BookWorm DeluxeBookWorm Deluxe
Number of reviews to show on each page:
20 reviews
 
Reviews of BookWorm Deluxe
42580100 | Added on: November 17, 2014
 
When I began playing a few weeks ago, I was scoring in the 20,000 range and last night I reached a high score of over 50,000!
NYLisa | Added on: July 22, 2009
 
This is a fun break when you're looking for something a bit more challenging than the Match-3 games. It's pretty easy to make words, but I did find hard to make words longer than 4 letters long.
distraida | Added on: May 28, 2010
 
I didn't mark the game kid friendly, but only because unless a child is really good with words, this game might be too hard. But as a spelling or vocabulary building tool, it could be a really good choice. Lex (the bookworm) is funny. When he eats two or more burning tiles in a row, he burps smoke. He is also encouraging, when you make long words he says things like "very good," or "faaantastic!" For some words, he gives definitions. I wish he had more words defined. The game keeps track of your highest scoring word, your longest word, your score, and has funny pictures and rank titles. It also saves your game and lets you come back to it later, which is good, because it can take a very long time to play the game if you are really good at it. The most annoying thing about the game is that to change any options, (full screen, volume, etc) you have to click all the way into the game and start playing it, before you get the options menu. The second most annoying thing is to end the game, you have to click "leave game," then "quit", then "quit" again, then "yes" on a confirmation of if you really want to quit. Accessibility Notes: The letter tiles are nice and big, so they are easy to see. When you press a letter on the keyboard, that letter will highlight if it is on the board. Liittle green arrows appear when you press on a tile so you can see exactly where your word is going. There's no real flashy graphics to distract your eyes from the game board. You can click and drag, or click on each letter, then click again on the last letter, to submit the word. It's not playable by keyboard, but if necessary, it does work with the Windows Accessibility tool called mouse keys.
mgray22345 | Added on: February 17, 2011
 
I have loved this game since my daughter introduced me to it several years ago. After my PC crashed and I lost the game I had bought online and downloaded, I just gave up on getting it back. After getting a Mac Notebook, I looked for my favorite word game, Bookworm Deluxe, for Mac, and there it was! I was delighted, downloaded it immediately to be sure it was the right game, and bought it! I love it!
b52girlaz | Added on: August 31, 2011
 
Try this game if you love word games. If you know a lot of words over 3 and 4 letters long, this game is for you. The action choice goes pretty fast; the classic...you can take as long as you want and find some long words sometimes. Hope you like it!
samalexjd | Added on: December 29, 2011
 
WONDERFUL GAME!!!! HAVE BEEN PLAYING IT FOR 6 YEARS - ADDICTIVE!!! WISH MORE OF YOUR GAME WERE ALSO FOR MAC!!!!!!!
Sweetater | Added on: August 4, 2010
 
This is one of the very first games I ever played and bought on-line. Through various mishaps when I've had computer up-grades/crashes etc I have lost this game but it it one that I ALWAYS go searching for and re-install. It is one of the most user-friendly, educational, challenging and fun games ever I love it and so do my grandkids. Yes I would recommend it to anyone who would like to find an entertaining Family game quite often the family will sit together and compete to see who can find the longest words, the most unusual or highest scoring words really good fun. Thank you for such an excellent game 10 out of 10 every time. Laure :)
GailD | Added on: January 20, 2012
 
Love the game. It is fun & very addictive. Keeps the brain working.
BookwormDiva | Added on: December 3, 2009
 
This has been an awesome game for my son & me. We look forward to playing it TOGETHER and the bonus is that it has improved his vocabulary & interest in reading. I'm up to level 95 on my mobile phone too! Can you say ADDICTION?!?!
chaswen | Added on: July 22, 2010
 
Definitely not relaxing as the levels build but it's fun. I've been playing it for several years and still like it.
sunny3k9s | Added on: January 14, 2014
 
I have owned & played this game for 5 years. I am very pleased with it. The only caveat I have is that it could be updated. For example "blog" is not an exceptable word, Still I play this at least once a week & unhesitatingly reccommend it!
BigH46 | Added on: August 25, 2011
 
It's so cute when the Bookworm eats the tiles. I could play this game for hours. It relaxes me.
andyerb | Added on: January 5, 2012
 
I HAVE NOT BEEN ABLE TO STOP PLAYING THIS GAME SINCE I PURCHASED IT!
Divaroyal0109 | Added on: December 6, 2010
 
I love this game! It can be relaxing or fast paced, depending on your ability to spell. A great game to challenge the kids to.
xenutia | Added on: November 15, 2010
 
I really didn't want to play this game to begin with. Which just shows how wrong you can be about something! I'd played all of the other Book Worm games, which are fantastically good fun, but I was put off of this one because the letters had to be in a chain to make the word, and I thought it would be limiting. I played it for a few minutes, and then a few more, and then a few more, and I got so addicted to it, that everything else went out of the window! Lol. It is one of the best word games on the market. Although you can't always make long words with it, because they are chains, the skill is in dropping letters and manipulating the tiles to get the best combinations and getting the bonus words. Do give it a go, because if you like word games, you'll love this. My highest score at the moment on one game is over 14 million and still going strong - which will give you some idea of how much I love this game!
Chalaine | Added on: November 8, 2010
 
I have loved this game for a long time and when I found it on this site I was excited!!!! It is a great game and I can play it for hours.
herself | Added on: November 11, 2009
 
Keep those synapses firing with this game that requires good visualization and vocabulary! Loads of fun.
izzylea21 | Added on: September 29, 2010
 
I LOVE the word game BOOKWORM DELUXE (BD)! I have had it for several years and can play it for hours to advanced levels! My PC "add/remove software" feature under the Windows Control Panel indicates that I've played this game over 500 times (did I mention that it is very addictive? LOL!)! There are two different modes of play to choose from Classic and Action (faster tile drops). I really enjoy the Classic mode (no timer!). BD is great for all ages able to spell! It remains challenging because the library letter board changes each time you find and select a word to submit to Lex the Bookworm (he's adorable for a bad guy!!). The letter columns you've selected letters from move down toward the bottom while new letter tiles appear at the top to replace the tiles you selected. Of course, this changes letter combinations for your next word try. Points are calculated for each word you submit. Special tiles include ones that are on fire. If you can't stop them by using them in a word, they will burn down the library when they finally fall to the bottom! So, it's best to make a word using those right away. Once the library burns down, the game ends and you must start all over again! LOL! There are also special high-point tiles that you will want to include in your words as well. The game penalizes you with MORE fire tiles, if you keep your words to just 3 letter tiles, so it's a constant challenge to make longer words! I have not yet tried the other Bookworm games, so I can't currently speak for those. However, if you love Scrabble and other word games, Bookworm Deluxe is the perfect addition to your word game collection. I HIGHLY recommend it for hours of fun! It's also great spelling practice for all of us!
DarkChylde | Added on: May 10, 2010
 
I've had this game for years and I still come back to it when I want something different. The goal of the game is to make as many words as you can to advance to the next level. Sounds easy, but it gets more difficult when you're stuck with a lot of rarely used letters. Bookworm gives you a "special" word to find, which gives you extra points to advance in the level. Another difficulty is finding words more than 3 letters long. It can be challenging, as longer words help prevent the flaming letters from appearing. If you can't get rid of the flaming letters by the time it reaches the bottom, you just burned the entire library! The only downside is, the dictionary isn't that large. An updated version of Bookworm Deluxe dictionary would be awesome!
vonda52 | Added on: December 22, 2011
 
this game is very kid user friendly. Makes adults think and think hard about how words are spelled.