Abandoned - Chestnut Lodge AsylumAbandoned - Chestnut Lodge Asylum
Number of reviews to show on each page:
20 reviews
 
Reviews of Abandoned - Chestnut Lodge Asylum
30951449 | Added on: February 21, 2014
 
I thought the graphics were good and the story. This game should of been a five star, but there were a couple faults in the game...no worry it still was good. Just got to know in advance what the faults were. One fault is that the HOs were a little sluggish loading, the second fault is that when using the remote on the garage door was more sluggish than the HOs. I had to go to the task manager once and it happened again, went to start the task manager the second time but before I hit end process...I heard the music change and went back into the game and the garage door opened (guess it took longer to load than the HOs?). Still not sure about using the lever/jack on the elevator...didn't work for me. Had to go and google a walk through for the game to find out how to get the badge number...took less time once I had the badge number for the game to end...then it did taking the time to read the walk through to find the badge number. I think a map would be helpful for this game to see where there are active tasks to do. I liked that you collected items in the inventory that wasn't needed until later in the game. It will be worth playing this game once the glitches are fixed :)
mjsmama | Added on: February 20, 2014
 
This was a good game over all. It could have used a map, but the 'Task' tab helped. You will find some lag between scenes, but that may have a lot to do with older systems. if you decide to try this one, be ready to have some patients and think a bit.
Desertsong | Added on: February 19, 2014
 
This game required a great deal of thought to complete. Use the tasks list in conjunction with the hint if you get lost or can't figure out where to go next. The hint button won't tell you where to go next, but it does tell you there's nothing to do at a location. The journal is also necessary to being able to finish tasks. A map would have been nice since there's a lot of back and forth. Objects aren't too difficult to find and you can adjust the screen light level in Options, which helps if you have old eyes, like I do. Interesting story line, but abrupt ending. Worth playing if you have the time to figure it all out.
32303994 | Added on: February 20, 2014
 
I get to the trunk of the car...inside i look around...the hint says there is nothing to do there but whenever i back out of the trunk and hit the hint button again, it sends me back in...no other location is active so there is obviously something happening in the trunk but i am at a loss...very frustrated
cat_in_rv | Added on: February 21, 2014
 
I really have mixed feelings about this game. The story line is pretty good, and the place certainly is eerie. The creepy sounds are a bit overdone, especially after you've visited the same scene a dozen or so times. The entire game is played in dark tones with little color. There is a provision for lightening up your screen, which I did, although I can't say it helped much. There is quite a lot of back and forth with no map, interactive or otherwise. The hint button will not point you in a direction; it will only tell you that there is nothing to do in a specific scene at the moment. So you are forced to move back and forth again and again to find something new to do, There is a task list, although having a task listed doesn't mean you're anywhere near ready to complete it. There is also a journal, which is absolutely necessary for some information. There is a great deal of lag time in some scenes, especially when initially opening the garage and when switching to HO scenes. I really thought the screen was frozen or my mouse had quit, so be patient. The HO scenes are of medium difficulty, and the mini games range from fairly easy to time consuming. Quite a few of the mini games are very interesting puzzles, though. I have to say that the ending was quite dramatic, and for a change it was logical, given the story line. I would not recommend this game for younger children, but teenagers will probably love it. Overall, I've played a lot of games that were put together better, but I think the story line and degree of difficulty make it worth playing. It took me just over five hours to complete, but then I was also watching TV part of the time....
32446675 | Added on: February 24, 2014
 
i disagree that the story was good--it was pointless. you go to this place because you saw it in a dream and someone was supposed to have been killed there. you find out in the first five screens what happened (and nobody died). that should've been the end, but no, you hang out for no apparent reason running ALL over the place finding things that you then have no idea what you're supposed to do with--the "tasks" you're given are also pointless because you've already found out there's been nobody killed here. your digging around finds out that long ago people died here but so what? that's not what you came to find, and in all those years the police never found these bodies? i will say the "art" is outstanding. the game is beautiful to look at. if only they had thought out the writing as well as the graphics.
sloaked | Added on: February 21, 2014
 
A map is definately needed. I became stuck and gave up on it, but am going to try again. The hints did not help, like looking in the trunk of the car. It is an interesting and detailed storyline
Alison978 | Added on: March 25, 2014
 
Despite the bad reviews, I decided to give this game a try. I have FunPass, so if a game is bad, I've only spent my time. Honestly, I didn't get more than about 10 or 15 minutes into this game. Every time I moved the pointer, the screen moved. I have vertigo and this type of movement really messed with my head. Even after playing just a few minutes, I felt like I was still moving for a while after turning off the game. I hate to give such a low review score...I know the developers put a lot of time and effort into creating games for us, but thought it was important to share how this game affected my condition. I would have certainly hung in there and given it a go if the screen had just been still.
charl | Added on: March 3, 2014
 
wonderful game and story. good replay also. a real challenge. did not have a map, but it turned out it wasn't much of a problem. I have windows 7.0 and I could not give the game five stars because one of the screens had a glitch. the screen that leads to the garage was "wonky". the screen would freeze up every time I tried to use something to open the garage door. once I got the "remote" in my inventory, the garage would open and the screen didn't freeze, so I was able to get around the problem. However, every time the screen froze up. I had to restart the computer. other than that, the game was fabulous and really challenging because no instructions were given for the puzzles. I recommend this game.
30911745 | Added on: February 18, 2014
 
I have to say that I really did enjoy this game and I'll break it down like this: PROS: Great storyline Great graphics Good length of play Challenging enough to keep me interested Subtitles were well spelt and read easily in English (not stilted like some can be) An actual ending - no cliffhangers. CONS: No sound except the background music No map (either interactive or not that I could find), so lots of trying to remember where you went for what. The morphing items were sometimes that slow in morphing or activating that I missed them. All in all, this game is quite sinister which to be fair, if you don't realise that from the title, then you shouldn't buy it anyway. There are some bits that made me wince and look away from the screen (I'm a bit arachnophobic - all I'm saying). That said, the tension is very well maintained in this game, despite the lack of music - I kept waiting for something to jump out at me... My main issue is that there was no map at all that I could find - which means unless you have a great sense of direction (I don't) and a good memory then you have to try and remember where it was you saw where you needed to use things. Also there is a vast amount of going backwards and forwards - and no short cuts on how to get there. That said, this game kept me engrossed for hours (yes, hours!). I got it on a funticket but would recommend it for buying.
Manor038 | Added on: March 3, 2014
 
It was slow when going from one scene to the next.
mailman | Added on: March 17, 2014
 
If you like a hint that says 'nothing to do here' and is about all the help it gives then this is your game! Like numerous other reviewers, my screen 'froze' during slow HO screen loads so give it PLENTY of time before you use task manager to exit (some 30+ seconds). Zero map to use and constant back and forth sometimes all the way back to initial screen looking for an HO 'sparkle' to get next item and then click back thru screens to return to previous location. Some items gotten at first couple scenes aren't used until close to end so you wonder if you've missed some thing or place they should have been needed so again scene by scene search..HINT won't help a bit. Tedious and very frustrating sometimes but not too bad to play. Some HO items very hard to find. one HO item was a stapler and there were two in scene and it wasn't the obvious easily seen small one/
MJ1234 | Added on: February 20, 2014
 
This game had good graphics and creepy music - the setting was spooky. There were lots of HO scenes - some where challenging but most were pretty easy. Sometimes the items listed were confusing - like compasses or pocketwatches. I thought I had to find more than one. Or the name of the item was confusing. There were puzzles - some were a little difficult but most I was able to figure out. You can skip them if you want to. Like the other reviewer said, this is not kid-friendly. Some of the cut scenes were graphic/scary. There was a TON of going back and forth and no map or way to get where you needed to go without walking there. Sometimes I forgot where I was or how to get back to where I needed to go. The hint button helped a little but not much. It definitely kept my attention but I still don't really get how it ended or what the whole point was - I must have missed that! :)
32184199 | Added on: February 18, 2014
 
I tried this game as it was knew but had a very hard time staying interested. most games I stay in my seat for a couple of hours at least but not this one. Didn't grab me at begining so I had to force my self to stay focused. Not a game I would recommend.
Daffy14s | Added on: February 19, 2014
 
I liked the story line, kept me sunk in till in finished it. Got stuck a few times wondering what to do and where to go. Over all good story, good graphics, and i think worth the money. I would recommend it to all who like these types of games.
mimi2010 | Added on: February 21, 2014
 
I really didn't like this game. It got stuck several times, as very hard to navigate and has a lot of coming and going nowhere! The HO graphics are very murky, although the artwork itself is very good. Some scenes do make you jump a bit, but it became a bit predictable. The puzzles are fairly easy (they need to be as rest from the game!), and the hint button, when it's of any use, does recharge quickly. I had to get a lot of help from the Forum on this, and I don't usually have to do that on such a mammoth scale as this! I'm just glad to have found a walkthrough (courtesy of Hub, many thanks) so I did finish, tho without all the morphing things. I don't think this is a keeper, but I might have another go now I know not to waste my time on things that don't need it.
K114 | Added on: February 20, 2014
 
I would definitely NOT call this game kid friendly - way too dark for children, probably even teens. I hate it when I have to resort to on-line cheats to finish a game, but with this one I had no choice. It's not an awful game, but it's not one of the best. It was a fairly good value - I didn't finish it within minutes of purchasing it after the free trial like I have with some. I doubt I will replay it and I'm glad I bought it with a fun ticket so it didn't actually cost me anything.
slimshady1 | Added on: February 19, 2014
 
this was a great game I found some of the puzzle to be quite hard my only fault was no map at least I did'nt find one so theres a lot of tooing and froing but still worth a play good game easy to get lost for first few rooms
flaca | Added on: February 20, 2014
 
There was no way around it. When my patience waned out, I tried again. The hints are incredibly lame and there rarely are any mini-games. It had potential but it was just slow and difficult.
skylersdream | Added on: February 18, 2014
 
I really liked this game, good graphics, good music, good story line. It loaded very well except for one of the areas outside was slow. The one thing that was missing is a MAP...a map would have been nice.
covingtonmom | Added on: February 18, 2014
 
I really don't understand why game developers haven't realized how much better a game can be with an interactive map. This one has no map at all which means you're going to spend a lot of time traveling back and forth. What makes this even worse is that the hint button gives no direction either. It simply tells you there is nothing to do in that scene. The transition between scenes was slow at times, especially opening the garage door. Just when I thought it had frozen, it opened. I've seen several posts in the forum of others who did feel it had frozen and gave up. I was confused at the end when I had a car jack, but never had the need to use it. Perhaps it was needed in the Expert mode and I was playing Casual? Overall, not a bad game, but definitely could have been much better.
qjntjn | Added on: February 17, 2014
 
The hidden objects need to be named correctly. How is an eye mask, three dimensional glasses? Very dark game and hard to see the objects you are looking for.