Adelantado Trilogy - Book TwoAdelantado Trilogy - Book Two
Number of reviews to show on each page:
20 reviews
 
Reviews of Adelantado Trilogy - Book Two
Mannoroth | Added on: April 9, 2013
 
This game could have been so much more if the gameplay wouldn't have been so annoying most of the time. And I'm talking especially about resource gathering. You spend half of the ''game day" just to bring the resources to a satisfactory level. No matter how many gardens or sawmills you'll build, they will go below 50% efficiency in less than 2 minutes, and you need a lot of resources for activating the portals/shrines/etc. Instead of concentrating on the story, either you'll wait for the resources to pile up or you will be "invaded" by messages like "build more sawmills - gardens - stonecutters, increase your garden - sawmill - granite mine efficiency" etc. (Not to mention "cavemen, dinosaurs attacking your base!" which I think are pretty stupid and out of the game.) OK, but after you spend an exaggerated amount of resources on improving the efficiency, you'll be disappointed to see it doesn't last. It's like an economic black hole.To add more frustration, the map is filled with thousands of bushes you need to cut to make room for the buildings and to discover so-called secrets (total uninteresting scrolls or unnecessary money), and these bushes become even more annoying when you try to move the map view. Almost everytime you click by mistake one of these stupid things and your "adelantado" runs uncontrolled across the map to cut that bush. I enjoyed just the two levels without resource gathering, when you play only with your "adelantado", those are really addictive. You'll spend a lot of time (you need THREE slashes for each) to break barrels and jugs, and they give you 1 unit of food (it's like a drop in the ocean) or 2 coins. For these reasons, I had no patience in finishing the game. From the above points of view, Book One was much better and the new things brought in Book Two are just ANNOYING and FRUSTRATING. It could have been such a good game...
Minxski | Added on: April 8, 2013
 
If you have played the first book then you somewhat know what to expect, if you haven’t then this is a type of TMG like Roads of Rome, where you build different buildings, collect items and journey along. If you have played the first book you will be glad to hear you can now demolish buildings that you no longer need, such as woodcutters. There are new buildings that were not in the first book and you don’t have to go back to collect the gold when you have smashed pots. There are also new hiding places for secrets (not just under trees and bushes) – not going to tell you as it is great finding these things! The major new thing in this sequel is not all the levels involve building, some are just trading and finding things – which is quite a change. All in all I really enjoyed this game and I found it to be quite challenging on some levels to get things done in time. Nice little storyline too. Can’t wait for book three!
celisewood | Added on: April 6, 2013
 
I loved the first version but with being able to save your progress and demolish buildings to build something new on it's spot the new tweaks are wonderful. Nice job guys and gals!
suemo6 | Added on: April 9, 2013
 
Each level of this game takes so long to play that it is quite pointless to set the time bar to try and beat Adelantado's nemesis who will always win each level time-wise. Adelantado has to do everything and as the scattered secrets are all over the place, he has to knock down each scrub, cactus and bush to find the hidden secrets which takes forever. Also, he has to strike THREE TIMES to break jars, barrels etc. It takes longer than forever to get from place to place. I have only achieved gold on the first level and afterwards there is absolutely no chance of going faster unless I forsake all the secrets (some of which I can't) This is a very good game in concept but one man just can't do it alone. Running back and forth to speak to Indian Chiefs and Warriors is also quite tedious. Why don't you just send Adelantado immediately back to the person making the request after the job is completed. He is not running fast enough. Some speed improvement is definitely needed for this game and I hope the third book will be much faster than this one. On the positive side, the graphics are first class, the characters very cute and scenery captivating.
knitteremum | Added on: April 8, 2013
 
I enjoyed the first game in the series, but I'm happier with this one. The gameplay tweaks include a faster moving main character who also not only breaks pots but automatically picks up the item in the pot without needing another click. The whole game moves a little faster, which improves its interest.
flaca | Added on: April 7, 2013
 
just as great as the other one but some kinks ironed out. The best thing book two is that you can actually knock down the gold pots and get the gold inside w/out having to back track again to get what's in the pot. What a time saver!!! I must admit that had me upset on book one. But I highly recommend this one as well.
EMS01 | Added on: April 7, 2013
 
Good things about this version: still gorgeous graphics, chained activities for everyone, the worker bees pick up and deliver their own products, able to save (a vast improvement for levels that can take an hour or so) and able to demolish buildings. Also, there are 4 modes of gameplay from relaxed to hard, so you can pick what you want. Not so good things: it is still very clicky - only Don is able to pick up barrels, attack bushes, talk to folks, and the like. And you still have to click every blasted bush, tree, etc to pick up gold, secrets, helpful hints and the like; it takes a lot of time. The game map is still fantasticaly huge - which wouldn't really matter except that you forget what's on what level and there are actions (such as buildings becoming inefficent, needing upgrades and the like) on nearly every level. Also, some required actions like destroying some of the totems and building watchtowers have you moving all over the place just to find where they are. Which means they really, really need to include a full map for each level so you can move around quickly and see the whole level. Since there are so many levels within levels, it would have to be a like a small click item to bring it up. It's not clear what the time frame is for each level to get expert or whatever. I got expert on some levels that I was sure I'd missed since it took so long, and then couldn't get expert for anything. It's also not very clear how many buildings such as water or gardens and the like you need to have enough food or wood or whatever. And it is still a chore to fit in buildings into the very odd shaped areas they give you. Some simply will not go in, even when it looks like there's more than enough room for them. The game is a lot less controlling than the first version (thank goodness!), but there still is too much of it for my tastes. One reason I can see for that is that given the sheer size of each level, you just don't really know what the overall strategy is - again, the addition of a map would be a big help. My biggest problem with the game and the part that does get boring is the clickiness. It wouldn't be so bad if some of the workers were able to collect the items being clicked on on, but unfortunately Don has to pick them all up, which takes a whole lot of time. One level had no workers at all; just Don having to pick everything up. For the next version, I hope they include a map and let someone else do the actual picking up of the food, gold or whatever. A good game, but could be better. And one really great wish - a sandlot map to put buildings where I want just for fun - now that would be really great.
mikeandaimie | Added on: April 21, 2013
 
I'm really enjoying this game! My main criticism is that the levels are extremely long.
31620925 | Added on: July 18, 2013
 
A great challenge. When many games are click-click and done, this one requires thinking and some planning. Took a long time to make expert on all levels but, that's what makes it interesting. I want more of the same!
emi1 | Added on: April 19, 2013
 
i found this game to be better than the 1st version. less clicking. but i found it impossible to get the objectives done in the expert time. there's jst too much to do. the graphics are great. keep 'em coming...
marzbar | Added on: September 2, 2013
 
I really like this game as it is good to play a little bit at a time. Each stage takes about half an hour and although you can conquer some to gold level in one go, other levels are a bit more challenging and take a few runs through. Replaying is just as enjoyable and I found it a good game to come back to after a few days break. An improvement on Book One has been that things are automatically picked up when discovered - so saves on the clicking. Waiting for Book Three to come out.