too short for me! I want to play this game and believe it is one of the best hidden obect games available!
DJIO | Added on: January 19, 2010
 
I'm a fan of thriller movies and the plot of this game is very good. I can assure you'll have several jumps off the chair. PS: It's not a horror game thou.
bonnadonna | Added on: October 19, 2009
 
Well I thought the game was way to short,and not enough locations.
GamerNo1 | Added on: October 16, 2009
 
This game was so scary that it kept making me jump! What a thrill to play! The storyline is great and I can't wait to finish it!
tabbyj1964 | Added on: October 30, 2009
 
I really liked this game. Makes you think. There is Quite a bit of going back and forth between places.
grimbo114 | Added on: October 20, 2009
 
I liked this game very much! You actually had to think, not like some HOG games.
mystemo | Added on: November 11, 2009
 
Such a great theme, devilish puzzles and an inventive way of seeking and finding objects that ties closely to the current story point - but all completed within a couple of hours. Perhaps it is the narrative that makes you want to rush through the experience, but some more thought into the length of the game would have been much appreciated. Well worth a look :)
weatherhawk | Added on: October 19, 2009
 
This game will keep you jumping as especially with the bobcat and cat that jump at you while exploring the room and forest. I didnt like the ending because it ended in an suspense so I'm assuming there is going to be another one next year during halloween. I'm looking forward to the next installment!
jet1369 | Added on: October 19, 2009
 
I liked having to go back and search for more items it made you to keep a good watch on what you were looking at.
xenutia | Added on: September 1, 2010
 
I played this game some time ago, but it shows that it must have been a good game because I immediately remembered most of the scenes in it when I saw the name. I also remembered that it had me looking over my shoulder for the rest of the night! There are very few games that are genuinely atmospheric and scary, but this one certainly is. The graphics were excellent, although I think some of the last scenes went slightly over the top with the dark side of things. I found it just the right pace, not too hard as to be annoying or too easy. Well worth playing again, although, of course, some of the shock value will have worn off. All round and original and memorable HOG. Recommended.
J9Cleme | Added on: October 20, 2009
 
I really enjoyed the game. It's not just a "hidden picture" game. You have to use your brain too. I enjoyed the story line. The illustrations/graphics were great.
gidget | Added on: October 29, 2009
 
I had a blast playing this game. I did not want the trial to end, it had a little of hidden object and puzzle in it. This is definitely a game I am going to purchase. I believe I have found a new favorite!!!!!
cathy13 | Added on: October 29, 2009
 
I found this game to hold my attention as an adult. I usually do not have the sound on while playing games, but turned it on for this one! I found it a good mix of HO and puzzles. The puzzles made you think. Good job on this one.....glad I bought it.
frogs2 | Added on: October 19, 2009
 
Had troublle following the game. It is difently on that you can not do something else with it. What little I did get to play of the game it seem like it could be and interesting one.
bravesfan | Added on: November 23, 2009
 
Having played many hidden object games, this one is one of the best I've seen. The storyline is great and it has such a spooky feeling throughout. The mini games really make you think. I liked the idea that they could be skipped if you needed to. Love the way you had to find things and then use them to get further in the game. I will play this again and again!
Cherubaby | Added on: April 16, 2010
 
I really loved this game and will play it again! Beautiful Graphics and storyline. Well done!
sasha_luvs_u38 | Added on: October 26, 2009
 
My sister and i both bought it, a truly great game all the way around only wish it was large filed, i just couldnt get enough, it is a awsome exp. and so challenging and at the same time keeps you on your toes with suprise, i was so relaxed yet so excited the whole way through it. Thanks Gamehouse!
seamus_mom | Added on: October 19, 2009
 
This was a great game for the Halloween Season. There are well placed, unexpected scares. I love the whole takeoff on the Hookman-maniac story. I wish it was longer and of course I hope there is a sequel..maybe a differant urban/classic legend! The graphics were top notch. I loved the expressions on the girl's face! It could be more challenging and the story more developed, but overall it was a lot of creepy fun. Thanks!
emhamm | Added on: October 16, 2009
 
I remember back in the day when hidden-item games were rare and a real delight to play. Now they area dime-a-dozen and many have unoriginal plots and it's usually just a lot of clicking with a mouse. This game is NOT one of those games! The plot is a spin off an old scary story told around campfires but with a realistic twist that will make think twice about that bump in the night. The game-play is challenging and at times causes you to ask yourself if you are as good as you think you are at hidden-item games. I highly suggest this game if you would like to break away from the dull clicking of other hidden-item games and be challenged for once!
mdeckmama | Added on: October 20, 2009
 
I loved this game. It was very challenging though. Kept having to back and find fireflies to solve some of the puzzles. But all in all it was a great game. Very original and spooky!
mfaulken | Added on: November 2, 2009
 
I Enjoyed playing this game. I was sorry when the trial ran out.
craneneck | Added on: October 19, 2009
 
I thought the game was too short... very disappointing.
Sepphira | Added on: October 23, 2009
 
Campfire Legends - The Hookman creates a perfectly spooky atmosphere, just in time for its pre-Halloween release. The game's developers have created their own haunted (and haunting) storyline based on the urban legend of "The Hookman". In fact, the atmosphere is at some times so well created that it might be a little frightening for very young kids (and easily spooked adults!). This is one of my favorite types of hidden object games, in which the objects you search for actually have relevance and purpose within the game's story. The only small problems I experienced were the fact that the game is quite graphics intensive, and on my somewhat older, crowded system, this caused a bit of lag as well as locking my computer up a couple times. If you have similar problems, be sure to stop and save where you are in-game fairly frequently as the game does NOT auto-save when advancing from one scene to the next. Consequently, if a lock-up (or power outage) causes the game to close without your having manually saved, you'll end up having to start all over from the beginning. Other than the small, system-related quirks, Campfire Legends - The Hookman is of all around excellent production quality, and I'd recommend it highly.
anm805 | Added on: May 27, 2011
 
I beat this game in a little over 1 1/2 hours. I love hog's but thought this was very short. Would have loved a longer story and a better background on the girl.
Jkvetch | Added on: October 23, 2009
 
I downloaded this last weekend and couldn't stop playing. I'm usually not good at those slide-the-puzzle-piece mini-games, but I figured these out just fine. My grands arrived on Monday and were kept occupied for hours. And you can opt-out the mini-games which is nice if you're a younger player or have difficulty solving them. The hidden objects actually made sense and fit the storyline. I really liked how you had to interact with this game. 2 thumbs up!
wbtait | Added on: October 26, 2009
 
This was an interesting game. Can't wait to buy and play the entire game.
Illogical | Added on: May 24, 2010
 
I will admit that playing this game at night was not the smartest thing for me to do. There were a few moments during the game where I either jumped or clicked with my eyes closed. Some of the mini games were super easy while others required a lot of patience and thought. If it wasn't such a resource hog (suctioning up so much CPU/ slow mouse) I would definitely replay this game. However, many HOG lovers may appreciate this. Very nice story line. I hope there's more to come!
Heatherml6 | Added on: October 28, 2009
 
Playing this game, I had a bit of a problem finding and figuring out what I needed, but after reading previous reviews I am not too sure I want to buy this. Seems like it would have more to the story but only time will tell. If you want something that really makes you wander from building to building searching then this is it. I would like a little more information when playing the game.
1337gamer | Added on: October 15, 2009
 
This is the perfect game for Halloween, and is an original take on the hidden object genre as a whole. Reminded me a lot of Mortimer Beckett, but much scarier and darker. I am 23 years old, have played games since I was 6, and I have played a lot of them just for scares. I went into this game with a chip on my shoulder, but there were parts that ended up scaring even me, and I don't dare play it with my fiancee, she would flip, lol. Download the trial like i did, but be prepared to get sucked into the story and have a cliffhanger-like end when the trial runs out :( I can't recommend for the kiddies out there, actually, because some of the source material and little clues you find are kind of scary and twisted (someone was found stealing organs, but don't worry, that's not a spoiler.) But for those teens and adults looking for a good scare, this one is just perfect.
joyjoy | Added on: October 29, 2009
 
took a minute to find hints...the back and forth was a little time consuming , but all in all fun, great graphic
Shanoa | Added on: October 12, 2010
 
A nice spooky game, has a slight jump factor for me. Might be higher depending on the person. Nice storyline, music/sound effects aren't to bad. One of the rare HO's I've left the music on instead of listening to my own stuff. The music also adds the effect of the game. Graphics are nice, and certainly add to the dark feature. Game-play isn't bad but it is a bit monotonous having to fix everything in order to use it. Hopefully something they fix in their next game in this series.
Veebs | Added on: October 30, 2009
 
I just played the first few minutes, the demo. I play a lot of hidden object games, but I haven't played one like this before. The instructions/tips could be a little clearer. That would make it a little more user-friendly. :) But overall, fun game so far.
katz596 | Added on: October 30, 2009
 
I loved playing this game...did not want to stop. This is a great game, but depending on how old your child is, I don't think this would be good for them, because it can be scary.
ekgannon | Added on: October 31, 2009
 
The trial wasn't that long and I felt that it could have been just a little bit longer. I don't really know how I feel about this game considering I only had 2 tasks to complete before the trial was over. I will update after I play the whole game.
sdngry | Added on: December 13, 2010
 
I played a lot of dark HOGs but this one actually made me jump from my seat couple of times. Good game but too short
MacMommy | Added on: March 23, 2010
 
I played this with my kids and it is one of their all-time favorite games of any kind. We have a Wii and other things, but they loved this game. The scariness of it made them laugh. The puzzle solving was challenging. The drawings were cool. Love it.
Babala | Added on: October 29, 2009
 
This is a decent game worth your time. It's a mix of adventure/HOG with an appropriately creepy atmosphere. It was a tad easy but that may be because I've done tons of games. I like the graphics and it's easy to navigate the map. Firefly hints are helpful and not too obvious. Overall it's worth the purchase.
4woisins | Added on: October 26, 2009
 
Great Game. Makes you think about what you're looking for. Loved to be spooked.