Brink of Consciousness - Dorian Gray SyndromeBrink of Consciousness - Dorian Gray Syndrome
Number of reviews to show on each page:
20 reviews
 
Reviews of Brink of Consciousness - Dorian Gray Syndrome
Silvercat | Added on: May 16, 2012
 
I love games that while being primarily Hidden Object, also have a variety of other puzzles and a decent plot line...this game has that and more! The games ranged from fairly easy to quite challenging which is a pleasant change from the 'clicky' style games. Highly recommend it and wish I had gotten the Platinum Edition first off so I could find out the end to the last location. As others have said, 'Please make more! and hopefully a sequel!'
WeeWifie | Added on: May 4, 2012
 
Although I've been playing games first through Real Arcade and now Gamehouse for a few years this is my first review. I loved this game.....it had great graphics, a creepy and very involved storyline ( you can't wait to find out what happens next!), a sinister 'Baddie' and very good puzzles. Rarely can I say that I've played a game with so many 'scenes' but it flows very well from one area to the next and although you backtrack a bit it doesn't get boring or tiresome. The map is a good help to keep track of where you are once the game opens up. It is also a pleasure to buy a game that takes a decent length of time to complete, I play in expert mode and many games just don't pose enough of a challenge...pleased to say this one won't let you down. All in all, I thoroughly enjoyed it and all I can add is....Please Sir can I have some more?
Budica | Added on: May 20, 2012
 
This game is so awesome. The story is very dark and exciting. Most of the puzzles were challenging and the hog scenes were well done with everything fitting into the time period in which the story takes place. I highly recommend it.
oceandance | Added on: September 10, 2012
 
The game itself is truly challenging, especially in expert mode. The graphics, voice overs, characters, music, and sound effects are of amazing quality. My only regret is that I didn't purchase the platinum edition. I'm kind of a whiz at completing HOG within the trial 1-hour period. But this game took me 3 days in blocks of time in intervals. I love it when a HOG game is so challenging that it takes a while to complete, which gives me time to enjoy it. And this game needs to be in a combo category: HOG + Puzzles, as there are about as many, if not more puzzles, as hidden object scenes. And these puzzles aren't so ridiculously hard that you want to skip them; however, they are challenging enough to be time-consuming, which allows for the feeling that you're actually working towards the reward at the end. The puzzles are inventive and new; I really enjoyed them. And I truly loved playing this game.
Debonair | Added on: May 5, 2012
 
The graphics and story on this game are wonderful. A great combination of HO and puzzles, not too hard, but not to easy, either. LOTS of back and forth. I used the map a lot to figure out which rooms I still needed to interact with. I'll admit I got stuck and I had to consult a walk-through a couple of times. My only real complaint is that this game is way too short. I was glad I got it as a free game instead of paying for it or I would have been disappointed. It was a good ending, but abrupt. Overall, I would highly recommend this game, especially if you liked The Phantom of the Opera and Beauty and the Beast. Just be aware that you are buying a short game.
The_Seeker | Added on: May 3, 2012
 
This is the first time that I've really been so disappointed in a Gamehouse game to the point of writing a review about it. First off, this game has over 30 scenes. I finally stopped at this point because I found out that I had not picked up a needed item from a previous scene and later it wouldn't let me open the drawer back up to get the thermometer. This is less of a HOG than a go from room-to-room task-oriented game. Most of the scenes are locked and, then when you finally unlock them, you can't accomplish anything there because you have to back track and locate other items to play the mini-games. Many of the tools you need for the game are located in the mini-games. Although the mini-games have the option to skip, you still have to find a tool to open the mini-game up first then select SKIP.
roxy8279 | Added on: February 21, 2013
 
This game got me stumped several times. I take it as a great challenge. This game was great the fun part was finding your way through this well thought out game.
Gaillynn | Added on: April 30, 2012
 
This is one of the best games I've played in a long time. Great storyline that keeps you interested, lots of places to explore and great graphics. The hints give you just enough help without giving everything away.
GameDancer | Added on: May 1, 2012
 
I reviewed this game before as a premium edition giving it a *5* after playing the trial hour--I KNEW it was an excellent game! I used my game credit asap when I saw it offered as a SE. You will get your $$ worth & more owning this game as it is a VERY L-O-N-G suspenseful, intriguing hidden object/puzzle adventure. The graphics, music, sound effects & story line are fantastic...the voice acting is absolutely superb!! Hidden object scenes are meaningful to the story. If you love puzzles this game offers you a wide variety of medium to challenging & unique puzzles. The skip button is fairly quick if you need to pass on a puzzle. There is a non-interactive map but the hint button will help you as there is a lot of back & forth but this adds to the madness of Oscar(the villain) as he has you searching everywhere because he has set up so many traps & detours for you to fail. Stay close to the map!! I hope you will own this wonderful game; sit back & relax--absorb this adventure because Oscar wants you to understand his madness. Many surprises are in store for you. Start with casual mode & enjoy!!
jimsta | Added on: May 6, 2012
 
Game is very addictive with some good puzzles. Can't wait for another game of this caliber. Here's hoping for a follow up. Disappointed myself for not purchasing Platinum edition for the extra chapter. Thoroughly enjoyable. Thank you
flaca | Added on: May 8, 2012
 
From start to finish it was a game that kept you thinking and left you thinking/wondering who this person really was. I am sorry I didn't end up buying it just to get the platinum version to see the true end. Nonetheless, the end was a great one. Those loose end game endings are great too. Mini games were great bc they were different. Hope to see more like these in near future and a part two and I'm sure there will be. THERE HAS TO BE please?
nvyank | Added on: May 22, 2012
 
I really liked solving the puzzes and finding the HOs. The game was pretty lengthy, but that's how I like it. I would have given it 5 Stars, but waiting for the platinum edition to continue the adventure left a bad taste in my mouth.
Dudette | Added on: April 30, 2012
 
Dorian Gray is a great adventure game with HO scenes. You play as Sam Wilde, who has to travel through an immense mansion rigged with numerous traps and puzzles to rescue his girlfriend from the mysterious, taunting Oscar. The HO scenes have some interesting angles and contain items you need to progress through the game. There is a skip button on all the puzzles and there are a ton of them. The play area is HUGE (thank goodness for the map!) Alas, the map has no jump feature, so be prepared for an endless amount of backtracking, hence the 4 star rating. Beware - there are some scenes that will make you jump out of your chair - definitely not for kids! The artwork is beautiful yet chilling. This game reminded me a bit of Phantom of the Opera in its scenery, theme and play - just when you think you're stuck, you discover yet another area to explore. Not your typical "creepy dark mansion" game, but rather an engrossing story about a tortured soul with a respectful nod to Oscar Wilde's masterpiece.
magicalpony27 | Added on: August 9, 2012
 
Honestly...one of the best games I've ever played. Challenging in parts and definitely worth every minute of it. Kept me on the edge of my seat and I just couldn't walk away from my computer. A must play.
Harlowe1962 | Added on: February 13, 2013
 
This game had me stumped a lot. It was hard to know where to go. I ended up using the walkthrough for most of the game, that is ok though as I dont mind and am thankful when someone takes the time to make one. I will say that I dont think it is worth an additional $10.00 for the platinum edition just so you get a bonus scene. I was very satisfied with the ending and was very pleasantly surprised because I was expecting a quick cut off ending like the reviews here warned about. There was plenty of closure for me. I enjoyed this game and it was very well made. Great job!
stephfon2000 | Added on: September 5, 2012
 
This game is perfect for those who value mini games and logic games rather than HOG's. It is rather like a labrynth, and complicated for the faint of heart. If you are not into long, time consuming games, this is not for you. I like it because there is sooo much to it. I could use a bit more HOG's though. I'm only finishing it because I want to see how it ends. Over-all it's not the worst game I've played, but I wouldn't put it up there with my best either. It's in the middle.
LiplessRhyme | Added on: July 9, 2012
 
I loved this game; it was the perfect mixture of story line, puzzles, and hidden object. I wish I could afford the platinum edition! Would love to play extra puzzles. Will definitely play this game again, many times!
MJ1234 | Added on: January 9, 2013
 
This was a very well-done, challenging game with a great story. I was stumped several times - I'm not the best at these games but I still enjoy them. Thank goodness you could skip puzzles...ha...there were only a few hidden object scenes but I didn't even really care. I just wanted to see what happened next. The ending was good but I don't like how you have to buy the premium edition to know how it really ended. Kind of a bummer but didn't ruin the game for me or anything.
rchrdtppr | Added on: May 7, 2012
 
Great scenes, really like the grainy film setting. I like being able to play the game, any game, on an expert level and less hint help. What was challenging was remembering all the different scenes and manuvering back and forth (alot) to piece information together. Some of the puzzles weren't really "puzzly" but more time involved - you saw how to solve it, but I didn't want to mess with it for any length of time. That is why I call the game clicky. As for the cliff ending, that was it... it ended in an abrupt manner like falling off a cliff! Bam! You're done! I would have given it less stars just for that alone, but I did get good play out of it and really enjoyed the scene quality. The ending just simply does not add up to the amount of time and enjoyment I got out of playing the game.
bonnygdane_2 | Added on: May 8, 2012
 
usually I would be worried about the hidden object parts, not of where to put them. I used the map a lot, still got lost in a big house. Very interesting.
Tayotae | Added on: July 19, 2012
 
Very nice art/graphics, not much in the way of HO's to find, more puzzles and guessing games. The music fixes in nicely. You are Sam and Dorian has taken her. It is you job to find the love of your life Anne. He has her hidden away from you, and she is still alive, so hurry, run, faster.Get ready for a lot of back and forth, over and over again to the same rooms you have been many times..
sameyers | Added on: May 1, 2012
 
This is a well thought out HOG. I loved the graphics and chilling atmosphere. One thing I liked was although you did revisit rooms, there wasn't a constant back and forth. It progressed. The mini games were challenging, but there is the skip button if there's one you don't want to play. WARNING: If you aren't playing the platinum version, you won't be able to play the chapter after the "ending." A not-so-nice surprise when you get to that point after playing the game. And yes, this will be my last month as a fun pass subscriber.
zjbm1 | Added on: March 28, 2013
 
This game reminded me of some games from many, many years ago - 7th Guest and 11th Hour - there was a great mix of puzzles, a good story line and just enough hidden object bits (I get bored of the HO games on the whole). In a way, calling this a HOG is not quite right, there is so much more to it. A little bit creepy or jumpy for any younger players but if you like your games to have a bit more to them then just finding things, this is really worth the money.
wydcmama | Added on: May 3, 2012
 
I'm afraid I'm not as enthusiastic about this game as others. The production is absolutely superior and the voice acting is excellent. The story itself is rather like many other "rescue the girl" stories, but the execution of it is good. Cons: The game play area is quite large. You do have a well designed map, but you can't use it jump to other areas. You have keep going back and forth and back and forth. In addition there are many, many objects you have to use to continue in the game. This means you need a good memory to remember where this round knob goes, etc.... Some of the mini-games are good, some are just tedious and not terribly clever or original. Overall, however, it was a fun game, so I would say give it a go.
Cinella | Added on: May 29, 2012
 
The game is quite long and very elaborate. It has an original storyline; offers beautiful graphics and some nice special effects. The narrative voice is appropriate. The HOs are clear and mostly easy. The puzzles are interesting, unique and unusual – sometimes convoluted – you need patience. The good thing is that you can skip them when you are ready to give up. Thank goodness for the map since the story evolves through many buildings, floors, walkways etc… Too bad however that the hint button does not point you in the right direction -- at moments it gets kind of frustrating. Not sure if it was a problem with the software at the end of the game or if the game has a really weird ending…. Once you go towards the light to find Anna, the screen goes black and you can only hear the voice of that lunatic so you don’t get to see the reunion -- you hear and see it on the “news” when the screen comes back to life. I have to admit that this happening left me disappointed.
Yosemite009 | Added on: May 17, 2012
 
Very elaborate map; elaborate labyrinthine puzzles and challenges; dark theme, good sound, good length.
devi | Added on: May 10, 2012
 
This spectacular game only had one drawback ... a map that did not let you jump from one location to the next. And if you play the game, you'll understand why. I don't think any other game I've ever played had so many portals. Hope you enjoy this one!
TAR671 | Added on: May 8, 2012
 
I found this game to enjoyable, with few exceptions. The inability to use the map to jump between distant locations, requires one to click a large number of time to shift from one location to another, I found this tedious at time and detracting from the game. Also the fact that the ability to complete the final location is limited to Platinum game owners frustrated me, but not enought to get me to shell out additional money !
RenaiReborn | Added on: May 18, 2012
 
While it seems like a lot of Hidden Object games attempt to have a darker twist to their storylines, few accomplish the task of really involving the player. This game was quite interesting. It wasn't too innovative, and the inability to get from one area of the map to the other quickly was a bit tedious, and having to get the platinum edition to see more of the story was a little disappointing. However, it was a good game overall, and I'd love to see more games like it.