Ancient Hearts and SpadesAncient Hearts and Spades
Number of reviews to show on each page:
20 reviews
 
Reviews of Ancient Hearts and Spades
ffwfire | Added on: February 23, 2011
 
After playing spades online for free on yahoo for years and getting sick of people's 3 minute a card just to make other people quit this is a great substitute. Fast gameplay and no waiting. It comes with the hearts game too although I am not very good at that but I hope to get better because of this game. Pros: One of a few downloadable spades game. It is good if you just want a spades game and no waiting. Cons: The computers never go nill. No dn like there is on yahoo.
infinity | Added on: October 20, 2012
 
A decent game, especially for its release date. Not sure what the "ancient" refers to except for the background artwork. Light on animations, but what's there is good. Cards are a nice size and easily readable, but more of a choice in deck backings would have been nice; there are no other options for customizing the deck and none for the background. Your opponents are simply names, not avatars, but that's okay. Sometimes you don't want chatter. I didn't check out the helpfulness of the instructions as I already knew how to play. While I didn't notice an option for adjusting the speed of the cards being played, it seemed just right to me, and pretty realistic. I played on the medium level, and didn't do as well as I play with real people at a real table (!), so it seems like the more advanced levels would offer plenty of challenge for good players. A nice relaxing game, and one that can be a quick play if you want to kill 10 or 15 minutes.
hhwwss | Added on: July 22, 2010
 
Definitely enjoyable. Lots of different levels to keep you entertained.
jmg1234 | Added on: April 6, 2012
 
This game may take some learning to really get the hang of it. It's very similar to Bridge, so if you like bridge definitely give this a try. You are supposed to say how many tricks you'll win at the beginning of each game, but I had no idea of knowing this, as I didn't know my partner, or other player's cards. This gives it the challenge I guess. This is also like bridge. This game is half thinking, and half luck. You want to have the ace, king, queen, jack, 10, 9,8,7 of spades in your hand ideally.
Tayotae | Added on: March 24, 2012
 
If you enjoy card games, this is the one for you. The board is large with bright colors and the other players are fun to be around. Great games for the whole family.
catoosajojo | Added on: May 19, 2010
 
After moving lost my card playing buddies. So this is a great way to still have fun playing my favorites. I am addicted and play hearts every day. Also love Skip-Bo and Picket Fences.
dragonbooties | Added on: September 20, 2010
 
These are very nice bidding games that keep you on your toes if you really want to win and know how you're doing it. You must consider your partner's bids in order to really learn the game. It's a keeper.
Shilo | Added on: June 5, 2012
 
I've always loved Hearts, and I wanted to learn Spades, so after a free trial, I bought this one. Strangely enough, Hearts is not the best part of this package. The play in Hearts is very not as strategically good as other computer Hearts games I've played, and for some reason it won't play in Tournament mode(?) But the Spades game is fantastic. I have actually had my computer chums bid Nil twice, once my partner and once an opponent. If you get a lot of bad hands,which I tend to, the Nil bid allows you to take a stab at earning 100 points. I'm the Nil Queen at this point, LOL. But really, very very good, and very well constructed, great graphics, good music. I also love some of the names they came up with for your fellow players!
Crazy4games | Added on: May 3, 2011
 
Very impressive opponents. It feels like you are playing against real players. Plus you can choose your difficulty level from easy to hard. A great game for beginners to expert players. Highly recommended.
kb999999 | Added on: January 20, 2010
 
Two great games in one - enjoyable! You choose to play either a Hearts game or a Spades game. With great instructions for each, three levels of difficulty, and the 'feel' of a real game, you'll be challenged to win against the other players! Overall, this game is a keeper! With the variety of each hand, you'll be busy for a long time. Pace and flow of a 'real' game and the ability to improve.
tigerlily13 | Added on: November 30, 2010
 
I really like card games and this one is one of the best in my opinion, You get 2 games that are both challenging and fun and it is a good way to teach children how to play Hearts and Spades with real cards.