Between the Worlds Special Edition BundleBetween the Worlds Special Edition Bundle
Number of reviews to show on each page:
20 reviews
 
Reviews of Between the Worlds Special Edition Bundle
LaundryLady | Added on: April 7, 2013
 
Great graphics, but very frustrating to play. Not very intuitive even for setting the level of game play. Way too short and lacking in a good story line.
66mustangsally | Added on: March 11, 2013
 
I had not heard of this game before. I always check reviews before downloading. After looking at "Between the Worlds II", I see why. It average just a little higher than 2 stars. So I thought I would try the third in the series to see if the developers had made any changes for the better. Playing in "easy" mode is VERY easy. The professor pops up and pretty much tells you everything you need to do. Lots of sparkles. They DO have a "skip" feature now, which I noticed was a drawback in "2". But this game took me about an hour and a half to finish. I'm glad I didn't purchase it because I doubt I'll play "2". The graphics are good and objects are VERY easy to find. I will be interested in a review of the "hard" version. But I wouldn't recommend this.
nvyank | Added on: March 11, 2013
 
I had played II before and the game re-installed right where it left off. Trying to pick up the maple leaf and the peanut. Still couldn't do it. Number III was pretty good until it ended so abruptly that I was in shock. Anyway... both games have their good points and bad. If I didn't have funpass, I would have been mad instead of disapponted.
redaf | Added on: March 12, 2013
 
When I first started playing I did not think I would get into it and was a little lost at the start of II, but after I got the pyramid and got it opened I was totally drawn in. My "guide" was a robotic dragonfly which was neat and the puzzle games are quite unique and the hidden object scenes are beautiful, except for the fire scenes which are a little dark. The hint system actually works fine, but in II, talk to your assistant, a lot. I got frustrated a few times until I realized he would help me out and advance my gameplay without totally giving things away. The second game, III, was different in that you are working directly with the alchemist, or professor as he is called in this one. I was a little disappointed that my assistant or dragonfly "guide" were not around as one was so helpful, and the other really cute(dragonfly) in the first game. III picks up right where you left off in II and as I said it is different from the first game, but still enjoyable. Nice scenes with good graphics, music is low key and non intrusive and a few of the mini games are arcade style which was kind of different and fun. I have to admit I played III on easy as you are given that choice in the beginning, so all of you hard core gamers might like to try the harder version, as well I might at some point. My only complaint was the whole adventure was really too short so I was happy to play with my gamePass. All in all it was worth the time spent playing.
joey247 | Added on: March 11, 2013
 
Well i personally found it boring and a very short story. Finished both II and III in a few hours.
Tiafl | Added on: March 11, 2013
 
Games are not for HO beginners. Clicking to find needed objects in regular scenes is necessary. There is not always an indicator showing where to click but there is no penalty associated with just clicking. Some obejects are hard to find but not because of dark or overcrowded HO scenes - just hidden well. There is a lot of time spent figuring out what to do next. The diary/to do list are helpful and you just need to figure out the how to. There are skips if a puzzle presents a greater challenge than you have the patience for. My rating was based on both of the games being short with abrupt sort of endings. The challenges presented in the games were welcome for a regular HO'er who has lots of patience and a desire to figure it out.
Dipstick47 | Added on: March 14, 2013
 
the directions and flow of this game is very choppy. This is the first time in all the programs I have purchased that I have not been happy with my purchase.
jlewis228 | Added on: March 28, 2013
 
I was a little disappointed with this bundle. The first game I needed a walk-through because the "assistant" didn't explain much and the hints were pretty worthless, then it was short. Played the second one, it was a little bit better as far as hints but also very short. The two together make up just about the right length of game.
gamejukr | Added on: March 11, 2013
 
Both games look good and play well in the direct area, but looking for where to go is too vague. Need to use too many hints to find where to go next. Other than that the game is okay.
Cat_In_RV | Added on: April 21, 2013
 
I was among the minority who rated Between the Worlds II as 4 stars because of the uniqueness of the game, although it was quite short. While it was lacking a bit in direction, it made up for it by the story line. It did end very abruptly as your finally reached "between the worlds." The second game in this bundle, Between the Worlds III, picks up where the first game left off. But this game is not so unique, and I felt it was a lot more clunky than the first. In this game you must repair the machine that must be launched every 120 years in order to keep the worlds together. You have several different areas you must go to to gather the scepters of earth, air, fire, and water. You gain the needed power by picking up objects in the HO scenes. Nothing particularly special about any of it. Neither game has any voiceovers, and the overall movement is a bit awkward. After the inventiveness of the first game, the second one, Between the Worlds III, was quite a disappointment. You might enjoy these on Fun Pass, but I wouldn't buy them,.
Tkira | Added on: March 12, 2013
 
Ok, I really wanted to like this game. Interesting premise, funky graphics... But the first game hint bar didn't reload after a certain point, no reset on the puzzles. On one game, you were supposed to unlock a safe using a secret code. But if you made a mistake you can't recover - the game is lost at that point, because you can't get the information you need. The other game allowed you to use a "normal" cursor (which helps) but still was too clicky. New record - I deleted the game within 30 minutes of the 60 min. trial.
Cinella | Added on: March 12, 2013
 
After trying to play each of the two games for about half hour, I was so disgusted with the bad programming that I just deleted the game. Don't waste your time or money!
ArmyStrong | Added on: March 12, 2013
 
right from the beginning so I quit playing it and downloaded another one :)
catbry | Added on: March 15, 2013
 
IF YOU ENJOY A CHALLENGE AND LOVE HIDDEN OBJECT GAMES...THIS ONE IS FOR YOU! I was hesitant to buy this game due to the reviews BUT I'm so glad I bought it. It is, without a doubt one of my top 5 HOG games I've ever played. Once I got the safe open the game turned from frustrating to amazing. It is definitely not for kids due to the mensa-like mini games. Graphics are amazing, I hope that others give it a try and enjoy the experience too - then come back to give this game a high rating. I look forward to more from this group of creative minds.