Campfire Legends - The BabysitterCampfire Legends - The Babysitter
Number of reviews to show on each page:
20 reviews
 
Reviews of Campfire Legends - The Babysitter
candimc72 | Added on: October 25, 2010
 
It was hard to figure out #1 what a firefly looked like. I thought it would light up or something. You had to go back and forth to find things... but it really kept my interest. I think there should have been a tutorial at least showing you what the firefly looked like so my game would have been less hectic in the beginning. it was really fun once you figured out what exactly there was to do.
xenutia | Added on: October 21, 2010
 
I was really looking forward to this game, as I enjoyed the first one so much, but I found myself getting more and more frustrated with this game as it went on and only played it through to see what happened at the end. The graphics were awesome of course, as usual, and the storyline very good, which was a saving grace of the game. I did find the music at the beginning a bit too over dramatic, and turned it down after a few minutes. I don't think that making a cup of cocoa really demands high tension music. Although the hints system was the same as the first campfire outing, I found that this time it was downright annoying, because the hints were seldom helpful, and when trying to use them to skip a puzzle they failed more times than not, unless you repeated the process several times. The puzzle just kept disappearing every time you tried to use a bug on it. The mini games were original and interesting, and like another reviewer I particularly like the glueing the plate together. I did nearly put my foot through the screen with the building block game though, as it told me to build a high tower, which I did, and after a long time of playing monkey, I accidentally solved it when the blocks tumbled where they wanted, and it had nothing to do with building a high tower at all!!!! There were serious omissions in instructions for the games and puzzles, mini or otherwise, and you were left floundering about wondering what you were supposed to be doing. In some cases, they were actually misleading. In a lot of the puzzles, I did what I knew was the correct thing and the items refused to budge and I just had to keep plugging away at it for ages until it finally responded to my commands. There was also far too much running around to find puzzle pieces before you could even attempt the mini puzzle. I was going backwards like a fiddler's elbow until I finally worked out a strategy where you could use the hint system to trick the game into giving me some answers. Although there were still some excellent features in this game, like the graphics, plot, characterization and original ideas, I just found the game play so frustrating that I didn't really enjoy it much. I'm sure some players will love it, but I don't think it was a patch on the first Campfire Legend.
DollyBlossom | Added on: October 28, 2010
 
Not too hard, but just challenging enough. Must think, but don't have to go to the walkthriugh every 5 minutes.
Felinda | Added on: February 23, 2011
 
This game was perfect in every way. It was not so challenging that it sent you off in search of a walkthrough, but it wasn't so easy that you didn't have to give some thought to your next move. It was scary, so not a good game for kids, but for folks who like a little horror, there was plenty to make your skin crawl. The story line had some cracks in its believability, but those were easy to forgive since the game was so engrossing. The graphics were excellent once again....like the first Campfire Legends - Hookman. Right now the game is priced as a super-saver. I considered it a great value at full price. If you don't have this game already, now is the chance to get a top-shelf game at bargain basement cost. Do it!
SUZsaysHi | Added on: October 22, 2010
 
I liked the first one and I like this one just as well. It has a good storyline. Good graphics. Some of the HOs are almost impossible to find. I found myself getting frustrated in spots.
Sartasia | Added on: October 21, 2010
 
This would probably fall into an Adventure/HOG catagory. Graphics are ok for the most part though some items will strain your eyes looking for them. Music was over done at points. It starts right off with intensity which doesn't necessarily apply in the beginning scenes. Do you really need high drama music to make cocoa or catch tiny pet lizards? Spinning cursor for over clicking. Hint system the same as the last in the series. Collect fireflies which are quite common. I never lacked for them because I only used them once for a skip. They are plentiful. Basically one per screen. Leave, come back and there is another one. Mini games play right into the story though most are standard and quite easy, a few are quite imaginitive and challenging. You will spend a lot of time searching in many locations for needed scattered items. Your environment enlarges as the game progresses . Length for me was about 3 hours not including the bonus level which is a room by room timed HOG. The story line was quasi making sense to me until the end. Then it lost me.... It was the last shot and then apparently it wasn't? The game does have a dark feel to it but never quite delivers. It felt creepy at the beginning but doing so many mundane things with such intense music left me feeling from the start that it was overly dramatic for no reason. The game is not boring by any means and keeps you moving but it just never really impressed me. The last one IMO had a creepier vibe. Maybe I should have played it at night...lol.
hiddenobjects | Added on: October 22, 2010
 
I loved the complexity of each scene and the challenge in finding hidden objects. The story intrigued me. Generally, I do not pay close attention to story lines. I enjoyed the mini-games although there were a few I skipped. The graphics over-all were A+. I love detail and this game provided just that. This game will be added to my top favorites!
devi | Added on: October 25, 2010
 
I usually don't read story lines, but this one you almost had to and I must admit, it wasn't bad. I enjoyed playing this game, however, waiting/searching for your firefly hint got to be a little annoying. I stuck with it though and would recommend playing it.
porpose | Added on: October 27, 2010
 
I am very pleased with this game. Lots of fun and exploring.
kenspunkin1 | Added on: August 11, 2011
 
I absolutely love the Campfire Legends series! They have great storylines, told like true campfire stories, and they are not too long or short. Graphics are great and, alth0ough pretty easy, it does have a few spots where y0ou are scratching your head wondering what to do next. But that is where the fireflys come in handy! Can't wait for the next!
amyeve700 | Added on: November 2, 2010
 
Either I'm not very intelligent or this game was way too complicated. For once, I actually had to go online and find a walk through guide to figure out alot of the steps in this game. Not recommended, especially if you and your children play these games together.
debcran777 | Added on: October 25, 2010
 
The basic premise of the game was okay, but I hated having to back through 4 rooms every five minutes. I would not buy it, but some people might not be bothered by this.
Granmainfl | Added on: November 2, 2010
 
You must play a lot longer than one hour to experience this game. The first part of cleaning up after the bratty kids is only a teaser. The rest of the game in the basement laboratory is really gruesome and scary. This was one of the most challenging HO games I have ever played and I have played all the top games. You really need the hints! You have to play Haken's Journal also to understand what happened.
timewaster89 | Added on: April 22, 2012
 
This game is both fun and chilling. The ending scene does a better job as a cliffhanger than the last game did. I give this game 8 out of 10, a perfect adaption of my favorite urban legend.
LisaRCT | Added on: December 22, 2011
 
Enjoyed the hidden object and puzzle interactions. Storyline went right along the lines of an 80's scary movie. Interest in this game was spanned from the Campire Legends Hookman game. Had to reference the walk-through to get through some of them. Would be ideal if varied results were available based on the type of choices made by the player (or order of choices); would encourage more replay of the same game. Nice job Developers!!
IronRaziel | Added on: October 26, 2010
 
I thought this game would be like the first one - the one about the hook. Man, was I wrong! The story was kind of weak, and the the ending was...I'll let you find out for yourself. Some of the hints and puzzles are kind of challenging. I have had to ..ahem..*cough cough* use the walk-through for this game twice to figure out what I was supposed to do. Not an easy admission for me considering I love challenges! The bugs as hints are pretty easy to fine but here's one tip - find them FIRST before you do anything in your play and if necessary - try to memorize where the bugs are if you used up a hint or two. I was not exactly thrilled, or amazed with the game. The graphics is pretty good but not stellar! I enjoyed this game as a filler for me.
MountainRosie | Added on: September 27, 2011
 
We have had so much fun with the campfire legends! Both Babysitter and Hookman were great! we have become expert bug hunters too. the puzzles in this are challenging and fun and the scary stories are extra fun because we tend to play outside in the dark at night!
bella24 | Added on: October 28, 2010
 
The story had me hooked (pun intended) from the beginning. That rarely happens to me with most HOGs. So, that made it all the more disappointing when I found myself running all over this house cleaning up the messes made by the two bratty kids we are baby sitting. Come on, this is supposed to be scary right? What is scary about cleaning up the cosmetics fiasco the girls created in the parent's room or gluing together a plate that they have broken. I WAS TERRIFIED, though, when I had to go into that kitchen and make hot chocolate. What a mess! These people are slobs. Maybe they are too busy with their careers to clean but, come on, can't these folks afford a cleaning service? So, I found that I didn't want to hang around, past my free hour, to find out what other clean up jobs that they had planned for me. After all, I've got my own home to clean. Geewhiz!
brenissa | Added on: November 10, 2010
 
I enjoyed the first Campfire game so I gave this one a try and enjoyed it as well. I've always liked the babysitter urban legends, so the storyline was fun for me. Definitely worth the price!
simango | Added on: January 27, 2014
 
its starts off hard and gets harder...excellent project for those who enjoy hidden objects
RandiM | Added on: October 21, 2010
 
Great game. Good for the time of year. Has great graphics and I love the fact that you have to search through multiple rooms in the house to find a lot of the stuff, it makes it more challenging. A lot of the places and rooms are actually nice to look at and the mini games are fun. I liked the one where you placed the plate back together and actually had to glue it too. The whole (kind-of) story line that's going on is pretty creepy and I actually jumped once because I was so into it and heard a noise, ha. I also like that you find your hints (in the shape of bugs) and if you run out you have to go around and find them, it doesn't make it so easy to get them. All in all, great game, I am on my way to buying it. It's definitely worth the purchase and play time.
Kakkabilly | Added on: November 1, 2012
 
Not exactly "terrifying" Graphics are OK but game is quite repeative in having to return to already searched locations numerous times and it gets to stages where not even clicking clues/tips helps
Guyblow | Added on: October 26, 2010
 
The Campfire Legends games are fantastic. It's challenging but the storyline keeps you very intrigued. It's not a game that has you reading alot of boring nonsense. I think you should play the hookman first then continue to the second game the babysitter. Fabulous Game.
Big_Cat_Fan | Added on: November 1, 2010
 
Really had to think through and remember where items were located. Liked having to check multiple locations to find items to perform tasks. Sometimes frustrating when you were'nt sure where to go next and didn't have clear clues, but that may be from my experience with easier games. Don't play this one when tired!
Deviarich | Added on: October 22, 2010
 
I didn't find it real sacary but fun to play. Nice story it remind me of camp lol.
Lisa522 | Added on: October 25, 2010
 
This game was somewhat disappointing to me. I think I expected to be right in the midst of a scary story and while the game starts that way, it certainly takes its time getting there. It seems like the house you must explore is well designed, there are lots of little nooks and crannies to explore. There were a few things that bugged me though - 1. It feels like you're playing clean up and/or fix the house more than anything else. There's a lot of repairing and creating makeshift items going on. 2. The game seems overdramatic (thus far, at least). It's like it's trying so hard to make you jump but really it's its own worst enemy. How built up is the tension after you're done preparing cocoa or doing a slider puzzle? How about after you're done repairing a decorative plate? 3. I hate the hint system! For one, you have to find little tiny "fireflies" that look more like little green beetles. Because they are limited, you are afraid to use your hints even though you need them and here's the kicker, you cannot skip a puzzle unless you have 3 of these "fireflies" in reserve. I was struggling with the slider puzzle and wanted to cash it in after 10 minutes but didn't have enough "fireflies" to do it. So I messed with it another 10 minutes, still couldn't quite get it. Is this game supposed to be fun or just frustrating? My final complaint is that some of the items are just too tiny - not to mention some of the rooms are somewhat dark to begin with. I'm not ready to totally cash it in on this game but I can tell this is a game I will have to play in small doses rather than for hours at a clip (as I already purchased it straight out without demo'ing). If I were you, I would try the game before buying.
welshman | Added on: October 27, 2010
 
Good in parts! I like the basic idea - as begun with Hookman - though this time the story is a bit too artificially weird; I like the idea that you actually have to explore different places and rooms to find hidden objects rather than simply finding them all in one scene at a time; I even liked the 'collect fireflies for hints' idea, though it took me some time to realise what I was looking for as the 'fireflies' turn out to be little round beetles like scarabs. The graphics were good but, like some others, I really couldn't see the point of having to do the slider puzzle or make chocolate, for instance. The links all seemed too contrived for me. That said, I have little sympathy for those who complained they didn't collect enough hints to be able to skip puzzles, because the beetles ARE there. You don't want these games to be TOO easy, for heaven's sake, or to simply dive for some walkthrough as soon as things become difficult. Where's the challenge in that? I've complained if, for instance, objects are well-nigh impossible to spot as is sometimes the case, but if the mechanism for moving forwards is reasonable I actually welcome a bit of difficulty. Why bother otherwise??
catmom | Added on: October 25, 2010
 
This is for sure the best game ever!!!! I played about 15 min. and bought right away. Thank-you for making my day better.
GamerNo1 | Added on: December 6, 2010
 
This game deserves 5+ stars. It is scary, challenging, and very entertaining. The storyline is as good as any scary movie I've ever seen. I can't wait for the next Campfire Legends game!
screamqueen63 | Added on: November 2, 2010
 
It started out great But I got stuck when I had to reenter the surgery. would not happen but otherwise it was good fun. I really like the bugs in this game better than the way they were in the hookman
S_p_l | Added on: October 28, 2011
 
I'm a fan of the first installment of the "Campfire" series, and I felt this game was a solid second installment. Your character, Lisa, is a young girl babysitting two little girls in a rather ominous looking home where a lot of strange things are happening. Familiar enough, but don't take this game at face value. It starts off like a B-horror movie. At the beginning, the game tricks you into thinking this is going to be a play on the infamous babysitter urban legend, but things get very weird very quickly. Like its predecessor, The Hookman, the graphics are awesome, and the music/sound effects are quite creepy. There are several jump scares, especially toward the second half of the game. Finding fire-flies to replenish hints is still necessary, and quite tiresome. As you progress, the game gets sort of nit-picky and makes you look for tiny seemingly irrelevant objects. Nevertheless, it's hard to not carry on because the storyline is engaging. The ending was a little far-fetched, but a definite surprise. I would recommend this game if you're a fan of the first, as it's worth a play through, and is quite haunting and engrossing.
foxshasta | Added on: October 27, 2010
 
Its a good game but the first one was better. I think hookman was also longer. Its still fun to play though.
iggyson | Added on: November 1, 2010
 
this game is good if you like hidden objects and puzzles and thinking all in one remember to get fireflys (5) before doing a puzzle it helps great game all and all.Lawrence
Angel37128 | Added on: October 22, 2010
 
This is one of the greatest games that I have ever played!! I love scary games like this! I also loved the challenges, the graphics and...oh I should just say...the whole game!
celestia15025 | Added on: October 25, 2010
 
This game was excellent! I was playing it when my daughter came home from school and scared me!!! I was so involved in the game and the music and background sounds that when she opened the door I jumped at least 2 feet in the air!!!!! This almost never happens cause I don't scare easy. As soon as I get paid I am going to get this game on CD! I really enjoyed the game because It was not timed play and because I am a gamehouse member of the funpass program, I cam pretty much play the game and take my time with it. I loved it!
MagAngel | Added on: November 8, 2010
 
This game was one of the worst time wasters out there. I loved the Hookman game, but this game was just hopping back and forth, looking for every little thing possible. Some of the mini-games were cool, but on the whole, a frustrating, game. Searching for things was just a way to lengthen the game. I bought this without demoing it because of the previous Campfire Legend Hookman game, but I'm sorry I did.
Jem888 | Added on: November 3, 2010
 
This game starts out kind of slow, probably to get you used to how to navigate around and use the fireflies for hints. If you only play the hour demo you will not get into the challenging part of this game. The game gets a lot more challenging when you end up down in the basement going through various rooms. I liked how accessible the fireflies were in this game vs. the Hookman...and believe me you need the fireflies to help you get through this one. This game definitely challenges you way more than the Hookman did. Once you finish playing the game through you unlock the ability to go back through each scene to play a timed hidden object hunt. I thought this extra feature was a great bonus.
Kath123 | Added on: October 28, 2010
 
I enjoyed playing this game. Some of the puzzles were challenging. Though not as good as the first, Hookman, it was still a lot of fun!!
chicken_checker | Added on: October 28, 2010
 
I liked this Campfire Legends as good as the first one. The fireflies are handy little rascals, plus they're not hard to find. Just don't get yourself caught in a jam without them. I personally hope Gamehouse keeps the Campfire Legends coming, I'm sure I'll buy every one of them. This game isn't as hard as the MCF games, but it is challenging enough that it will have you scratching your head occasionally, for me that makes it just right.
mystemo | Added on: February 11, 2011
 
Very nice follow on from the last Campfire game. The game completely sucks you in to make sure you play every level to find out what happens next. The hidden object part of the game is fairly integral to the main story which makes it feel much more seamless. My only criticism is that the next game in the series needs to be a slightly higher resolution for larger monitors - everything seems rather small on a bigger screen, but that is a minor gripe. Great atmosphere, a tad on the short side but very satisfying until the next adventure!
purplecak | Added on: October 28, 2010
 
I thought the original Campfire Legends was much better. This story was interesting, I suppose, and the rooms were kind of cool. However, a lot of the items you had to find were very frustrating, and I feel like they were spread out over more rooms and a much larger area, so a lot of time was wasted clicking back and forth between areas. I enjoyed the mini-games more than the actual game play. I thought the mini-games were just the right difficulty. I'd recommend the game if you have a game pass, or some credits to spend, but I would have been very disappointed if I paid for this.
tetcats | Added on: December 6, 2010
 
Great twist on the classic story. Fun game. Very enjoyable.
undrgrndgirl | Added on: October 27, 2010
 
the graphics etc are well done, but the game play is not nearly as good as the first one (campfire legends the hookman). some of the mini games are tedious, there are no traditional hidden object scenes...when you look for items the game shows you what you are looking for which actually interferes with finding them...
sportygal2009 | Added on: October 22, 2010
 
For me, this is the worst game I've ever downloaded as I had high hopes for this one and was really looking forward to playing this as Halloween is just around the corner (my favorite time of the year) and I usually really love the "dark side" games but the last couple "dark side" games here have been a disappointment in my humble opinion. I just found that this game had way too much wandering around and as mentioned which I found the same thing - the so called "hint" nothing but downright ANNOYING as most of the time not helpful. The objects you have to find you are given a picture instead of a '"word" list like most games but I must admit it took me a bit to realize that most of what I was having to find was in other areas of the game instead of the area it originally "pops up" in for you to find them and some of the items were so small. The graphics were pretty good for the most part but some parts of the game the graphics leave A LOT to be desired. Where this REALLY went downhill for me was the puzzles as they absolutely got on my last nerve and then having to continuously it seemed to have to find "fireflies" as those are your hints and you need 3 of them before you can SKIP the puzzles. Speaking of the "fireflies" seemed to take an eternity before any would appear as I was actually able to smoke just about a whole cigarette waiting for one until I figured out (yeah it took me a bit) if you leave the area and then come back one will be waiting for ya. As for the story really couldn't follow it because I was too busy wandering and getting fireflies. I also thought the music was a bit much for just making cocoa. Oh and yes as one review mentions: You may have to go in and change your resolution settings as I had to for it to recognize my widescreen monitor otherwise the game doesn't fill the whole screen like it should. Give this game a whirl however and I truly hope you enjoy it, just way too much unnecessary madness for me. About a 1/2 hour of this game was all I could cope cause then I had to stop the madness and pull the plug. I really wanted to see how the game ended but now just don't care as I've played WAY BETTER. Just so glad I have Fun Pass and didn't buy this.
ncmagistr8 | Added on: November 8, 2010
 
Doesn't really make sense. Clues are not all together. Story line is weird.
dizbiz | Added on: October 21, 2010
 
I stopped at 33 mins so I didn't realize the trial was only 30. The time I had was enough for me to know I didn't want it. I loved the other one. The game did not fit my screen...didn't buy a large screen to view a game as if I had a 27inch monitor. The objects were just too small for me. On some of the areas where u get a close up screen the objects were a better size. Can't change the cursor. I turn the music off on most all my games so I can't say anything about that. I had two "mini games" games in my 20 some mins. One was to find objects and then use them to make hot chocolate and the other was a slide puzzle. Both were easy enough to do but if you wanted to skip them...you have to find fireflies before hand. If you over click the mouse goes crazy..some things like the marbles you need to pick up- the mouse is way larger than the object and I had a bit of trouble over clicking because it covered it. There wasn't an option for playing in normal/hard mode but you could turn off the tips. I tried it both ways and didn't really see much difference. The list of objects are listed as pictures not words. If you don't mind the game not filling your screen and don't mind trying to find small objects and like an easier type game, you might really like this one. I'm just disappointed that they changed it so much from the first one.