Amulet of Time - Shadow of la RochelleAmulet of Time - Shadow of la Rochelle
Number of reviews to show on each page:
20 reviews
 
Reviews of Amulet of Time - Shadow of la Rochelle
leea928 | Added on: August 21, 2012
 
I played the game on easy, and boy was it. Just alot of clicking on items. The challenges were also easy.
gamejukr | Added on: August 17, 2012
 
French history as told by a current time traveler. Good format, interesting story not known to most of those outside France told in a fun way. Great graphics. Played on hard setting (no sparkles to find active areas). Easy setting also with all sparkle and more hints. Book has good info about story told but not needed to progress through game, but interesting none the less. Overall a very good game.
smshelton | Added on: November 3, 2012
 
THE STORY WAS VERY GOOD IT WAS VERY THE HIDDEN OBJECT GAME KEEP YOU ON THE EDGE OF YOU SET
devi | Added on: August 21, 2012
 
This game is loaded with HO scenes, fun and different mini games. Loved how the cursor burst into flames if you clicked too much. A definite reco.
rchrdtppr | Added on: August 28, 2012
 
Played in the difficult mode - and it was! You have to remember what you've seen in other locations and go back and forth somewhat. It was about half way through when I got the hang of it and had an easier time. I do wish scenes were more interactive as in having to move objects to find what your looking for as in the kitchen - hint hint! Great graphics!
fossils43 | Added on: September 5, 2012
 
This was one of the more enjoyable games I have played because it was not too complicated, the story-line was great, didn't have too much tedious dialogue, and didn't give me heart-burn by trying to get through the game. The mini-games were fun, especially the ones at the end. The scenes were beautiful and the HOs were usually easy to find. Because of the subject matter (poisoning the king), I don't think young people should play this game. All in all, a well done, relaxing game.
Tiafl | Added on: August 18, 2012
 
I have not finished the game yet but wanted to share my thoughts - this game is full of diverse puzzles, what to do and how to do it. There are many HO scenes which appear to be crowded but the items can be seen - they are not obscured miniatures. Use the scan over to see what the object looks like. The task list keeps you on track. The hint button really does tell you what to do if truly stumped. This game is the best example that I've seen of my vision of what HO games should look like and entail. Thank you - it is no longer just my vision. oops, sorry there is a stumpling block - the puzzles do not have a skip. Fortunately I've only come accross so far that was causing me anxt. I persevered through the challenge and am still continuing the game.
Cinella | Added on: September 4, 2012
 
This game has an innovative storyline, based on intrigues and murdering plot. Travel into the past to change a possible future. The game offers beautiful sceneries with crystal clear graphics. There are plenty of HOs (quite easy) and a few unusual puzzles. The elixirs were interesting – I especially enjoyed the one “revealing the unseen”. Overall the game is very creative, relaxing and enjoyable.
DarkDragon | Added on: December 10, 2012
 
Graphics: beautiful Music: nice Story: good development. I like the jester, but wish he was more mischievous and misleading to create twists. Still it's good enough Game play: Good amount of play time. I didn't really get some of the last amulet puzzles. Still other tasks and mini-games are enjoyably challenging. Conclusion: recommended
meandmybudeze | Added on: August 21, 2012
 
LOVED IT!! had a few problems at first(download etc) But after that it was smooth sailing! I really loved the graphics,storyline, and well...EVERYTHING!!! It took about 3 days to finish and I applaud the ending. not just left hanging but a nice follow up.
grblfrtz | Added on: September 30, 2012
 
I really enjoyed this game. The game had great graphics, an excellent story line, and most of all not an endless bunch of HOS. The HOS that were included had some sense and logic involved pertaining to the game, not just go find a bunch of non nonsensical junk. There was continuity throughout the game, which is refreshing in today's game market. The game is involved enough to not be frustrating but challenging enough to keep your interest up. This game is a great value. The only reason that I didn't give it 5 stars is that I would have liked to see it be a bit longer, but that is just me being greedy. I can't wait for their next installment. As the demented clown said, I will see you later. I sincerely hope so. Bravo Belver Limited.
32173995 | Added on: November 30, 2013
 
This is one of the best hidden objects games which I have played. The graphics are great, and so is the story. I appreciate HO games where there is actually a decent story which keeps you interested. A lot of HO games have a rather poor badly thought out story line. I wish we had more of such games!
hankysis3 | Added on: October 5, 2012
 
I was captivated by this game. With a story line that flowed, superb graphics, well designed HO's and mini puzzles, what's not to love. The castle was laid out well (at least for me, as I tend to get lost if there are too many places). Belver Limited should take a bow. They did a fantastic job of getting everything right. The ending tells you that there will be another story, and I can't wait.
AstorGirl | Added on: August 19, 2012
 
Nowhere near done, but just HAD to write a review! I love it; finally a HO Adventure without any vampires, witches, gory scenes, dreary, dismal-looking environments to search, (i.e. the typical HOAG out, lately). The graphics are clear & brightly drawn, realistic in appearance...the history related in the dialogue (minimal) is interesting, the historic scenery is beautiful. It's more of an adventure -type game with HO scenes in each location. For HOG fans, the objects are very simple to locate; the enjoyment, for me, was "solving" each Task you're given, as you try to solve a mystery, in France, concerning Henry II . Although no map is provided, which would have helped, you're given a Journal & Task list. The HINT recharges quite quickly, the mini-games, which were fun, but not much of a challenge, can be skipped without much of a wait. Typically, I play interactive HOG and avoid straight Adventures, but this was a nice combination of the two; a good place for anyone new to Adventure-type games to begin. I was waiting for a nice, relaxing HOAG with a story line that wasn't quite so dark and I found it with this one! I can't rate the sound, as I play with it muted, but, overall, I found this to be a great game. No glitches, fast download, custom cursor works well, not floaty. I haven't completed the game, so I can only say that, so far, it's Kid-Friendly in scenes and dialogue; minimal dialogue involved, not lots you have to skip through nor read.
emi1 | Added on: August 18, 2012
 
ordinary HOG. nothing special. find items. go from location to location to advance in game.
nightwitch11 | Added on: August 20, 2012
 
I really enjoyed this game. The scenery was beautiful, the music was quite relaxing, and the HO were challenging but not so hard that I had to use hints just to get through it. 2D graphics were ideal. This was very much fun to play. I wish it were longer!
fairedust43 | Added on: August 21, 2012
 
I enjoyed playing this game I am an avid HOG LOL - I enjoyed the story line
melt53 | Added on: August 21, 2012
 
When I first started planning this game it was fun and easy, now I can't say that. I have found myself stucked and can't find the two locks, and the fork. I hate to just give up on the game, because I'm stuck and can't go any further, which is very frustrating. I have read some of the reviews and no one seems to have encounter the problem that I'm having. I like the graphs and the scenes are nice also. Hints have not been able to assist me either in locating the fork and 2 locks. What I thought was the fork because there were a sparkle to it, wasn't. When I clicked on it I didn't do anything.
Summer | Added on: August 20, 2012
 
Despite some other comments to the contrary, I found this very easy, even too easy in places. I thought the "history" was bunk in terms of authenticity, and didn't really like that I had to save a king who was in reality, a jerk, but was treated like a saint. It does have one or two cliched (but pointless) jump-out scare scenes. I never did figure out why when you as the character supposedly went back in time to the time this happened; and yet you still communicated only with ghosts, who should not have been ghosts yet, and basically never had issues with people from that time seeing you- you get to move about freely and interfere with things as if you were invisible. I still don't get the point or identity of the jester character, and it further didnt make sense that you had to find "parts" of the amulet when you used the complete one to get there. All puzzles are skippable, which is thankfully standard now, but many are simple anyway. The basic pattern repeated thru the game, is you need to find particular items in a certain area (but not until you discover something they are related to) in both the environment and in HO scenes. Once you find those objective items, you use them on whatever triggered the list, and then move on to the next area. Most of the items are there all along, but you will not be able to pick them up until you trigger the list for them. Most of the scenes are well lit and the items are clear. Occasionally the HO scene is so small & the list so long that almost everything you see is on the list, and you can basically just click almost everything you see and it will be on the list. The refillable hints work quite well, so there's no need to worry about getting frustrated. It was decent overall, but I just couldn't get that excited about it. There never really seemed to be any real feeling of danger or drama.
mel8670 | Added on: August 18, 2012
 
This game is a good value,it was pretty long and not so challenging that it became frustrating.A couple of the puzzles could've been a little harder but all in all a good game.
Cat_In_RV | Added on: August 19, 2012
 
This game is well conceived and has a good story line that keeps your interest and carries through to the end. The graphics are good, and the scenes are rich with colors and interesting items. If you get lost or wonder where to go next, the hint button will point you in the right direction without penalty (i.e., you won't have to wait for it to recharge.) The HO scenes are simple, and so are the puzzles. One could wish that items were a bit harder to find and that the puzzles presented some challenge, which they do not. The language problems are getting better, although there are still some gaps in syntax, and some hidden object items are completely mislabeled. Regardless, the game was enjoyable,and the story drove the game play. Well worth playing, but I don't know if it would be worth buying.
Carrissa | Added on: March 23, 2013
 
I gave it a try but could not get organized as to the inventory, the objectives, what to get from where and which room I should be. It was confusing to me
Daunya | Added on: August 18, 2012
 
I really liked the story line of this game, however I did have some tech type problems with the curser. It was hard to control some times, kinda jumpy. You have to be very precise when clicking on things. The help was helpful most of the time, but a coulple of times it would indicate an area that had nothing to do with what was needed, for example it kept indicating a chair that had absolutly nothing to do with the story at any point in the game. I actually needed to go through a new door that was nowhere near the chair. I played on the easy setting and sometimes the sparkle indicator would show what I neede before I even had a chance to look at the room. This feature would probably be good if a young child were playing it. I really liked the historical setting, but the scene right before the actual ending where you save the king, flashes by so fast once the king is saved you don't get to watch any reactions of the characters or even look at the scene for a while. After all the work you do to save him it would have been nice to see a little more of that scene. The graphics were nice but not excellent. I cannot comment on the music or posible dialog because I play with the sound off. The written comments were clear and easy to understand.
nvyank | Added on: August 21, 2012
 
Good graphics and storyline. The HOs were not too hard and the puzzles flowed evenly so that you didn't lose track of where you were and where you had to go. Really enjoyed this.
marzbar | Added on: September 20, 2012
 
I found the game relatively easy but with enough challenging bits that it kept me interested. There were places where you really needed to look for the next clue but once you had the way forward, the next few steps would be fairly intuitive. The story line was quite interesting and you learn a bit of history into the bargain. A well plotted game that kept me amused for a couple of evenings.
mimi2010 | Added on: August 18, 2012
 
You don't really want to know what I thought, just play it! It's such fun and quite challenging, and yes, there are obvious historical anomalies like photos, a train and very early 20th century pipes, as well as fruit I'm sure hadn't been discovered yet! But the whole thing was great. The graphics are lovely, very clear with wonderful renaissance music playing in the background (my 'thing', if it's got good music it can be rubbish!!). A fabulous story line that it complex, varied and sometimes downright frustrating!! I was tearing my hair out at one point looking for a lever - you want a lever, what lever?? Then... AHH! I see! On the whole, as a by now hardened HOGer, this is one of the better ones to have come out in recent weeks, albeit rather short (or maybe I'm just that good ;þ ) Enjoy it, have fun with - but don't get too scared by 'the things that go bump in the night'...