Antique Shop - Book of Souls Platinum EditionAntique Shop - Book of Souls Platinum Edition
Number of reviews to show on each page:
20 reviews
 
Reviews of Antique Shop - Book of Souls Platinum Edition
34560483 | Added on: October 3, 2013
 
The things to find were often the same and the graphics were the same. The graphics are hidden in the dark. Story is good but the rest is horrid.
Puppen | Added on: September 22, 2013
 
I played using FunPass. It has good graphic and is nothing but HOS which is kind of nice to not have inventory, BUT...some of the items are so small they are hard to see and even after using a hint to "see" it, still had to stare and then it wouldn't look like anything but possibly a flea or something. Also some of the items are things I had to get a dictionary to find out just What the item was I was trying to find and again a lot of times it was very tiny or barely visible. Otherwise an Okay game to waste a day holding down the sofa. :-)
cat_in_rv | Added on: October 3, 2013
 
I was very disappointed in what was supposed to be a platinum game. Other than having a story to read, I didn't see anything platinum about it. There were no voice overs--you had to read all the dialogue. The scenes just kept repeating themselves over and over. The graphics were no where near clear enough to be able to see small things clear across a room or way down a street. I struggled with this game for about three hours and threw in the towel. There certainly wasn't enough story line to keep me engaged. Just one HO scene after another with mediocre graphics doesn't do it for me.
klinder369 | Added on: September 27, 2013
 
Interaction with the characters was reading what was on a screen. That's something that would have been allowed five years ago but not today. We need to watch the character walk down the hall.
wywind | Added on: September 20, 2013
 
I played this game for 10 minutes in the free trial before I uninstalled it. Evan changing the mouse speed, the cursor is hard to control and not much story line.
30714959 | Added on: September 23, 2013
 
I am a big HO game player but this game was boring. It was very hard to find the objects as they were very small. The music would put you to sleep as well as having to read the story line. I like games with actual interaction, story, and conversation. This really had none of it. I played about half of the game and could not stand to do any more. I had the picture on full view and still had to ask for hints which were not real good at pointing out. It you did not see exactly where it pointed to you were out of luck until you asked again. Hope you do not have many games like this one. I am glad I am a funpass player and did not have to purchase this game. I would have had to be asking for a refund!
31146434 | Added on: September 23, 2013
 
Maybe I'm getting old, but the objects to find seemed really small to me. I kept wanting a magnifying glass!
30697632 | Added on: September 20, 2013
 
Another gamehouse exclusive, and another bomb. No one else want it. It just hidden objects, some so small hard to find, I gave up after 10 minutes
shellzncheez85 | Added on: September 23, 2013
 
I usually like hidden object with a story line but this one was a little boring for me. There was no transition between scenes, it just went from hidden object to hidden object and then a little except from the main character, which was a little boring too. The graphics were good but the items were miniscule and a little too dark (but when you lighten the scene up from the option menu it is faded and still hard to see. I did like that they integrated a word search into the mix of levels but still was boring.
32072087 | Added on: September 24, 2013
 
So repetitive! Dependent on tiny size of scenes. Too much talking between scenes!
charl | Added on: September 27, 2013
 
this was a game that was easy to quickly move through. however, the HO scenes were too muddled and a few of the items were impossible to see without a hint. also, the story made no sense at all. I think that it will be re-released with more detail added at a later time. having said all this, I enjoyed playing it because the replay was still fun and I liked the puzzles.
41386913 | Added on: December 14, 2013
 
The game is very boring. No real story to follow, you just keep going to the same scenes and try to find VERY small objects.
mailman | Added on: October 15, 2013
 
The game only uses 2/3 of screen and most scenes are extremely packed with objects. Hidden objects are a lot of times too small to see and if you don't follow 'hint stream' and miss highlight you'll not see it and use hint again! The dialog is READ only no voice so I hit [next] and skipped since you can't skip it in one click. Only played 5 of the 21 chapters because of eye strain. Had to sit within a foot or less of screen to try and make out the objects searching for. Glad I used my FUNPASS Freeplay and didn't buy it!
32047500 | Added on: November 6, 2013
 
Same screens over and over again. Same objects over and over again. I finished it just because I got the full version. Don't waste your time with this game. Boring.
tamryn | Added on: September 21, 2013
 
In my opinion nothing about this game is worth a Platinum rating nor worth the cost to play for reasons others have already mentioned.
petdetail | Added on: September 22, 2013
 
The good: beautiful scenes, pretty music, new games The bad: items are so small the hint button couldn't recharge fast enough, after finding the microscopic items, I had to read the story, couldn't a voice over be done? Total disappointment. Go back and make it better.
bendale | Added on: October 23, 2013
 
This is NOT a relaxing game. First there is a novel to read, then about 20-some "chapters" in the play. Most of the scenes are very dark, the objects to find are frequently very small and blend in with the background. Consider it just a slow reading novel where you have to constantly use the help to find your way around the dismal scenes. I finally decided this is no fun and gave up about half way through.
callmefilmgeek | Added on: September 20, 2013
 
This game was very boring. It's a straight HOG with some memory and seek-a-word games thrown in, but this won't be challenging to anyone except a brand-new player of Hidden Object Games. The graphics are terrible, and the items are very very small and hard to find. I only played for about 20 minutes before I quit and uninstalled. Not worth your time. Definitely not good enough to be a "Gamehouse Exclusive."
nvyank | Added on: October 3, 2013
 
For a Platinum game this was quite boring, repetitive and totally not worth the price. The dialogue was boring and the HOs were either right in front of your face or totally hidden in a dark area that you had to right click and use a weak light from the cursor.
40792476 | Added on: September 21, 2013
 
The graphics weren't good...no voices for the characters...the hidden objects were hard to find at times.. it just wasn't interesting..don't waste your time
34525878 | Added on: September 24, 2013
 
The visuals were stunning -- but instead of letting us interact with the Book of Souls, we had to read what the character was saying. I really couldn't figure out what she was talking about as giant leaps were made in the game based on what she was referencing. Too bad as the visuals were really good.
32792240 | Added on: September 21, 2013
 
Hard to find items because they are so small on screen and I have a large wide screen. It is very boring!!!!
32218410 | Added on: October 16, 2013
 
While the HO scenes are fun, there is too much reading, all of it like a 19th century novel, between those scenes. It was so irritating that I did something I've never done before -- I stopped and left a game before finishing the free trial. Sad.
31550950 | Added on: December 19, 2013
 
Loved the story line - swept me into the game. I love finding hidden objects to move the story forward without all sorts of little side games to break the momentum! Can't wait for next installment to free more souls!
texasrose | Added on: November 2, 2013
 
There were no reviews posted for this game when I downloaded the free trial. I started out reading the novel that is included because I thought it played a major part of the game. In a sense it does, but yet you can play the game without reading the novel. I bought it when my hour was up instead of checking to see if reviews had posted by then or even going in to play some of the game--I wouldn't have purchased it if I had. This is strictly a hidden object game. The story is primarily in the novel with little snippets of a story between 'chapters' in the game. There is no interactive action, such as moving between scenes or finding objects to help in additional puzzles to move the game along or anything. You are presented with a screen of hidden objects to find....and those are extremely small, In the first chapter, you will find a lantern to help you search dark areas however, the 'lantern' you get is a joke). I'm still trying to figure out where they feel this is a 'platinum' game. I truly feel I gave up 2 credits for nothing. Some people like nothing but hidden objects and this game would be good for them. I prefer those with the story having me do moves, looking for something solving riddles. This game did not satisfy me. I finished the first chapter, and I am done....it will be deleted. The only good thing about the game was reading the novel.....since the novel kind of comes to an abrupt end, perhaps that plays out more within the game, but it was not good enough to get me to try and finish the game going through nothing but the same scene over and over again, clicking on objects or solving a puzzle or two (the only puzzle I got in the first chapter was a 'memory match' puzzle---where you click on an item and it turns over to reveal a picture and you try to locate the matching object by clicking on another item. You don't even get something after solving the puzzle or finding all the hidden objects.....just a congratulations, you've found everything and it gives you the time you spent on that.
31844579 | Added on: September 28, 2013
 
This game is extremely dull. The font is much too small for the average user, plus there is no real story or interaction...you read some dialog and then go to hidden object scene. No plot, nothing to draw you into the game. Definitely not worth the premium price that I paid for it.
redaf | Added on: September 22, 2013
 
I played with funpass so I am not sure if I had access to the whole game or not. I played the game before reading the novel excerpt and it actually should be done the other way round. The story will capture your attention, if you like to read, and like period novels with a suspenseful supernatural bent with a little bit of a romantic triangle thrown in. The game itself is a straight hidden object with memory, word search and object elimination mini games thrown in. The story is a young woman at an approximate time of the turn of the 19th century who inherits her uncles antique shop and discovers a book which seems to capture the souls of persons who come into possession of it. Her uncle, and then herself being the most recent owners. Her task is to find a way to free the souls of the persons caught in the book, while the book itself seems to interfere and places her in danger, possibly to bring about her own demise. The scenes of the h/o's in the game are very realistic, but as stated previously, some items are eye squintingly small and difficult to find. I was quite proud of myself if I could make it through a scene without having to use a hint to locate something. (The hint system is good and refills relatively quickly.) Also, if I did not read extensively, there are some items I would not have been able to locate simply because I did not know what I was looking for. This said, I have never been a fan of straight HO games, but this one is intriguing because of the lead-in story. I want to know what happens to Emily, whether she choses Michael the cad or Anthony the staunch but boring and predictable. Does the book claim another soul, or is Emily triumphant in her quest? Not sure if I'm sold on the game, but the novel? I am going to need to find it and discover if Emily, or the book of souls wins out.
run311 | Added on: September 23, 2013
 
I actually tried to give it a half star...just because someone actually had to make this snoozer. If you are a real HOG player then avoid this game!
31910453 | Added on: September 20, 2013
 
Got to "play" this game 16 min., jerky cursor, in spite of a notice at beginning of game that cursor could be adjusted in the options section- game also froze twice on the 1st HOG screen; hit esc button, got out of game; uninstalled. After a few min., downloaded the game again -got to play further along this time in spite of a somewhat jerky cursor- there are mini games in-between the levels, with a skip button. Some of the items, though, are tiny; a "magnifying glass" would have been a good feature to have incorporated in this game. Had it not been for the movement of the cursor and the tiny objects, this game would have easily become one of my favorites.
1toomany | Added on: October 6, 2013
 
I played the trial version and couldn't even finish the hour! The HO scenes were either very easy or the objects were incredibly bad - depending on the quality of graphics in that particular scene. The only "interaction" amongst characters is reading dialogue between every HO scene. I wanted to skip the dialogue but was concerned I'd miss an important clue - not a valid concern! The only clue I missed was not checking out the reviews first!