Arizona Rose and the Pirates' RiddlesArizona Rose and the Pirates' Riddles
Number of reviews to show on each page:
20 reviews
 
Reviews of Arizona Rose and the Pirates' Riddles
merimom | Added on: July 1, 2012
 
I absolutely love mosaic / Picross games and will buy every one they can make. This one is a good representative of the genre, if not the very best. I prefer my mosaics to be determined (that is, they can be solved without using any hints). This game contains many puzzles that are not determined, but it makes up for it by being very forgiving of mistakes and having lots of different hint types. I could have done completely without the story, which is thin and silly, but did lead to some pretty graphics. In short, this is a good game for those new to mosaics, or for an old fan like me.
nbrunton | Added on: July 26, 2012
 
this game requires the use of logic and liking to work with numbers. I'm enjoying it.
the2bearsandme | Added on: July 2, 2012
 
LOADS of puzzles!!! I feel like I've been given the grand prize. I like the combination of other games (i.e., HOG and a tetrus-like game) as they offer a break from the challenge of the primary puzzle game. The HOG was too easy for me but still fun. I like that the primary puzzles graduate you into harder and harder puzzles. The easier ones looked dorkey but I understand that they were simpler, easier. I am definitely challenged ... mostly by my own stupidity (i.e. forgetting to switch between CHOOSE / DESTROY icons). A really great value!!!
Norbert250 | Added on: October 24, 2012
 
It's a decent picto-graph puzzler. Some of the pictures are repeats of lower level pictures only with more detail. I used my 90% off coupon for this, and I'm glad I did since it took me less than a week to complete all the puzzles. I will be interested to see a sequel - especially if they use a little more imagination for the puzzles.
opposablethumbs | Added on: January 4, 2013
 
The game has some nice touches, like power ups and the occasional puzzle games. But I got bored after 6 areas. The puzzles don't progress in difficulty, so it gets quite dull. For Picross and World mosiacs, all the puzzles are solvable without using hints. For some of the puzzles in this game, you'll need to use your power-ups or hints to clear some tiles, as the remaining hints are ambiguous.
CardPip | Added on: June 23, 2012
 
I purchased this game because I enjoy the pictograph puzzles. The controls for these puzzles are very good. The left mouse button selects the tiles and the right mouse button clears the tiles and it automatically counts the tiles selected/cleared within a single swipe with the mouse. I enjoy the other puzzles also, such as hidden object and fill-in the shape puzzles, to add variety. The game progresses well, every few puzzles I go onto the next scene.or next level, which makes it feel like I am on a journey. There are some things that I don't like very well however. The story line is boring. The backgrounds are dark and gloomy rather than cheerful. When tiles are cleared, the background that shows up makes it hard to tell the difference between tiles that have been cleared and tiles that have been selected. The badges earned are meaningless. It is not clear when a mistake is made; I often think that I have not made any mistakes yet, but glance over at the count to discover I have made 3 or 4 without realizing it. The main thing I don't like, however, is that sometimes the puzzles have more than one legitimate solution, and if I pick the wrong solution it marks it as a mistake.
jnatman | Added on: October 18, 2012
 
I loved this game. A nice break from all of the HO games. Very addictive.
casamanana | Added on: October 20, 2012
 
Excellent game. Can't wait for a sequel. I start playing and can't stop!!
gemsong | Added on: June 23, 2012
 
The game is a mosaic puzzle with a touch of hidden objects. It has a good storyline to follow. High quality visibility and the puzzles are colorful. I bought the game.
Cat_In_RV | Added on: July 2, 2012
 
I enjoy mosaic puzzles. But these just go on and on and on. This is one of those games you can't (or at least I can't) play straight through. It becomes mind-numbing. But if you pick it up now and then for awhile, it wakes up the brain, even though you can't really work out all the moves but have to depend on blind luck in some instances. The story is thinly veiled and unnecessary, but if you like mosaics, you'll probably enjoy this one--at least for awhile!
Tayotae | Added on: July 14, 2012
 
Coming from a person that lives in Arizona, I jumped on this game. To my delight it was one of the best games, puzzle/Ho's I have played in a long time. Music was good. the graphics were very well done, as were the background seens that were used for the 5x5 and 10x10 dim puzzles. It was great fun. The HO's are pictures you must match with the objects. Enjoyed the whole things. Put together very well. Hats off to you.
TedTWF | Added on: June 26, 2012
 
I wanted to like this game (I like these types of puzzle games), but there were some design choices that made game play frustrating. There was not enough contrast between the background and the un-turned tiles, so it was often very difficult to see which ones had already been cleared. Also, the in-game messages/approvals appearing when many tiles were cleared quickly completely obscured the clues for the number of tiles for each column...so that you had to wait for the message to disappear before you could see how many there should be. This slowed things down considerably and made it very frustrating to play.
Grinmajann | Added on: June 26, 2012
 
As you can see from my header.. I am CRAZY about picross, mosaic, or "griddlers" as I have heard them called, also. I got hooked on Gemsweeper YEARS ago, and have played THAT one over and over and OVER in between waiting for new picross games. I downloaded this for free and played for the 60 minutes. At first, to be honest, I thought..oh no.. not ANOTHER hidden object game! The HO puzzles were easy (thank GOODNESS) as I do NOT like these usually. And for awhile, the picross puzzles only came up for average 5 games and then BACK to the HO. So I wasn't going to buy it. HOWEVER after awhile.. the picross games increased and I am a happy camper! I waited to review this as it kept saying 0 reviews and I wanted to see what others thought first. Was PLEASANTLY surprised just now when I saw that 4 others had reviewed it AND not negatively. HURRAYYYYY. I rated it a 4 instead of a 5 because of the HO puzzles. This is not a game for the die hard HO fans. They will find those puzzles too easy. But for us picross fans? I have died and gone to heaven. Keep up the good work Gamehouse, and PLEASSEE have more of these games?? It seems like everytime I log on there are new HO games, Time Management games, but very SELDOM picross.... THANK YOU.
Cricket5461 | Added on: July 29, 2012
 
Normally, I like HO games and especially like HO games with a good story, so I was unsure if I would like this one. Also, I've never been keen on Math and Number Play so it was a big surprise that I liked this game. However, I did. It's really fun and even fun to play again and again. Great game. Good job and Thank You to the Publishers.
fairedust43 | Added on: June 27, 2012
 
Hi I happen to love these type of games (I call them Dot Games) you need to create the picture using the Numbered clues. I had a great progression all the way up to 25x25. It was fun I think 11 Levels so you definitely get your moneys worth.
30766081 | Added on: October 23, 2013
 
a lot of times the squares are small and the pictures are dark. would be better if they were lighter in color.
OkinawaMeow | Added on: July 4, 2012
 
I, too, am a fan of nongrams/griddlers/picross, etc. Great things: 1) Puzzles!: It is always nice to see something that isn't another hidden object/time management game. Thanks for that, Gamehouse.. 2) Load Time: I love that this takes so much less time to load then World Riddles. 3) Interface: Left/right click makes so much more sense than having to click a button to change between them. 4) Power Ups: Nice because they're there if you need them (purists won't like the fact that the sollution sometimes has to be guessed at), but you don't have to use them. 5) Graphics are nice! Annoying things: 1) Storyline. Why bother? Besides, the pirate theme repeated ad nauseum gets old. 2) Contrast. Beautiful images for the background, but they match the color of the tiles too often. Allow us to cycle backgrounds, or change the contrast with a slider. 3) The music. I loved it at first when it randomly cycled through different background music, but it just recently got stuck and only plays the same one. Despite that, I still give it four stars because I LOVE the nonograms!
Kathryn179 | Added on: February 18, 2013
 
I love these type of pictograph puzzles, but I agree with an earlier reviewer in that the games don't progress enough in dificulty. Also, the background tiles blend in with the scenery, making the tiles hard to see sometimes, but I quickly got used to that. I liked that when you move the cursor over a side number, it gets larger, making it easier to see. The mini-games are skipable, which is always a plus. I gave this game a four star rating because it is just so relaxing and addictive in spite of the lack of difficulty.
NixEgirl | Added on: August 28, 2012
 
I like this game. I like that you don't have to mess with the unused squares to complete the puzzle. Fun.
poet | Added on: July 27, 2012
 
I found the game puzzles very well done. The cons are: The background and the puzzle colors blend too much creating clicking errors There is no final stat so if you don't keep track after each puzzle you would never know how well you did, and the trophies lack explanations as to how to achieve them.
emi1 | Added on: July 8, 2012
 
was excited to see this game. i luv these types of puzzles. i can play them for hrs. i really like seeing them come to life. guessing what they are. i like the music in this game. i like that there are some HO scenes also. this is a keeper...
kampjacob | Added on: September 5, 2012
 
I liked the addition of a storyline and the games within the CrossPix/nonogram/etc., as well as the actual nonogram puzzles. I solved them all without hints, although some of the backgrounds made it difficult to see the pieces. It was longer than I expected, which was great. I can't wait for a sequel.
LoriH | Added on: June 23, 2012
 
I really do enjoy this style of game, and this one is even better. The story is actually not as ridiculous as so many others I've seen. It is entertaining in both them and graphics. The colors and really nice and the music doesn't have me turning my speakers off. Game play is really fun. The casual mode is not so easy that you feel like a college student in kindergarten, while the other level makes you sit up and take notice. The game moves nicely along. I see a lot of re-playability since I don't think anybody could memorize all those puzzle solutions. The side puzzles are a nice challange too. It was worth a FunPass to purchase this game.
Octette | Added on: August 9, 2012
 
I really enjoy these type of games and this was a well made game. Hours of fun and relaxation all at the same time. I will definitely play this again.
smallfry091956 | Added on: June 24, 2012
 
I reallly like this game I love the puzzles. I like the hidden object part also. It adds a little something to it so it doesn't get to boreing. One thing I didn't like is when you hit the right mouse button to get rid of a block its hard to see. Everything blends in , as far as color and some puzzles where hard to see the blocks. All in all its a great game. Probably will buy.
zjbm1 | Added on: July 30, 2012
 
Unusually for me, I'm reviewing this before I've finished the game but I have to say that I love this game mainly because I have never seen Hanjie puzzles in a game before. I'm a fan of these puzzles, even on paper, but the instant gratification of having them in a game is wonderful. Well done, GameHouse, in taking on a game that is out of the norm of the endless HOGs out there. I like the fact that there's a harder version of play so I will definitely be playing again.
phatkhat | Added on: June 22, 2012
 
I am an ardent fan of the Picross genre, and have been eagerly waiting for this since I saw it on upcoming games. I played the demo for about a half hour, then bought the game. The puzzles are quite good, with increasing difficulty. You can also choose a casual mode, where the puzzles start with 5x5 squares and work up, or an expert mode, where the puzzles start out hard. I started with the easy ones. After going through the game, I can replay it on hard mode! Game has trophies, which I don't care about at all. It has a timer, but only for scoring purposes. You can take as long as you need to do the puzzle. It also has, like World Mosaics and World Riddles, limited mistakes allowed, and you cannot correct mistakes. The graphics are nice, the storyline is so-so, but who cares on this type of game. I like the soundtrack, and found it pleasant and relaxing. You can choose full screen or windowed mode, and it has a wide-screen option. The controls are familiar - left mouse button for positive tiles, right for blanks. You can drag the mouse like the other games, as well. You start with 4 random hints, and evidently can earn more. Now, I hope the developers read this, and take note for the next one! Here are some things I wasn't crazy about. - You really don't have to put hidden object scenes in every genre of game! A lot of players are really tired of them, and some never liked them to start with. If you ARE going to put in HOS, PLEASE put in a skip button. The HOS didn't add to the game, were rather grainy looking, and weren't very challenging (a good thing for me, LOL). - The "tiles" were actually squares of different colored sod or grassy stuff. When you clicked on a blank square, it vanished, leaving a window to the background. This would be okay if the backgrounds didn't blend so well with the colors of the sod squares in many cases. It made it hard to tell what was what, and hard on the eyes. Maybe change the wood to iron or something instead. Nevertheless, I think this compares favorably with the World Riddles and World Mosaics series, and I look forward to the next installment!
Judilee | Added on: July 20, 2012
 
I was unsure at first about the instructions, but when I'd solved my first few puzzles on my own, I was hooked. Thank you GameHouse! I love this game.
wydcmama | Added on: June 30, 2012
 
I love pic-cross puzzles, BUT this one is extremely frustrating because you're playing against a background picture that is often the same color as the tiles and can't see the puzzle very well. Thus, you end up making mistakes you wouldn't make with a clearly contrasted, one color background.
jacksparrow1031 | Added on: June 29, 2012
 
I really enjoyed this game. Still playing the highest levels. I haven't used the power ups so I made this more difficult for myself. I enjoy this type of game and this one was very good.
Jazz | Added on: July 14, 2012
 
I loved this game! It kept me enthralled for hours. Great replay and a wonderful way to keep the brain active. Thank you Gamehouse for this most enjoyable game!