Ancient SecretsAncient Secrets
Number of reviews to show on each page:
20 reviews
 
Reviews of Ancient Secrets
sportygal2009 | Added on: January 25, 2010
 
Normally I'm not one for games with a lot of navigating and especially puzzles as I usually play hidden object games with more direction to them on what to do, but I must say the more I play these type of games they are starting to grow on me as this is by far one of the best I've downloaded. This is a combination of hidden object and as mentioned by others - slider puzzle type of a game. You also have to stop and "talk" with certain people along the way to get to what you need (a lot of navigating). There is also no time limit and no penalties for wrong clicking so you can move along at your leisure without racing against the clock. I was very hesitant to play but so glad I gave it a chance. When I first started playing which has only happened to me a couple of times but I pretty much knew I was going to be hooked from the beginning and I was. It is challenging and thinky at times. As far as a hint feature, if you don't click something within a minute or so, there will be a sparkle on the screen to help you out as far as finding items. I just did the 1 hour free trial and this is definitely on my to be purchased this. This totally rocks. 5 star game all the way.
Twan | Added on: May 9, 2009
 
This has a great story and all the different mini games are awesome! Very cool graphics and easy to follow, though challenging to complete. What more do you want?
gameonmama | Added on: April 23, 2012
 
I really enjoyed this game, in fact once I started it, I played through when I should have been doing other things! It get's challenging at times, but I enjoy a challenge so it was a great game for me. There are no hints, or skip options, but if you get stuck you can go to gamezebo and get all the help you need with walk through's and video's! So really, there is no excuse to give up on it and quit like I've read that plenty of others have done. I would have like it to be longer! In the hidden object part of it the objects are mostly well camouflaged, but relax and take your time! The slider puzzle's can be a little tricky and frustrating if you let it get to you! But, again... there is help at gamezebo. Give it a try, you may really enjoy it as I did. I downloaded it as the free game of the day, and I'm happy I did!
NanaSarah | Added on: March 4, 2011
 
I could give this to any of my grade school aged grandkids and not worry about anything scaring them or being truly too hard for them. (The 12-yr-old grandson, however, would likely find it "dull, Nana!") Graphics are clean, clear, well done, and have a definite charm to them without being "kidsy" or cute. Hidden objects are frequently colored the same as the background which means you have to hunt for them, but they are also clearly drawn in bright scenes and not buried in junk piles, so not really difficult. If you go too long without clicking on a hidden object, there will be subtle sparkles on one of the HOs still to be found. I like the way the graphic of the HO list gets shorter with each item you find. Mini games & puzzles are classic but with nice twists and are ones that even kids could figure out with some guidance. The story is minimal and not particularly unusual, but not bad. This actually probably gives the game better replay value than some of the more elaborate games (that I like better) such as the Clockwork Man set, Phantasmat, Phantom of the Opera, etc., because the story isn't the primary feature. Once I've solved that kind, I know "how it ends" and don't usually bother going back.
realjohnny5 | Added on: May 9, 2009
 
This game reminds me a lot of a game I played as a kid called 'Time Lapse'. This game is great!
dallas3324 | Added on: May 27, 2010
 
I really enjoy this game, is more involved than just HO's, puzzles are tricky but fun, the only thing I would add would be hints that you earn or that cost you.
chrystinah5 | Added on: February 18, 2010
 
Ancient Secrets Note to GameHouse, there are TOO MANY of these type games. There needs to be more role-play games, and simulation games. Although this game was fun, these types of games cannot really be replayed after the mini-games are done, and the story has been solved. There is absolutely NO replay value to this game, and it is NOT original. Below is my review: Kate’s father is not able to figure out the puzzles, mazes, find items from a list, adventures, missions, and various other mini-games required to solve this mystery, locate all the pieces to a key, and use the key to restore a tribe of its riches, and share their history with the world. Therefore, he asked Kate to go on the journey. The lists of items to locate are very short. The game is un-timed, and there is NO timed mode. The story seems to be simple enough for younger players to figure out without giving up. It was much too easy for an adult or older player to figure out. Yet, the story was just enough to keep an adult from being bored with all the mini-games. The whole game had NO hints, but, if you wait long enough you will see glitter around the items from a list to locate. There were great graphics, and music. This game is a great game for mostly younger players. I gave this game 5 stars because it has just enough content to keep the gamer happy, without getting bored. Hope you enjoy this game as much as I did. I recommend buying it, so there is enough time to play the whole game, and follow along with the story, and solve all the mini-games to make a key and restore the village back to its original state! If this review helps, please, rate it helpful. Thanks and happy gaming!
kb999999 | Added on: July 31, 2009
 
Perfect game for people who love slider puzzles ! The storyline is very simple - you talk to people, they give you clues where to go and complete puzzles. The 'task list' was nice because you never become lost on where to go next and the goals to complete. Without a game timer, you have as long as you like for the puzzles and can stop at almost any time. Since the slider puzzles get harder the longer you play, this game would be best suited for older kids. Without a 'hint' system for help - the slider/logic puzzles take trial/error - the process is frustrating! I believe the 'hidden object' was only added to get more people to play - many scenes are very dark and object can't be seen - the only plus is if you don't click for some time, 'sparkles' appear over the items. Since you can't skip any of the mini-games, including sliders, even more frustration can set in. Overall, I rated this game a '4' only for the slider puzzles. I completed this game in just a few hours.
vaughnk145 | Added on: February 22, 2010
 
good game for relaxed playing or young person....love the graphics. Really enjoyed this for change of pace.
SamanthaS | Added on: July 31, 2009
 
This game was amazing! It combined mini-games, Hidden Object, and storyline into one beautiful game. Sequel, please! And so what if it's a little challenging, I'm not complaining! I'm pushing forward!
Torun | Added on: May 27, 2010
 
The puzzles are interesting but the puzzle box is used too much. The hidden objects are boring and have nothing to do with the story line. Would be better with a larger number of puzzles and a greater variety of puzzles.
mmij58 | Added on: June 25, 2009
 
I really enjoy games like this - More Puzzles, less Hidden Object. Specifically slider puzzles (the kind where you have to get the box out, by moving other boxes) The puzzles are not very hard but toward the end there are puzzles without instructions, you just need figure it out to solve the challenge. No time limit. No hints for the puzzles, but a hidden object will "sparkle" if you have not found one in a minute or so. A fun game. Took me right a 4 hours to finish it.
luvdogs | Added on: June 1, 2010
 
This game is very fun. It has beautiful scenes. My favorite was the puzzle boxes. I love getting the key out of the box. The little mini-games are also interesting. I just wish it would have been longer, and the hidden objects didn't really fit in the game. Overall, I love this game!
TStocktonTA | Added on: May 24, 2010
 
I was pleasantly surprised by the variety of puzzles and challenges in this game. Take your time exploring & solving the hidden object, maze and other activities within this fun game. The hidden objects are cleverly placed and not easy to locate. Without a Hint option, it's more challenging than some would appreciate, but the subtle clues help the player along. While some puzzle-types were repeated, they were never redundant, increasing in difficulty as they appeared later in the game. I can't wait to share this with my grandkids - they'll love it!
TenaMM | Added on: July 22, 2009
 
As I said in the intro there is a lot of puzzles to figure out you need to put your thinking cap on for some of them . I enjoyed playong it wish it would of went on longer bet it in one sitting so it could have been longer but other than that it was fun.
Crazy4games | Added on: May 16, 2011
 
Usually a game has mini-games between levels, but this is a game of mini-games with a hidden object puzzle between the mini-games. The hidden object puzzles have the items hidden so well as to be virtually invisible. Luckily, if you don't click for awhile during the hidden object puzzles, some sparkles will appear very briefly over an item. While the slider puzzles are some of the cleverest I've seen, the rest of the mini-games leave me frustrated. There is no help or hints nor any way to skip the ones that have you totally stumped. So that's where I have left off, at a point where I am stumped, don't know what to do and no help or hints to let me continue.
PipCat | Added on: November 1, 2010
 
This is a nice friendly family type game. You're trying to find all of the missing pieces of a key belonging to a lost civilization. The graphics are crisp and the hidden objects are not that difficult to find (if you get stuck a twinkle will show you the location). There are no hints in this game but there are instructions for all of the puzzle portions. Smaller children will probably need help with the slider puzzles but older children should be able to solve them with some trial and error. Other puzzles are more intuitive and just need careful observation of your surroundings to solve them. If you're looking for a game the whole family can enjoy I highly recommend this one.
barnacle | Added on: April 2, 2010
 
I always keep an eye out for these types of 'short quest-adventure' games. Even though they don't have the same value for money appeal, I guess sometimes it feels like more of an accomplishment to complete a game in one sitting. To clarify comments in some other reviews there is no having to sit for days working out infinite combinations of numbers, but there ARE a couple of challenging parts in this where you really have to think and go back to other locations or first complete other challenges/puzzles in order to find the clues/codes you need. Ancient Secrets' only real flaw is it still has too much hidden object for my liking but counter-offers an unexpected variety of puzzles and challenges. The only similar game I have found which I enjoyed as much was Marooned, which had a slightly more sophisticated storyline.
Garrett | Added on: May 6, 2009
 
My favorite so far!
OneGamer | Added on: September 18, 2009
 
The puzzles in this game are not entirely unique except for a few. The game is so short, I was expecting for more. Once you finish the game, I didn't feel like doing replays.
evony75 | Added on: August 24, 2010
 
Nice hidden object/puzzle game -- a bit on the easy side, but entertaining nonetheless. The graphics are good which makes the HOG part easier -- I hate the HOG games where it's next to impossible to find the items because of the fuzzy/dark graphics.
Smedley | Added on: July 2, 2010
 
This game has some really neat features - and some tough ones, too! For example: no tutorial, no hints (hint: sometimes you'll see a slight twinkle where some hidden objects are). The HO's vary from easy to hard. The puzzles vary from easy (pearl diving) to wicked hard (puzzle sliders) - other puzzles include mazes and spatial relations. A neat feature is that you interact with game characters to play some games (memory cards and tic tac toe). Only negative is that during the game you return to same places and encounter same type puzzles, A real challening game - hours of fun (or frustration) - I would have liked a clue/hint factor - or at least a "skip puzzle" option. If you like a real challenge, this is the game for you!
Tedster | Added on: May 9, 2009
 
Cool game, nice change from the usual.
gamefanatic | Added on: May 9, 2009
 
A lot of game for the money...not one of those short hidden object games. I'd like to see more games like this.
Summer | Added on: July 22, 2009
 
Rather weak overall. If you dont like slider-box puzzles, (which I dont) dont play this, because they figure prominently and repeatedly, and get more difficult. This is definitely not hidden-object genre, which I like - theres just some random hidden object scenes thrown in for no real reason which tends to lose the momentum of the story. The only hints are automatic in the HO scenes after you havent found anything for awhile. The items are very well, really too well, hidden - a lot of shadows in textures and things colored exactly like the background. The story is cute if a bit contrived. The puzzles can not be skipped. To its credit, some of the puzzle-mini games are fairly original. If you can get through the puzzles ok, it will play out very fast, 3-4 hours at most. Again in summary, just an average, fairly easy, bland offering (except for a couple mini games that are TOO difficult.)
SleepsWithDogs | Added on: June 21, 2010
 
I really liked this game. It wasn't too difficult, but it did make you think. I really liked the "in between" games. I thought they were a little more challenging, which is what I was looking for.
Cricket5461 | Added on: May 10, 2012
 
Really enjoyed this game. It was well thought out and just challenging enough. I did get stuck a few times but was able to sort things out eventually. At first I was very concerned about the lack of a HINT button but it wasn't a problem really as the puzzles were solved mostly by patience and persistence. Even the HO scenes have a helper, a little twinkle in the spot if you can't find an item. All-in-all I enjoyed the game, was a nice story and graphics. The sequel is even better tho in my opinion.
amyjune | Added on: July 22, 2009
 
It was a little too easy and too short but very entertaining! I definitely enjoyed it. If you don't like sliders thought, you won't like it, there are a lot & I love 'em! It was fun...not too challenging but not boring at all! Enjoy!
doughgirl1 | Added on: June 3, 2009
 
I think the game was fast, but short, it felt like it was over before it even started. Some of the games were harder than most, but it involved simple just sitting back and thinking about it, to figure out it. And some just trial and error.
Budica | Added on: February 28, 2011
 
Overall, I liked this game. It has a nice story line and was interesting enough to hold my attenion. However, the puzzles and HO are a bit simplistic for adults. I would definately recommend it for kids.
bluemawmaw | Added on: May 28, 2010
 
Didn't take long to go through. Glad I only paid $2.99. The hidden objects were sometimes a challenge to find, but not enough of them. The puzzles were very kid friendly. I think my grandkids will like it.
Cuzzywuz | Added on: May 20, 2010
 
I really renjoyed this game. It was quite challenging in some areas and relatively easy in some others. It would appeal to children as well as adults. Cuzzywuz
SilverSuki | Added on: May 17, 2010
 
This is one of my favourite games. For the first few scenes, Ancient Secrets seems like an ordinary HO game, however, once you get beyond the introductory 'easy' scenes, this game is very different. The puzzles actually need to be worked out, and not everything you come across (like the keypad mentioned by another reviewer) can be 'instantly' solved - often you have to come back to things when you have found the object or information you need to solve the puzzle. In this sense the gameplay is much more like Dream Chronicles, Dark Parables or other more complex problem-solving games, rather than straightforward HOs. For me, as a 'problem-solver', there's a little too much HO, but this is a minor thing, and not really a complaint. If you're looking for an easy, clicky HO, this is not the game for you. If you're looking for something with varied, unusual logic puzzles that will challenge you a little beyond the level of most 'run-of-the-mill' games, this is excellent.
simango | Added on: February 22, 2010
 
there is no help (clues) with the program. if you get stuck, your stuck! getting the third lock for the chest i found very difficult. deleted the game.
Mysterya | Added on: August 22, 2013
 
Pros: Decent graphics. Hidden objects and games stayed pretty much to the theme. The same thing with the few character interactions, as they stayedwith the story line. Kid friendly. Cons: Although decent graphics, some objects were extremely hidden and would have been better with a magnifier. There were no hints available to assist and if you were stuck looking for an ho you could wait until a twinkle appeared and then find it. Many of the mini games told the outcome but did not exactly give hints. The games could not be skipped so you had to finish them. Although kid friendly story, children need to play with an adult as to not get frustrated with the mini games.
sunnny13 | Added on: May 26, 2010
 
Very good game with puzzles for kids and adults. Excellent graphics Smooth , did not experience any technical issues.
dandymama | Added on: February 2, 2012
 
the game involves solving puzzles, hidden objects, following instructions. my son isn't reading yet, so i have to do it with him. i think it is a great problem solving challenge for kids.