Adelantado Trilogy - Book OneAdelantado Trilogy - Book One
Number of reviews to show on each page:
20 reviews
 
Reviews of Adelantado Trilogy - Book One
Smedley | Added on: September 10, 2012
 
I had decided to purchase this game even before the 1 hour trial had expired! Great graphics; great music; great plot; hours of fun! Here's what I would have liked to see to make this a 5-star game: 1. a map to help you move from area to area, especially when there is more than one cave man hole; 2. an option to demolish property in order to build over it; 3. a trade center building option to allow you to quickly gather the items you need. All these would help to speed up the game at critical times. The game becomes a bit repetitive, especially after completing Part 1. Hint: be sure to scan the entire area with your cursor, especially in the trees and bushes, to locate key hidden items. Warehouses are a key to stroing supplies. Good luck "helping the natives to win their friendship" - while stealing their gold!
emi1 | Added on: September 8, 2012
 
lots of strategy in this game. figuring out what to build, when, where. it can be frustrating when u know where u want to go, but b/c u haven't found a certain gem u can't get past a tribe member or u haven't gathered enuf gold so u can't advance. but that jst means u have to back up and see what u've missed. i definately see myself going back and trying for expert on the levels i missed it on. great graphics in this game, too...
KathyRo | Added on: September 26, 2012
 
All time management games involve a certain amount of "hurry up and wait". Anyone who has played them can tell you about the frustration of watching the fat little cartoon character laboriously waddle up to the prize as the clock counts down. This game takes that torture to a whole new level. Gameplay for each of the level ranges between 30 minutes and a whopping 45 minutes. That's 45 minutes of watching all the cartoon characters slowly trundle around while your sanity seeps out your ears. There's also very little to do during that time. There's not much strategy to this game. Just a lot of waiting. To make matters worse, you can't save in the middle of a level. If you quit you have to start the level over! The game designers are surely laughing at us.
Andrea | Added on: September 11, 2012
 
A really enjoyable game that keeps you entertained. I really had fun completing it.
fryde_99 | Added on: September 6, 2012
 
Took me a while to figure out and I didn't have enough time to figure it all out- but enjoyed it- very stragady based
bote | Added on: September 14, 2012
 
Gave it a FOUR rating, since there is no way one know how many of this building has been built. Other than that, great game. I love ROYAL ENVOY and CHOCLATIER series. So there is really few TIME MANAGEMENT game that gets me hooked.
Juliet | Added on: September 18, 2012
 
Other reviewers have categorized this game with the Roads of Rome series, so I will focus on the ways this game is different in my review. The first thing you notice is that there are only ten levels, which doesn't seem like much until you find out that it will take you 45 minutes to complete a level, even within the gold time. Furthermore, you can't leave the game in the middle of a level, because it won't save your progress for that level. If you don't complete the level in gold time, you can move on, but you won't get the bonus level. It's a lot of time to redo levels! Also annoying is the forced path of the storyline. Things have to be done in the prescribed order to the extent that you can't do most things until until the game specifically asks for them. Very little creative problem solving is involved, so you are just rushing to do what you are told for 45 minutes straight. My next complaint isn't mine, but my son's - he thinks it is horrible that they are depicting the natives as being thrilled to have the conquistadors overrunning their land, leveling their forests, and stealing their gold. I am sympathetic - I hate how torn up the landscape looks by the end of each level! It's a game - You can't expect to learn real archaeology from an Indiana Jones movie and you aren't going to learn American history in this game. To the plus side, the gameplay is interesting and the art is terrific. The animations are charming enough that they could seriously slow down your progress if you stop to watch them. There is plenty of gameplay here, even if you don't care about getting a gold time.
khixan | Added on: September 10, 2012
 
This reminded me a great deal of My Kingdom for the Princess. Now the world is 3D, and your workers collect the goods (food, wood, etc) automatically. The main character goes on quests and explores. Managing the builds, upgrades, resources that run out, placement, efficiency, etc makes this much more involved and challenging than My Kingdom for the Princess. Really enjoyed it! One of the best time mgmt games I've played.
Fitkickers | Added on: September 10, 2012
 
I liked the game. I actually got through the whole thing this weekend. The only thing I didn't like was that I often could not move forward until the game allowed me, even though I was moving through things pretty quick after the first few levels. I would click on something that I know had to be done like repair a building but the game would say that is was not available. Then the instruction would come up to "repair the building". Otherwise I liked the game a lot. One of the best in a while.
spelvin | Added on: October 26, 2012
 
I enjoyed this game very much. I have replayed it several times. I hope to see more games like this one in the future.
EMS01 | Added on: September 6, 2012
 
This game has a lot going for it. The graphics are spectacular, the tasks good, the organization quite logical. You can chain activiites, which is really great. And each building has its own little worker bee who also gets the resources the building produces - a really great idea. But it is also frustrating. I don't know how anyone can get expert on any level, there's a lot of waiting and clicking - luckily, you can keep playing after time runs out. There is only one main character, unlike other games that let you have more than one worker, who does the overall goals, such as gathering the gold. But you have to click everything - trees, bushes, barrels, etc. to find the gold/scrolls, etc., and sometimes, it's hard to see where they are. And he's the only one to "talk" to the warriors/chiefs, etc. who guard the various paths to the next part of the level, and he's the only one who can perform the demands of the chiefs, etc. All of which takes a lot of time, especially the clicking of everything part. The overall goals are stated, which is fine, but each part has small goals before you can advance to the next path or section in that level. And the game controls to a large extent what you do next. It tells you when to build a warehouse, a watchtower, etc. It takes the decision out of the player's hands for a lot of each level. Often, if I want to build something, it won't let me because it doesn't think it's time to do it, which is extremely annoying. There is no overall map to look at; each level is very large (which is fine) and a watchtower has to be built to show the next part of the land. And if you want to go back to another part of the map, you need to scroll back to it. It would be great if there were an overall map so you could see the entire level and click on it to get back to another part of the level. Overall, this could have been a 5 star game, but the controlling aspect of it and the fact that there is only one main worker who can perform the tasks for the overall goals are real downsides to it.
canadian70 | Added on: November 9, 2012
 
love this game its venturos and delightful to play i played all the chapters and need more please
LadySlew | Added on: September 18, 2012
 
once you start you won't be able to stop. Very addictive fast paced action. I've played it twice now. My only complaint is that i have to wait for the next one in the series!
bushlady2 | Added on: October 1, 2012
 
Enjoyed the game very much. I would change the game by allowing it to be saved at any point in time. If you quit before a level is completed, game does not save. Wish the little guy would move faster.
powerstar | Added on: September 11, 2012
 
One of the addictive games I played in Gamehouse. A good time killer
Momofthree | Added on: December 19, 2012
 
I thoroughly enjoyed this game. I really liked the way that the game gives you individual quests to complete, along with the main quests. It has great graphics and the game responds well to clicks and the movement of the mouse. It almost reminded me of Age of Empires, though there are no battles to win. It was easy to learn and fun to play. I can't wait until the other books come out!!!
Cincon | Added on: September 11, 2012
 
I found it captivating the first time through trying to figure out what was needed next to continue to the next level. The caveman can be a pain, but if everything is upgraded he can no longer destroy buildings. And altho there is no map, if you click on the warning phrases announced in the upper left hand corner, you will be jumped to where you need to go look! Or click on the natives picture in the right hand column when they want to talk to you. The only things I found bothersome were being unable to destroy buildings I no longer wanted so I could build something else there and how the treasure chest kept popping up everytime I clicked a gem. Altogether I found it a wonderful game with a choice of levels of difficulty including an untimed version. It's a trilogy, so I'll be anxiously awaiting the next book!
bab1960 | Added on: September 14, 2012
 
make sure u have done all the things u need to do because once u start u will never stop until ur finish the game as i did and looking forward to book 2
1fireangel | Added on: October 19, 2012
 
I absolutely loved this game. It was so addicting that when I tried to step away from it I was right back at it because I just had to continue. The graphics are lovely, crisp and clear and the music is fair depending on your taste. Even though there is a small amount of waiting for resources it doesn't detract from the game because as the main character you have things you can do while you're waiting such as breaking barrels and pots to find additional resources such as food, coins, silver, etc. The goals are attainable but there is some thinking and planning involved in order to accomplish these. There are also different game modes so that if you don't appreciate being timed you have the option of working at your own pace in relaxed mode. ( I despise having a time limit in any game since this is my relax and unwind time not my stress out and hurry time). Overall, I enjoyed it immensely and anyone who enjoys both Virtual Villagers and building type games will find this a pleasant game to play. I can't wait for the rest of the Trilogy to come out. I will definitely be buying them all. Happy gaming to you all!
nvyank | Added on: September 20, 2012
 
My only complaint is that it doesn't save if you need to stop playing before you have completed the level. I had to play once for over an hour before the level was done.