Ballad of SolarBallad of Solar
Number of reviews to show on each page:
20 reviews
 
Reviews of Ballad of Solar
EMS01 | Added on: May 4, 2013
 
This one surprised. I didn't think I'd enjoy it as much as I do. The graphics are incredible, very detailed and lush. Most of the individual levels are long, and often involve more than one part, so it is not a quick game. An innovation is that the Solar isn't the only main character that can perform big actions. There are also a wizard type and a troll that can do the heavy lifting, as well as little guy workers. For example, if a gate needs to be open, you can choose to have Solar or the wizard or the troll open it. Very useful if there's more than one gate that needs to be opened. There are resources all over the place, including special buildings such as the sawmill or bakery. You have to collect the resources from the sawmill or whatever, but all you have to do is move the cursor over it to collect, though there are other resources you have to click on. One annoying thing is when you open a chest or whatever, you have to click on the spear or whatever is in the chest to get it. Sometimes, the path is a bit hard to see, like in the snow or desert levels. And you've got to pay attention, as there are different things going on in different parts of the level. It keeps you on your toes. The time is very generous - I haven't run out of time on any of the levels yet, though it does award stars. And there are 2 modes of play, adventure and heroic. The heroic is all timed, and adventure has a combination of timed/untimed levels (though I honestly couldn't tell which ones are untimed). And if there's a conversation going on between the characters, the timer stops, unlike some other games. This one is definitely worth playing.
emi1 | Added on: April 21, 2013
 
i found this game to be fun. you do have to hover over items to figure out what you need, but that's jst part of the game. figuring out how to obtain the items was a bit frustrating at times, but did not detract from the game for me. there is quite a bit of dialogue, but i found it entertaining. like the graphics, and the story line. i played the adventure mode and found it extremely challenging. can't imagine what the more difficult mode would be like. will be playing this game, i'm sure, for yrs to come...
Nori | Added on: April 20, 2013
 
I've played about 30 minutes of the demo of this game, and so far I'm undewhelmed. The goals and paths for each level are kind of unclear, in my opinion, which is frustrating. Having to mouse over all the items your work and factories produce in order to collect them is annoying and unnecessary. I usually love Alawar games, but this one feels like not a lot of thought was put into it. I won't be buying the full version.
KeaganXOX | Added on: April 24, 2013
 
Call me a "resource type" TM game lover but I truly enjoyed every moment of play in this game..I enjoyed the storyline, graphic's were great, and the overall play of the game was great also...I LOVE these type of games and hope you keep them coming..
Tuff_Witch | Added on: April 20, 2013
 
This game has nice graphics but the game only has 30 levels. The levels are simple, even on the time challenge. I own over 90 full version games here at Gamehouse and I have been a member for 5 years. This game was one of the most simple and disappointing games I have tried. If the game had 50 lvls or more it might be worth the money if you were buying it for a kid. With only 30 levels and not much involvement in game play, it is definitely not worth my money. There are tons of great time management games here at Gamehouse, don't waste your money on this one.
yusef | Added on: April 22, 2013
 
The levels move a long pretty fast, but I don't see a point, other than to save the princess (not too original on the story there). There's a lot of clicking without strategy because everything is such a mess its hard to see what's open and what's not, and it's timed so even at the easier of the two difficulty levels, there isn't much time which makes one wonder, "Why am I doing this?" So you just gallop along from scene to scene and do essentially the same thing--in one place you might have to find jewels and another someone's kids--yup, a fairy lost her kids. The art is somewhat amateur but I can live with that. Sound is ok. Can't say I'm crazy about the game, but it's not bad. Worth a trial for ppl who like this kind of TM, which I do, but I'd like them to require a bit more thought from the player.
Richard1 | Added on: May 9, 2013
 
this game i found confusing in places but managed to overcome it Ihave played upp to level12 twice but then hit problems apart from that it ok
redaf | Added on: July 4, 2013
 
I had passed over on this one when it first came out but downloaded when it came up on recommended. It is very fast paced and you are a little lost at times but I had a lot of fun figuring it out where to go next. Action requirement is almost too fast paced to work up a strategy, but therein lies the challenge. The graphics are nice and voices good as well. One I will play again from time to time.