Born Into DarknessBorn Into Darkness
Number of reviews to show on each page:
20 reviews
 
Reviews of Born Into Darkness
Shadeaustar | Added on: January 8, 2010
 
This game started out very strong. The storyline was interesting. I generally skip the story parts, but I was finding myself quite interested. The actual gameplay is to find objects and pieces of objects, use them in the game, and thus opening up new areas/items. I find this gameplay a bit silly, because how does finding a piece of a vial in one room cause a piece of a sword to suddenly appear in another? Nevertheless, the story tied the bits in together relatively well. It also helped that each chapter had only a few rooms each. One wasn't expected to search five or six locations at a time in order to progress. Having said that, the text is very clunky on the items and their uses. At one point, the idea is to find three dials. After picking up each dial, one of the characters says "a dial! I wonder what it's used for!" As the three dials are the only things on the item list, and there's only one hot spot, it's rather obvious, and I don't feel the repitition is necessary. Of course, some of the items are a bit hard to find, and in a very few places, it's less than obvious what to do. In those cases, there are two types of hints-- one to show where an item/piece are, and one to tell you want to do with it. I found myself needing the what to do hint only once, but I used several of the where is it hints. The mechanism for gaining more hints was clunky, and did not work well at all. By the last section, I was pretty much tired of the game, and just wanted to get finished. If the storyline hadn't petered out, I'd have said the game wasn't long enough, but at the end, the story falls apart competely. The ending, therefore, is very unsatisfactory, although I expect a sequel will be forthcoming. Hopefully the sequel will take the good from this game, and learn from the bad.
BoxerLady | Added on: January 8, 2010
 
This is one of my first reviews and I picked a tough one.....I was disappointed because the advertisement built this up as a "Vampire" game. (I'm sure they are playing off the "Twilight" craze..., but, this isn't at all the fast-paced, graphic-obsessed, vampire game I was hoping for. As someone else reviewed, it is just a, "click to find pieces to fit into parts of the game, to move on to boring graphics and more pieces to click on. I'm sure I could get through this game in a few hours, but not so sure I would spend the money to do so...too bad!
GamerNo1 | Added on: December 6, 2010
 
I bought this game because of the vampire theme and found the storyline quite engaging. It was a little challenging but there are better games out there.
Harlowe1962 | Added on: June 3, 2011
 
This was a really fun game. It was fun and challenging! I dont think it is a subject for kids though.
bubble7433 | Added on: January 15, 2010
 
This game was a laid back sort of game if you like real challenges this game doesn't provide that many. Ok game wasn't the best.
brozap | Added on: January 11, 2010
 
Glad i tried the trial version first. not worth purchasing.
jelebele | Added on: December 21, 2011
 
Totally enjoyed this game enough to purchase. The variety of searches and situations were fun and I will be replaying this again.
Kitty221 | Added on: January 8, 2010
 
I have always been a huge time management fan, but I have got to say I am so glad I gave this Hidden Object game a chance, I was so addicted I couldn't stop and had to finish and found myself wanting more. Great graphics, wonderful gameplay, if they keep making more like this I will also be a Hidden object fan!! Fantastic game!!! Two thumbs up!!
DarkChylde | Added on: January 13, 2010
 
I thought the graphics are wonderful. I just wish the game was a little more thought out to go more with the title of the game. I'm not expecting blood and guts involving Vampires, but at least something with a little more "Action". The dialogue is cheesy and so are the voices (hers sounded like a squeaky mouse with a bad accent). I did make it through the game pretty easily, but it wasn't too bad. If the characters were better, I would have given this game a higher rating.
margie77072 | Added on: July 9, 2010
 
Fun little game to waste some time on. Not so challenging that I wanted to give up. Not so easy that it was boring.
PwEE1709 | Added on: June 4, 2012
 
I found that some of the hints were too vague, some of the puzzles not enough info given to solve .
Womanthunder | Added on: January 28, 2010
 
HORRIBLE and yawn. I was excited at first because I realized that it picked up where Autumn's Treasure: The Jade Coin left off, which was a fairly enjoyable game although not the best out there. This game was terrible. The storyline is not that great, the items to find are way off scale and the motions too repetative to be anything but a bore. I am surprised by some of the reviews claiming this was the "Best HOG they ever played." Apparantly, they have not experienced some of the better ones out there, and there are plenty of them that put this one to shame. Hopfeully the developers put more thought and motivation into it next time. This was clumsily put together and I wouldn't continue playing it past the demo even if it was free.
simango | Added on: July 8, 2010
 
not bad but far from great. the hint sequence was frustrating, truly not helpful at all. Finding partical pieces is not real fun, just more frustrating
bootsbunny | Added on: May 27, 2010
 
Too much dialog for me. Otherwise, it is realy fun and fastpaced. A great learning tool for kids!
IronRaziel | Added on: January 12, 2010
 
The story line was interesting but the hints...I HATED it. I didn't like the blue hints. If you have a laptop, getting the hints was hard enough with the cursor going crazy - and the words were very scrambled making it hard for you to read. Getting the red hints was okay if you were quick with your fingers. I felt that the game was too short, and the ending sucked majorly. It was not very statsifying ending for me. It could've done better. Finding objects was a bit challenging since they made it a bit too dark. Otherwise, the game was subpar in my opinion.
Deviarich | Added on: July 8, 2010
 
If you like vampires this is a great game. It makes you look and think. Great brain food.
gches | Added on: January 7, 2010
 
It does not give enough help. It was challenging but the hints do not help.
addictedone | Added on: January 11, 2010
 
I thoroughly enjoyed this game. Will be playing the game again in the near future. This game gave me plenty to think about and challening enough for me at present. I loved the relaxing pace of the game and when I played it to evaluate the game thought it was very good then and was looking for to the game becoming available so I could buy it. I love playing hidden object puzzle games. This is one game I had alot of fun with. Thanks.
WarningPMS | Added on: January 8, 2010
 
Sorry I didn't try it first ... The concept seemed sooo cool, so I just jumped in and bought it - duh! Too easy - all you need is a good pair of eyes to travel from room to room finding the items. Don't even need the hint journal because all the hints are displayed in the game.
secret8267 | Added on: January 11, 2010
 
I do not like hidden object games that much but figured i would try this one because it seemed like something i would like. The graphics and sound were good. This game is not that original though, the front picture reminds me to much of the poster for the movie "Twilight". This was also to easy. I was quick to find most of the objects and solve the puzzles. This game could be kid frendly, i did not find it to graphic, except for the drops of blood on the main menu and when watching videos. Also, i did find the garden with the gods in it a little graphic. This game was overall to easy and not challengin at all. It was maybe a little unoriginal. I orvarall think it is okay but i do not like it.
Tayotae | Added on: February 20, 2012
 
The graphics and art is good. The music is pesty. The to people you have to work with are dips. Both are strange and goofy at the same time. Either know what is up or down. God bless them both. This game needs some work. Oh, yes it is a talkie. The back and forth will make you crazy, at least it did me.
buggco | Added on: May 20, 2010
 
Game is great fun, need to think about the puzzles. not a one day game.
QueenOfGames | Added on: January 13, 2010
 
I really like this game a lot. I'm a big vampire fiction fan, and this is a great new way to tell a story. I liked the way it took the story of Autumn's Treasure and moved it forward to the next chapter. It's a great hidden object adventure game, and one that I recommend!
sportygal2009 | Added on: January 11, 2010
 
Just doing a review for the free hour trial as that's all I did and could barely get through it but thought I'd give it a chance and it would get better as I moved along = NOPE! First off the dialog as mentioned is beyond ridiculous cheesy and I could barely hear what they were even saying which I've never had this problem with a game, usually I'm turning it down. It was very hard for me to follow the "story" as it just bored me to death. All I found myself doing through this one hour was just finding things (or at least trying to) to use in a scene. Some were pretty ease to find while some were near impossible. The hint feature was also very cheesy as it would either display people or words you'd have to match up but it went so fast displaying them on the screen. This game just about put me to sleep. Thought it was would more interesting but very misleading. I sure hope there will be no more like it. Cut this off and please oh please don't make a part 2 to this! Definitely not worth the money and one I won't be buying.
wydcmama | Added on: January 12, 2012
 
Cute game that had some educational value to it -- learning some different cultural rituals. The voice acting was absolutely horrible! Graphics were good and the music was fantastic. Overall a fun game but I've played better. But, hey, they all can't be diamonds.
rickter | Added on: January 28, 2010
 
I loved the game. It had me upset alittle when it came for me to find some things, but over all it was fun. Story line was good. Graphics were also good. Had to get used to the format but then it was great to play
mesagirl | Added on: January 12, 2010
 
What a boring game. I barely made it past the first part. Acting is horrible, the voice overs are too soft, have to continually change the volume. No real direction as to what you are doing, just doing puzzles without them being explained as to why you are doing them. Not a good game overall.
Obsydia | Added on: January 8, 2010
 
I am a HOG addict and I was less then impressed with this game. For me, there was no challenge at all. The puzzles were too easy and the objects weren't hidden well enough. I would say this game would be ideal for children if the storyline was not as "graphic" as it were. The previews were definitely misleading. I expected more from this game. However, the only redeeming quality it had seemed to be the graphics. Beautiful scenery. The characters could have been built up more though. I'm very disappointed in this game.
amyangyang | Added on: January 11, 2010
 
I am a HOG addict. (As I'm sure my many purchases will prove.) I read other reviews and they mostly leaned toward the unfavorable side. I was a bit surprised, as, I really enjoyed this game. I found myself sneaking every available moment to play. Granted,I beat it pretty quickly,but,I still enjoyed it. I usually read reviews before purchasing a game,and,I have a tendency to follow the majority. Luckily,I took a chance in this one. Good game guys. (And gals)
Sapphiremoon624 | Added on: May 19, 2010
 
I wouldn't consider the subject matter kid friendly. But for young adults up it holds your interest and is an above average hidden objects game. It was definitely a great value!
riverchic1998 | Added on: January 11, 2010
 
The game description was a bit misleading, and after playing and reading the "fend off bloodthirsty vampires", I just chuckled. They're not really bloodthirsty evil vampires, more like irritating side characters with really bad accents that don't add to the story. Graphics were pretty good, but the music was lacking and it wasn't challenging. If you run out of hints, it's super easy to get more. The end was rather anti-climatic. It was an original storyline, but since there is a vampire craze hitting the world, it's not that surprising that a vampire game popped up.
Viper3 | Added on: January 11, 2010
 
It looked like a cool game but it repeats to much of the same thing your always looking for pieces of stuff to put together to open other pieces to find and put together got good graphics and somewhat good story line but its not worth it
robshep | Added on: December 29, 2010
 
I liked this game. It is kinda dark but once you get the idea of how it works the hidden items are not too difficult to find. It is really enjoyable.
fuschiagirl | Added on: January 7, 2010
 
this game took me two hours to beat. the concept of the game was interesting but game quality seriously lacked and the dialogue was ridiculously cheesy. not worth buying!
stjmjj | Added on: January 7, 2010
 
This is a fantastic game! Kind of like a cross between Blood Ties and Mortimer Beckett. I have only played it for fifteen minutes and I know I will be buying this game. Great game for kids and their parents to play together! The storyline keeps you interested, and the objects are not too easy to find. You want to keep playing!! Great release!!!
nancyw | Added on: January 11, 2010
 
I loves this game but cannont for the life of me find out where the skull goes can anyone help.
farry2 | Added on: May 20, 2010
 
This game is much easier than the name implies. It is a fun game but it is relatively simple. It is entertaining but so easy that you become bored.
Ladyjen3 | Added on: January 11, 2010
 
What I liked: the story line, the graphics, and you can go at your own pace minus the mini games you play to earn more hints; those are timed. What I disliked: the character voices and some of the hints use words that I have never heard before making it difficult to know quite where the items needing to be placed go. I made it to the 3rd site the characters visit and became a bit frustrated. But if you enjoy action games, you should try it.
emsg | Added on: December 19, 2011
 
Really liked the game until I got to a place I couldn't get past and there was no way to continue.
goldpig | Added on: January 7, 2010
 
The game is similar to the newer HO's that have been coming out. Find parts of an object and use it in a scene. The gameplay was simple but some thinking is required. I actually enjoyed the gameplay. The problem is the storyline. It starts off interesting and then it sort of rushes at the end. It would have been nice for a more indepth history of Amber. Too bad though it could have been a really interesting game.
AppaloosaGal | Added on: February 1, 2010
 
Story-line hookey and rather interrupted flow, but was good in that you had to find one object to unlock other objects, and complete in logical order. Nice graphics, and not so dark hard for those of us whose eyesight can't really see tiny objects in dark surroundings.
Mysterya | Added on: January 19, 2012
 
The premise seemed promising but the stale dialogue and graphics not that hot. You are locked in and cannot escape to solve something else which is my present situation. The ony saving grace is that I downloaded it a the featured free game which makes me want to try and get out if I can. Best to play the 1 hour demo. Better games out there though definately not for under 13. Dracula- Love Kills is better.
emandlu | Added on: January 14, 2010
 
enjoyed this more than most HOG, at least you are looking for things that have some function in the game. Agree the voices (especially amber) are terrible. could have had further to go before finishing. the vampires didn't really seem to have much to do with it. my daughter is vampire mad at the moment and loves it. a sequel would be good.
BeachBum203 | Added on: January 11, 2010
 
I stopped playing after 15 minutes. I was falling asleep! WAAAAAAY too much dialogue!! Made the game just DRAAAAAAAG! I gave it one star because my review wouldn't be accepted without a value for overall rating. I wanted to give it NO STARS!!
Veridian42 | Added on: January 19, 2010
 
Cheap looking and uninspired design, and horrid voice acting.
ryem | Added on: May 27, 2010
 
This is one of those games that could have been stellar with only a little more work, so it's really more like 3 1/2 stars. Interesting story line, but unsatisfying ending. The tutorial is well done, but you can't skip it. The music and graphics are good and the hidden objects belong with the story. When you complete and place one object, more appear. I liked that, but some might not like constantly going back and forth between rooms. The constant wind chime noise everytime the cursor hovers over an active spot got annoying really quickly. I like the many levels of hints that you can get. I enjoyed playing this game.
ashleyleanne85 | Added on: January 8, 2010
 
This game is very similar to many of the hidden object games that are coming out now. It is definately not very original, considering the first set of rooms is also in another game that I played recently. The only difference is the objects but you can clearly tell that they are the same.
Gefegla | Added on: January 19, 2010
 
Not particularly difficult to solve, and really short. I'd have liked to have seen more destinations and harder puzzles
lady_whisper | Added on: February 4, 2010
 
I enjoyed this game very much. I enjoyed the twist in the story line, and I enjoyed the fact I didn't have to find an umbrella. Finding objects that are useful makes for a better HOG, I think.
kb999999 | Added on: July 22, 2010
 
A simple story-board type hog/puzzle game ... help a human and vampire search for a biblical artifact. This easy to follow, simple story includes history of many religions: bible, Celtic, mystic, and symbols. Dialogue is not interesting - one-note, story-board cut/paste pictures into the scenes. Total interaction of five characters only. Items shown in silhouette form - move mouse over to view all needed pieces. Use completed pieces to complete another object - main objects will glow in the scenes. You move back/forth within each scene area to collect many pieces. Each action creates new item pieces to appear into these same scenes. Many hints are offered, can be refilled when complete one of two mini-games: click on ghosts and click on Latin names that match the lists. A journal can be read at any time - written list of tasks that need to complete within the areas. Puzzles can't be skipped, but the dialog portions can be. The background music was nice. The voices speech is same as the written words, so sound is not really needed to play this game. Game is not kid-friendly, older teen rated and adults. Scenes show dripping blood, mysical symbols, vampire life, blood, ghosts, ect ... I kept playing in hopes the play would improve - it did not. There was so much walking back/forth between the same rooms, over and over again. Overall, the new pieces were placed as on a story-board backgrounds. Needs improvements. Would have rated 2.5 stars for efforts and concept.
MzSarcasma | Added on: February 8, 2010
 
Lamest. Game. EVER. If you have young kids or enjoy HOG but have problems being able to see the objects well, then this game is probably going to be enjoyable. The objects are pretty easy to find (with most of them brighter than the rest of the background). Fitting the pieces of the puzzle can be a bit confusing at times, but there are tons of online walkthroughs you can find for this game if you happen to find yourself stuck. The biggest fault of this game was the HORRIBLE storyline. UGH! First, if you can manage to get past the ridiculous accent of the main female character (at times sounds Southern, but I think it's supposed to be British???) the dialogue between she and the main male character is worse than soap opera scripting. I couldn't get past it to even finish the game with my FunPass. It really is bad, but you're welcome to try out the Free Demo and see for yourself.
Debbie594730 | Added on: January 19, 2010
 
Game was way too short. I liked the story and the challenges, but it ended way too fast!!